Edit Manga Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Shokugeki no Souma

Shokugeki no Souma

Alternative Titles

English: Food Wars: Shokugeki no Soma
Synonyms: Kimi to Watashi no Renai Soudan, Our Love Counseling
Japanese: 食戟のソーマ

Information

Type: Manga
Volumes: Unknown
Chapters: Unknown
Status: Publishing
Published: Nov 26, 2012 to ?
Genres: Ecchi, School, Shounen
Authors: Saeki, Shun (Art), Tsukuda, Yuuto (Story), Morisaki, Yuki (Story)
Serialization: Shounen Jump (Weekly)

Statistics

Score: 8.381 (scored by 56171 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet published' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #2592
2 based on the top manga page. Please note that 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #17
Members: 125,223
Favorites: 11,727

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Nov 23, 2018
James_Monroe (All reviews)
Shokugeki no Soma is a textbook case of a manga that lost itself along the way.

Somewhere along the line, the story stopped being about a cooking school and over-the-top villains came into picture and the manga became a hot mess after that.

After a very, very long arc with the first over-the-top villain, another one came into line, and by God, it's the worst character. Yeah, the worst character. Not the worst character in the manga. Not the worst character in WSJ mangas. Not the worst character in any manga. It's the worst character in any given story I've read. It's one of the worst things read more
May 31, 2013
Potsuu (All reviews)
There are those boring times that we experience in our lives. Leading us to try new things, may it be funny or serious or just plain something we want to do, and those experiences will give us a learning or two. I had two or more of those moments in my life, and what i did during one of those times was browse a random manga in a manga hosting site. And there i found a shimmering shining diamond. A manga titled Shokugeki no Souma.

Story: 9/10

The story is quite simple really, the protagonist, Souma Yukihira, has a father that has a world renowned culinary arts read more
Dec 21, 2018
T-Hawk (All reviews)
"Look how they massacred my boy" - Vito Corleone, The Godfather & T-Hawk, Reading this series every week.

Shokugeki No Souma has been a staple of Weekly Shonen Jump for over 6 years now and at times it sat near the top of the mountain as one of the most unique ongoing shonen series out there that took your typical battle manga and flipped it on it's head. It seems however that the best days of this manga have long gone by and what we are left with is something that is a shell of it's former self, begging to just be put out of it's read more
Mar 29, 2014
Subpyro (All reviews)
My food is going to embrace you so hard, you will reach the climax of sensation, naked!

Where the cooking battles called Shokugeki dominate and control the entire position of the cooking society, welcome to Shokugeki no Souma! Alongside with simply the most attractive art, be prepared to be taken on a ride full of cliffhangers and tight moments. Furthermore, be sure to bring something to eat while you read through the pages, as you just might feel hungry when you see the beauty in the food shining in front of you.

Looking at these series as a whole, they are not really complex. Far from that. read more
Jul 29, 2014
Pedrol (All reviews)
"How can a cooking show be this based?"

Now, now, that's what we readers always ask ourselves about this manga in particular, right?

It's incredible how enjoying a manga we presume it's bad can be. Our first reaction after recommending a cooking manga to a friend is always the same, we are greeted with a "That's lame, bro, I can make my spaghetti".

You are that friend right now, right?

Well, this is not your usual spaghetti. It's an epic spaghetti. Complemented with an art unrivaled in this genre. But I know that's not enough. Well, you have an alpha male main character as well, that pumps more blood read more
Sep 16, 2014
DarqSan (All reviews)
If you like typical shounen battle manga and ecchi but want a new taste this manga is for you. It's a Slight Ecchi Cooking Battle Manga (^ ^). Lots of tension, suspense, cliffhangers, satisfying wins, well MC does lose, but rarely because of MC protection. Art is great it's drawn by Saeki Shun who aslo did 'Our Love Counseling' great oneshot btw. Lots of foodgasm scene (LOL) basically scenes where the characters get orgasms after eating the delicious food (yum yum). Great story, MC trying to be the top in a hard to graduate 'superior elite school'. Action, yes, lots of action battles everywhere (It's read more
Jun 14, 2019
Lpopo4lyfe (All reviews)
Shokugeki no Soma is one of the most popular ongoing shonens in Weekly Shonen Jump. Its anime is rated pretty highly on myanimelist, IMDb, and other media forums. The manga here is rated an 8.43 on MAL. Does this mean you should read it? Absolutely not.

