Tenshi Kinryouku
Angel Sanctuary
Edit Manga Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Tenshi Kinryouku

Alternative Titles

English: Angel Sanctuary
Japanese: 天使禁猟区

Information

Type: Manga
Volumes: 20
Chapters: 120
Status: Finished
Published: Feb 1995 to Feb 2001
Genres: FantasyFantasy, RomanceRomance, ShoujoShoujo
Authors: Yuki, Kaori (Story & Art)
Serialization: Hana to Yume

Statistics

Score: 7.961 (scored by 91479,147 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #7922
2 based on the top manga page. Please note that 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #410
Members: 21,018
Favorites: 1,702

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Oct 1, 2010
Nanalilly (All reviews)
In a world where most manga can be summed up in a sentence or two, Angel Sanctuary is a breath of fresh air. It is the only series that I can with confidence give perfect 10's across the board. As I am writing this, I find it much harder to be articulate than when I give a negative or mixed review, because when a story really blows you away, it's hard to express exactly why. If I had to sum up the theme of this series, it would be this; "What are the thresholds of love". This isn't due to the main romance in the read more
Nov 1, 2009
lizzers629 (All reviews)
If you like weird and dark stories that are convulted which make you question the difference between good and evil, coupled with great art, then this is a series for you.

The premise of this series is about a boy(Setsuna) who is a reincarnation of a rebel angel named Alexiel whose crimes against heaven have her reincarnated until the end of time. Each of her lives ends in tragedy until her brother Rosiel is awakened which also in turn drags Setsuna into the middle of things. Confused yet? Just wait, it gets more convulted with political intrigue in Heaven and what is happening in Hell.

The read more
Mar 4, 2008
TheLastDarkAngel (All reviews)
This manga is kind of confusing because the story line becomes is some what complex. The manga centers around your average highschooler Sentuna Mudo. But somethings different about him then his fellow classmates for one he is in love with his little sister Sara and he is houseing the soul od the fallen Organic Angel Alexiel, who is one of the highest beings in existence. From there his life thats a drmatic change and the story really takes off. from there you'll be brought into hell and heaven see all knids of different devils and angels. its a must read for anyone looking to have read more
Sep 18, 2009
ioaus09 (All reviews)
Arguably one of the most confusing mangas I have ever read, with so many twists and turns that one might think of this as a rollercoaster. This manga is not recommended for younger readers and those who follow religions as this manga is certainly blasphemy, with the whole notion of Incest, Gay angels, Angel Rape, heaven as a corrupt place and a "God" a maniac bent on the destruction of earth just because "it" wants to. Artwork is ok, but the artist's continually draws the characters too feminine, so much that it gets quite confusing as in who is who. Although, character depth is read more
Feb 27, 2008
Shakesgrl20 (All reviews)
ONE of my favorite manga's that i've ever read. I was just started to begin reading manga after i read this, i wanted to read more!!! Its full of intension, romance, outstanding ART!!!!! Even though the romance seems to be disgusting on the sibling relationship but then i felt the breaking between should they be together or not. THIS IS SUCH A CRUEL WORLD AHHHH ( said to myself).

Also am not that serious of religious because people who are would hate this story about devils and angels. Its a war between those two. Its like reading from how reality in a different world can be read more
Oct 18, 2009
MatsukenninoL (All reviews)
When you read this book, you tend to forget what's real. It's like a dream, exactly what I hope for when I read something. Even if there are a lot of characters, you still tend to fall in love with them, all of them. I really liked this series because, well, I couldn't believe how strong Setsuna and Sara's love was. I was hoping that maybe one day someone'll love me enough to come get me in heaven or hell. This book is worth your time.
Oct 20, 2009
Fantaisie-Triste (All reviews)
Quite frankly, it's hard to find the exact words to describe this manga, but in accordance to my taste and my interests, this manga is by far the best I have read. I love Kaori Yuki's work, the art is amazing, the characters are diverse and have their own unique look and personality. The story is something that I honestly think most people wont want to read if they have strong religious views, but I am a clear and open minded person and if you are too than this is a great read. It has a lot of action and a read more
Aug 20, 2013
purplie (All reviews)
Of all the manga I have read, Angel Sanctuary is one of my all time favourites.

Angel Sanctuary is not a light read or easy entertainment. You can't read through it fast. To truly understand it, you have to read slowly and thoughtfully, a piece at a time. The story is very complex and it was only the second time I was reading that I truly understood the whole plot.

There are not a lot of stories I feel like reading so many times as I've had Angel Sanctuary. The first time I was reading, I cried through the last few volumes and it still makes me read more
Jun 3, 2014
DarkSakuraVII (All reviews)
*SPOILERS*

This casual review involve a lot of ranting and angsting; if you’re the type who’s kind of turned off by this behaviour, I entreat you that if you choose to read it, please try to humour the sarcasm and irony littered in this review and of course I will just try to accept it also if you’re mad at me for disliking the manga. Plus this is an older manga but I’ve been very bothered with it ever since I laid hands on it and this is the unfortunate result of agitation build-up.

If you’re an Angel Sanctuary fan, then I’m sorry to break it read more