Edit Manga Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Kamisama ga Uso wo Tsuku.

Kamisama ga Uso wo Tsuku.

Alternative Titles

English: The Gods Lie.
Synonyms: Kami-sama ga Uso wo Tsuku., Gods Tell Lies, Our Summer Holiday
Japanese: 神様がうそをつく。

Information

Type: Manga
Volumes: 1
Chapters: 5
Status: Finished
Published: Mar 25, 2013 to Jul 25, 2013
Authors: Ozaki, Kaori (Story & Art)
Serialization: Afternoon

Statistics

Score: 8.141 (scored by 14794 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet published' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #6712
2 based on the top manga page. Please note that 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #286
Members: 27,173
Favorites: 838

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Aug 27, 2013
supersleuther (All reviews)
"God Lies" easily ranks amongst my favourite short series. Overall, the story was reminiscent of the movie "Stand by me". Life goes on even if the world is painted bright blue from afar and cynical and more than a little screwed up on on closer inspection, even for grader schoolers. The two main characters Natsuru and Rio seem to fill the adult role better than their own parents. The outcome of the story is deeply satisfying to see and because of it's length/timespan in the manga, it is perhaps more poignant than "Immortal Rain".

Nothing is farfetched in "God Lies" and it portrays a realistic albeit read more
Dec 5, 2013
post_human (All reviews)
Sometimes the cover really doesn't convey the story in a book and sometimes short things can really have a long story to tell, this is really one of those occasions. When I first started this manga I thought it will be short and sweet (or was hoping) romantic story, but now I can gladly say it was so much more. I am really amazed at how much the writer really was able to convey in just 5 chapters. While there is a bit unrealistic nature in some aspects of the slice of life it is without a doubt a unique manga and definitely one of read more
Nov 15, 2014
akemoto (All reviews)
Before you get turned off by the title "God Tells Lies," there is no sacrilegious connotations or references within the work. You will fully understand, towards the end of your reading, why the mangaka chose to title his work as such. The title is a perfect fit.

Every detail of this story is perfect… the height of the heroine in elementary school, the white, crippled kitten named Tofu abandoned by the bridge, the flowers along the street and the flower on the girl’s hair, the death of a beetle, how the grandfather falls with the money for his endearing grandchildren in his hands, the trusting younger read more
Jul 5, 2015
Shioxus (All reviews)
In a market full of shounen cliches and harems galore, it's nice to see a gem like this get unearthed. It may have a little dirt on it, but once you clean the dirt off it shines all the same.

There are plenty of things that seem rather farfetched in this manga, and it is best to keep your suspension of disbelief high. Even so, the story is fairly simple with a... different sort of twist. Nothing in the story department will blow your mind, though you may contract a case of the feels.

The characters are also pretty simple, yet at the same time seem read more
Jul 8, 2019
Trikoto (All reviews)
=Spoiler free review=

I came across this manga in a discord server I was in, where I saw someone recommending it and labeling it as "the best drama manga I've ever read".
I decided not to read it online and I bought the only volume and read it under an hour. This is my first ever manga review.

"Kamisama ga Uso wo Tsuku." is a deep story which is very well put together and with distinctive characters who each have their own personalities and weird tics.
The story introduces to you the main character as a 11 year old boy called Natsuru Nanao who's living with his mom. read more
Jun 19, 2014
Maskulinity (All reviews)
Without a doubt the most touching and beautiful manga I have ever had the pleasure to read.

It's such a gloriously simple premise - A poor young girl lives day to day looking after her little brother on next to nothing, due to absent parents. She's befriended by a young boy, her classmate, and a big fan of football/soccer.

The sheer realism is what makes it for me. It's extremely believable and grabbed me from the go. It's the most I've ever felt for a character, the little girl's struggles... god damn. Despite being so very tragic and making a genuinely say "fuck no..." at some read more
Aug 17, 2019
Renee96 (All reviews)
WOW!

This is an underappreciated one shot.

I really like the artwork, it's a nicely drawn manga, and I think it would look very good if turned into a movie. I want to see this animated so bad!

I really enjoyed the story.
As you see the kids on the cover are holding hands, but this isn't a romance story. There is romance, but it's not the main focus of the story. It just gets glossed over.

The most interesting aspect of this story is the main girl Rio and her private life.
She lives alone with her younger brother who she's the only care giver for.

It's just the read more
Sep 22, 2015
Beobachter (All reviews)
In many ways, this is a story about the end of childhood.

The manga primarily took place over the course of a summer holiday, when a pair of sixth-graders connected. The boy, a soccer kid raised by single mother, had become disillusioned after his favorite coach is hospitalized with cancer. The girl, an unusual kid conspicuously taller than her classmates, carried with her an unimaginable burden. Yes, there’s eventually the development of that first love, but don’t be mistaken: this is heavy stuff, more nuanced and wistful than what seems to be your standard puppy love scenario. There’s melancholia frequently etched on the pages of read more
Sep 5, 2018
Klabautermann (All reviews)
The Gods Lie is a short little story that knows how to do both children characters and romance pretty well, the beauty of which lies in the fact it doesn't try to drag out the quite simple and realistically short plot. The entirety of the story some titles take semesters and years to to cover, takes only three days and then some time skip to actually cover the necessary points in it, without bringing unnecessary side characters or dwelling on some stupid, forced shitty drama that isn't the part of what the mange is trying to tell.

