Edit Manga Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Yuureitou

Yuureitou

Alternative Titles

Synonyms: The Ghost Tower
Japanese: 幽麗塔

Information

Type: Manga
Volumes: 9
Chapters: 80
Status: Finished
Published: May 28, 2010 to Oct 24, 2014
Authors: Nogizaka, Tarou (Story & Art)
Serialization: Big Comic Superior

Statistics

Score: 7.711 (scored by 1893 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet published' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #21852
2 based on the top manga page. Please note that 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1493
Members: 6,544
Favorites: 157

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Dec 5, 2014
To-san1 (All reviews)
Preliminary
This is my first review, so I'll try to be as clear as possible. I apologize for my weird English, and I hope that it will be helpful for some of you.

Yuureitou is probably one of the rare manga I instantly fell in love with. Litterally. So my review might be biased, but I hope it'll make you want to read this manga.

Story - 10

The plot of Yuureitou is really outstanding. I cannot say much because that would be spoiling it,but there is everything,and the story isn't only focused on one place,which is a great thing,because you never get tired of it.
There is no read more
Sep 2, 2016
princeofprinces (All reviews)
Story

The story itself was fun to read along. The pacing is great, and the mysterious are enjoyable.

Art

I love the art style, it's unique! Not only with character art, but the art of buildings and whatnot is very well done.

Character

A cast FULL of LGBT characters, that are well written, enjoyable, and interesting. Transgender characters represented well (despite a few overly-sexual-nude images but that didn't bother me much, and I'm transgender).

If you're looking for a manga with great LGBT representation, then this is the one you'd like to read. Not only does it represent the characters well, but makes it CLEAR that LGBT individuals are just like read more
Aug 1, 2016
PatoMcBrain (All reviews)
Even though I enjoyed the beginning of the series quite a lot, I'd have to say that the end was very disappointing. Yuureitou starts as a good drama, with lots of mistery. It is written so well that at some point in the chapter you jump of your seat. However, there are little hints of what the story becomes: a fairy tale for trans with MANY MANY abuses of hentai. I'll be blunt: if someone wants to jack off during an exciting reading, I doubt they want to suddenly jump off because there was some freaking scary part in the manga. I didn't like the read more
Oct 4, 2016
MangaGreat (All reviews)
Yuureitou is a manga that’s hard to find fault with.

The moment you start reading, you’d notice the art is off the charts. Unbelievably good looking. Furthermore, the author uses it very well to create atmospheric scenes.

Secondly, the writing is excellent. The premise is interesting and the plot around the premise works well. There are many interesting characters that are likely to invoke a strong emotional response on your part and they do grow causing you to change your opinions. Almost all of them have personalities and personality quirks which are almost impossible to find in mainstream manga like this and I was very impressed to read more
Jul 21, 2017
Noxidian (All reviews)
"This tower is full of criminals, murderers, and sexual deviants. As an ordinary person, you're the weirdest among us all."

I’ve just finished re-reading Yuureitou, and its entertainment value for me still remains at a 10. Everything, from the art and insane characters to the way the story is told amazes me. Yuureitou is not just a mystery revolving a clock tower; it’s also a story on gender identity and how sexual deviants (transgender, homo) belonged in ‘50s Japan.

There’s the main overarching story: the clocktower mystery. Then, there are multiple arcs that consist of intriguing adventures read more
Apr 18, 2018
combt (All reviews)
A rating of "9" might seem like a generous score for a story that left me with a mounting confusion right up until the very end, but that only goes to show how immensely meaningful the experience of Yuureitou was for me. I'd like to preface this by noting that I, myself, am FtM, and that I dived head first into this manga the second I heard that there was an explicitly transgender lead, but although I was enthusiastic to see a trans man as a protagonist I'm not a believer that "any representation" equates to "good representation." If I find fault with something, I read more
Mar 13, 2018
spookys (All reviews)
Both daring in how it pushes for social issues and clumsy in how it marries them with the thrills of horror and mystery, Yuureitou is pulp through and through. If one has even the slightest place for spooky mysteries, then this series is an essential, and wildly enjoyable trip.
A brash explosion created and populated by self-proclaimed pulp obsessives, the manga takes place in the golden age of Japanese mystery literature and positions this mass creation of the unknown as simply a reflection of an unknowable world. There are ghosts and ghouls (or are there?) and murderers abound, and everyone has a secret, a trick read more