Gantz
Edit Manga Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Gantz

Alternative Titles

English: Gantz
Synonyms: Gantz/Osaka
Japanese: GANTZ

Information

Type: Manga
Volumes: 37
Chapters: 383
Status: Finished
Published: Jul 13, 2000 to Jun 20, 2013
Genres: ActionAction, DramaDrama, EcchiEcchi, HorrorHorror, Sci-FiSci-Fi, SupernaturalSupernatural, PsychologicalPsychological, SeinenSeinen
Authors: Oku, Hiroya (Story & Art)
Serialization: Young Jump

Statistics

Score: 8.171 (scored by 7075770,757 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #4172
2 based on the top manga page. Please note that 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #19
Members: 129,934
Favorites: 13,824

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jun 27, 2008
Beatnik (All reviews)
Preliminary
A Japanese teenager waits at a train station, reading a trashy magazine featuring an idol enticing the reader with her big boobs. An elderly lady approaches the teenager, asking for directions. The teenager quickly mumbles a non-informative reply while thinking to himself what an annoyance the lady is, why should he give a shit about her? Oh look, a drunken tramp just fell onto the tracks and no one is going to help. Why should they? It’s none of their business, just look away and pretend you didn’t see it happen.

This is Gantz. Hiroya Oku's exploitative, violent and cynical read more
Oct 29, 2007
Master10K (All reviews)
Here we have a manga that I cannot help but loathe and love all the same. Gantz being a thrilling Seinen, Sci-fi, Action manga that would take the reader on a gory rollercoaster ride, featuring amazing battles for survival. Yet it also happens to be riddled with poor dialogue and spontaneous plot developments that may stem one's enjoyment.

It all begins as two young Japanese high school boys, meet their end by a homicidal underground locomotive. And that would have been the end for them, if this wasn't a manga. So having been semi-posthumously transported to an apartment, along with others in the same situation; they read more
Aug 5, 2013
Polyphemus (All reviews)
Gantz is kind of awesome, but in a weird way. A really weird way. Not "weird" because of any kind of originality, but because of how it manages to be awesome.The plot is extremely lazy with blatant holes throughout. It's mostly about the overblown/unrealistic action, and holy mother of god, is it overblown/unrealistic. Ammo clips are infinite, when actual guns are used. The masses are weak, brainless, and easily influenced cannon fodder, to an absurdly exaggerated degree. "The masses," of course, including just about all side characters. In the world of Gantz, gangsters hang out in toilet stalls and collect people's teeth like baseball cards. read more
Jul 10, 2014
Merxamers (All reviews)
If you are looking for a series that is 'good' in any way, i urge you to avoid Gantz like the plague.

I should clarify that i'm not necessarily offended by violence or sex; i'm a huge fan of other violent seinen such as Berserk and Vinland Saga. However, the author's main goal seems to have been to shock the audience as much as possible in order to give the illusion of quality.

In Gantz, people who die are faxed into a room by a black ball that hands out weapons, talks in 'leetspeak', and tells them to kill aliens. That is literally all the read more
Nov 1, 2014
Hairy_Ninja (All reviews)
What can I say about Gantz? This dark seinen has been hailed a masterpiece by some, and utter trash by others. I would say that it is a bit of both, having some extremely good qualities and some glaring flaws which is enough to warrant the hate that it gets. However, it is not a bad manga at all, and I'll do my best to point out its pros and cons.

