Edit Manga Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Uzumaki

Uzumaki

Alternative Titles

English: Uzumaki: Spiral into Horror
Synonyms: The Spiral
Japanese: うずまき

Information

Type: Manga
Volumes: 3
Chapters: 19
Status: Finished
Published: Jan 12, 1998 to Aug 30, 1999
Authors: Ito, Junji (Story & Art)
Serialization: Big Comic Spirits

Statistics

Score: 8.141 (scored by 44319 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet published' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #6572
2 based on the top manga page. Please note that 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #53
Members: 81,217
Favorites: 6,577

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Dec 28, 2007
InformationGeek (All reviews)
There are many horror mangas out there that try to make themselves scary. But often we just get a comic that’s more gory or disgusting than scary. Now there is Kazuo Umezu who really can write a horror story that’ll scare you. He is known as the godfather of horror manga, but there is another called Junji Ito called the master of horror manga who has wrote something just as terrifying as any scary movie, book, or comic out there. This story is called Uzumaki.

Story:

The story is simply starts us of quick with two main characters to get use to and read more
Oct 15, 2011
Lucena (All reviews)
Manga and anime do not scare me easily. Disturb me in some cases with grotesque imagery and copious amounts of gore, yes, but nothing that would constitute in giving me nightmares. I've found the medium as something that I would always gain enjoyment from no matter the genre. I would spend my time with a work, ponder on it for a while, and leave it at that. Rinse and repeat. That is, until I came across Junji Ito's Uzumaki.

The manga is brief, as it is only 19 chapters long with one extra story, but it drags the reader through so much. The manga's first two read more
Feb 18, 2009
RyneB (All reviews)
Originally posted by me on The Moon is a Dead World (http://ryneb.blogspot.com)

I'm always interested in different forms of media that manage to tie in the horror genre, and being a manga and anime fan myself, I sometimes find myself perusing the various manga shelves at my local bookstores to see what good ol' Japan has in store for us. A few years ago, I stumbled on Uzumaki, a manga which immediately grabbed my eye because of its psychedelic spiral book cover and the words "Spiral Into Horror" printed over the title. Obviously, anything that incorporates horror is going to increase my interest, so I picked read more
Aug 27, 2013
flesheatingg (All reviews)
This is my first review, so please bear with me.

Uzumaki was one of the very first manga I ever read, as well as my introduction to the horror genre, this manga is somewhat precious to me. Uzumaki is narrated by the main character, a somewhat one-dimensional student named Kirie, who lives in Kurozu village. It tells the story of a town and the weird occurrences that keep happening to it's residents.

Story: Uzumaki is a collection of short stories that all share one common theme: spirals. Each story stands by itself as creepy story, but read the whole series and you will find that all of read more
Jan 14, 2012
Anonymours (All reviews)
Junji Ito, master of the horror manga.
I had expectations for Uzumaki, having heard it was one of Junji Ito's better known work. But I was disappointed in this manga: Uzumaki is hardly scary or horrifying. Uzumaki is not, in my honest opinion, a horror manga. Let me tell you why.

It's all in the atmosphere. Or in this case, the complete lack of it. The story is just so ridiculously over the top! It breaks any kind of immersion. The best (and well known) example is: The Spiral is granting the mosquitoes the terrible power of... flying in spirals. Hypnotizing! I won't spoil it for you, but read more
Apr 11, 2010
Ishikatsu (All reviews)
Warning: This manga isn´t for the faint of heart and I REALLY mean it.

I have to admit that I enjoy horror stories. Why? Because I often laugh while reading/watching it. Yes, I am quite sarcastic person and some horrors are just so ridiculous, it´s not even scary. Is this case of Uzumaki?

I must say: "NO."

I think that Uzumaki is one of best horror stories ever and Ito Junji is master of this genre.

