Edit Manga Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Deadman Wonderland

Deadman Wonderland

Alternative Titles

English: Deadman Wonderland
Japanese: デッドマン・ワンダーランド

Information

Type: Manga
Volumes: 13
Chapters: 58
Status: Finished
Published: Apr 26, 2007 to Jul 26, 2013
Authors: Kondou, Kazuma (Story & Art), Kataoka, Jinsei (Story & Art)
Serialization: Shounen Ace

Statistics

Score: 8.121 (scored by 68634 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet published' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #7002
2 based on the top manga page. Please note that 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #16
Members: 136,619
Favorites: 8,438

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Apr 7, 2010
staticphrase (All reviews)
Preliminary
It's hard to describe Deadman Wonderland. It's definitely not a Naruto or an FMA or a Vampire Knight. It's much better than all that- but only for the right kind of person. Because the biggest caution about the series is the amount of gore involved, and despite the brilliant and innovative story, if you get queasy easily- I don't recommend it.

STORY
Deadman Wonderland is a brilliantly crafted, innovative, and fresh story that breaks away from all the other manga out there. It's dark, morbid and creepy, and it won't try to delude you with false happiness. There is no "joy". There are only people trying to read more
Sep 12, 2008
holdenn (All reviews)
Preliminary
Deadman Wonderland is an action, sci-fi manga exclusive for only those who are ripe enough to read it.

Deadman Wonderland revolves around on an unfortunate hero, who goes by the name of Ganta Igarashi. 10 years after the catastrophic event that totaled the whole city of tokyo, Ganta has been trying to live normally but all of that change when a man dressed in red comes out of nowhere and murdered all his classmates using a unique ability, to make matters worse somehow our protagonist gets the blame for the death of all his classmates, so he gets sentenced to a death row. To top it read more
Mar 8, 2014
Sayuko01 (All reviews)
Deadman Wonderland isn't your typical seinen. It has quite its unique distinctions, and is a worthwhile read all right.

Story - 8 :
10 years after a great earthquake that ravaged most of Tokyo, Ganta Igarashi is the only witness of the murder of his entire classroom by a person clad entirely in red. As such, he is framed for the crime and sent in death row, in a prison called Deadman Wonderland that serves as an attraction park ran by the prisoners. His encounter with an albino girl named Shiro will urge him to live on, and discover the mysteries of the prison and of the read more
Jul 9, 2014
main_antagonist (All reviews)
Coming right off of the un-fulfilling conclusion of the anime, I never really had any high hopes for the manga of Deadman Wonderland. I thought it was going to be another "action and gore trip" just like many of the other manga inspired anime’s I had seen in the past. (I'm looking at you Tokyo Ghoul)

So you can imagine my surprise when I actually started to read it.

It really blew me away with just how much the story could go as far as it did, while still at the same time retaining its ultra-grim and dark tones as the show lead it on to be read more
Dec 7, 2014
Cajux (All reviews)
First Manga I ever read, and now I'm starting to read manga, because Deadman Wonderland's anime was very incomplete, even though I loved the concept, and so I had the read the manga to get the answers I needed. And you should do the same.

So, a unique prison in Japan called Deadman Wonderland was built after an incident which involved an Earthquake. In this establishment, prisoners are in death row, getting slowly poisoned for 3 days and end up dying. However they can participate in circus like and entertaining events to an ignorant public from the outside world, thinking they are just "pretending" deaths. Igarashi read more
Jul 5, 2015
Shioxus (All reviews)
To start things off, I'd like to inform anyone coming in off of the anime adaptation to disregard that. It was not a good adaptation, and ended prematurely while leaving out a lot of plot points. The manga is leaps and bounds better, and certainly worth most people's time.