The thing that really stands out for me in this manga is the level of creativity on display. Seriously. It's goddamned glorious, from monster designs to all the crazy situations our characters find themselves in. read more
Jun 24, 2008
zethras (All reviews)
Preliminary
Gantz is a masterpiece in my opinion. Even though I love this manga, this manga is definite not for everyone. This manga contain sex scenes, blood, blood and more blood, naked girls/monsters with supernatural and technological twist to everything.
However if you can stand all of the above then, this manga is for you. The manga is about killing aliens with incredible suits, weapon, vehicles and with everything you can think of. The alien are not just standing there doing nothing, the monsters are strong and sometimes, they are way to strong, and makes you wonder if they can be killed or not. From human size read more
Jul 24, 2008
Larrynguyen09 (All reviews)
Preliminary
I'm going to make this short and simple. Gantz is quite questionable and confusing, because it doesn't make sense at all until you keep progressing throughout the story. Gantz is basically a black ball who chooses who he wants to fight for him. The series is not completed therefore many questions are yet to be answered. When the characters die in the anime, the chosen people appear in front of a black ball given a task to assassinate a certain type of alien/leader. They use futuristic motorcycles, to swords, to extreme never- before - seen guns. The setting of this manga is like a read more
Dec 25, 2008
Sirch456 (All reviews)
Preliminary
One of the greatest mangas I have ever read, I found gantz to be one of the most outstanding mangas out there. I've never been so hooked on a story ever since Berserk.

Story - I gave Gantz a 9 because the story is just magnificent and very different I mean how many mangas start of with the character dying, but it does have some flaws. One being the beginning of the story to go on a bit slow, but once you get through the first mission the story will get clearer.

Art - The art for Gantz is also one of the best I've seen, the read more
Jul 1, 2008
IcyAngel (All reviews)
Preliminary
Great story, first manga I've been addict too. Good thing about it, is that you cannot predict anything. Some caracter will die, new will come... I always asked myself what else will happen next page. If you want a gore, bloody, nasty manga, this is the one.

Fight, Monster, Sc-Fi, Sex, Blood... and many dead, many many many !!

I start reading after I saw the anime. If you have seen it, the Anime is just a small part of the story, the plot is going much farter. Anime story stop near #5-6... If I remember correctly.
May 8, 2013
allos (All reviews)
Preliminary
Seeing as most reviews praise Gantz wholeheartedly i find it worthwhile to express my opinion which is different .My review will contain some minor spoilers as i ll need them to make a point for my opinions .

Gantz up to chapter 280 seems like an entirely different manga when compared with what came next .That will be my main point .
Let's take it from the beginning :
The story is a story of horror,mystery,survival and - above all- character development .
And as every story it is mostly dependent on the charm of the characters to be successful-if the characters are unnatural or boring even the best read more
Feb 8, 2011
Eitra (All reviews)
Preliminary
Story: 4
The story revolves around these 2 kids who faced a unfortunate mishap in the train station, but the story as a whole moves from arc to arc without never getting the feeling of any real progression. In short you wont be reading Gantz for its story.

Art: 8
The art is pretty good, When i first saw this my thoughts where "WHOA I CANT BELIEVE SOMEONE HAVE THE TALENT TO DRAW SUCH DETAILED LOCATIONS BY HAND" The characters, guts & gore, boobs & muscle tone are well detailed. It'll leave you in Awe at times. But my only gripe is it was not drawn by read more
Jul 9, 2010
deleteme234 (All reviews)
Preliminary
What is a good attention grabber to immerse the reader into the story? Gantz, like Yu Yu Hakusho, starts out with the main character getting killed. Kei Kurono and his childhood friend Masaro Katou are run over by a train and are iinstantly transported into a war zone where people are violently slaughtered by strange aliens.

The man who wrote this story, Hiroya Oku, is truly a genius, as he heavily immerses the reader into a breathtaking story. Whenever I read Gantz or any of his other works like Hen, I find myself unable to stop reading. Gantz has an amazing story and is very unpredictable, read more
Jul 15, 2011
Ayato-kun (All reviews)
Preliminary
Gantz

- A story about a horny teenager.


Upon reading the first pages of this manga, many people would consider Gantz's story, to be a simple and straightforward one. A tale about Kurono Kei, a horny teenager, that is selfish, self centered and obsessed with sex, and big breasted women.
That is until he dies, gets revived, and forced to partake in a alien killing death match, with futuristic suits and weapons. From that point on the reader starts to understand that Gantz story is nothing but straightforward.


