Spiral: Suiri no Kizuna
Spiral: Bonds of Reasoning
Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Spiral: Suiri no Kizuna

Alternative Titles

Japanese: スパイラル~推理の絆~
English: Spiral: Bonds of Reasoning
More titles

Information

Type: Manga
Volumes: 15
Chapters: 78
Status: Finished
Published: Aug 11, 1999 to Oct 12, 2005
Genres: Drama Drama, Mystery Mystery, Suspense Suspense
Theme: School School
Demographic: Shounen Shounen
Serialization: Shounen Gangan
Authors: Shirodaira, Kyou (Story), Mizuno, Eita (Art)

Statistics

Score: 7.981 (scored by 39533,953 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #7182
2 based on the top manga page. Please note that 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1293
Members: 11,353
Favorites: 425

External Links

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Feb 3, 2008
Crystal (All reviews)
Spiral: Suiri no Kizuna can be almost what you would call reading 15 volumes of bliss. The mix of excellent artwork, a mind-boggling storyline, fascinating characters and plot twists that you would not have expected all work towards creating the dictionary definition of an 'enjoyable read'.
Story
Spiral's storyline is one of the decisive elements that keep it apart from your usual run-of-the-mill manga. While it begins on a rather lackluster note, seemingly appearing to be a murder mystery, the plot quickly develops into one that leaves you with many questions asked, and begging for the answers to come quick. The mystery behind the existence of the read more
Dec 4, 2009
shyblueangel (All reviews)
This is my first review for one of my favorite manga, please cut me some slack guys. :D

Spiral Suiri no Kizuna has been an amazing read for me, in every way. There are very few lacking aspects in this manga. Upon finishing it, it left me both happy, sad, and thoughtful, which most mangas fail to do. If Spiral were a song, I'd say that it begins mysteriously and ends both beautifully and in a simple way.

Story
The storyline is just very nice, very well-done. Kyo Shirodaira-sensei did a good job. Even though Spiral is an action and a mystery manga, there are many emotional aspects read more
Nov 11, 2014
sprinkledpieces (All reviews)
Kiyotaka Narumi is a brilliant pianist and detective who disappeared two years before the events of Spiral: Suiri no Kizuna. "I went to find the Blade Children," is the only message he left behind for his wife, Madoka, and his younger brother Ayumu. Though Ayumu is gifted in both logic and piano, he has grown apathetic due to constantly being in Kiyotaka's shadow. A murder at Ayumu's school and a new message from Kiyotaka drag Ayumu into the deadly mystery of the Blade Children.

Character: 8 (Very Good)

The characters were my favorite part of this series and were why I continued reading until the end. read more
Nov 13, 2014
AshAkinola (All reviews)
After watching the FUNimation dub (anime) adaption back in 2009, I always wanted to dive deeper into this story, so I finally picked up the manga. Spiral Suiri no Kizuna has been an amazing read for me, in every way. There are very few lacking aspects in this manga. Upon finishing it, it left me both happy, and sad.

Story
The storyline is just very nice, very well-done. Shirodaira did a good job. Even though Spiral is an action and a mystery manga, there are many emotional aspects to the plot as well. It has a good amount of suspense and tension, but not a ridiculous read more
May 2, 2021
Noahboy (All reviews)
Spiral is strange in the sense that it only comes into its own in the final five volumes, while the first ten are still very good on their own. But, once it comes into its own, there really isn't anything like it.

It mostly focuses on mystery and entertains you by constantly misleading you then faking you out, and it's done very well for the most part. But it may take too much time to reveal certain plot details for some people, as the mysteries only start to be unraveled from volume eleven onward. However, if you can make it that far, the final arc is read more
May 27, 2014
eccomi (All reviews)
Preliminary
NOTE: This is my personal opinion and should be understood as such.

Where to begin with this manga? Well, to say that this is a shounen manga is a joke, it's clearly shoujou-oriented, especially the art. The boys look like girls, the panels overlap and you have flowers and sparkles on every other page. The characters are two-dimensional and follow a clichéd formula (the protagonist who has an inferiority complex that stems from being compared to his brother; the goofy, disgustingly cute sidekick; the villains who seem evil at first but are actually misunderstood but you can't sympathize for them because they're complete d*cks). The mysteries read more
Aug 19, 2020
PersonaSOLO (All reviews)
It took me 15 years but I finally did it... I first discovered "Spiral: Suiri no Kizuna" when I was 8 years old. At the time I was too young to fully understand the great writing of this series. Time went by I couldn't remember the name of the story or what the characters looked like. I've tired asking online couple times, but no one knew what I was talking about. I only remembered two scenes from the anime the dodge ball test and the poison water test. There were times I honestly thought I dreamt the series up. But on 7/28/20 I found it read more