Edit Manga Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Fairy Tail

Fairy Tail

Alternative Titles

English: Fairy Tail
Japanese: FAIRY TAIL

Information

Type: Manga
Volumes: 63
Chapters: 549
Status: Finished
Published: Aug 2, 2006 to Jul 26, 2017
Authors: Mashima, Hiro (Story & Art)

Statistics

Score: 7.781 (scored by 122913 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet published' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #17832
2 based on the top manga page. Please note that 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #9
Members: 208,274
Favorites: 23,070

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jun 12, 2012
whyisthis (All reviews)
Preliminary
Fairy Tail is a flawed manga is many ways, and it's a bitter disappointment as it could have been so much better. It's a really generic series, with the typical FRIENDSHIP speeches and character resolve stuff, but that's really only looking at the surface as to why this manga is flawed


-------THIS REVIEW HAS SPOILERS--------------------------------------------
Story: The story for Fairy Tail is an odd one, the concept seems fairly original compared to most other shonen titles and I can actually respect that. The problem with Fairy Tail's story is the way it advances. Most of the arcs have little to nothing to do with the main plot read more
May 31, 2017
Cosmicblaze454 (All reviews)
Preliminary
As Fairy Tail ends, I would like to give thanks to Fairy Tail, my first anime and manga that led made me start to watch anime and read manga. I would like to thank Mashima for this work. Now onto the review.

When Fairy Tail started, it wielded the sense of wonder and mystery in a land of magic and mages. The world was quickly established, the first page of the first chapter immediately introduces the Magic Council then weaves into Natsu in Hargeon Town into meeting Lucy while it establishes the world in the background. Mages, guilds, magic council, finding draconic fathers and it quickly read more
Feb 19, 2015
ophielanima (All reviews)
Preliminary
i must apologizing for every hardcore fans of fairy tail because what i will write, but i must say this. fairy tail is boring , unintersting and weird manga.

i will tell my reason why i write a fairy tail as a boring , unintersting and weird manga:
1. fairy tail is very repetitive manga. between one arc to another arc there is no diferences always same. first, the arc will open with some story or you may say an opening story then came story when MC and his friends must battle with a bad guy when the first battle occur MC and his friends will read more
Dec 16, 2008
ringmaster11710 (All reviews)
Preliminary
Although what Crimmy said may be true about a similarity between Fairy Tail and One Piece, you have to judge a story based on quality rather than originality. If you only read one chapter then how can you be sure that it will continue to stay like One Piece. One Piece became too long for my tastes and it always went off on too many story arcs irrelevant to the plot.

I personally enjoy Rave Master and I am looking forward to reading this manga. The only criticism I have so far after reading 4 chapters is that the characters are read more
Apr 9, 2010
brann (All reviews)
Preliminary
Plot
Before I actually start talking about the plot I would like to say that I don't get why people are comparing this to One Piece. 1. The art is different, this manga doesn't have weird looking people like One Piece does. 2. Yes both mangas have friends fighting and caring for eachother but every great manga is like that. And 3. None of the abilities are similar between the two series.

On with the plot now, This series is very original and very unpredictable. It has interesting plots and even the subplots are interesting. It seems like there is always two things going on at read more
Feb 18, 2015
AmbiguousMonster (All reviews)
Preliminary
For the past 20 years, fighting shounen manga/anime have been the most popular and prominent series in the medium. They are what is most closely associated with manga and anime, and most are presumed to be Dragon Ball rip-offs . Fairy Tail is arguably the most infamous example of a generic, long-running shounen series, heavily due to it's fan service, the reactive nature of its protagonists and the lack of tension due to the limited amount of of meaningful conflict. However, while many of these accusations may be true, there are many bright spots about this series.

The story is set in a medieval-ish fantasy where read more
Jan 18, 2015
Dunkjoe (All reviews)
Preliminary
This is a review till chapter 415 (somewhat very near the end of the Tartaros arc.

Honestly, I would give the manga a 8 or 9 until chapter 253. Cos after that, the arcs reallly succcck.....

Up until chapter 253, at least the story was more reasonable, and touching, unlike a lot of senseless actions, power-ups, plotholes and missing characters here and there later.

Story:6
Honestly, Fairy Tail is severely lacking in story. It's not that there's no story. Like Bleach, there is a main villain that keeps popping up, indirectly or directly. But in Fairy Tail's case, there are 2, and incredibly, the way they show up read more
Feb 8, 2009
Twiggles (All reviews)
Preliminary
The reason i like Fairy Tail is probably the same reason im a big One piece fan, The strong sense of friendship that you feel between the characters and how they will do anything to save them. The story is amazing in my opinion with intense battles. I also think the characters are hilarious, take gray for example, he's an exhibitionist who takes his clothes off at inopportune times. The only thing i don't like about Fairy tail is how the story doesn't seem to be going any where, at the start it says Natsu is looking for the dragon who raised him, but it read more
Jan 24, 2014
pedomudkip (All reviews)
Preliminary
Unlike most of the fans that are crazy over Fairy Tail , I prefer to maintain neutral about it because I don't take the series seriously if the author does not. Do not read on if you will get pissed by criticism of this series because I will be harsh.


Disclaimer : All of this are my personal opinion and is not intended to offend anyone by any means.

