Edit Manga Information
What would you like to edit?
 

NHK ni Youkoso!

NHK ni Youkoso!

Alternative Titles

English: Welcome to the N.H.K.
Synonyms: Welcome to the NHK!
Japanese: NHKにようこそ!

Information

Type: Manga
Volumes: 8
Chapters: 40
Status: Finished
Published: Dec 26, 2003 to Apr 26, 2007
Authors: Ooiwa, Kenji (Art), Takimoto, Tatsuhiko (Story)
Serialization: Shounen Ace

Statistics

Score: 8.271 (scored by 14119 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet published' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #3722
2 based on the top manga page. Please note that 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #153
Members: 28,753
Favorites: 2,107

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Aug 14, 2008
Fradez (All reviews)
This is one of my favorite manga and, since it had few reviews, I thought I could add a bit more of information for those who are uncertain whether to read this or not.

Well, as it says on the synopsis, this manga follows the life of a hikikomori, who thinks an organization called NHK is targeting him. (oh really?!) xD
The main character actually posseses psychological problems, such as paranoia ,which leads him to believe his life is being controlled by NHK, and all the bad things that happens to him are their doing.

Suddenly, he meets a girl called Misaki who says he had been chosen read more
Jan 18, 2009
Akaike (All reviews)
Ok, first off let me say that this is definitely not what you would call an 'average' Shounen manga. If anything , this is more psychological in its nature, and in turn it can be pretty thought provoking at times. However, in the same breath, it can also seem to drag in places - which makes it kinda bland. But in saying that, the good definitely outweighs the bad. The manga tends to dwell on certain psychologies of the characters, and it often gets as close to reality as any manga will ever get. Every single character has some flaw read more
Jan 19, 2009
AironicallyHuman (All reviews)
After re-reading volumes 1-6 before moving onto the final two volumes, I finally managed to finish reading the NHK manga just now. My feelings are pretty mixed about it... I enjoyed reading it a lot but, at the same time, I was often thinking that there was way too much needless content included - far more than in any other version of the NHK story. Because the huge amount of needless content, my enjoyment levels dropped quite a lot after the first two volumes. If only for the fantastic art I can't score it lower than 7/10, though.

Volume eight was by far the most read more
Dec 30, 2010
Reksho (All reviews)
Shutting yourself in your room is so tempting. Nobody talks to you; nobody harasses you and most importantly nobody judges you. Finally peace and quiet down that pool of chaos that we call our mind. But that, as many things, is something temporary.

Welcome to life! Get ready for the best and biggest journey you’ll ever have. Meet Satou Tatsuhiro. This guy will accompany you on your trip. Or actually, you will be accompanying him on his trip. Satou is 22 year old and is an amusing character with idiotic quirks. You’d probably want to know that Satou has shut himself in his room for the read more
Jul 30, 2010
Foolness (All reviews)
What happens when a series about social issues is not really enlightening on said social issues but is praised because it addresses them?

Welcome to NHK in my opinion is among the "untouchable" series in an age I dub the generation of fantastic hypocrites.

It's not that manga has never been experimental or fantastic nor am I saying many of the fans of this series are dumb.

If anything I think it's the reverse. We've come to the point where intellectual laziness is so... on the surface that we now have a culture that's "smart" enough to belittle the moral cliches of underdog stories, harem, fighters shouting out read more
Jul 29, 2008
corroded (All reviews)
Welcome to the N.H.K. covers a LOT of topics in today's society. What makes the story so amazing is that it injects humor and seriousness with perfect timing that it all blends so well as a whole.



We see topics like lolicon, maid cafes, suicides, ero games, etc. and blended with the more "common" plot elements like drugs, sex, perseverance, finding one's self, love and many more. What's more striking is that it does reflect society so much that you can't help but sympathize with the characters. It doesn't matter how exaggerated their stereotypes are, you will still feel their pains and their joys.

Like most read more
Apr 19, 2013
OutlawImmortal (All reviews)
If I were to describe this manga in one word I’d say it’s illogical. Let me explain.
Welcome to the N.H.K. centers around the life of an unemployed and socially withdrawn young man named Satou Tatsuhiro – a hikikomori. A hiki-what? For those of you who don’t know, a hikikomori is a NEET (Not in Employment, Education or Training) who is afraid to go forth in the society and is not able to interact with people. Now one day, Satou meets a mysterious young girl named Misaki who claims that she can cure him of his social withdrawn syndrome and make him a normal person. They read more
May 15, 2016
NasalShark (All reviews)
The anime NHK ni Youkoso is about a slightly unhinged individual who slowly learns how to reassociate with society, through painful realisations and the help of a lonely highschool girl. The manga NHK ni Youkoso is about a fucking insane person who is slowly manipulated and beguiled by his "friends" which slowly leads his mental health into a downwards spiral and his life into an irreparable mess.

There's something to be said about just how sadistic and unyieldingly explorative of the "NEET" condition Tatsuhiko Takimoto is in this manga. This manga is like a rollercoaster, only it's all down. Down, down, down. You keep thinking your read more
Nov 4, 2016
portalweeb (All reviews)
The anime and the manga have their differences, and I personally prefer the anime, as it had way more of a psychological effect on the romantic side of the story.

*Minor Spoilers*

Misaki plays a much smaller role, and she deals with other clients, which felt quite scummy. She was a lot more selfish in this one, and it barely felt like she needed Sauto at points, where in the anime they really liked each other.

*Major Spoilers*

The 2 suicides are definitely the biggest difference. When Sauto joins the suicide meeting, it was much less dramatic in the ending - especially since he saved himself, Misaki had nothing read more
Sep 6, 2010
Rotten-Girl (All reviews)
Welcome to The NHK is a darkly funny, sad and sometimes disturbing manga.

The characters are well thought out and you genuinely grow to care for them even with all their flaws. I know most people would compare this to Palahniuk’s (writer of Fight Club) work, but I beg to differ. Whereas Palahniuk romanticizes the underworld and outcasts, this does the complete opposite. Most of the humor is found at the expense of the characters and their sad, absurd situations.

The story tends to drag every once in a while, but the characters and overall story get you through those couple of moments.

This would be read more
May 24, 2016
MrOmega16 (All reviews)
Honestly, this manga, unlike its anime adaptation of the study Gonzo, leaves much to be desired, here I will make a review.

1 - History: The main protagonist is Tatsuhiro Satou, a former university entering its 4th year of unemployment. It takes a totally exclusive life as hikikomori, where finally reaches the bizarre conclusion that what is happening has to do with a conspiracy. A day that did not seem that nothing in his life would change, meets Misaki Nakahara, a mysterious girl who wants to try to cure his reclusive Tatsuhiro problem. Tatsuhiro Misaki is presented with a contract, which basically says that every day read more
Jul 17, 2016
nikkibane (All reviews)
It's kind of strange seeing a series go for realism in the way these books touch upon it, this indifferent world full of anxious, insecure and a lot of the time just plain horrible people makes for some of the most interestingly written characters I've ever had the pleasure of coming by. The lows are depressingly low and the highs are short and sweet in a story full of characters that you will suffer with and for. I believe that packing a story so full of conflicting emotions is something that takes nothing less than genius even if it is paced a bit all over read more