Kotonoha no Niwa
The Garden of Words
Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Kotonoha no Niwa

Alternative Titles

English: The Garden of Words
Synonyms: Koto no Ha no Niwa
Japanese: 言の葉の庭

Information

Type: Manga
Volumes: 1
Chapters: 7
Status: Finished
Published: Apr 25, 2013 to Oct 25, 2013
Genres: DramaDrama, RomanceRomance, Slice of LifeSlice of Life, PsychologicalPsychological, SeinenSeinen
Authors: Shinkai, Makoto (Story), Motohashi, Midori (Art)
Serialization: Afternoon

Statistics

Score: 7.841 (scored by 36783,678 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #10412
2 based on the top manga page. Please note that 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1488
Members: 8,267
Favorites: 170

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Apr 30, 2017
Cloe900311 (All reviews)
This is my first time reviewing a series with a full 10/10 in every aspect.

Story: The story is the same as the movie it is based off on. Extra moments were added to develop Takao and Yukino's relationship more, and the ending as well was not in the movie - it gave an overall, hopeful and positive feeling.

Art: The art was very pleasing to the eyes. I love seeing the blushes on our protagonists' faces, and their gentle gestures. The tone the movie displayed was very apparent in this manga adaption. I love the way the postures were drawn, and the drips of water on read more
Dec 17, 2018
PentagramShogoki (All reviews)
It contains spoilers.

Ah, love... What would it be of our lifes without love? It moves the world, it makes us feel things, it makes us happy or destroy our heart... A strong feeling, motivation of hundred of people every day to fullfil their routine. You can love a person, an animal, the music you listen, anime and manga... I hope you agree in it, because Kotonoha no Niwa brings us some cups of sweet sweet love.

This manga is an adaptation of the well known movie made by Makoto Shinkai (the best he's made in my opinion) in 2013. In it, it tells the exact same read more
Oct 27, 2020
DarkVoyagerx (All reviews)
This review contains minor spoilers.

The story was great. I watched the movie last year and I actually disliked it until I read the manga which completely changed my mind. I can't recall if the movie had the same ending as the manga but the manga definitely had more content than the movie.

The art was incredibly beautiful. I literally stared at some of the bigger pictures for minutes because it was so good. The character designs were really nice and I liked the way Midori Motohashi drew them when they were blushing and how she sometimes drew these big pictures of the park.

The garden of read more
Jun 12, 2020
Clubby (All reviews)
Before I get into this review, I want to issue a warning that I will be discussing spoilers for this manga, as I don't see how I can review this without talking about the execution of certain key scenes without spoiling them.

Kotonoha no Niwa is a manga that started serializing before the movie version came out in 2013. It's a short, one volume long manga, which makes it an easy read, like the movie, which is only 40 minutes long, making for an easy watch. In this review, i'll try to not compare it to the movie too much, as i'm planning to rewatch it read more
Mar 18, 2020
Garebear68 (All reviews)
It is hard to not compare the manga version of Kotonoha no Niwa (Garden of Words) to its anime counterpart... especially since it is my favorite of all anime in the world. I will try my best, but some comparisons will need to be made.

Story (9) The story is simple, yet elegant. It is not deep, but it tells a story of two people that are lost within themselves and how together they learn to take steps forward into their futures no matter how difficult they may be. There are changes in the story from the anime version that brings the romance aspects of the read more
Oct 2, 2018
RustyPenny (All reviews)
My review on this is; it's pretty good.
The speech bubbles were hard to follow, I had to watch the movie after reading it to understand some of the conversations because I couldn't tell who was saying what. (Not important conversations, I got the jist of it.)

As far as the art goes, it's pretty. I'll give it that, however I'm not a fan of how more than half of the time no-one has a face. It's just an empty void. Not sure if it's just the artist's art style, or if it was just rushed. I still enjoyed the artwork.

The story is pretty good, short.. I read more