Story : 5/10

If I have to compare the story to another series, I would probably have to compare it to something like Bleach - an endless repetition of storyline which starts off fresh then it starts to go read more
Jul 9, 2015
ssj1235 (All reviews)
Preliminary
This is one of those mangas that hits a bump and then blows everyone away the next moment by far one of the best manga out there

Story:
Its unique to say the least the way the author handles it is mind blowing from the very start to the very end right in your faces and no one figured it out.It just gets better the more you get further into it.And dont even get me started on the romance aspects in my knowledge this show has the most ships online.The fights themselves could use a little less nakama speeches i would get this series a 7 for read more
Feb 17, 2011
Secret-Maid (All reviews)
Preliminary
I must admid, I was REALLY sceptical about Fairy Tail at first (Fans may forgive me!). I was like "Oh Great...Another boring-ugly-drawn-"action"-Anime/Manga -.-" But Hell boy... i was completely wrong!
Fairy Tail ended up being one of my favourite Anime/Manga of all time! Between laughters about crazy situations, idiotic- but nethertheless adorable- characters and enjoyable fights in the best Guild on earth, take heartwrenching tradegys place, that made me end up crying one then more time. Its true, everyone has a sad secret in his or her life and never I had a better chance to experience that than in Fairy Tail. Even the bad-guys cant read more
Jul 1, 2014
gtmy (All reviews)
Preliminary
When you first get into Fairy Tail, you obviously expect that Hiro Mashima will expand that intriguing world he has created, make interesting characters, mix up some nice comedy and battles and you will have a pretty well-done One Piece copy. Not quite there.

One manga that had immense potential is nowadays one of the worst manga to follow, and I don't know why I am still doing it.

Well, let's start. Mashima shows us what appears to be the story of Natsu, a mage that controls fire that wants to be reunited with his father Dragneel, a dragon. The big problem is that this objective is read more
Apr 21, 2019
Aurelic (All reviews)
At first glance, Fairy Tail (FT) seems like your average shounen manga with the classic hot-headed protagonist. I'm not against Shounen manga/anime and I've even enjoyed some like Bleach, Naruto, Hunter x Hunter etc. But thinking that Fairy Tail would be as good as any of those was a major mistake on my part.

To start off with it, I'd say there's nothing wrong with the idea of having a guild of mages but it's the way that the idea is carried forward that ruins everything. Initially, I found FT intriguing but shortly after I lost the interest. Guess why? It's because of the repeated storyline read more
Aug 1, 2015
Imagineflame (All reviews)
Preliminary
(Note:This manga is still running in weekly shonen magazine)

Fairy tail is one of those shonen manga's that have ideas which sound good on paper, but has terrible execution. One of the problems with this manga, it doesn't have a clear sense of direction with it's story(eg. fairy tail talks about the villains motives and then flashback to why the villain does this, which always tries to make character's have sad backstories..Which aren't sad. If they don't have that, their generic doomsday villains waiting for fairy tail to give them a whooping.) lack of character development in this story, and switch's between having interesting topics and read more
Dec 31, 2014
x_vermillion_x (All reviews)
Preliminary
Fairy Tail is an exciting manga to read, and overall it's great. I joined the FT club late on and so read lots of chapters in quick succession towards the beginning; now i read a chapter every time it comes out. At first I was completely hooked, and couldn't stop reading (basically how I caught up) but now, although it is still pretty awesome, I feel that the story drags slightly and is harder to follow. However overall, Fairy Tail is a definite recommendation if you would like to witness some EPIC BATTLES.
Apr 20, 2014
Miry (All reviews)
Preliminary
How can I describe Fairy Tail ?
To me, this manga is like a moutain : with ups and downs.

I began to read FT just after I finished Rave, so it was a long time ago. At the beginning, the story seemed good : Natsu was stupid like a lot of shonen heroes, but not too annoying ; Lucy was cute but not totally helpless (and she was a beginner). The plot promised a quest and mysteries but, a few years after, I can't help but think that I wasted my time reading this story.

First of all : there is NO PLOT ! The author read more
Feb 24, 2018
Vazka (All reviews)
Preliminary
It pisses me off how how the minimum rating I can give is a 1. This series doesn't even deserve a 1 because it isn't good at anything. This is the only series I've seen that truly fails at every single thing it tries to do. The story started off with Natsu trying to achieve his goal of finding Igneel, not too bad right? But throughout the series, he literally does nothing to achieve his goal. I mean even the first 100 chapters of this manga, Natsu didn't do a damn thing to try and achieve his goal. That's just fucking ridiculous. That's bad writing... read more
Aug 9, 2017
Roundohavor (All reviews)
Most of these long shounen Manga (Anime) have it rough.
I think that a lot of stories (Manga in particular) always have to go through 3 very important stages throughout its respective running periods.
these stages are:
1- Opening (Buildup)
2- Middle (Execution)
3- End (Ending)
Lets first briefly start breaking down each one of these and define them then lets see how mighty Fairy Tail did in each stage.
Opening:-
this stage includes the plot, story, charatcers, their relationship and the setting of the whole Manga including mysteries, backstories, a goal for every important character,
basically everything you need to have in your head as a mangaka read more
Jul 25, 2017
ohddaeng (All reviews)
Preliminary
Fairy Tail is a cliche shounen series with friendship speeches, characters lacking development and a predictable story line, yet is one hell of an entertaining ride. Keep in mind, this series isn't for everyone. If you enjoy watching series with wasted potential, then Fairy Tail isn't for you. I could never find myself hating this series no matter how badly written the final arc was because the past arcs always remind me of how good this series can truly be. Most of the characters are really likeable (although some are ruined later in the Alvarez arc) and most of read more
Jul 21, 2017
FireFistYK (All reviews)
Preliminary
Fairy Tail! A manga that get's so much hate but so much love at the same time, does it really deserve both? It certainly does!

Fairy Tail is one of my first anime/mangas and I think that it makes me qualified to judge this series without me being a complete hater or a complete fanboy. Let's get on with this review!

Story: 3/10
Something that started out really well but ended dreadfully. Fairy Tail had a magic to it's world and story, nothing to spectacular but it was something that fantasy and shounen lovers loved. The first few arc's were very well done and introduced some great characters. read more