Katekyo Hitman Reborn!
Reborn!
Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Katekyo Hitman Reborn!

Alternative Titles

English: Reborn!
Synonyms: Kateikyoushi Hitman Reborn!, Home Tutor Hitman Reborn!, Minna no Sasai na Nichijou, Kaibutsu-Zukai Tsuna!
Japanese: 家庭教師ヒットマンREBORN!

Information

Type: Manga
Volumes: 42
Chapters: 411
Status: Finished
Published: May 24, 2004 to Nov 12, 2012
Genres: Action Action, Comedy Comedy
Themes: School School, Super Power Super Power
Demographic: Shounen Shounen
Serialization: Shounen Jump (Weekly)
Authors: Amano, Akira (Story & Art)

Statistics

Score: 8.141 (scored by 6174461,744 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #4562
2 based on the top manga page. Please note that 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #69
Members: 109,944
Favorites: 9,378

External Links

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Sep 7, 2009
royalripper (All reviews)
Preliminary
If you're able to stand seven manga worth of one chapter mini crack stories, only to get hit with a bag full of PLOT, then Katekyo hitman reborn might be the manga for you.

Tsuna Sawada, the main protagonist, is introduced as a middle school boy who can do nothing right, and is a constant screwup. In comes Reborn, an assassin in the shape of a baby, who's badassery knows no bounds, and who consequently informs Tsuna that he's the unlikely successor to the greatest mafia family in the world, the Vongola. Tsuna certainly doesn't want this thrown upon him, but has no choice read more
Mar 9, 2010
TonyTheme (All reviews)
Preliminary
*THIS REVIEW CONTAINS SPOILERS*

There's so many things that can be said about Katekyo Hitman Reborn (KHR) - good and bad things, but mostly the latter.

Our main protagonist, Tsuna, is a rather atypical hero in comparison to what you'd find in your standard fare of shounen manga in a sense. Tsuna has little to no self-confidence and believes he amounts to nothing much at all, himself and others referring to him as "No Good Tsuna" for having no spine, poor grades, terrible luck, and a lack of athleticism as he catches basketballs with his face in P.E. Bad news for Tsuna is he's assigned a mysterious read more
Dec 24, 2014
Izaya (All reviews)
Ah, where shall I start with KHR?

I was introduced to the franchise through the anime. When I realized the anime was cancelled, I finished the anime and then moved on to the manga. Every time I finished a chapter, the next one just got even better. I honestly enjoyed every moment of reading this.

Story is flawless, ofc. The archetypes in the manga are just as perfect.

The art is amazing. You can see she put her heart and soul into her drawings (esp in the Simon Arc and her drawings of Daemon Spade completely revived).

Overall, I enjoyed this manga a lot. Hopefully, Akira will make another read more
Mar 21, 2009
cloudymidnight (All reviews)
Preliminary
This manga is really awesome in my point of view. I heard about it from a friend, and I decided to check it out. I got hooked immediately. The drawing style was cool, and the storyline was fantastic, just my type of manga. It starts out comical, but then later chps show it get intense and with some major action. And it's about the mafia. I mean that's rare to find a manga about the mafia.
And I absolutely love the characters! Especially since the main character is weak and totally useless. It makes for good comedy.
May 15, 2013
FlazeReloaded (All reviews)
I have to say Reborn is one of the mangas I've liked the most out of the many I've read. What I liked the most, and the reason why I even started reading it is because of the genre shift that made Reborn so famous, and it's something really amazing. It really shows you how the story grows and changes from the original lighthearted and quirky gag manga to a darker and more action based version with great characters and developtment.

