Edit Manga Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Orange Marmalade

Orange Marmalade

Alternative Titles

Japanese: 오렌지 마말레이드

Information

Type: Manhwa
Volumes: 8
Chapters: 66
Status: Finished
Published: Feb 12, 2011 to Dec 29, 2013
Authors: SeokWoo (Story & Art)
Serialization: Naver Webtoon

Statistics

Score: 8.111 (scored by 13865 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet published' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #7162
2 based on the top manga page. Please note that 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #276
Members: 26,914
Favorites: 829

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jul 15, 2013
Arte_mis (All reviews)
Let’s just get to the review...

STORY - 7/10
Orange Marmalade is a story about a vampire girl living in vampire-hating world that catches the eye of the most popular guy in school. Sounds like an overused plot, i know.

You see the thing is, the element that enhances this cliche-sounding story to the heights of a good one, is the execution of the story itself. Look at the very first page of the the first chapter and you'll know what I mean. While reading, I personally loved the atmosphere it created, made me feel at ease. The pacing of the story is just perfect. It read more
Feb 9, 2015
Rampant (All reviews)
Nothing about this is fun, meaningful, sweet, or tragic.

The main plot setting is that humans are irrationally, wildly racist against vampires to an extent that is unfathomably unrealistic. The "love interest" is a pushy stalker. The main character is a gutless, bland loser. Since the art is average, it leaves the work with no redeeming factors.

This could have been an interesting work despite the flawed premise if any of the characters were particularly fun or unique, but nobody offers anything. Instead it is nothing but a slow paced abomination. "OMG being vampire is suffering" is not an interesting story.
Jun 30, 2014
henyome (All reviews)
On the surface this seems like your typical high school vampire romance—and make no mistake, it is true to its shoujo nature, but the execution of the plot is utterly flawless. Orange Marmalade plays out like a simple but effective allegory, dealing with the unfair treatment and oppression of vampires, who have now turned to pig blood rather than human blood to try to acclimate and adjust to modern human society. Despite their efforts and a three-hundred year peace treaty, vampires have been forced to hide their true nature lest they face discrimination and harassment by their human neighbors.

What is so exceptional about this series read more
Jul 12, 2013
DennaOrDianne (All reviews)
Preliminary
I can really only say one thing about this manhwa and that is; "wow".
It's not that the idea behind the plot is particularly original or anything, in fact I tend to avoid vamp-human-love-stories ever since the Twilight-fever, but somehow this story just swept me of my feet. Two chapters into Orange Marmalade and I was completely sold.
The characters are really believable, the female lead, Baek Mari struggling with loneliness and her distrust for humans after being shunned by them, and Jae min, the former Misogynist with an unexpectedly dark past and a Mother complex, trying to win her over. The whole thing is just read more
Dec 25, 2014
Zeroskye (All reviews)
Story:

Vampire romances are from rare, so what makes Orange Marmalade so good? The execution. In vampire shoujos, more often than not, the vampires are perceived as cool or alluring by the humans. Orange Marmalade, on the other hand, decides to take a realistic shot at the relationship between vampires and humans. When reality is suddenly invaded by the supernatural, you shouldn't be thinking along the lines of "Oh, he's so cool" or "Dude, I wanna be the friend of that vampire/werewolf/ghost." The characters of Orange Marmalade act just like how we would; we follow stereotypes and don't take action when others are ostracized due read more
Sep 7, 2014
kathrine_peirce (All reviews)
ok,this is my first review here so yay congratulations for me :) and it's probably gonna be weird but whatever let's get back to the review i really like the plot put i wish things have gone different because it's really really boring when the girl ends up with the guy she is supposed to end up with right from the first chapter it was really easy to guess what was gonna happen next and my guessing was always right which made it really boring i wish that the manga was a little more unpredictable a lot actually and i totally hate the ending it's read more
Feb 12, 2017
aguecheek (All reviews)
The truth is, I'm extremely conflicted on this one. In execution, this manhwa is so close to perfect, but where it counts, it misses the mark. Let me elaborate.

First of all, if you're looking for a cute romance, I highly recommend you look somewhere else. While their relationship is a huge part of the story, it's less the Ma Ri and Jae Min story, more the Ma Ri story. Less a love story, more a story about a teenage girl doing her best to cope in a highly discriminatory world.

