Edit Manga Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Mirai Nikki

Mirai Nikki

Alternative Titles

English: Future Diary
Japanese: 未来日記

Information

Type: Manga
Volumes: 12
Chapters: 59
Status: Finished
Published: Jan 26, 2006 to Dec 25, 2010
Authors: Esuno, Sakae (Story & Art)
Serialization: Shounen Ace

Statistics

Score: 7.901 (scored by 44155 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet published' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #12832
2 based on the top manga page. Please note that 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #51
Members: 81,319
Favorites: 4,280

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Sep 14, 2008
holdenn (All reviews)
Preliminary
This manga tells the story of Amano Yukiteru, a social outcast who records everything he sees in his cellphone. Out of desperation, he has generated an imaginary friend to accompany him, Deus Ex Makina, the lord of time and space. Deus, who sympathize with the boy decided to give him the his cellphone's an ability to foresee the records that he will make on the future. Little did Yukiteru know, that comes great power, comes another eleven Diary Holders(people who have the ability to predict the future) who can do the same thing. To Yukiteru's dismay, this is the beginning of a horrific game.

And to read more
Oct 19, 2008
chezkimo (All reviews)
Preliminary
One of the most interesting and best supernatural mangas around right now I'd have to say. It starts with what seems like a high school manga with what seems to be psychological elements but soon turns into a supernatural survival where anyone could be a possible enermy and trust becomes a hinderence.

The plot is great and the art is good but what really get you sucked in is the characters of the 12 diary holders, including the two main characters and the battle scenes between the diary holders. Though these aren't typical battle scenes of swords and the like you usually see, rather these read more
Mar 12, 2015
AriaFlame (All reviews)
Why did we decide to call it a spoon? Does the breakfast club exist? Is this intro eye catching enough or should I just cut this grandiose intro crap everyone does go back to straight out harassment of the manga?

How on earth does this manga have a fanbase?

This manga is so, so terrible. I do not understand at all the high rating. Is...is this like a troll rating thing? If so, please tell me and restore some of my faith in humanity

Please.

but more than likely, and sadly, this doesn't appear to be a troll fanbase. People actually think this...this thing is good for some read more
Jul 16, 2013
NuclearNecro-42 (All reviews)
Okay, now, I know I'll certainly get a lot of people who'll dislike this right now only for the low rating. But holy potatoes, this manga is one of the most overrateds I've ever seen. And with this I hope I can get someone not to waste their time reading the manga Mirai Nikki (or Future Diary, whatever you want to call it).

Now, let's begin the review. Well, first of course I'm going to say what I think about the story, and there's not much to say about it really. It isn't good, it's far from that. The manga had everything to be very good, read more
Dec 11, 2011
eillart (All reviews)
What is the recipe of making a successful manga? If you ask Esuno Sakae, the answer should be like this – mix Death Note and Battle Royale (or Gantz), then add some Neon Genesis Evangelion and throw in some anime/manga clichés, and as a result you will get Mirai Nikki.

This manga follows the story of Yukiteru Amano, an unsociable, reclusive middle-schooler, who has no friends (practically another Shinji Ikari) and therefore only observes the life from the side not participating actively in it. The only joy he has in his worthless life is talking to imaginary God – Deus Ex Machina. However, it appears that read more
Mar 20, 2008
edgewalker00 (All reviews)
Preliminary
the irony that could perhaps describe mirai nikki would be when the audience becomes part of the play.

12 diary holders have been chosen to participate in a deadly game in which the one that would become victorious would become god. in order to win, they must fight each other, killing them or destroying their future diaries until only 1 is left.

these diary holders are normally the ones who would record their daily observations in life. some of them are reluctant to put their shoes on other people's business yet the others are participating on the events that they have seen yet only acting as a read more
Jun 3, 2011
leingodf8 (All reviews)
Mirai Nikki got a rather large following pretty quickly on the internet community, mostly due to an interesting premise and the promise of a new shiny Yandere lead (which is rare nowadays). The interesting twist of dueling minds, fortunetelling, and romance was a strong selling point for the series... but sadly it was unable to truely live up to the high standards it tried to achieve. It had the potential to be rather good, but ended up being rather sub par.

As stated... Mirai Nikki has a very intriguing premise to provide. A group of people, ranging from pathetic school boy, to homicidal terrorist, to read more
Mar 19, 2011
Meerkat (All reviews)
To me Mirai Nikki is a truly unique manga. It's the only work of fiction that I've come across that somehow manages to be "so bad it's good" while also being damn good! Sometimes it comes of as so silly that I laugh at it, but still I find myself genuinely interested in what will happen next. I don't know how it manages to pull this off, usually when I laugh at how a plot twist or element is stupid (in some other manga) I would begin to feel that the entire manga is stupid and bad. But not with Mirai Nikki! This paradoxical quality read more
Jun 24, 2009
titanguy654 (All reviews)
Preliminary
What do you get if you cross Higurashi, Death Note, and Battle Royale? Well, something like this. First of all, we have our main character, a boy who uses his cellphone as a personal journal, writing in it everything he sees. He has no friends, or at least no real ones, or so he thinks.
In his mind, his" imaginary friend" the god Deus Ex Machina reveals to him that (CHAP.1 SPOILERS) he is real and gives him to power to see the future through his cell phone. However, he is not the only one to receive these powers, and he must team up with read more
May 16, 2011
MisaTange (All reviews)
Welcome to the cruel game of survival. If you hold a Future Diary, you're a possible target for the game to get the rank of God. And everyone else has some type of Future Diary too.

