Edit Manga Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Kakukaku Shikajika

Kakukaku Shikajika

Alternative Titles

English: Blank Canvas: My So-Called Artist's Journey
Japanese: かくかくしかじか

Information

Type: Manga
Volumes: 5
Chapters: 34
Status: Finished
Published: Nov 28, 2011 to Jan 28, 2015
Authors: Higashimura, Akiko (Story & Art)
Serialization: Cocohana

Statistics

Score: 8.701 (scored by 3678 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet published' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #562
2 based on the top manga page. Please note that 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #671
Members: 12,972
Favorites: 718

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
May 3, 2015
acajou (All reviews)
If you have read or watched Bakuman., you might have learned a thing or two about manga. But while the series is quite insightful as far as the actual creating process from character design to storyboard to inking is concerned, it doesn't feel all that more realistic than other Shōnen Jump titles. After all, Ashirogi Muto make their big breakthrough while still in freaking high school. Granted, Bakuman. doesn't shy away from the truth that luck is a critical determinant on the way to publication. But in the end, it's a story fueled by the love of shōnen manga, and as such comes with a read more
May 12, 2014
snuffless (All reviews)
Preliminary
A good story doesn't have to be cleverly written.
A good story doesn't need to have interesting characters.
A good story doesn't really have to be stimulating.

First of all, I will share this popular stanza from the poem "The Road Not Taken":
"I shall be telling this with a sigh
Somewhere ages and ages hence:
Two roads diverged in a wood, and I,
I took the one less traveled by,
And that has made all the difference." - Robert Frost

What does Kakukaku Shikajika mean? I have no idea but according to google it means "blah-blah-blah". So this story is an autobiography of the mangaka who is known for her work read more
Jun 29, 2015
blob (All reviews)
Kakukaku Shikajika (spoiler free review)
Wow, this story is exactly what manga is about, literally and in meaning.

I've always loved how close the relationship between author and viewer is, which is what ultimately made me adore manga so much... Is this my first time reading an autobiography? Maybe, my memory sucks. But wow, to be able to live this woman's life as days went by, with her present perspective on her past, her knowledge... It's truly magical; not much else to add (jk, ofc there's more).

What she put at the end of her last volume is especially original and I felt it was read more
Dec 6, 2015
ZeroHumor (All reviews)
Consider Shirobako, a story that wraps the poignant insecurities of young adult career pursuit with a silly, heartwarming, and optimistic exterior. Now douse the narration with the mature reflections of an older adult looking back at their silly past, and sprinkle in evocative moments of warm nostalgia and sentimental regret.

Kakukaku Shikajika is the autobiography of now 40 year old mangaka Akiko Higashimura, and the title meaning "blah blah blah" is derived from the author's intentions of telling her life story in a natural, informal structure, lending itself to frequent tangents and moments of personal reflection. It's a story about a clueless high school girl read more
Apr 28, 2014
Ranigad (All reviews)
Preliminary
Kakukaku Shikajika is an autobiography style manga about the story of the mangaka's journey as an aspiring mangaka, through her tumultuous university and graduate years, to the person she is today and the large influence of a strange but loveable art teacher on her life. The manga is narrated from the present point of view reflecting back on previous times.

This manga does start out somewhat slow since she has to introduce herself, but it does begin to pick up with actual stories about her past. The cast of notable characters is thin since it is more autobiographical, the only consistently reoccurring ones being the protagonist read more
Jan 20, 2019
TheJaceX (All reviews)
For anyone familiar with the premise of this manga, my reading of it may seem odd. It’s an autobiographical piece for Akiko Higashimura, and mangaka of which I’ve read none of her works. However the premise of an autobiographical manga sold me enough, so here I am. From 2011 to 2015, Kakukaku Shikajika. Let’s rock.

PLOT: I’m used to talking about set ups and what not, but not used to discussing real stories. We follow highschooler Akiko Hayashi as she ends up studying at a new art class so she can follow her dreams of being a mangaka, however that’s only half of it. The story read more
Nov 14, 2016
chatoyant2020 (All reviews)
I can not believe I just recently found out about this manga! And this is the first time I'm writing a review!!!

KAKUKAKU SHIKAJIKA is a nonfiction biography manga based on the author Hayashi Akiko's life from since she was high school to her at her forties. The story is mainly talking about her, her sensei Hidaka Kenzou and art (sketching, painting, manga).

This manga is particularly outstanding to me. I feel like I can relate to the main character Hayashi Akiko lots. Most manga's I've read have super unique characters, good looking, smart, superpower whatever it is, it just doesn't seem like it's from the read more
Dec 16, 2018
Gundroog (All reviews)
Kakukaku Shikajika is an incredibly frustrating manga. There core aspect of it and message it tries to send are both touching and heartfelt but it’s bogged out by so much extraneous fluff that it almost completely ruins it to me.

KS presents itself as an autobiography of Akiko Higashimura, the mangaka who wrote this. We get a rather general view of her life, all the way from childhood to her current life. Despite this, the real focus of the manga is her relationship with her art teacher, an incredibly important person in her life that for meager fees taught her art, helped her get into an read more
Mar 18, 2018
Turpow (All reviews)
I don't think I would be exaggerating if I said this is one of the manga I enjoyed the most in a long while. The premise of it is already unusual: it's not your typical fictional manga, but rather an autobiography of the manga's author who, now in her forties, takes this manga as a chance to reflect about her long struggle to find a career in the arts.

The protagonist, Akiko Hayashi, is at first a carefree, lazy and self-centered girl whose biggest dream is to become a shōjo manga author. Unfortunately, she doesn't really have a clear idea of how to achieve this dream: read more
Aug 28, 2018
Salieri_Hiyajo (All reviews)
*Warning: The reviews has spoilers for Kakukaku Shikajika*

Kakukaku Shikajika is a manga with a genre so rare in this media that the MAL synopsis and genre tags fails to mention it: it’s an autobiography. And a damn good one at that.

In being an autobiography, at least personally, the story gains far more emotional weight than one that would be fictional. I don’t know for sure why that is, but it probably has to do with the empathetic responses that occur when knowing a story is real. This particularity of the story helps it resonate with readers, or at least it resonated with me. That read more
Jul 31, 2018
Nekomiyu (All reviews)
I think that this is a masterpiece.

If you ever wanted to draw as a profession, maybe even wanted to be a mangaka yourself, you may understand the main character and her decisions. That she tries to get better by drawing traditional art, but then finds herself led astray from her original goal to draw manga. How she tries to have fun with her friends, then is thrown back into her sensei's harsh routines. And, how she regrets a lot of her decisions back then.

The main relationship of this manga is the one between the heroine and her art teacher. Personally, I think, he becomes like read more
Jan 22, 2019
-Lupa- (All reviews)
Kakukaku Shikajika was not a heart-warming, inspiring, or light-hearted manga to read...in fact, reading it was at times downright uncomfortable. Being a work of non-fiction, things did not always happen for a reason, characters did not always succeed at the things they worked so hard to achieve, people did not always learn from their mistakes, and the main character wasn't necessarily...likable.

What made the MC and the story most uncomfortable to read was, to me, the fact that it was brutally honest and relatable. Many people have a side of themselves, or choices that they have made in the past, that they are not proud read more