Ajin
Ajin: Demi-Human
Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Ajin

Alternative Titles

English: Ajin: Demi-Human
Japanese: 亜人

Information

Type: Manga
Volumes: 17
Chapters: 84
Status: Finished
Published: Jul 6, 2012 to Feb 5, 2021
Genres: Action Action, Horror Horror, Mystery Mystery, Supernatural Supernatural
Demographic: Seinen Seinen
Serialization: good! Afternoon
Authors: Sakurai, Gamon (Story & Art), Miura, Tsuina (Story)

Statistics

Score: 7.931 (scored by 2977129,771 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #8292
2 based on the top manga page. Please note that 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #97
Members: 91,990
Favorites: 2,935

External Links

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Apr 26, 2014
GinMagi (All reviews)
Preliminary
Story
Ajin are humans that cannot die. Seventeen years ago, they first appeared on a battlefield in Africa. Our main character turns out to be a Ajin and gets treated like he is some animal to be experimented on and everyone else sees him as a cash prize like an event being held everybody thinks they will get money if they hand in an Ajin even though Ajin are human other people don't see them as those adults were trying to kill the main character and smirking then they said let's see if he really is an Ajin. Long story short this manga has an interesting read more
Feb 11, 2021
NordicAnpan (All reviews)
A psychological character-driven action manga with underlying elements of horror, Ajin is surely not a story for everyone. But for those with suitable leaning it may very well come nothing short of a masterpiece.

-----
Whilst the anime adaption of this manga did a great job setting the tone, handled their cgi with surprisingly high quality and produced some absolutely outstanding music, they dropped the manga's story only a few episodes in and continued the show with an original plot and ending. For anyone who might still be confused about this and or thus hold preconceptions about Ajin because of that, know simply that beyond the initial read more
May 3, 2015
ModusOperandi (All reviews)
Preliminary
"Why must one die?" Is being immortal a gift or a curse?

One day, our main character Nagai, Kei finds out the wrong way(and only way) that he's an immortal being with supernatural powers, which is not only bad since the government is after all "Ajins"(Immortals) for experimental purposes but because he's one of the few hundred Ajin's in the world.
His head has a price now, and his mysterious abilities make him the perfect target for everyone around him. Who will remain his friend and who will betray him?

Kei is given a quick introduction into a very realistic world.
Ajin is filled with psychological and read more
Feb 14, 2014
fbh (All reviews)
Preliminary
Ajis is a rather new, and lesser known, manga that offers a good story, interesting characters and solid art.

As some other recent mangas, like Shingeki No Kyojin, it does have an overall "shounen" feeling to it but introducing elements of seinen like and increased use of gore and violence, antagonistic figures that go beyond "I want to rule the world because I am evil" and a reduced focus on the frequently used "friendship is power" theme.


Story:

As the preview on the site indicates, Ajin is about people that can't die.
They look and act like normal humans, and most of them don't even realize they are "ajins" read more
Mar 1, 2021
Cereus (All reviews)
People die when they are killed...unless you're a demi-human. Ajin is set in the backdrop of bureaucratic Japan where we follow Nagai Kei as he discovers after nearly being isekai'd by Truck-kun, he's a demi-human and returns from death's door.

Critiques out the way first: Ajin's beginning chapters are ass. They aren't bad by any stretch of the imagination--compared to the vast sea of manga out there, it's a pretty damn good introduction. But compared to the greatness that is the next 80% of the manga, the opening chapters are pretty fucking weak. The issue with the opening chapters is that the author has no idea read more
Apr 15, 2021
MixalHain (All reviews)
Ajin is like that one 29-year old cousin who still lives in his mom's basement, but when you actually try to interact with him, he's pretty cool.

I have to start this review by saying that I am not a fan of the anime adaptation of Ajin, the anime was animated poorly, and diverged from the source material, which we all know from experience, is not good.

Let's start with the characters. The mc and the antagonist are really the 2 main characters who stand out as great in this series. The dynamic and relationship these 2 have make every single chapter exciting, suspenseful, and read more
Jan 9, 2016
ap1001 (All reviews)
Preliminary
I think this manga reflects a lot about the Japanese tendencies to think that everyone is plotting against them and paranoia of the author than anything else.

