Life
Edit Manga Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Life

Alternative Titles

English: Life
Japanese: ライフ

Information

Type: Manga
Volumes: 20
Chapters: 80
Status: Finished
Published: Apr 13, 2002 to Feb 13, 2009
Genres: DramaDrama, SchoolSchool, ShoujoShoujo, Slice of LifeSlice of Life, PsychologicalPsychological
Authors: Suenobu, Keiko (Story & Art)
Serialization: Bessatsu Friend

Statistics

Score: 8.091 (scored by 46034,603 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #5422
2 based on the top manga page. Please note that 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #789
Members: 12,370
Favorites: 543

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Feb 9, 2011
Amane8009 (All reviews)
This Manga really touched me. I can't express enough gratitude to the Mangaka.

Story 10/10
This story contains so many mixed vibes, but i mean that in a good way. There is Bulling,suicide,friendship,true friends,cutting,self harm,sexual assault, and so much more. *may contain mild spoiler* We find Ayumu our main protagonist making a new friend at her new high school named Manami, she is seemingly nice and ayumu is really starting to think things are going very good. Manami's boyfriend breaks up with her, she trys to commit suicide by jumping infront of a train. Ayumu saves her and manami makes her help her get katsumi(bf) back because read more
Dec 20, 2010
Moon_Light (All reviews)
Preliminary
"In my heart...it's always raining."

I literally ran into this manga while searching for something...interesting. I can honestly say this manga creeped me out a little bit and made me angry an awful lot all while keeping me interested.

The main thing it was about was learning how to deal with your sadness and anger. All of life's curve balls. It gives you a look at what a person feels and what drives someone to hurt themselves. What they're willing to do in order to ease their pain, even if it's for a little while.

Summary:
Getting into high school is important for best friends Ayumu and Shii. Getting read more
Oct 4, 2007
Tuttle1 (All reviews)
Preliminary
The drama isn't too exaggerated so it protrays what a high school girl would be likely to go through in her time. Making friends, getting stabbed in the back, exiled and tortured. The main character is mentally weak till she meets a true friend that lifts her up out of the she's in. She helps the main character believe in herself and enables the main character to stand up to the bullies. It sends a message that all you really need is ONE good friend to get you through the bad times rather than a whole bunch of fair weather friends. It's an excellent read. read more
Jul 3, 2009
Bluesander (All reviews)
Preliminary
Story: 6/10
UNBELIEVABLE. This story is harsh. The mangaka must've enjoyed tormenting her characters, especially Ayumu. This story is harsh and sadistic to the point where the plot is almost unbelievable. I didn't cry for her nor did I pity her. The story is just that unbelievable. Still, I like the way that the mangaka didn't
provide a hero for Ayumu. Most shoujo fantasies have heroes, it's overrated.

Art: 8/10
The art isn't bad. I'll give this manga that much. The mangaka's drawing style really fits the plot, so if you must read this manga, you will enjoy that fact. The drawings are probably the only part read more
Apr 6, 2008
yakusoku (All reviews)
Story: This manga follows a girl, Ayumu, who falls into a lot of drama through high school. I have no complaints for the story. situations and problems the main character go through - they really pull you in and make you want more. the plot is quite unpredictable and the pacing is fast.

Art: The art is explicitly drawn to invoke the deep emotions that Ayumu experiences. It goes in favour with this manga - destructive and full of emotion.

Character: The tough moments that ayumu has to go through are moving and you might be able to relate to it if you had similar experiences. read more
Apr 13, 2010
irinthony (All reviews)
LIFE is basically the best manga I've ever read. The story is deep, impactful, emotional, and realistic at the same time. A lot of people may think that it is exaggerated, but in real life acts of extreme bullying DO happen and people are ignoring it so blatantly. The manga also successfully depicts how school life is like especially for girls. It is hard to fit in and girls would do anything to fit in and feel like they belong in the class. Moreover, the aspect I love most about this manga is about the character's relationship with her mother. Honestly it's VERY difficult to read more
Jul 17, 2009
yaoi_lover_miyu (All reviews)
Although she goes through MANY struggles, Ayuma Shiba definitely shows what it means to be a true heroin. Although weak in the begining, she learns through her hardships and life changing experiences, good and bad, that anything is possible if you put your mind to it and stand up for what you believe in. Excellent story line. Pulls you in the moment you read it. Definite read for those who enjoy dark and slightly sadistic story lines. Characters were created very well, and they carried the plot all the way to the end.
Apr 16, 2012
rot-chan (All reviews)
Preliminary
LIFE is a drama set in high school that deals with suicide, bullying, depression and self-mutliation.

I liked how LIFE took an interesting turn after the beginning of the story. But the twist in the plot is brutal, and this is not a happy story by far. It is a heavy drama, that deals with the emotional pain and suffering of a girl who has been betrayed by her closest friend (being rejected for having a higher exam score is pretty harsh), and only gets a worse hell after that.