Tsuna is one of my favorite characters in all of manga because of his growth from a shy, insecure and cowardly boy into read more
Oct 11, 2014
higgswaz (All reviews)
Katekyo Hitman Reborn is a shounen about Tsuna, a no good loser from japan. Until he is visited by Reborn, a hitman home tutor from the vongola family. Together with Reborn tsuna must train to become the next mafia boss of the vongola.
Hitman Reborn has a fairly slow start but once the second arc begins you wont be able to stop watching.
The characters unfortunately is where the show falls down. All the characters are predictable with one or two exceptions and some characters become useless and annoying towards the later parts of the manga.
The artwork is quite good, the the attacks look awesome and emotional read more
Jul 30, 2015
moody-echoes (All reviews)
This manga is definitely worth a shot if you have enough patience- or you do have a liking for gag manga aside from action shounen manga. For the first 65 chapters or so it is mostly composed of one chapter stories that display the somewhat comedic daily life of main character Tsuna, and many of the main characters are introduced during these chapters- my advice is, don't let these chapters fool you into thinking that Reborn! is a boring manga that is filled with filler-like blank plots, it really isn't and that is because after these chapters, the series gets very, very good- sort read more
Jun 1, 2011
Kazamir (All reviews)
Preliminary
Chapters Read: 304
Overall Score: 7

This is a manga review. I promise I'll hit the anime once I'm further into it, but it hasn't registered enough episodes logged for me to review yet.
Story - 5

The story in Katekyo Hitman Reborn is subpar at best and full of almost painful cliches. Full of previously unmentioned relatives, abusive senseis, naive characters, and pseudo villians who will join the heroes cause eventually. Ugh! The story surrounds Sawada Tsunayoshi who is a middle school student, he is naive, whiny, foolish, and over all extremely reluctant to get involved with anything. Before we ever have a chance to actually get read more
Aug 24, 2010
FenominalJA (All reviews)
Preliminary
Katekyo Hitman Reborn.......

The manga Katekyo Hitma Reborn or Reborn is one of the most interesting mangas I have ever read. The first 25 or so chapters are displayed as a joke or a gag manga as it was originally intended but as the nonsense were done it took a left turn to battle type manga like the other gag manga Gintama. Now the recent chapters are displayed as it belong in the battle manga genre. The story went deeper as the chapters went on.

The characters are memorable especially the titular character Reborn as its iconic stature as a Chibi Hitman. The main character Tsunayoshi Sawada read more
Dec 16, 2009
mpsslh (All reviews)
Preliminary
Basically Katekyo Hitman Reborn!AT THE START is a comedy kind of like 'doreamon' which starts with a problem and ends solution which is tsuna getting shot in the head and getting topless to save the day.

After the first with volumes the manga heats up and evoles into a fighting manga with battles using dieing will flames!
Everything gets more exciting after this with more enemies every corner and new weapons everybattle.

The art is eye catching,hard to believe that they are able to draw so well with a deadline of 1 week.
Mar 15, 2011
Inugirlz (All reviews)
Preliminary
This is the first work i've ever taken the time to review but i think its worth it. It would be sad for someone to read only the first few chapters and then quit it because it wasn't what they thought it'd be.

Reborn is a FANTASTIC MANGA/ANIME. It really is a work of art.
I will praise it up and down except for first chunk of chapters/episodes.

Until chapter 62 the story is CRAP. HORRIBLE, HORRENDOUS AND SO DISSAPOINTING. Its the whole comedy aspect of it, and while they're are funny moments its prolonged for too long and it ruins the concept of a mafia story.

The read more
Nov 15, 2019
mouthpiece (All reviews)
(just for the record, this is a slight alteration of my anime review)

Katekyo Hitman Reborn!, aka “The Idiotic Mafia anime”. Who would have guessed that the Godfather would get such a ridiculous spin-off in Japan? And here I thought zombies called orcs in Gungrave was too much.