Sorry, allow me to rephrase that. Ajin is torture porn, the end.

To clarify, it is a torture porn without the porn part, The entire thing showed its brain damage the moment the Ajin were used as car crash dummy, yeah how one dimensional of you mr. bad guy. And I think the author misunderstood the meaning of "grey vs grey", and we got 1-dimensional bad guys (the big bad corporation guy) vs 1-dimensional bad guys (the big bad Ajin read more
Mar 29, 2020
AsianG (All reviews)
Preliminary
Some people seem to really miss the mark about this manga so I thought I would put my quick share on why this manga is amazing. Lets get one things straight first, the torture/abuse of immortal humans in this manga is a super small part that is mostly glanced over other than 1 character constantly referencing it to affect is personality. The real meat of this manga comes with the villain Sato who might be the most entertaining villain to watch ever. Ever time the author feeds us some of his backstory it becomes a joyous moment, and his overall dynamic with the main character read more
Jul 21, 2017
yuyqe (All reviews)
Preliminary
If I were to describe Ajin in one word, then it would be: clever. If you like tons of plotting and creative uses of power reminiscent of Death Note or Code Geass, then you will very likely like Ajin. The characters are very relatable, and as long as you stick with the main character's selfishness for the first story arc, you will see him develop wonderfully as somebody who is rational and calculating, but at his core a very driven and caring person. All characters behave believably and have greatly complex motivations for each of their actions, and their subtle emotions are captured well by read more
Sep 21, 2020
MishaRoute (All reviews)
Preliminary
Oh Ajin. I just wish you actually had something to say.

As far as plots go, I wouldn't exactly say this manga has the most original concepts ever. Some humans achieve the ability to never die outside of old age. When they are discovered by humanity, they are essentially taken from civilized society and used as seen fit. Usually tortured. No one really seems to care that people just vanish, and general society doesn't seem to think the people being essentially kidnapped are in any sort of danger. Sure. Whatever.

Where the story does shine are the conversations the characters have (usually), and the manga's antagonist. read more
Apr 20, 2021
Dante012 (All reviews)
I watched the Ajin anime when it aired, and I loved it despite the weird graphics. It was a great concept, with a very nice execution. Its characters were awesome, and I was looking forward to reading the manga once it would be finished.
Sadly, it didn't live up to my expectations...


STORY
Ajins are immortal beings. They revive as soon as they die. Of course, such a phenomenon would be the target of governments around the world. They capture known Ajins, and experiment on them.
One day, Kei gets run over by a truck. But he doesn't die. Everyone now knows he's an Ajin. He has to run read more
Nov 11, 2015
Mai21 (All reviews)
Preliminary
Only ting i want to say about this manga:
"the MC worth it"
Because of his awesome mc i forgive little things that not make much sense int the story I just love him, i relate to him a lot, though that may be not so good.
Anyways the art is enjoyable it goes great whit the manga, the plot is interesting and untill now it doesn't focus on the mystery of "the heck is an ajin" head on but in the warlike relationship between them and humans- for now at least- but what really got me in this manga is the main character abnormal personality! Kei read more
Sep 18, 2018
DomoB90 (All reviews)
Preliminary
I picked Ajin up perchance one day because I needed something to read while I was at the doctor’s office and boy did I have something to read! Ajin far exceeded my expectations. I am completely enthralled and wrapped in the story. If you like cat and mouse type of stories like Death Note then this is for you. I honestly think this gets compared to Death Note so much for the simple fact that you get the same “ooohh” and “ahhhh” moments when a twist appears and is then explained. Overall, this series is phenomenal and I can’t wait for the next chapter to read more
Oct 29, 2015
Mojokujo (All reviews)
Preliminary
This is a amateur's review, so I apologize if I do not do this series justice! I just like it and want to inform others about it.