In the world of fiction, having a piece of work involving humans with supernatural powers is definitely not rare. In fact, the market is saturated with such things. This in and of itself is not inherently a bad thing. It's all a matter of how the concept is used, and if the work can achieve something its read more
Jan 3, 2009
Roza8o4 (All reviews)
Preliminary
In a world of mediocre story lines we get something so fresh and so new

Deadman wonderland gives us a buffet of plot and setting from the first page we get thrown into the deep end of the story already asking questions and making theories and every thing seems to be connected the further and further the manga goes with twist and turns every chapter.The Main setting the prison it"s self seems to be a world on its own even having its own money system and the amusement park theme has made its way into almost every aspect of the prison giving it this distinct read more
Feb 4, 2011
cookiebandit18 (All reviews)
Preliminary
First off I wanna say that this isn't the most well educated review because it's been a couple months since i read this, that aside I really didn't like this manga. For starters the character development is pretty nonexistent for at least 3 of the characters who are clearly meant to be important to us, the reason this happend really seems to be that the manga just couldn't pace itself correctly. The pacing starts speeding up past it's limit when they decide to kick in the main plot which comes in about a volume through the manga, before this point each main character got their read more
Oct 6, 2015
CharlesMarlow (All reviews)
WARNING:MINOR SPOILERS BELOW

This gets 1/10 solely for the art alone.

Why? Let me explain:

Character development is nonexistant, backstories are not enough if the author truly wanted to write solid characters. Plus all of these backstories are incredibly boring and cliche. It seems that the author wanted to write badass characters without giving them any depth.

Action scenes were hard to follow. Seriously, the art is good, but the action and direction can be awful sometimes. Character designs are so so, but when I saw a killer loli with a gothic monk I cringed. Plus again, the author with his designs tries too hard to make everyone read more
Dec 8, 2010
KistyJo (All reviews)
Preliminary
Deadman Wonderland has to be one of the most unique and interesting manga I've ever read.

Story (9/10)
-
The story is very,very interesting. The way they made it so each chapter explains it little by little makes it much more worth reading instead of boring fillers. The story in itself was unique,the explanation and experiments.

Art (8/10)
-
The art is great,the expressions drawn very lively. Simply by looking at their expression,you can practically feel their own emotions wash over you. From smiles to tears,from joy to pain,everything was expressed well. The details of all the gore were clean and crisp,not too messy,but detailed and well drawn out enough read more
Apr 23, 2018
Kannadin (All reviews)
Preliminary
Personal Rate: 2
Overall Rate based on the different criteria: 3.25 rounded down to 3

Seriously... Have we read the same manga? Have people rated the manga or the anime? I haven't seen the latter but given the length it sure doesn't cover the whole series and thanks GOD for that...
Deadman Wonderland started strong... and then went downhill... like... near the center of earth. Seriously how can anybody ruin such a good idea is beyond me... Sigh... I did wonder if I had to bother finishing this series... but heck I've read more than half the series and unfortunately it doesn't get any better.... So.... read more
Jun 2, 2013
LunaNoodle (All reviews)
Preliminary
Deadman Wonderland is wonderful, there isn't much like it.

It has a wonderful story, it all fits together quite nicely. There are some chapters that could have been done better, I will admit. Sometimes it is very complex to me, sometimes it very simple, which can get a little confusing sometimes. I do enjoy how unique Deadman Wonderland is, it isn't like any other anime or manga I've came across.

The art of 'Deadman' is very well done to me, not too realistic, not too anime-ish. The art fits Deadman very much. Usually everything is drawn, the characters and the background all together, and the read more
Aug 17, 2013
Shonenlegend (All reviews)
*SPOILERS* Deadman wonderland, a very original series by far. I was first introduced to this series during toonami's revival and I was instantly hooked. I originally watched the anime before turinging to the manga after I finished the 12 episodes and the OVA. The biggest attraction that I have to this series is those fucked up moments like when shiro murdered gantas class or the giant slot machine that tells you which body part you will be losing. I also love the concept of a jail that profits off of the prisoners, this is a unique idea (as far as i know) and was well read more
Aug 6, 2010
CasualTroll (All reviews)
Preliminary
If you can get past the gore, you should definitely give this manga a try, if not - then this one is not for you.