But let’s clarify a few things first. This show is a silly action/comedy that uses a backdrop story as an excuse for mostly random gags and some guys to come fight with some other guys. Don’t expect a captivating, multi-layered, well-thought of scenario. It is just a typical “kid wants to grow stronger and more secured with himself and read more
Jan 29, 2010
edwardelricfanXD (All reviews)
Preliminary
Overall, it is a good series to get into. The storyline really starts around volume 7. Until then, you spend your time read crack chapters that is very funny and entertaining at the same time. I started reading this after friend told me about it, and now I'm hooked. I gave this an overall score of nine, because it took too long to get to the story line. With all that said and done, I highly recommend this manga to anyone.
Jan 27, 2013
DarkDendra (All reviews)
If you are wanting to read a fun manga series dealing with mafia and a lot of random things being thrown in there filled with a lot of action, then I think this series will probably be right for you.

There's a lot of arcs in this series dealing with the future and past, many different mafia bosses, you have other mafia countries thrown in here, and you have a whimpy boy who is no good and useless for the main character.

For those who read this already know what I am talking about, our main character hero is a boy called Tsuna ( nickname of course read more
Jan 27, 2015
Otaku365 (All reviews)
After about a month and a half's time of reading this, i could say all 409 chapters were worth it. I decided to finally read the original work after I loved the anime when I completed it 9 months ago (was it only 9 months? Feels so long ago...). Both the anime and the manga are the longest works I've completed and both a considerable favorite of mine.

Good things about the manga
The plot is definitely good. The main character is "No-Good/Loser" Tsunayoshi Sawada who is bad at everything and a coward. He meets a baby who his mother had hired as a home tutor and read more
Mar 29, 2020
Hykez (All reviews)
I used to love this back when I was 15 or so. Time do change things, huh?

It's clear that the author didn't planned the series to go as far as it went, the first several chapters present a mostly slice of life manga focused on comedy, but eventually the author realizes that it's a Jump title, so BOOYAH! here comes some bad fighting arcs, from here all the way to the end, with a tinge of badly written science fiction.

The problem with this series is repetition, which is not an abnormal thing when it comes to Jump titles, but it's just too damn much. The read more
Jul 23, 2021
Gatsu-chan (All reviews)
Katekyo Hitman Reborn! is a fun spirited story with humorous situations, likable characters, and an intriguing plot. I found this story through a manga reading app, on the popular page, and decided to check it out. When I first started reading I thought little of the story's direction and plot developments, but enjoyed the fun times and laughter that always surrounded the cast. As the plot started to move I found myself gaining more and more interest in the plot surrounding Tsuna and Reborn. Reborn as a concept is so distinctive and expansive. I continued to read more because of this story's interesting take on read more
Dec 1, 2020
VeJesus (All reviews)
I was introduced to KHR through the anime I guess, when I'm on IG debating who's the stronger anime character, I would hear about Tsuna. I would always see one picture with the flames had me thinking "This guy is a total badass" and he was a pretty strong guy so I wanted to watch the anime to see him in action.

I looked up the anime only to find it was pretty old and didn't have dub(personally I like to watch older anime in dub) I was still going to watch it then I saw it had a lot of filler mixed episodes so I read more
Aug 16, 2020
Roo409 (All reviews)
I first watched the anime and it was my first time watching an anime so I completely fell in love with it so when I found out that there were more stories in the manga, I immediately started reading it and got immersed to the story.

It was a good choice for me to read from the beginning because there were a lot of chapters that were not in the anime and there were some episodes in the anime that were not written in the manga.

Hitman Reborn is one of the best anime and manga out there, I encourage you guys to read and read more
Mar 23, 2020
JaemJaz (All reviews)
Truly a fulfilling read. The manga starts slow and is more similar to a gag comedy at first, but picks up and barrel rolls into becoming a full on Shounen Action manga. While the main character Sawada Tsunayoshi is a bit self-centered and pathetic at first, you will keep coming back for the lovable characters that are first presented (such as Yamamoto Takeshi and Reborn) and unlike in many mangas, you will come to love and appreciate Tsuna as his true character develops thanks to his Hitman Tutor Reborn. While the ending of the manga is a bit rushed, almost all the arcs are flushed read more