Story: 8.5/10. It's pretty straight-forward Inexplicable powers originating from Africa awaken in soldiers after they die(?), making them "immortal" and making them something other than human. Eventually this phenomenon spreads across the world and ends up occurring to the main character years later. Suffice it to say that there is a lot of escaping, ridiculously cruel lab experimentation that barely seems to get anywhere, not as much angst as I thought there'd be, annoying turtleneckers/meddlers, and...okay, I'm not read more
Sep 18, 2021
Joricardo (All reviews)
Ajin is a great manga, having mostly one of the best villains in manga in general.
The characters are great and very deep. Each character is very human with their own morality and desires, willing to do wrong for what they believe.

The protagonist, Nagai, is a very fascinating character. Being somebody cold and strategist, but not without having a human side that ends up taking him to the fight with Satou. It's ironic that he's the one who picks a fight with him, not the other way around, which would be the standard for stories like that.
Satou can be considered a co-protagonist, because what really read more
Sep 1, 2021
kiinntannn (All reviews)
I watched few seconds of the anime and dropped it, but thanks to my bro's recommendation, I pick this manga.

Personally, the story is good, not the best but it's entertaining in it's own way. Ajin is actually being carried by Satou. He's just that amazing of a villain. I read it just to see what Satou did. His exchanges with MC is very fun to read, I really love it to see their interaction. The MC is also a great character, although I prefer Satou than the MC here.

Art is amazing, detailed and very, very good. I have no expectation on the art at read more
May 8, 2021
NewSat3 (All reviews)
Preliminary
It has been years since i read a manga that can suspend my disbelief as well as Ajin. The author has thought of everything. Power dynamics among the financial, political and military elite of the country (as opposed to most other manga where these are presented as a single entity), power dynamics among the nations (i love how the author isnt pretending that all nations have equal leverage and recognizes the disproportioned influence that the USA has on Japan), relatable characters (and they are relatable because they are realistic), power and limitations of the mass media, apathy of the majority of the population regarding social read more
Jan 20, 2016
Ochinchinfactory (All reviews)
Preliminary
I´m a huge fan of gore and psychological manga. This manga has both, gory and psychological aspects. I´m not a big fan of lotsa text, but some points in this manga are kinda "chewy". You don´t really feel like reading everything.
But even if this is one negative point, the art makes up for it. I really like the art style and the details, as well as the nice design of the Ajin(Demi-Human).
The characters are all pretty important, and they all appear several times, you learn something new about them everytime they appear. I also like that the characters have a yet so simple, but unique read more
Sep 20, 2021
buslefer (All reviews)
Ajin suits my niche, and it was something I really wanted to love. I heard mixed reviews about it before reading, but felt compelled to do so anyway.

There are times when this story is firing on all cylinders, but then an equal amount of time dragging. It oscillates between intensity and mediocrity.

Personally, I don't think any of the characters are downright terrible, but in my opinion the most compelling characters are among side characters. The main protagonist is not very likeable but he is also refreshing in contrast to the typical action manga. He is often distasteful and there is no element of the read more
Jul 16, 2021
Hifumi_Takimoto (All reviews)
Preliminary
Not: Yazı içerisinde çok az spoiler bulunmaktadır.

Çok güzel bir seri. Sakın animesini izlemeyin direkt mangayı okuyun çünkü animeyi full CGI yaparak seriyi harcamışlar. İngilizceniz yoksa bile Gerekli Şeyler mağazası bu seriyi Türkçe'ye çevirdi oradan alıp okuyabilirsiniz. Hala bitirmediler ama tahminimce 1-2 aya bütün seri çevrilmiş olur. Ajin çoğu konuda fazlasıyla sürükleyici ilerliyor. Çizimler biraz sade olsa da fazla rahatsız etmiyor. Benim okurken rahatsız olduğum şeylerden biri güzelim satou abimizi sonlara doğru "psikopat bir terörist"ten "havalı gamer"a çevirmeleri.. Bana aşırı saçma ve cringe geldi. Okurken "Acaba bunları yaparken ne düşünüyor?" diye çok fazla sorgulamıştım. Fakat birazcık basite kaçılmış ve sadece zevk için yaptı diyip karakterin read more