Uzumaki
Uzumaki: Spiral into Horror
Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Uzumaki

Alternative Titles

Synonyms: The Spiral
Japanese: うずまき
English: Uzumaki: Spiral into Horror
German: Uzumaki. Spiral Into Horror
Spanish: Uzumaki: Espiral
French: Spirale
More titles

Information

Type: Manga
Volumes: 3
Chapters: 19
Status: Finished
Published: Jan 12, 1998 to Aug 30, 1999
Genres: Avant Garde Avant Garde, Drama Drama, Horror Horror, Supernatural Supernatural
Demographic: Seinen Seinen
Serialization: Big Comic Spirits
Authors: Ito, Junji (Story & Art)

Statistics

Score: 8.171 (scored by 9070890,708 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #4172
2 based on the top manga page. Please note that 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #35
Members: 162,396
Favorites: 11,615

External Links

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Dec 28, 2007
InformationGeek (All reviews)
There are many horror mangas out there that try to make themselves scary. But often we just get a comic that’s more gory or disgusting than scary. Now there is Kazuo Umezu who really can write a horror story that’ll scare you. He is known as the godfather of horror manga, but there is another called Junji Ito called the master of horror manga who has wrote something just as terrifying as any scary movie, book, or comic out there. This story is called Uzumaki.

Story:

The story is simply starts us of quick with two main characters to get use to and read more
Oct 15, 2011
Lucena (All reviews)
Manga and anime do not scare me easily. Disturb me in some cases with grotesque imagery and copious amounts of gore, yes, but nothing that would constitute in giving me nightmares. I've found the medium as something that I would always gain enjoyment from no matter the genre. I would spend my time with a work, ponder on it for a while, and leave it at that. Rinse and repeat. That is, until I came across Junji Ito's Uzumaki.

The manga is brief, as it is only 19 chapters long with one extra story, but it drags the reader through so much. The manga's first two read more
Jan 14, 2012
Anonymours (All reviews)
Junji Ito, master of the horror manga.
I had expectations for Uzumaki, having heard it was one of Junji Ito's better known work. But I was disappointed in this manga: Uzumaki is hardly scary or horrifying. Uzumaki is not, in my honest opinion, a horror manga. Let me tell you why.

It's all in the atmosphere. Or in this case, the complete lack of it. The story is just so ridiculously over the top! It breaks any kind of immersion. The best (and well known) example is: The Spiral is granting the mosquitoes the terrible power of... flying in spirals. Hypnotizing! I won't spoil it for you, but read more
Feb 18, 2009
RyneB (All reviews)
Originally posted by me on The Moon is a Dead World (http://ryneb.blogspot.com)

I'm always interested in different forms of media that manage to tie in the horror genre, and being a manga and anime fan myself, I sometimes find myself perusing the various manga shelves at my local bookstores to see what good ol' Japan has in store for us. A few years ago, I stumbled on Uzumaki, a manga which immediately grabbed my eye because of its psychedelic spiral book cover and the words "Spiral Into Horror" printed over the title. Obviously, anything that incorporates horror is going to increase my interest, so I picked read more
Aug 27, 2013
flesheatingg (All reviews)
This is my first review, so please bear with me.

Uzumaki was one of the very first manga I ever read, as well as my introduction to the horror genre, this manga is somewhat precious to me. Uzumaki is narrated by the main character, a somewhat one-dimensional student named Kirie, who lives in Kurozu village. It tells the story of a town and the weird occurrences that keep happening to it's residents.

Story: Uzumaki is a collection of short stories that all share one common theme: spirals. Each story stands by itself as creepy story, but read the whole series and you will find that all of read more
Apr 11, 2010
Ishikatsu (All reviews)
Warning: This manga isn´t for the faint of heart and I REALLY mean it.

I have to admit that I enjoy horror stories. Why? Because I often laugh while reading/watching it. Yes, I am quite sarcastic person and some horrors are just so ridiculous, it´s not even scary. Is this case of Uzumaki?

I must say: "NO."