DW is centered arround a twisted post apocalyptic world where many people enjoy violence and chaos. Gore is inevitable and even seems like a major focus point of the story. Through it, a select few people shine as they struggle not to change into destruction monsters. They cannot do it alone though and they have to rely on others, who all hold some ulterior motives and conflicting causes, sometimes making them undermine eachother's goals. And this is the read more
Dec 15, 2018
sakis263 (All reviews)
Story: 7

What is DW about? It´s about this Prison where convicts need to partake to this shows so when they win they get CastPoints. All prisoners have this collar around their neck. the collar releases a poison. in to the body and it will kill them after some days. Unless the take the antidote in form of a candy, so the poison gets neutralised. i really liked this whole idea about prisoners having to participate in those games and shows but the authors after some chapters tossed this concept right out of the window. they could have explored it more in my opinion. the read more
Sep 1, 2014
RedCherryAnime (All reviews)
Please note: There will be no spoilers in this review! So please read on happily!

Deadman Wonderland was something that caught my eye on "AnimeFreak.TV" when I was browsing around out of boredom, and since then it has become one of my personal favorite manga. When I read the basic story plot I felt that this was going to be a typical action/prison type but infact it turned out to be so much more.

Story = The basic Synopsis is as follows: "The story follows Ganta Igarashi when he becomes the last man standing when his class is slaughted by a mysterous floating "Red Man". Left alive read more
Nov 26, 2017
rayssa-jp (All reviews)
Esse é meu primeiro review, e escolhi fazê-lo desta estória por quanto a amei.

Pois então, o que dizer sobre Deadman Wonderland?

Possivelmente a melhor história que já li.
Pois esta, em seus 13 volumes, conseguiu me deixar triste, feliz, enjoada, enojada, irritada (com certos personagens), serena, encorajada, esperançosa e com sentimento de amor honesto e latente no coração. Sem nem ao menos saber exatamente do que se tratava e sem nenhuma pretensão do que acharia no fim de tudo, comecei a ler este maravilhoso mangá. Onde o início já te dá facadas, uma atrás da outra, te deixando perdido na história e se perguntando What the hell read more
Aug 29, 2015
takakara_nomuro (All reviews)
10 years after a large, but really big earthquake in Japan (and this story was created before the earthquake there) the country is rebuilt, and one of the measures for this is the construction of a prison: Deadman Wonderland.

Deadman Wonderland is not a simple manga, created by Jinsei Kataoka and Kazuma Kondou, who also wrote the manga Eureka Seven. It tells the story of Ganta Igarashi, a young man who sees all his friends being killed by a man dressed in red who is flying out the window, is guilty of murder and ends up in Deadman Wonderland in prison.

Deadman Wonderland is not just a read more
Jun 23, 2019
Chrome_Falcon (All reviews)
Deadman Wonderland has over the top characters with absurd motivations and a lot of blood, but still fails to make the plot remotely interesting. This is more of a battle shounen than a seinen or a psychological story. So expect many of those tropes. I don't have anything against shounen, but when you add dark backstories for the sake of being dark and when the fighting mechanics revolve around bleeding, it comes off as edgy.

*** The review contains some vague spoilers ***


I found more bad things than good in this manga. Let me write about all the good first -

The premise is interesting. The protagonist read more
May 30, 2019
MusicSoul97 (All reviews)
Okay so after binge-reading the whole series (literally my eyes started to burn by the afternoon), I finished Deadman Wonderland.
I haven't read many or any horror mangas to be honest, but I would assume this would be in my top 10. However, this manga is not for the faint of heart especially if you can't handle blood or gore.
As told above, you start with gore within the first chapter or two.


LIKES...
# It's beautifully drawn and with such precise detail it's awe worthy. But even saying so, don't go in thinking this is the most unique or best I've seen. To each their own.

# Typically read more