It's definitely worth a read, and despite a read more
Mar 15, 2018
KisenoYuma (All reviews)
The more manga I read the more I realize I'm falling in love with these subtle real-world romance stories. The Gods Lie is a diamond in the rough, I feel, when you consider all of the shounen manga that's wildly available nowadays.

Though this is a one-shot, the character development is deep. In a way I identified with Natsuo, which helped me dig deeper into the story. He is a kid that feels like he needs to do things for himself, while also struggling with the feelings of wanting to have fun and do things a kid wants to do. Rio, on the other hand, read more
Mar 17, 2016
spikeeagle (All reviews)
While I haven't completed many manga, this is one of my favorites. This is a wonderful story of love, loss, and family.

The story centers around Natsuru and Rio, neither of whom have particularly strong families. Natsuru's dad passed away when he was young, and Rio lives alone with her younger brother, Yuuta. In the first chapter, we see Natsuru playing soccer, a sport he loves. Sadly, his old coach is in the hospital with cancer, and he's been presented with a new coach who, sadly, isn't very nice. Through happenstance he happens to meet Rio, and this is the beginning of something beautiful.

The art read more
Dec 8, 2015
4b3 (All reviews)
I'm dissapointed that much that I think I'm going to cry.
This manga... was absolutly amazing...truly amazing, the story, the character, everything... But It was to short, if it was more detailed and longer with more development in the story and character it would be easily an 11/10.

I can't say really nothing more about the story, just read the synopsis or I will spoiler too much since the manga is so short.


I promise you will not regreat reading this 5 chapters, you will regret the fact that is so short, that's for sure.

The story is so sad, but also so heartwarming, the mentality of characters suit read more
Jul 30, 2017
tulipen (All reviews)
I was looking for something similar to Koe no Katachi, and was recommended this. At first I was hesitant because of the title, "The Gods Lie". I thought it was gonna be one of "those" stories, but after reading it, it makes a lot of sense, and in fact pretty depressing (or heartwarming).

The story is good, however I believe it went by a little too quickly. The opening scene implies that the two characters aren't familiar with each other, but a few pages later, they're already somewhat comfortable, but then again they are kids, so they might not care as much as an older read more
May 7, 2017
JuGuL4ToR (All reviews)
Once in a while, there is that anime or manga that reminds me why I fell in love with both mediums in the first place. And after nearly 15 years and hundreds upon hundreds of titles, it's happening increasingly less frequently.

"God Lies" is more than the sum of it's parts. The art is pretty simple. The characters are endearing, but nothing special. And the story - minus a macabre twist - is quite straight forward. But when it ends, you can't help feeling you wish there was more; and not because the story is lacking, or the ending botched.

It just strikes a chord you'd read more
Dec 7, 2016
Bugiboo (All reviews)
Firstly, I found this manga at the corner of the shelf, the place where nobody looks because the series they came to buy (popular shounen) usually lie in the middle of my local comic books store, lying in insignificance like a treasure chest. I've never heard this manga before but the name and the introduction on the back cover intrigued me. I decided to give it a shot and the rest is a story of love at the first sight. Now, The Gods Lie is one of my favourite manga.

The story is really heartwarming and characters fit in the context. You can find something from read more
Sep 8, 2016
UsernameV (All reviews)
Nanao Natsuru es un joven de 11 años japonés apasionado por el Fútbol, quien tras escaparse de un campamento de verano (gracias a que este no se lleva bien con su nuevo entrenador) termina pasando parte de las vacaciones en la casa de su compañera de clase Suzumura, y su hermano pequeño Yuta, a espaldas del resto del mundo. De esto, es muy resumidas cuentas, trata Kamisama ga Uso wo Tsuku (en español: “Los Dioses Mienten”), un manga One Shot escrito e ilustrado por Ozaki Kaori.

Este manga lo leí sin tener la más mínima idea de a qué me iba a enfrentar (tal como me read more
Nov 15, 2016
Duckielover151 (All reviews)
I don't read a lot of one-shot manga. (In fact, because I'm typically attracted to longer series, I haven't read an abundance of manga in general.) And because I enjoyed it so much, I think my main complaint would be that I wish there was more of this. They got the story out in a manner that was concise but not rushed. It's not like the characters weren't sufficiently explored, so I suppose it didn't technically NEED to be longer. But it only takes me about an hour to finish a single volume of manga. With such a powerful story like this one, I was read more
May 8, 2018
isahbellah (All reviews)
I was watching a youtube video about this guy's "underground" (?) manga recommendations, a.k.a manga that he liked and that not many people know about or at least not many people talk about. When he introduced The Gods Lie and told us about the basic plot, I thought: meh, this is not for me.

But then he said there was a "plot twist" and I, like the plot twist addict that I am, immediately decided to read it. He didn't give any spoilers for the said plot twist, but based on the title I had kind of an idea of what it would be like.

Aaannnnddd... nope. read more
Sep 10, 2019
minmanga (All reviews)
This manga is a beautiful story about friendship and even a bit of happiness during difficult circumstances. Yes, there are gloomy situations and feelings in this one too, like being abandoned, a dear person dying etc, but the main characters handle it surprisingly well, maybe because they are just children.

The art work is great in the way it delivers the feelings and the atmosphere. The only thing I could complain about is that Rio and her brother Yuuta is a bit too similar, so you have to watch the hair cut really carefully in some circumstances to know who is who.

Overall, I do place this read more