And this is done extraordinarily well. In theory it sounds stupid, a world where vampires read more
Jan 16, 2014
TheBizzarReview (All reviews)
A near perfect comic to read. I'm not going to talk about why the manga is so good, instead I will talk about why it is not a perfect manga. In my time while reading this comic I started to focus on the character of the entire comic. There were a few characters that of had a bit more character development. The blonde girl at the end of the novel that still hates her for being a vampire, The teacher, and the love interest father. Though it is a pretty awesome manga recommended by me.
May 11, 2015
A_inWonderland (All reviews)
This is not your typical high school, romance, drama, slice of life...this webtoon is all over the place.
It is fabulously intriguing hooking us in with an interesting look upon the vampiric condition.

It continues to keep us there with solid well rounded characters, that make us simply want to break down and hug them. These characters are so human, that it makes it almost possible to reach out and touch them.

The art is fabulous, and like many webtoons, is in full colour!

It brings out so many emotions, happy and sad, laughing and tears, heartbreak, and that warm fuzzy feeling that can only be brought read more
Sep 25, 2016
Choco_Pocky (All reviews)
Lets get straight to the point here,
The story is a cliche', that anyone would enjoy.
Personally I like manga that give me feels, this manga Orange Marmalade.
It made me cry,laugh, and feel sorrow for characters that are fictional.
And trying to put their places, in real life.
Since a vampire and human romance, is a great classic that doesn't have many about.
I really liked it because the art was also outstanding, and it was in color.
I gave characters a 9, because even though the characters were nicely done.
They didn't have a chance to really explain the other characters, and only focused on the mains.
And 2 words to read more
May 29, 2017
ImRingo (All reviews)
***This is a somewhat spoiler free review***

What do you get when you have a decent cast that do decent things but then get a rushed ending? Orange Marmalade.

Story: 5/10

I'll say that the whole vampire hiding in society thing was actually pretty well done. The basic premise of this Manhwa is that we follow the main protagonist as she fights her way through having a somewhat normal high school experience. Too bad she has some really hot guy all over her and has many friends that care for her. But noooooo she doesn't want any of that; well not at first. One thing I really liked read more
Aug 29, 2016
TheEtruscan (All reviews)
Right so this is my first review on this site so go easy on me, Ok so Orange Marmalade where should I begin... This is one of those extremely rare instances where I found a Manga I enjoyed so much it got me emotional.

So heres why.

The reason this particular Manga was so great in my opinion is due to multiple factors first I would like to mention the story, the story in this is so unique its surprising what I mean by this is that Orange Marmalade focuses heavily on its world building which is weird for a romance Manga but wow does read more
May 12, 2014
kitykat288 (All reviews)
This is my first time writing a review so..... yep

This manga is about a girl who is a vampire and attends school and trys to live a "normal" life. She has no friends and no boyfriend. It is know that there are vampires and they all called "monsters" because they have to drink blood to live. This manga was really good and i think everyone who enjoys romance mangas should read it. EVERY1 SHOULD READ THIS MANGA
Oct 7, 2015
matic12345 (All reviews)
Picking manga at random is interesting as you can stumble upon some very interesting reading material. Reading through the short summary I did not think this was going to be any good as reading a romance manga involving vampires seemed like a chore but after reading a few chapters I have to say I was pleasantly surprised at just how good of a read this was.

In contemporary Korean society vampires are living among normal people having found pig’s blood is a adequate replacement for human blood, but the people are still harbouring hatred towards them, so they have to hide their identity. We are introduced read more
Mar 30, 2016
Banter (All reviews)
One of the best romance manhwa I've read. Plot progression is just right- there are occasional chapters that SEEM like fillers but end up contributing to the plot, and the pacing is great.

Character: Just about all the cast develop some way or another. No spoilers but by all the cast I mean ALL, even Basic Bitch #1 and Deliberately Antagonistic Antagonist change throughout the manhwa. Only reason I gave it a 9 is because from start to finish there's 2 characters who are added for seemingly no purpose but for one joke somewhere in the middle then kept on for the sake of it, never read more
Jan 9, 2018
Bobby_Jeans (All reviews)
I really enjoyed this work especially in its somewhat nuanced portrayal of vampires and their interaction with human society. The art felt plain but enhanced by the style in key moments. For the most part the characters felt realistic and their growth seemed natural except for one problem which I blame on the story structure and not the writing of the characters.

My biggest problem with this story is the sheer irrationality that is displayed in the context of the humans hatred of vampires. It doesn't feel in any way justifies especially when we learn later in the story that no vampire has killed a human read more