Kuroshitsuji
Black Butler
Edit Manga Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Kuroshitsuji

Alternative Titles

English: Black Butler
Synonyms: Dark Butler, Kuro Shitsuji
Japanese: 黒執事

Information

Type: Manga
Volumes: Unknown
Chapters: Unknown
Status: Publishing
Published: Sep 16, 2006 to ?
Genres: ActionAction, DemonsDemons, MysteryMystery, FantasyFantasy, HistoricalHistorical, ShounenShounen, SupernaturalSupernatural
Authors: Toboso, Yana (Story & Art)
Serialization: GFantasy

Statistics

Score: 8.481 (scored by 4788747,887 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #1222
2 based on the top manga page. Please note that 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #28
Members: 110,276
Favorites: 15,099

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Feb 14, 2010
Ri-chan (All reviews)
At first this series annoyed me to hell. Not because I'd read it, mind you. But because every time I'm go to check for some freaking updates there would be Kuroshitsuji at the top of the list, taunting me and singing "na-na-na-na you don't read me!". The obvious solution would be to read it but I was stubborn and the title looked like a shounen which i was not in the mood for.

Finally I gave in and clicked the link on onemanga, which gave me the most misleading synopsis I'd ever read. It went:

"To what extent must a housekeeper do things to be acceptable? One read more
Jan 5, 2009
jazmin_s (All reviews)
Story (8/10):
“Aku made shitsuji desu / I am a butler to the core”

Kuroshitsuji takes place in Victorian era London and starts us off in the manor house of Ciel Phantomhive, the twelve year old head of the prominent noble English family. Assisting this young capitalist is Sebastian Michaelis, everyone’s ideal butler, who wishes for nothing more than to fulfill his young master’s every need. Now you may ask – what kind of reader am I, to be so easily marveled by an aristocrat and a merely simple butler? Well, I am obliged to highlight the fact that Sebastian is merely no ordinary butler, and as read more
Nov 30, 2014
phs_togusa (All reviews)
A fair notice to those of you who've completed the anime before ever giving the manga a read: A-1 Pictures hasn't done the best job adapting the manga. If you found the anime rather lacklustre and consider the manga to be more of the same, I encourage you to read through this review first before making any judgements. This review will also be periodically updated every few chapters.

Kuroshitsuji is published in North America by Yen Press. Both seasons of the anime, the Book of Circus TV series, and the upcoming Book of Murder OVAs are licensed by Funimation Entertainment in North America, Manga Entertainment in read more
Mar 24, 2012
SilverDemon (All reviews)
After seeing how many 10 and 9 ratings this manga is getting I decided to write my own review. Don't get me wrong, I love Kuroshitsuji, but I think this manga needs more objective and honest reviews, because let's face it, just because you enjoy something doesn't necessarily mean it's fantastic.

Story: 5
Kusoshitsuji has a pretty interesting concept: A young boy (10 at the time) makes a deal with a demon in order to get revenge on the people who destroyed his family. I love dark, twisted plotlines alot, so this manga instantly stood out to me for that reason. However, the way it lays out read more
Dec 13, 2008
arsanii (All reviews)
Story: The idea and concept of Kuroshitsuji is very good and you really don't know what will happen next. The story is a little confusing because we, the readers, do not know quite yet what the whole point of goal of the plot is. However the little arcs are fascinatig and historical and very well made as well telling us important morals.

Art: The art is simply BRILLIANT. Everything and I mean everything is amazing. The backgrounds are detailed and the flowers, tea sets, clothes, and the characters are intricately detailed and drawn very well as well.

Characters: I love the characters. I cannot help it. 83. read more
Oct 20, 2008
Grell-Sutcliff (All reviews)
Story-The story gets 9.
The story gets clearly little by little and the reader can slowly understand about Ciel's past and who is Sebastian.
Although it's a bit boring in the start it gets more and more action and becomes to great manga!

Art-The art gets 10.
What can I say about the art?
It's simply amazing!
The food, the mansions and the roses... all of these stuff drawn just great!
Also the tea sets drawn wonderful.

