Edit Manga Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Nodame Cantabile

Nodame Cantabile

Alternative Titles

English: Nodame Cantabile
Synonyms: Nodame Cantabile: Encore Opera-hen, Nodame Cantabile Backstage
Japanese: のだめカンタービレ

Information

Type: Manga
Volumes: 25
Chapters: 150
Status: Finished
Published: Jul 10, 2001 to Aug 25, 2010
Authors: Ninomiya, Tomoko (Story & Art)
Serialization: Kiss

Statistics

Score: 8.491 (scored by 7419 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet published' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #1422
2 based on the top manga page. Please note that 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #404
Members: 19,182
Favorites: 838

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Oct 12, 2009
Archaeon (All reviews)
Preliminary
There's a long standing argument that the book/manga is always better than the animated/live action adaptation. More often than not, the adpated version is often presented in a condensed form (Peter Jackson's Lord of the Rings trilogy for example), and proponents of the book/manga will argue that relevant, even necessary, parts of the story are left out, and that the overall story is somehow "spoiled" because of this.

It's interesting then that Nodame Cantabile is one of the few manga on which people generally agree that watching the anime or live action adaptations only serves to enhance the story.

The manga, created by Ninomiya Tomoko in read more
Apr 24, 2008
nosfertauman (All reviews)
Preliminary
As a former student of music I found this to be an absolutley fantastic read. The story is realistic and has a good feel to it. The characters in multidimensional and engaging and the understanding of music and musical terms is very good.

I would reccomend also listeing to the nodame cantabile CDs in accompanyment to reading the manga, it makes it a much more enriching and enjoyable experience.

The only downside to this is that tje romantic development is very slow, though it does not fall into any of the typical shoujo manga cliches.
Oct 11, 2007
sweetburntlips (All reviews)
Preliminary
What can I say?! I loved the animated Nodame, so why can't I not love the manga?

Although I started reading at chapter 50 or something, which is where the animation left off, I'd still say it's worth the read.

I don't know though if you'd love reading the manga when you haven't watched the animation first because you may never appreciate the music behind each story. But there are NC fans out there that started with the manga rather than with the animation, so I can't say much.

Storywise, it is a good read. If you liked how the story went through the animation, read more
May 7, 2008
pliminha (All reviews)
Preliminary
What should I say... it´s 4:30 in the morning and I really can´t stop reading it!
While reading this story, I´m listening to the songs that make part on the manga/anime/drama as well... is just wonderfull.

It´s wonderfull to think that a manga can transport us to different places, cultures, interests.
A while ago, this kind of music was nothing but boring songs to me, and in some few episodes, it turned out to produce such great feelings, capted in every note.

I always prefer wachting things first and then read the real story, because we can sense the original idea and read more
Apr 22, 2010
Maz-Maz (All reviews)
Preliminary
At first it was a splendor to read...
Until it lost its momentum.
Slowly the story eroded my enjoyment, like a slow torture to my brain.
In the beginning it wasn't so bad, I found myself eagerly awaiting reading the next chapters but soon enough; I was halfheartedly dragging myself to read it and that's not why I started reading this manga.
I don't even want to trouble myself with writing about the illustrations because like most books I read, this one not being an exception, the illustration deteriorated as the story went on.
Overall, it's not a story I'd recommend for readers or actually bother to try to recommend read more
Nov 20, 2015
WarlockAppa (All reviews)
Three words are enough to introduce Nodame Cantabile: lovely, passionate, and inspiring.

This beautiful musical rom-com manga follows the life of the arrogant musical genius Chiaki Shinichi as he weaves through the music conservatory he is enrolled in. A bump in the road caused him to meet Noda Megumi or “Nodame” and this energetic weirdo just nonchalantly drags him into many life-changing moments he will never experience if ever they didn’t meet.

You may ask “why would I even dare to read a musical manga?” Of course this already has one excellent anime adaptation and two sequels to it, so it is wise to just go for read more
Apr 18, 2017
ginnerzapata (All reviews)
I have years reading mangas and watching anime and this is the first time in my life I got the needing of doing a Review.

