Sword Art Online: Progressive
Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Sword Art Online: Progressive

Alternative Titles

English: Sword Art Online: Progressive
Synonyms: SAO Progressive
Japanese: ソードアート・オンライン プログレッシブ

Information

Type: Manga
Volumes: 7
Chapters: 47
Status: Finished
Published: Jun 29, 2013 to Feb 28, 2018
Genres: Action Action, Fantasy Fantasy, Romance Romance, Sci-Fi Sci-Fi
Theme: Game Game
Serialization: Dengeki G's magazine
Authors: Kawahara, Reki (Story), Himura, Kiseki (Art)

Statistics

Score: 7.971 (scored by 73047,304 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #7462
2 based on the top manga page. Please note that 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #747
Members: 17,504
Favorites: 881

External Links

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Sep 20, 2014
Silo-hime (All reviews)
Preliminary
The manga is still ongoing but I enjoyed it from the start. I've seen the Sword Art Online anime adaptation and though the story is okay, it felt rushed. The story was jumping from one experience to the next so I wasn't pretty satisfied after it ended. However, this manga showed the nitty-gritty of the life within the game. It shows more personality among the players especially Asuna and Kirito.. Especially Kirito. Kirito was more or less unemotional for the most part of the anime until he suddenly got together with Asuna. There was no development between his feelings. In this manga, Kirito has read more
Sep 11, 2019
ApacheSnow69 (All reviews)
To start out my review for this manga. I'm a big fan of SAO(collecting all the light novel/manga), and you can see this on my profile that I'm a huge fanboy. This adaptation of Progressive from the light novel into manga format was absolutely dreadful.

For the positive, The art style resemble like abec illustrator, which is a plus one for me.
But, the story as whole, divergence from it original source material in the early chapter. Asuna in the original was 10x better than the manga. I know that manga adaptation allow numerous perspective to be added in and allow original content. I personally unwilling read more
Feb 19, 2017
Master10K (All reviews)
Preliminary
Set in the not-so distant future, of advanced virtual reality and augmented reality. Sword Art Online has become a bit of a phenomenon within our cultural sphere, spawning numerous adaptations from: anime series, to movies, to video games and several manga titles. With its popular status, SAO has attracted a ton of scrutiny, the bulk of which being some form of "WTF! Why rush through the Aincrad arc?!" Well I guess the author, Reki Kawahara took a lot of the criticisms to heart, as he strives to reboot the Aincrad Arc of the franchise, with this latest iteration Sword Art Online: Progressive.

Not so much in read more
Mar 16, 2017
TeKSMeLater (All reviews)
Preliminary
I kinda liked SAO.

I went through a phase where I believed that this anime is really good, being one of the recent anime that got me interested as a once-casual viewer. Then the second half came.

Part of the complaints from most people about SAO is its sloppy narrative—and this is especially evident in the anime when they time-skipped A LOT. A good opportunity to flesh out the concept with the world of Aincrad went to flames after watching all these slice-and-life and overly melodramatic brouhaha fillers that never made any effect to develop the characters nor the world.

Now, granted that SAO: Progressive does NOT answer read more
Sep 30, 2020
PkBuzios (All reviews)
I looked for the Progressive manga after learning that the next Sword Art Online anime will be based on it.

The story focus on Asuna this time showing a bit of her life before and how she got into the game. The manga doesn't take itself very seriously, as the story is very simple.
It has a lot of action, comedy, some ecchi content and a lot of pantyshots.

The art is good character-wise, certainly better then the previous SAO manga. But not very detailed and it can be a let down if you are expecting to see some Aincrad scenery.

Overall it is a good and easy read. read more
Aug 21, 2020
ProfessorBrahms (All reviews)
Preliminary
Sword Art Online. Everyone who is somewhat of an anime fan has heard of it. It’s almost the ultimate “baby’s first anime” in terms of someone watching it and then making the true jump into the medium. Growing up on Dragon Ball and Yugioh as a kid, I knew what anime was. But if it wasn’t a shonen anime playing on Cartoon Network, then there was no way, as a kid, that I was going to be able to see it. It wasn’t till back in 2013 when I saw Sword Art Online, that I, like many others, was introduced to anime in a way read more
Aug 23, 2017
TheSugarRay (All reviews)
Preliminary
SAO still isn't thought out. At least it isn't lifeless, Asuna has emotions and goals, and it is pretty to look at.

The story ideas that are here clash with what is fun or potentially fun about the show. By fun I mean interesting misery, which is fun for evil people; So, fun. What a good show does is establish a premise and explore that by pushing the logic of it.

Every element is immediately demystified by Kirito who expositions at the reader until things aren't fun.

When Asuna and Kirito do leave the boss room and meet enemies that are way stronger than them, they read more
Jul 7, 2017
TetraContraman (All reviews)
Preliminary
No more the bland, damsel in distress, perfect waifu Yuuki Asuna that we see on anime.
The Asuna being potrayed here, is a tsundere who is smart, confident, ambitous and a total female warrior who kicks alot of people and being a huge mastermind on leading the guild. She even has a back story and problem of herself, more like a character with characterization, with problems of her life being mentioned early in the story, not being waited until Mother Rosario Arc.
And Kirito too, he even has flaws and acts like a nerd (but somehow still OP).
And for the comedy part, it's just a thing that read more