I think that Uzumaki is one of best horror stories ever and Ito Junji is master of this genre.

Story: 10

I love the ways of Spiral Curse. It starts unobtrusively but as story progress, madness spreads between inhabitants of Kurozu-Cho. Uzumaki isn´t manga with surprising storyline, you can kind of read more
Oct 29, 2020
Ekhein (All reviews)
It has so much spirals, that one of them created a hole in the script. Uzumaki is a disappointing work, with an interesting beginning, but that, ironically, falls into the spiral of ruin with stupid decisions and characters.

Throughout the manga, it loses strength and manages to put a spiral in the most pathetic things possible, making horror lose its essence. It becomes an episodic with no effect, no mark, just a sample and pattern of spirals; in the beginning, things happen and mark the plot, but soon, its effects are momentary.

With a protagonist who abuses of a disgusting plot armor without any motivation, its other read more
Aug 24, 2021
Gambara1 (All reviews)
This is the only manga I have ever read that gave me the same chills and vibes that a really good H.P Lovecraft short story gives. The art further exemplifies this effect causing shivers to go down your spine at certain panels and key points.

The first 3 chapters (Spiral Obsession pt. 1, pt. 2, and the scar) are probably the best chapters of the whole manga while chapters 12 (the storm) - 19 (completion) are the chapters that really delve into the H.P Lovecraft vibe.

The first 11 chapters are used as little 1 to 2 chapter short stories to give you an eerie idea read more
Apr 1, 2021
byebye_tenshi (All reviews)
Story: There aren't enough words to describe the beauty that is Uzumaki. It begins with one man's obsession that overtakes a whole town. It is a collection of stories including the same protagonist in the same setting, some of which are so bizarre, it's laughable and others which are just plain terrifying. The main premise of the manga is the obsession behind the spiral, which is so ironic as the story itself seems to be spiralling into madness as you progress, even the most sane character begins going insane the longer he stays in that town. Towards the end of the story you are thrown read more
Jul 1, 2017
TeKSMeLater (All reviews)
Nobody knows the origin of the universe. We can only perceive what is logical through theoretical analyses or imprints of what the galaxies have for us. Probably, questions about the existence of our world are also deeply rooted in how humanity acts, and how close encounters with our origin may lead to questionable actions that portray the primal truth of humanity.

Uzumaki is a manga made by Junji Ito, known by some as the master of horror in the medium. This particular series is hailed by many as a masterpiece and Ito's magnum opus, known for its hyperrealistic depictions of a blend of supernatural and human read more
Sep 15, 2021
WindKraken (All reviews)
Uzumaki is Lovecraftian-Horror at its finest. Talk about one of the greatest works in the horror-medium, which really isn't talked about enough as it should be. Hopefully that will change with 'Toonami's' Uzumaki adaptation next year, but the basic premise is, Kirie and her boyfriend Shuuichi notice that the town they live in now has a strange obsession with spirals, and it becomes corrupted by them. The story is a hell of a lot more nuanced, and detailed, than that but it's the basic gist.

What REALLY drew me into this manga was the art-style. Junji Ito is a MASTER at showing off insanely grotesque read more
Jul 23, 2021
tarunnihariya (All reviews)
This was my first experience with Junji Ito. Excuse me, what the fuck? If everything he does is like this, I might have to look for a digital subscription service or something because I don't have enough money to buy all of his books. If anyone knows any services like that, please let me know.

It is a masterpiece. The art style is full of many small details. It is very unnerving and the body horror elements are very effective. I've never read something like this before. It is a must-read book for horror fans. I'll definitely recommend this to everyone.
Aug 17, 2010
SkiesOfBlue (All reviews)
When you think of the genre of horror, the first things that might come to your head are words like blood, fear, and death. Junji Ito takes the word horror and literally twists and squeezes the life out of it towards a whole different meaning.

Looking at the cover you may notice the abundance of spirals. And Spirals there are a plenty. The symbol of the Spiral can often mean mesmerizing, entrancing or hypnotic, but Ito has turned this rather beautiful symbol into a deranged, inescapable hellhole.