Story: 10

I love the ways of Spiral Curse. It starts unobtrusively but as story progress, madness spreads between inhabitants of Kurozu-Cho. Uzumaki isn´t manga with surprising storyline, you can kind of read more
Jul 1, 2017
TeKSMeLater (All reviews)
Nobody knows the origin of the universe. We can only perceive what is logical through theoretical analyses or imprints of what the galaxies have for us. Probably, questions about the existence of our world are also deeply rooted in how humanity acts, and how close encounters with our origin may lead to questionable actions that portray the primal truth of humanity.

Uzumaki is a manga made by Junji Ito, known by some as the master of horror in the medium. This particular series is hailed by many as a masterpiece and Ito's magnum opus, known for its hyperrealistic depictions of a blend of supernatural and human read more
Dec 10, 2013
keers123 (All reviews)
PD. Sorry for my bad english im from a latin american country

When I first saw Uzumaki, I was guided by the reviews, how pepole said that was one of the greatest mangas that was ever made, even so when i was reading it i came up to my head that this one isn't actually a very good manga so here is my rate for Uzumaki

WARNING SPOILER ALERT

1. Story : 8
yeah, it's got an amazing storyline, how pepole get turned on into spirals and how all the world evolves by the spiral curse, i loved the concept of how such simple things like spirals can read more
Aug 17, 2010
SkiesOfBlue (All reviews)
When you think of the genre of horror, the first things that might come to your head are words like blood, fear, and death. Junji Ito takes the word horror and literally twists and squeezes the life out of it towards a whole different meaning.

Looking at the cover you may notice the abundance of spirals. And Spirals there are a plenty. The symbol of the Spiral can often mean mesmerizing, entrancing or hypnotic, but Ito has turned this rather beautiful symbol into a deranged, inescapable hellhole.

Story: 8
Without trying to spoil the mystery that awaits interested readers, Junji Ito weaves his precious symbol the spiral by read more
Apr 8, 2015
liqkue (All reviews)
I'm absolutely a fan of horror mangas. I don't find them scary at all I instead appreciate the detailed art over getting scared and nightmares. I'm not in favour of watching live action horror movies or shows though but I'm fine withe anime.

Story- 7
The manga consists of short stories revolving around the two main characters in this small town where a frequent spiral symbol appears. The story isn't really scary or frighting but the victims that fall to be consumed by the spiral are left in a pitiful and sympathetic state. Although the chapters consists of short chapters the story progresses well to the read more
Jan 5, 2010
xraffi (All reviews)
While Uzumaki starts off strong with its truly creepy first few chapters, it then loses everything that made those chapters great and becomes neither scary nor interesting. With the first chapters, even though the events that take place could obviously never happen, the author succeeds in making them believable. This is not the case for the majority of what follows, the plots become ridiculous to the point where the entire manga just doesn't work anymore. What is perhaps the scariest part of the manga after the first few chapters doesn't even come from the deeper, more psychological horror that is intended, but rather something that read more
Aug 16, 2010
linoone (All reviews)
This manga built up suspense like it was your own life! Junji Ito is very good at flashing out the scarriest scenes when you wouldnt even expect it, unlike the other stories that when you open a door slowly at night, you would already know something scary would be behind it. Junji Ito would keep it at daytime, the most natural time of the day, and something scary would be climbing out of your WALLS - or better yet, the walls could be your enemy!

He really sets up the unexpected, and also puts in the right amount of suspense in everything. The story really read more
Sep 8, 2013
OrochiHankHill (All reviews)
I'll never be able to look at spiral shaped objects the same way again...

I stumbled upon this manga while browsing through horror/gory manga. I thought "3 volumes? Eh, why not?" I can say that I definitely wasn't disappointed.

