Edit Manga Information
What would you like to edit?
 

IS: Otoko demo Onna demo Nai Sei

IS: Otoko demo Onna demo Nai Sei

Alternative Titles

Synonyms: I.S., IS, Intersexuality, Inter Sexuality, Aiesu
Japanese: IS ~男でも女でもない性~

Information

Type: Manga
Volumes: 17
Chapters: 82
Status: Finished
Published: Jul 8, 2003 to Jul 25, 2009
Authors: Rokuhana, Chiyo (Story & Art)
Serialization: Kiss

Statistics

Score: 8.091 (scored by 1174 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet published' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #7712
2 based on the top manga page. Please note that 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #2286
Members: 4,374
Favorites: 93

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jun 6, 2008
wakka9ca (All reviews)
Preliminary
Don't be discriminatory towards the strange title of this manga. Don't worry, this is not yaoi, nor yuri, nor ecchi or hentai. In fact, this is one of the most touching and most mature shoujo/josei manga I have read. Of course, the main characters are intersexuals.

Story: the first bolume is composed of short storis while the rest is Haru's story. Although you will not encounter very deep plot (remember, this is a shoujo manga), the different chain of events that are changing the characters' life and personalities are very original and refreshing. The narration is very interesting as it swtiches POV back and forth read more
Aug 25, 2011
Pachi (All reviews)
Preliminary
Warning: This review is a bit long and a bit long winded at times.

I.S. initially drew me in because hey-- how many manga are out there that are about intersexed individuals? I'm a fan of Hourou Musuko among a few other manga that deal with gender identity and sexual orientation so upon seeing this, I got excited and immediately went on a hunt for it.
If this were a review of the first story, Case 1, I would score it like this:

Story: 9
It's short, but very sweet. I easily was able to feel for the protagonist Hiromi and though the translations were rough, I was nearly read more
Apr 14, 2010
irinthony (All reviews)
Preliminary
Intersexuality is one of the mangas that really made me cry, regardless of which chapter I'm reading. It is truly emotional and it shows how people who are different have to survive in a society that forces you to conform. I love the storyline which is very different from other mangas and the impact that the manga gives to the readers is just amazing. It also gives the readers more awareness of intersex people, who are neglected by society and never get the chance to voice how they feel.
Jan 21, 2012
Omamori (All reviews)
I.S. is one of the manga out there that I really loved. Not, because there's romance and mushy feelings that drown your sorrows and make you think 'Oh, perhaps I have a chance and one day my prince will come'. That's utter bullshit, as far as I'm concerned. It does, however, have warm feelings packed within it. Soft feelings, and sorrow. The pain of being different is shown very clearly in this manga, in many different ways. Being 'different' isn't something that a lot of people openly want, most people just want to fit in and be 'normal'. This shows in this manga, where being read more
Apr 27, 2013
Rikku-goshujin (All reviews)
Preliminary
This manga deals with an unusual topic: Inter Sexuallity. Aiesu (pronounced ai esu) means IS or Inter Sexuallity. If you have serious problems dealing with this topic, please do not read it.

In my book, this is an 11 out of 10; 6 stars out of 5; Rank S! Taken from cases in the real world, it deals with IS in a very thoughtful fashion telling of the trials, tribulations and heartbreaks that being born and living life as an IS are like.

It is a great read and I hope you think so as well.
May 18, 2014
Silaizus (All reviews)
Preliminary
Oh man, first let me start, I never expected to read this series like I do right now. It's a great series with a lot of great, complex characters that gives you hope about tolerance; you both see cases where people acept the protagonists and who don't, which shows the real world.
I fell in love with the series and characters, I really did. I admire Haru a lot.
I really recomend the series, the art may be weird at times, but it's worth it. The whole series is great and I would highly recomend this to anyone who's looking for a series about gender identity.