Character-The character gets 9.
I like very much the design of the characters.
Especially: Ciel-The selfish little master, Sebastian-The "one hell of a butler" and Grell because of his real personality.

Enjoyment-My enjoyment gets 9.
I like all read more
Sep 24, 2011
Pseumincti (All reviews)
To be honest, I wasn't planning to read to manga at all of this series, after hardly being able to sit through most of the anime past episode eight. Surprisingly though, I enjoyed the manga quite a bit more (may have something to do with being able to flip through at your own pace), though it still does have its share of problems.

Starting off, we have the plot (that you can read for yourself elsewhere), which is a good idea overall, but fails to provide too much in terms of developing the storyline. The story itself is seperated in different "arcs", none of read more
Oct 25, 2011
B3y0ndB1rthd4y (All reviews)
I have to admit, as someone who's only read shonen manga, I was sceptical about this series at the start. When I saw the volumes at my local bookstore, I couldn't help myself but judge this manga by the cover. By seeing Sebastian repeatedly on the covers of the volumes I thought that this was going to be another shallow pretty-boy manga.
Boy, was I wrong.

For anybody who likes dark gothic victorian fantasy, this book is the one for you. It is a unique manga in its own way, with well developed characters and a thought-out plot. Now, some people might call Ciel a 'brat' and read more
Feb 4, 2013
Kolchao (All reviews)
As a boy, I didn't really have a good impression of Black Butler. As I saw fangirls going wild about Sebastian or whoever it was, I though it was one of those boring and tedious pretty-looking mangas with perfect guys that made the fangirls squeal.

I was right. It was a pretty-looking manga with perfect guys, but it wasn't boring nor tedious, it's probably one of the most exciting things I've read in years!

Story: 9
The description does a good job describing the story, so I won't say it again. I knew it was during the Victorian Era and I also knew it made references to famous read more
Apr 12, 2011
SmileToday191 (All reviews)
So I first saw the anime and was left bitter since I believed the story had more to offer than the show itself and then I picked the manga up.
They both get a seven but I honestly believe the manga to 100 times better than the anime or it's lousy sequel which by the way was too horrible to even watch till the end. Though I like the manga better it still lacks and so here I will try to explain why.

STORY: quite good, very good actually. The story doesn't have much consistency; the only consistent thing about it is that Ciel sold his soul read more
Aug 1, 2018
TheCat_Fiddle (All reviews)
When I initially started the Kuroshitsuji manga at age fourteen, pretty much the only thing that inspired me to read was my massive and probably unhealthy obsession with Sebastian. As you can probably guess, I wasn't very concerned about the plot.

Now that I'm older, I'm able to admit that the first couple of arcs were pure agony and completely monotonous to read.

Kuroshitsuji is a great example of how an author can improve over time. The art at the beginning of the series was quite frankly rough and ugly(think Junjou Romantica), the story was boring and pointless for the most part, and read more
May 22, 2018
FalseIdolSinger (All reviews)
...I wish I liked this series better than I do. Aspects of it, and a few entire arcs, are great enough that I want the whole thing to be a masterpiece. But as it stands, there's just too many things I dislike about the series for me to pursue it any further. This is long, so if you want a short version of this review, there's a TL;DR at the bottom.

Viewed holistically, it isn't bad by any means; I can understand why it has so many fans. I don't care much for fanservice (as much as I like bishonens), but for those who do, or read more
Feb 3, 2019
Jin_crotch_patch (All reviews)
Black Butler is a degenerate yet entertaining manga. It gives an interesting picture of the Japanese conception of "foreigners"--in this case, the English. If you're looking for steampunk boy Lolita, look no further than this... (and then seek help, lol)

The drawings are absurdly detailed, which helps to showcase the luxury--and depravity--in which the main characters find themselves. The comic relief scenes involving the crew of incompetent servants are crucial in helping to dispel the overpowering sense of gloom that sometimes afflicts this series. Sebastian Michaelis, the title character, is ridiculously overqualified for his position. I found the art became less appealing when the artist started read more
Feb 16, 2010
lovelyphantom (All reviews)
I admit, before I began reading it. I was a little curious about it after seeing it at anime-plant. So I read a few fanfictions and I was hooked on the characters slight.. Until finally I went to onemanga..and imagine my delight at finding it there instead of having to go on a search for it on yahoo.