Story: 8
Without trying to spoil the mystery that awaits interested readers, Junji Ito weaves his precious symbol the spiral by read more
Apr 1, 2021
Wawito (All reviews)
The story begins with a panoramic view of the coastal town of Kurozu-cho and immediately, the art draws you in and sets a somber disturbing tone that effectively delivers the horrifying events that ensue through the eyes of Kirie Goshima. To Shuichi Saito, Kirie’s boyfriend who attends high school in a neighboring town, there is something unnatural about the place and that they should leave at once before they get caught up in it.

This manga isn’t about opening doors that grate ominously or abandoned buildings with a sinister past. There are no chairs that move by itself, no sighting of ghouls nor of read more
Jan 13, 2021
Bladezofury (All reviews)
I bought the deluxe edition of Uzumaki because I wanted to read something new from a author I have not heard before.

I hate horror and usually stay away from it because in a lot of western media and in books/comics, horror has become more of shock value either with excessive blood or cheap jump scares which becomes tiring. However having Uzumaki in 2 days, I can tell the the author really knows well how to keep the reader tense and shocked and keeping the horror genre alive.

The story boils down to the concept of the "spiral". This is pretty much an entire manga about read more
Dec 10, 2013
keers123 (All reviews)
PD. Sorry for my bad english im from a latin american country

When I first saw Uzumaki, I was guided by the reviews, how pepole said that was one of the greatest mangas that was ever made, even so when i was reading it i came up to my head that this one isn't actually a very good manga so here is my rate for Uzumaki

WARNING SPOILER ALERT

1. Story : 8
yeah, it's got an amazing storyline, how pepole get turned on into spirals and how all the world evolves by the spiral curse, i loved the concept of how such simple things like spirals can read more
Sep 12, 2021
DRAKEN_YT (All reviews)
Well I am so sad to give this manga a 7/10 but it deserves it
Let's Begin
*WARNING THIS REVIEW CONTAINS SOME MINOR SPOILERS READ IT AT YOUR OWN RISK*
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
Story 8/10:
The beginning was very good, despite the fact that the sequence of events is rather fast, so the story is strange and until the end is cheap. I liked the first chapters a but in the last 10 chapters the work was successfully destroyed
Characters 5/10:
Well, the characters are the biggest mistakes in this manga, all of them except Shuichi, the main character is kinda stupid after everything that happened to her. She still doesn't believe Shuichi and read more
Aug 16, 2010
linoone (All reviews)
This manga built up suspense like it was your own life! Junji Ito is very good at flashing out the scarriest scenes when you wouldnt even expect it, unlike the other stories that when you open a door slowly at night, you would already know something scary would be behind it. Junji Ito would keep it at daytime, the most natural time of the day, and something scary would be climbing out of your WALLS - or better yet, the walls could be your enemy!

He really sets up the unexpected, and also puts in the right amount of suspense in everything. The story really read more
May 22, 2020
twinnpen (All reviews)
Uzumaki is truly a one of a kind work, completely [BAD WORD] beautiful. Ito Junji's way of making an odd concept the center of a horror series is so captivating. I'm gonna break it into a few categories:

ART: Ito Junji has the (not arguable) BEST artwork in horror manga. He manages to use the layout of the page to the fullest keeping the horror moving throughout the pages. Uzumaki is about spirals (thats the easiest way to put it) and a town being affected by it. It is hard to talk about art without spoiling the experience but holy lolis it is gruesome and gut read more
Jan 5, 2010
xraffi (All reviews)
While Uzumaki starts off strong with its truly creepy first few chapters, it then loses everything that made those chapters great and becomes neither scary nor interesting. With the first chapters, even though the events that take place could obviously never happen, the author succeeds in making them believable. This is not the case for the majority of what follows, the plots become ridiculous to the point where the entire manga just doesn't work anymore. What is perhaps the scariest part of the manga after the first few chapters doesn't even come from the deeper, more psychological horror that is intended, but rather something that read more