It's unfortunately common for long running series to end unsatisfactorily, whether that's because it's dragged out for too long, author doesn't care anymore, it's cancelled, or other unforeseeable circumstances. Look at Bleach and Fairy Tail. Those two series are infamously regarded as the worst shonen manga to have ever existed, due to how they've fallen in terms of the quality read more
Jan 31, 2018
Trolls_Bane (All reviews)
This was the most enjoyably retarded shit I have ever read. None of it makes a single goddamn sense or is an even slightly related to reality yet it is still pretty damn fun. I wasn't sure how it is that they have managed to make cooking a source of intense competition in which a person could feel physically exhausted after cooking three meals. Or the simulation of being physically beaten but they have managed to do it, and somehow quite convincingly.

I have given this a 6 because the suspension of disbelief you have to work with is beyond, I am sure you will read more
Mar 27, 2017
prat_man (All reviews)
This review is served without spoilers but with loads of criticism.

Shokugeki is one of the more popular Shonen Jump Mangas at the moment. That gives us an idea where the Japanese Manga industry is going towards, which does worry me.

Shokugeki is a simple battle Shonen template follower with good artwork and fan-service to keep its young readers wanting more. It makes the main/important characters look like bad_asses during these so-called food battles and thus periodically try injecting some undeserved hype into the Fandom. I feel it has put its fans in a sort of an illusion that it is the best thing ever read more
Oct 11, 2017
saradominsm (All reviews)
Shokugeki is quite a long manga that seems to constantly run circles around itself. The story, for example, is incredibly repetitive, and the writing, overblown to huge proportions.

Although, the manga does boast great art (obviously inspired by hentai) that seems to be one of the main reasons for the large amount of readers and popularity this series has gotten. The weakness with the art though comes with the loss of originality, all the art is the same throughout the series, and even though it looks pretty, it has all been seen before.

I'd be lying if I didn't say this was a decent manga, read more
Jun 14, 2019
Souliceking123 (All reviews)
Shokugeki no Soma Review
https://myanimelist.net/sns/login/facebook?from=%2Fmanga%2F45757%2FShokugeki_no_Souma
Abstract:

Shokugeki no Soma is about a young boy named Soma Yukihira who embarks on a journey refine his own cooking and surpass his father. To further this his father sets him to join Totsuki Culinary Academy stated as the best in Japan. Soma joins this academy, and to which is where the story takes off. The context of the academy allows Soma to not only meet people his age whom are even more talented than him but also helps him grow outside his own world called is restaurant. For the first 130 chapters boasts several well-written character arcs which not only build read more
May 25, 2015
Eclio413 (All reviews)
Yukihara Souma is a shonen hero in every sense of the name. He was holding a knife since he was aged 3 (bad anime dad trope check) and was routinely "helping" his school dinner ladies all through middle school. Cooking is a part of Souma's very existence it's only right that his one goal in life is to beat his mentor and become one of the greatest cooks who ever lived.

Story 9/10
Although centered around a very down to earth topic. Through a unique setting the story takes on an appeal that rivals the universes we've seen come out of shonen jump in the past. Using read more
Dec 8, 2014
Naggy10 (All reviews)
the manga tells the story of Yukihira souma who dreams of becoming a great chef in the restaurant of your family and overcome his father's skills, Yukihira jouichirou. but he ends up closing the restaurant to cook in europa.souma ends up in the elite culinary school in which only 10% can graduate with this Yukihira will face the most varied wonders in culinary battles in cruel '' Shokugeki ''! !!!