I'm a musician, being the piano my principal instrument. This is the first time I see something like this: The use of the pieces, the descriptions, the use of terminology that would make even non-musician enjoy classical music. Really loveable. The characters' personality is incredible! It is one of the funniest manga I've read in my life.
The art is incredible! I'm a graphic designer and I cannot think of another thing but a masterpiece! I mean! is incredible how such read more
Mar 22, 2012
taigataiga (All reviews)
Ah, Nodame Cantabile. I'm a big fan of yours. The anime really got me hooked up-- from the first season, second, til the finale. It was really breathtaking. So I tried to give the manga a chance.

Story: 10
I'm not gonna talk about the story though, it's completely stunning, because the manga and the anime is just the same. The story is unbelievably realistic, and as the story goes on, it doesn't forget about the main topic, which is music. To me, this is undeniably the best music-themed series ever. The story doesn't lack of musical knowledge, instead we're offered so many musics, in this case, read more
Dec 29, 2008
story-reader (All reviews)
Preliminary
I would like to share my opinion on the plots that the author laid down for the up coming development of the story.

The most interesting thing of reading a story is to make a guess of the development of the story base on the characters' personal growth and change in the story and by observing the author's intended and unintended hints.

I am happy to see that the author allows Nodame to grow and change. The story began when Nodame was just 20 and the story continues to evolve and now Nodame is 23 years old. She travelled from Japan to France to read more
Apr 26, 2012
rokkugoh (All reviews)
I absolutely LOVED this manga!!!! I should have read it a long time ago, as a huge fan of the live-action. Chiaki manages to be even MORE dreamy in the manga (despite Hiroshi Tamaki playing him in the live-action) and Nodame is definitely less annoying and even really cute in the manga. And their relationship is just so adorable. Aww. Side characters are also excellent and memorable, especially the R-S Oke members and Stresseman.

It also expands on so much more than the live-action did (understandably) with many volumes taking place in Europe and Chiaki/Nodame's adventures there. read more
Jan 2, 2010
Jule-chan (All reviews)
Preliminary
This was like one of the best manga i ever read. Mostly because at first i didn't think that was gonna be this great. My expatations were very low but this manga surprised me a lot.

Nodame and Chiaki are very real. they are not like some shhoujo character, all the thing they do, or say, match with what regular ppl would do, and that made me fall in love with this manga.

I'd like to read some other manga like this one.

o/
May 19, 2008
kohitsuji (All reviews)
Preliminary
Having been brought up with a musical background stories concerning music has always sorta drawn on me; and though the artwork did not strike me as my cuppa tea i picked up vol 1 off the bookshelf just to read the story.

It was then i realised i was totally hook. Chiaki's "ouji-sama" status in school was quite predictable, as with most shoujo-targetted stories, but what was really good was the way they weave classical music into the tale, and Nodame was one helluva refreshing character, an out of the world attitude, very unlike the usual plain-janes or pretty girls category.

Despite having portrayed Chiaki or read more
Oct 12, 2009
MoMo-Da-Gr8 (All reviews)
Preliminary
Story: 8/10
The son of a famous pianist, music student Shinichi Chiaki dreams of studying abroad and becoming a conductor like his mentor. Unfortunately, his fear of flying grounds his lofty plans! As he watches other classmates achieve what he has always wanted, Shinichi wonders if he should quit music altogether.

Then one day he meets fellow student Megumi Noda, also known as Nodame. This oddball girl cannot cook, clean, or even read a music score, but she can play the piano in incomparable Cantabile style. And she teaches Chiaki something that he has forgotten: to enjoy his music, no matter where he is.

--

This was the first read more
Mar 10, 2012
Bumbles (All reviews)
I was in high school when I first read this manga. A friend let me borrow it, saying that it was hilarious. I was a little wary of the cover art, as it didn't look like an art style I would be comfortable with. However, I was instantly hooked and the art didn't bother me. It is now several years later and the manga and its "encore" special are finished in Japan. I've followed it from beginning to end!

At first glance, this seems like a typical romantic comedy but taking place in the somewhat unusual setting of a music college. As time progresses, it starts read more