Story -7
The manga doesn't have the most linear story, as it is more of a collection of small stories, each revolving around the concept/theme of a spiral or vortex. There's a chapter or two that have almost nothing to do with the task at hand, but are just there for entertainment. Think of these stories as those kind of stories someone would tell at a campfire or a read more
Sep 18, 2017
Orion_Gospel (All reviews)
(no spoilers contained)

Successful horror stories scare or repulse, assaulting the audience with an arsenal of monsters, shocking or unexplainable events, and playing with the character's mind and feelings. Horror is frequently supernatural, though it can be non-supernatural. Horror is about fear and tragedy, and whether or not one is capable of overcoming those things. It’s not all about severed heads or blood-glutton vampires. It’s an existential thing, a tragic thing, and somewhere in every story this dark heart beats. One of the defining traits of the genre of horror is that it provokes a response; emotional, psychological or physical, within readers that causes them to read more
Jul 16, 2015
DanteMustDie8907 (All reviews)
Uzumaki - 8/10
Uzumaki is a great manga classic that even had a live-action movie adaption, while the movie was kinda of meh, I think the manga is truly timeless due to it's genre, which is Horror, and the way it utilizes horror elements to connect to the reader. The artwork has a definite style and has a great amount of detail throughout all the pages, speaking of which it's only 653 pages long, including afterwords and the lost chapter. The Story is quite good, although first 10 or so chapters feel very disconnected from each other as if being separate stories just with the same read more
Jul 21, 2009
Dabchu (All reviews)
Preliminary
While putting down the scores for this Review, I put down 10 for story and yet 1 for Enjoyment. This simple setence will make you know how I feel about Uzumaki.

Uzumaki is about a cursed town which strange events happen that center around spirals...and that's about as far as I can go without confusing you into a complete recluse. Sure I could mention the snail people and the man who bend himself into a spiral in the first chapter, but then again I would be ruining all the best points now.

The Story above is probably a unique in it's way to draw you deeper read more
Jul 11, 2009
Lady_Violist (All reviews)
Uzumaki was a horror manga which made my eyes go wide. The story was actually pretty good though a bit on the creepy side. The characters are quite unique and psychotic which adds a bit more spice and suspense to the horror section. The art wasn't all cutesy and stuff which also help the story come alive. It amazes me how one shape (the spiral) can expand into a series of conflicts and stories. This is definitely one of the best horror stories that I read. If you want a good horror manga to read, this should be one that you should read.
Aug 23, 2010
WaltzIT (All reviews)
Uzumaki would seem to be a strange first manga to read - it's not the most mainstream of manga, and it's not necessarily the most accessible, either.

But when you're lucky enough to have a partner that understands your unique taste in entertainment, recommendations such as this one just fall in the lap.

Uzumaki is weird, and occasionally horrific and disturbing, but at other times laugh-out-loud funny. It's the kind of manga with such a unique artistic vision that you really wish they didn't make a film from the base material, and you REALLY hope the American film studios never discover its existence.

As is read more
Jun 17, 2009
TheLaughingWoman (All reviews)
Back Of The Book Quote

"Kurozu-cho, A small fogbound town on the coast of Japan, is cursed. According to Shuichi Saito, the withdrawn boyfriend of Kirie Goshima, their town is haunted not by person but a pattern: Uzumaki, the spiral- the hypnotic secret shape of the world. It manifests itself in everything from seashells and whirlpools in water to the spiral marks on people's bodies, the insane obsessions of Shuichi's father and the voice from the cochlea in our inner ear. As madness spreads, the inhabitants of Kurozu-cho pulled ever deeper into a whirlpools of no return!"

My Thoughts.

First off this is a great manga written by read more
May 30, 2011
bakahaido (All reviews)
I consider myself a great lover of manga and have read tons of them. However none have influenced me as strongly as Uzumaki.
The plot of the story starts rather subtly in a village with a man who is obsessed with spirals. As the pages turn, you become engrossed as the obsession with spirals spread towards the whole village. The way Junji Ito chose such everyday items and make it so scary is truly amazing. His drawing style is unique, where the drawings are light and simple in normal scenes, but horrifyingly realistic and disgusting in the horror scenes.
You know how when you read a book read more