The manga has a theme which is quite rare nowadays "Food" and "Cooking" with this may be hard to please some people but "shokugeki in Souma" managed to leave the nice manga and fun to read more
Apr 6, 2015
60sRock (All reviews)
So here we have a cooking manga, running in Shonen Jump, set in high school, with a straightforward headstrong protagonist, some ecchi, some tsunderes, and it's all drawn by an artist known for mainly for hentai. But hey, it's about cooking!! Haven't seen THAT in Jump before. No cliches here, right? ... RIght?!

Shokugeki no Soma isn't some mold-breaking, era-defining shonen manga. In fact, I would go so far as to say it's often formulaic and predictable. But my god is it entertaining. Every chapter, from the very beginning, has never failed to be exciting and memorable. And despite being a bit formulaic, there are read more
Aug 10, 2015
new_raven (All reviews)
Shokugeki no Souma is taking over the manga world by the storm. The volumes fly off the shelves and fans absolutely rave about it. And to good measure. The art is fantastic, the premise is interesting (food battles--what can I say, I'm a sucker of cooking manga), and there's a diverse cast of characters. That being said, I don't think Shokugeki no Souma will ever be regarded as a classic such as Hikaru no Go. The main reason being that the protagonist, Souma, wins too easily. He almost always pulls through in matches by thinking of some clever scheme. Not only that, but Souma doesn't read more
Jan 18, 2019
oreimoftw11 (All reviews)
Art is perfect. But characters are where this manga shines. Some people aren't happy with the recent development but after almost 300 chapters of couse someone will drop it. Personally this manga is the absolute #1 one best thing I've ever read and invested myself into, so if you are wondering whether to watch this - of course you should it's a god damn masterpiece.

As I said you cannot find better and more interesting characters anywhere and this is what this manga is about. Even the villains are great, the forgetfull Tsukasa or thee charming Asahi? And the MC always finds an unexpected way to read more
Apr 18, 2015
Magister_Jakene (All reviews)
If you're looking for a great food manga to read, you've arrived at your destination. When Shokugeki No Souma describes the food, it goes in depth to the texture, the flavor, and anything else that makes food taste good. Wen you read this, there is a 90% guarantee that your mouth will start watering. The food looks delicious and the way it is described makes it even more delicious! I really enjoy Shokugeki No Souma. Now, let's not just focus on the food. The characters in this show have some good backgrounds that you can look into. Especially Soma's father. There will be no spoilers read more
May 24, 2013
Narudatsu (All reviews)
Shokugeki no Souma is a story about a mainstream boy who is trying to get through the toughest and most famous cooking school in Japan. Yukihira Souma has a dream of becoming a professional chef and surpass his father at cooking.

Story -10: Right now, the story is amazing. I've literally fell in love with this. It's no doubt one of the most unique and groundbreaking mangas I've read before. It mixes in lots of comedy, adventure, drama, school life, and even a little romance just do finish the cake! The story really reminds me of Prince of Tennis, Naruto, and Iron Chef all in read more
May 27, 2018
ChanEnChun (All reviews)
Shokugeki no Souma, or in English, Food Wars!, is, obviously, about students working their way up the food chain in the cooking industry. Centred in Toutsuki Academy, a prestigious cooking school with only a small group left to graduate after the gruelling examinations throughout the three years in high school. The concept of the story’s premises are definitely fascinating, in my opinion. In fact, both the manga and the anime brought up many interesting facts about the culinary world, that I would say was an educational experience for me. Thinking about that makes me wonder how much research did the authors Tsukuda Yuuto and Morisaki read more
Jun 16, 2019
ElectricVampire (All reviews)
Obviously, spoilers ahead. In essence, to sum it up, I wasted 315 chapters of a story. Shokugeki no Souma in my opinion, is one of the greatest downfalls/declines I've ever seen in a manga. As a personal fan of the Central Arc, I noticed even then that during the final fight of Rindo/Tsukasa, vs Erina/Yukihira, it felt extremely rushed, with no adequate pacing whatsoever. After thinking not much of it, I turn to the rest of the story, eager to see what happens afterwards. I was met with a ridiculous character named Asahi Saiba, a supposed "adopted" son of Joichiro, who he taught when he read more