The Story diserves a 9/10.
The plot is a quite interesting one. I had to say it really had me hooked on the second chapter. The first was a little boring but with some good humor blended into it. It was the second chapter when things begin to get read more
Feb 11, 2018
EarlOfDoom (All reviews)
This review is extremely biased, as I just cannot give this manga an objective review. It is and has been my favourite for a lot of years now, since I first watched the anime, which now seems awful when compared to the manga.

The enjoyement I and the other fans get from reading Kuorshitsuji overshadows all the mediocre elements of it, making us see it through a pink lense. Still I'll try my best to show my view point properly.

The story is what gets the lowest score on this review. At the surface we have a typical revenge story, where the main character wants to avenge read more
Dec 20, 2011
hattoriis (All reviews)
To start off, this manga is definelty worth reading. No matter whether you watch the anime or not. Infact, the anime doesn't even begin to compare with the manga.

Story- This story is amazing and unique. Mainly focusing around mystery and the supernatural, with a touch of romance and humour, this story is put together brilliantly. You won't want to put the book down.

Art- The art in the manga is unbeileveable. The characters are drawn beautifully, and the backgrounds magnificient. Yana Toboso captures the look of 19th century London with every page. Also, the action scenes look as though they are popping off the read more
Dec 16, 2013
NuclearNecro-42 (All reviews)
This series is praised in its anime version, while the manga gets less recognition. But, why? Is the anime really better than the original series? Does it deserve all the hype it's got? Well, I plan to uncover this "mystery". Hell, what am I saying? Cutting this, let's get on to the review, shall we?

Kuroshitsuji, or Black Butler, as it is known by most of the fans, is a shounen manga with seinen and shoujo elements. But well, what the hell is that? Well, I have to say that the genre of this series is hard to pin down. Not only on story model, but read more
Sep 15, 2017
SRti606 (All reviews)
Black Butler follows the story of a young earl named Ciel Phantomhive and his demonic butler Sebastian Michaelis on a quest for revenge.

Story (9/10)
The story is fairly unique and well executed, with each arc revealing information.

Black Butler arc: Serves as an introduction to the characters, setting and basic plot of the series. (7/10)

Red Butler arc: Ciel and Sebastian set out to find Jack the Ripper, Shinigami's are introduced. (8/10)

Curry/Indian Butler arc: 2 new characters are introduced, prince Soma and his butler Agni. (7/10)

Circus arc: This is where the story starts getting REALLY good, Ciel and Sebastian are sent to infiltrate the Noah's Ark Circus, read more
Aug 20, 2018
hamliet (All reviews)
A really interesting deconstruction of Faust (a favorite story of mine), which essentially asks: yes, Faust sold his soul, but what if he sold it not because "uwu power" but because he was a traumatized child desperate to escape? Every arc deconstructs a well-known historical event, work of literature, or movie by putting a spin on it, usually to a greatly satisfying result. The story varies quite sharply sometimes in terms of lighthearted humor with a sweet and meaningful message to dark and not out of place in Game of Thrones level grittiness, and yet it doesn't feel uneven in terms of tone. The pacing read more
May 5, 2013
Malcadicta (All reviews)
Anime Kuroshitsuji was first anime I ever seen. So you can easily predict that I had to read manga. And I found it somewhere.

Anyway. Art is outstanding and while reading you really feel that they like their job. Drawings are very detailed and even thoug the plot (to which I'll move later) is not at highest level, simple looking at every single page is a great joy.

As I mentioned there is a "little" problem with the plot. At first, maybe thoughout first half, it seems quite realistic, if you don't count mistakes connected with time period (Cell phone? Really?). You quickly learn how to ignore read more