The key reason why I gave my score of 7/10 for LIFE, despite how the author read more
Jul 10, 2009
Tessa (All reviews)
Preliminary
Story: 9/10
Some parts are a bit unrealistic. For exampel: Manami is almost ready to kill herself after she is dumped, but when her best friend "theoretically" betrays her she is determinated to desttroy her. And about the part when she is dumped, in the end we see that she can actually control her boyfriend very well. She didn't have to go through all that drama for it. Ayumu is not weak, she just needs somebody that's all. You can see that she changes completly after she becomes Miki Hatori's friend. It's hart to fight only for yourself. But when you fight for someone you love read more
Aug 16, 2014
Low_Ki (All reviews)
Just finished reading Life and I acknowledge it's an amazing story that gets extremely dark. The no holds barred take on bullying in school...didn't pull back any punches at all, was very uncompromising and actually left me very unsettled by the end.

I thought this era of ultraviolence, tension and psychological thrillers had desensitized me to so much but kudos to Keiko Suenobu for helping me remember exactly how damaging bullying can be and the many facets it can take. Took me way back around 10 years of being caught up in that cycle at times...despite being in another country with a totally different culture the read more
Apr 7, 2015
moonkingdomify (All reviews)
I started reading this series yesterday and ended at 3:30 am today. I seriously couldn't put this series down for 20 minutes at a time without being bothered by what was going to happen next. In the series, this is what the Slice of Life genre should be like, rather than happy go lucking anime that put Otaku in a non bullied light.

The series was amazing, I found the plot to be well written with conflict being added in that didn't quite make the series feel like it was dragging on for a longer time that it was welcome, while giving you a really good read more
May 3, 2014
Nakuke (All reviews)
Preliminary
Summary:

Without exaggeration I will start this review with this: Life is one of the best stories I've ever read/watched. That's a big statement. Not only was it realistic and serious, it was heart-touching, and focuses on an issue that is already important in the US, but even more important in Japan where it was published.

The frightening thing about this manga is that it is not fantasy. In this story the enemy is not magical in nature and the challenge isn't to defeat some opponent in battle. The conflict Ayumu goes through are what many children unfortunately go through every day throughout the world, especially young read more
Jul 11, 2015
Androsan (All reviews)
I finished this manga a few months ago, and I found it brilliant. The story is touching, yet it has it's funny and easygoing chapters too.

The characters are awesome even the evil ones too. They are just perfectly made and I found not even one chapter boring.

I was always waiting for the next chapter's english translation to come out. And when I finished the manga, I was a little bit sad that I can never wait for continution to come.

This is one of the BEST shoujo mangas I ever read! I can only recommand it to everyone who loves interesting stories with strong read more
Jan 10, 2016
Javi_Love (All reviews)
I found Life when saw a cap of it on Google images. It looked interesting, so I looked up what manga it was from and found out that it was called Life. I read reviews and decided to read it... and here I am, a few days later.

STORY: 10/10
Life's plotline is amazing. Seriously!! It's interesting, satisfying, intense, and really, it will teach you life lessons. (Well, it did to me.) It explains all the character's development, motivations, and everything without ever being vague or uninteresting. It is an amazing story of bullying, manipulation, and learning to be happy and strong no matter what. At it's read more
Jul 18, 2014
purdystar (All reviews)
I added this manga to my plan to read list so long ago, i was hesitant at first to read it because I tend not to read plots that have to do with high school because they tend to all be the same exact plot. Bullying is a common plot for many high school related manga and Life is one of them. Life's characters were sometimes over the top and way too unrealistic but it didnt take me out of the plot that much. The story touched me personally because I and many other friends are anxiety filled depressed teens. And that's who the main read more
Jul 17, 2012
Tah_Kyuun (All reviews)
This story is about a girl, who just wants to fit in but she gets bullied by the people whom she thought were her friend. It is terribly heart wrenching and if you're easy to cry you may shed a few tears for the main character. Ayumu's struggle is what many children have to deal with on a day to day basis and I believe that many feel the exact same way she does.

Suenobu-sensei's works about bullying and how the main characters pull through it, I believe, are really inspirational. LIFE over all is a story I enjoyed reading and if you are feeling read more
Oct 9, 2010
huruki (All reviews)
I personally think LIFE is a really good Manga. Its about this Girl named Ayumu Shiiba and she's not the brightest student. But, lucky for her, she "was" friends with a another girl named Shii-chan. (well, thats what she called her in the story. I don't know her name) Shii-chans dream was to go to Nishidate High School. Later, Ayumu realizes she doesn't want to be apart from Shii-chan, Just because they'll most likely go to different high schools. So, She studys hard (using Shii-chan's notes; making it hard on Shii-chan to study for herself) and makes it into Nishidate without Shii-chan (who failed her read more
Aug 20, 2019
Lucracia (All reviews)
From first chapter, I already liked it. The story and the charachters development are good. It made mecried on the some chapters. It touched you and make you realize how is the real world.

For me, this manga is really great! It is so relatable. Very relatable. Almost every scene from first until last chapter I had been already experienced it.

I really recommend this manga and for every people who want to read it, please read with open mind. It can change your perspective about bullying. I hope this manga makes you realize how is you living your life.


Please read