Hai to Gensou no Grimgar
Grimgar of Fantasy and Ash
Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Hai to Gensou no Grimgar

Alternative Titles

Synonyms: Grimgal of Ashes and Illusion, Grimgal of Ashes and Fantasies, Hai to Gensou no Grimgal
Japanese: 灰と幻想のグリムガル
English: Grimgar of Fantasy and Ash
More titles

Information

Volumes: Unknown
Chapters: Unknown
Status: Publishing
Published: Jun 25, 2013 to ?
Genres: Action Action, Adventure Adventure, Drama Drama, Fantasy Fantasy
Serialization: None
Authors: Jyumonji, Ao (Story), Shirai, Eiri (Art)

Statistics

Score: 8.261 (scored by 31653,165 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #3172
2 based on the top manga page. Please note that 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #804
Members: 17,367
Favorites: 593

External Links

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Jun 26, 2015
NKNIGHT (All reviews)
Great. That is a good word to describe this story. I've barely read one volume and have gotten addicted to it.
In the many novels that incorporate MMORPG elements, this is one of those that deviate from the normal formula and also incorporates more of a realistic take.
A group of twelve wake up in a the darkness without memories except for their names. The need to survive is right there, after all, food and necessities must be bougth, right?
You are given a chance: become one of the many that fights monsters or find another way to live. But experience plays a role and for people without read more
Sep 18, 2017
OnyLink (All reviews)
What to expect:
TL;DR Hai to Gensou no Grimgar is a fresh take on the "Stuck in a video game" type of story. This novel gives you a realistic take on what is likely to happen if one was transported into an MMO-like world. The world is brutal, unforgiving. Character are realistically cautious and take a "slow and steady wins the race" type of approach. The author constantly reminds you what happens when one is careless in this world. If character development is important to you, and you want a realistic approach to the "trapped in another world" genre, then you will certainly enjoy this book.

Characters:
The read more
Aug 14, 2018
Kyuless (All reviews)
This review is based on the official NA translation of the first and second volumes and will be updated as I continue to read.

Story: 10
First of all, it was extremely refreshing to see the isekai genre take on this type of story. It's a simple story of confused teenagers thrust into an unknown world without prior knowledge of who they once were. The main reason I enjoyed the story of the first two volumes was specifically because of them not knowing what to do. Seeing them grow through trail and error in a vast and unforgiving world made for a surprisingly emotional story.

Character: 10
Another aspect read more
Jan 26, 2018
Icelham-kun (All reviews)
For a lightnovel that recycles one of the most overused tropes in the industry, I find Grimgar to be particulary interesting, mostly because of it's unique way of weaving through the isekai theme. Throughout the story, the book continuous to remind it's readers of the harshness of reality, in a world where sword and magic is commonplace. Without cheat items or even overpowered skills to rely on, the story attempts to present a somewhat realistic view of another world, by using the narrative view point of a timid, weak, and uncharismatic main character, in establishing a unique representation of a game-like world where the idea read more
May 31, 2017
Harizak (All reviews)
The reason you should read this is for how realistic it all feel. You actually can feel who they are and how they grow through their experiences. Beyond that I cannot say anything I am horrible with spoilers but trust me if you are ever like I wish these dungeon crawler books felt more gritty and realistic this is for you. Even the main character has a couple spot light moments. But most of the times he is just as useless as everyone else. Even when he has his moments it is more out of sheer luck and not because he read more
Oct 2, 2018
Lankybuttwipe (All reviews)
Im on vol 11 as im writing this review so my opinion is based on what I've read uptill now.

... i don't even know where to begin with this. This novel is something special for me so the review might be biased... and as to why it's special, is simply because it grew on me. You know a story is good when it changes you and your thinking along the way. My taste in novels has been remolded after this experience and i wish it could have happened sooner.

Not your run of the mill isekai or high fantasy novel no no this one is read more
Jun 30, 2020
kiibocor3 (All reviews)
This review is based off the North American translation of book one.
Hai to Gensou no Grimgar. What it lacks in premise makes up for fully in its characters. While it may seem like your traditional Isekai (random group is teleported to an RPG style world) story, the characters in this story are all amazing, all with their own layered personalities and personal traumas/drives. Instead of our main characters being overpowered from the beginning and destined for greatness, we sit back and watch as they struggle to take in this new reality. Although slow in the beginning (which is why many quit both the light novel read more
Jul 13, 2021
pepepipi (All reviews)
I don’t write many of these reviews, but if I just convince one person to read this amazing story, I think it was worth it. At this moment I’ve read 15 volumes of the story (I don’t know how many chapters, that’s why I’ve written 200 down, but it’s at least that much by simple maths).
The story is I think has a pretty ordinary fantasy setting (at least in the beginning). For most people it will a little bit interesting, but for others, who have had enough of this genre, I can imagine it being repulsive. But! Please believe in the mal points this read more
Oct 28, 2018
Worldbuildingfan (All reviews)
Review is for the Light Novel up to book 11 which is right now the newest one translated.

Story: Grimgar has a very slow and character driven story. A lot of time is used to show the interaction of the characters with each other and their own self image, especially from the perspective of Haruhiro, the main POV character through most of the series. But there are also bits for a greater narrative that takes place and is very slowly brought up and explained to the reader. We learn more and more about the world and also therefore about the mystery where they came from, read more
Nov 21, 2021
Maurex (All reviews)
This review is more about why you should read this light novel and the good/bad points of it

Why you will keep on reading:

MY FAVORITE POINT: without going into spoilers, the MC falls into a position of leadership early on while knowing he's not fit for it. Through the whole work, you see his hardships and struggles trying to make his comrades survive and become a better leader. It is not said but this is a really psychological light novel and is very nerve wracking on that side.

Hai to gensou no grimgar is set in a REALISTIC fantasy world, you totally forget that it's actually read more