This is the plot where Mirai Nikki revolves in. But the manga explains how the game is started. How? Yukiteru, the main character, is pretty much an outcast. Left without friends, Yukiteru begins to create imaginary friends like Deus Ex Machina, the 'Lord of Time and Space.' However, creating this 'Lord' comes with a price; creating 11 Future Diary holders.

This is definitely something unique. Never really seen something like it read more
Feb 28, 2008
deafvader (All reviews)
Preliminary
the 2 main characters are yuki and yuno. the plot is about diaries (usually in the form of hand phones) which can tell the future with each having its own special functions (e.g. yuki can predict what happens around him but not him while yuno can predict what situation yuki is in every 10 minutes).
A great manga to read, yuno is the pyscho girl with the hidden past. yuki is the naive and weak main character but sometimes shows his hidden strength. all the characters are unique and the story has many people back stabbing each other and using tricks. great story, not bad art read more
Feb 21, 2009
Rogna (All reviews)
Preliminary
This has become one of my most favorite manga, and i can't wait until it get's licensed for U.S. distribution.

As well with a good story that kept myself on my toes on wandering what and how everything would happen next.

The art was overall okay it had it's ups and downs, but when it needed to get bloody, or scary it got the edges and everything for it.

The characters.......Yukiteru reminds me alot of a more wimpish version of Light Yagami, and Simon from Gurren Laggan. By the time at the beginning he doesn't want to do it at all, and is scared of Yuno a bit, read more
Dec 25, 2011
kayori1928 (All reviews)
If you love the horror genre I highly reccommend you check out this series.

Yuki is a 13 year old boy who writes diaries in his phone about what's going on around him. He has no friends except for his, what he thinks, are his imaginary friends Deus Ex Machina and Muru Muru. One day he wakes up to find already written entries in his diary for his morning surroundings. Turns out to his surprise these are predictions. He follows these predictions for a couple weeks and out of nowhere the class beauty Yuno starts talking to him. She mentions Muru Muru to his shock. read more
Dec 14, 2010
senilehitman (All reviews)
Preliminary
Obviously I gave it a ten. This manga never failed to keep me angry. I was mad at the characters' choices, I was mad at the plot twists and I was mad at the fact that it came out once a month. BUT! Don't let that deter you. This is the single greatest manga I have ever read. It really keeps you begging for more, especially if you were up-to-date and had to wait a month for a new chapter. The story is amazingly complicated. You will understand if you start from the beginning, but good luck explaining it to your friends.

Story: 11
It deserves an read more
Oct 28, 2012
sicknastykakashi (All reviews)
Y'know? The story and overall idea of this manga's story is very cool and interesting but I just can;t stand the psycho and yandere characters. They just went way overboard crazy and I wasn;t able to quite finish it. The story is cool, the art is average, the characters aren't very good at all, and I didn't find much enjoyment in this one.

Overall, I didn't like it. I'm glad for all the people who found entertainment in this but it's just not my style.
Jun 24, 2017
TheImmortalOne50 (All reviews)
Spoiler-Free review.

Mirai Nikki, also known as Future Diary, is one of them psychological related stories which intrigued me when I heard of it many times and decided to read it in a very short amount of time.

The story of Mirai Nikki revolves around the Future Diaries, all having a special skill which sets that specific Future Diary apart from the others. Throughout the story, I saw how well done it was with how the Future Diaries were used and how sometimes, you could anticipate what would happen next but it would still surprise us a bit. What intrigued me the most about the read more
Jun 14, 2010
jaded-eagle (All reviews)
Preliminary
This manga is a definate favorite for me because of two things. The first is that overall this manga is addicting and it's enjoyable. The second is that it is one of the few longer and not completed manga series I actually can read over and over and still not get tired of reading it. Another important factor for making this a sucessful book is the mystery, action, and the horror plot it is based on. The characters are what really gets the story going because the author does not go too indepth with the characters and with the ones that should be more read more
Dec 13, 2011
sarcastic_neon (All reviews)
well this manga was pretty much IT. the story was unique and it was really like going into a climax and anti climax over and over again. the only reason i gave it that score was because it was kinda too depressing not to mention that it was just too out of sync. i gave the characters that score cause i wished that yukki was not so weaky and weepy. it not becoming of a man. other than that this manga was genius!! :)
Jan 1, 2013
emanime (All reviews)
Being a reader with varied interests, I found myself downloading this series because it is finished and it's been a while since I've read something with a yandere on it. I had nothing to do, and since I've downloaded all of it, I read it all in one go knowing that I would feel guilty anyways if I don't.

Well, it is not very regrettable, but it's quite disappointing.

I have no complaints on the art. It is not the best, and this kind of art is not really my type, but it suited the series as it should be. Akise's the only bishie there (well, read more
Jan 24, 2019
thenthukpa (All reviews)
This manga is legend , although many people have different view but for me it was .
Overall the story was excellent . The mystery will keep you reading it more and more with brilliant character background ,development and mystery .

The story is about Deus ex machina , God of space-time ,He's dying and need to choose his succesor so he organizes a battle royale involving 12 participants and give them the ability to see future events in the form of diary notes .

ALthough there is some comedy but its mainly psychological mystery with many gruesome scenes , so avoid if your underage . Its anime read more