Story: 9

One of the things that i like the most in manga, it's how a story is focused on read more
Aug 9, 2013
DEIMOSLOL (All reviews)
I've been reading Gantz for the past 2.5-3 years and finally on aug 9 2013, a week after my birthday, I've completed reading this amazing series. I've at least read the first 200 chapters three times over and I still love it just as much as the first time going through.

My biggest take from the manga is the character development. I feel like I grew onto the characters. Each character, good or bad, has their own distinct features that make a lasting impression and make me feel like I'm reading an original masterpiece. As soon as you cling on to a character and you appreciate read more
Aug 11, 2015
Keatle (All reviews)
Anime/Manga have a lot of genres, but the more prevalent ones (at least for westerners) are the battle shounens and the slice-of-life's. Said that, another pretty important genre is the seinen, marketed to older men and can even feature gore and more sexual elements. One of the most famous manga of the genre is, without a doubt, Gantz.

Gantz began serialization in 2000 and finished in 2013. It has 383 chapters and was created, written and illustrated by Hiroya Oku, who had previously created Hen and Zero One.

In the start, Gantz has an unusual and (mostly) unpredictable story. The protagonist is not your usual hero and read more
Apr 20, 2011
hJ (All reviews)
Preliminary
Death is NOT an end-Merely a new Beginning! (Unknown)


PLOT: -

The course of this series is full of bitterness and tragedy. Characters that have no control, no power and are inserted in a game that despite how well they play and the alliances they form, once they win, its back to the beginning. Imagine playing a high stake game, kill or be killed, meeting people who become allies, friends and even lovers but knowing that if you choose to collect your 100 points and leave the game, all the knowledge, personal growth and experiences will be blocked from your mind. It’s a read more
Mar 30, 2019
IcarusXAnime (All reviews)
A post on what I think the appeal of Gantz is, taken from my instagram:

Gantz is a manga that is able to draw from every genre imaginable and somehow still tell a cohesive story. There are elements of sci-fi, horror, romance, drama, gore and mystery. All of these genres flow together seamlessly, this means that there is something enjoyable for everyone in Gantz. The mangaka is a master of analysing elements of other popular works of fiction and implementing them into his own work, all while putting his own spin on these elements which in turn elevates them.
Gantz has a very large and diverse read more
Nov 26, 2013
madkat9 (All reviews)
A manga masterpiece and quite possibly Oku's Magnum Opus. Sort of blown away by finally finishing this manga, so I'll just share my input on what I found amazing.

The technical skill in the art here far outsripts many things that i've seen. I can't imagine how much work it would take for the artist to make something. As always, story comes first when enjoying something in art, but the effort that this man put into this can absolutely not be denied. Fantastic.

The manga has 3 major arcs, and they truly, truly up the scale and almost change the whole landscape of the manga. 3 phases read more
Jul 3, 2013
leighton9999 (All reviews)
First off, let me start by saying that I believe the manga should have two reviews: A review for the story up to about chapter 280, and a review for the rest up to 383.

Up to between chapters 280 and 300, I'd give the manga a fantastic rating. The art is good, the plot is good, character development is good. It keeps me entertained and wanting more. Then it falls off a cliff. Between chapter 280-300, or maybe even the start of the final (3rd) phase, it feels like the author just wanted it to end. He also seemed to force the romance between read more
Jul 29, 2011
Florten (All reviews)
Preliminary
Story: 10

Human lives holds absolutely no significance. People will die, but in this manga, people's death do hold significance. This work goes against human nature, of the selfishness and greed. People who have died, are given a second chance, in return they kill aliens that are a potential threat to earth. Gantz, is like a Jack-Of-All-Trades. So many things are incorporated into this manga that it is almost a work of a genius. Action, romance, Sci-fi, sex, death, gore, ecchi, horror, drama, and psychological. This kind of story is one of a kind that does not appear many times.

Art: 9

Fan-Service: There is much fan service read more