Shigatsu wa Kimi no Uso
Your Lie in April
Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Shigatsu wa Kimi no Uso

Alternative Titles

Japanese: 四月は君の嘘
English: Your Lie in April
More titles

Information

Type: Manga
Volumes: 11
Chapters: 44
Status: Finished
Published: Apr 6, 2011 to Feb 6, 2015
Genres: Drama Drama, Romance Romance
Themes: Music Music, School School
Demographic: Shounen Shounen
Authors: Arakawa, Naoshi (Story & Art)

Statistics

Score: 8.611 (scored by 2922329,223 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #722
2 based on the top manga page. Please note that 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #154
Members: 68,611
Favorites: 2,453

External Links

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Mar 10, 2015
defunctmaluser (All reviews)
It would seem that feeling some modicum of emotional involvement whilst watching/reading something is all it takes to make a masterpiece these days. Whilst emotional involvement is always a great thing, it's not enough to excuse problems that a particular work in question has. On another note, it irks me when people say they "got the feels" from watching something because more often than not, it was something stupid/cliché/melodramatic. Maybe I'm a heartless sociopath or maybe it's because I've been through a lot worse in life, but I can't help but scoff when people tell me they cried like a baby whilst watching stuff like read more
Nov 24, 2014
Kurihu (All reviews)
Preliminary
This review will be based on the current 26 chapters, and things might change (maybe if it takes a nosedive at some point).

Story: 10/10
Biggest point: The best thing about this manga is how the author delivers the story. The story is so well-written that the emotion and the feeling it gives makes so much impact to the reader. The flashbacks are timed beautifully within the middle of every scene, which gives more emotion to the readers. There's a ton of symbolism in the story, which goes well with the essence of the characters. You'll be put at the edge of your seat.

Art: 7/10
I'm not really read more
Mar 10, 2015
taigataiga (All reviews)
"The music... is dyed in color."

After such a long time not reading romance stories I'm finally getting into some lately. First I started off with some popular shoujo titles, and when I'm running out of new books to read, I stumbled upon Shigatsu wa Kimi no Uso (Your Lie in April). I thought this was just going to be a casual read about your typical romance + bits of music. Boy was I wrong, for this manga has proved to be a really emotional ride I shall never forget.

Story - The story is interesting. The beginning was rather predictable, it started with the introduction of read more
Jun 24, 2014
Lolipedophin (All reviews)
Preliminary
Do we love what do or do we just do it because these activities are the only things we know in life? Do we do it for others or for ourselves? Why is that when competition gets mixed in with these activities, we stop having fun and it becomes stressful and frustrating? These questions are asked by Shigatsu wa Kimi no Uso.

The story of this manga seems like a familiar one. A young high school boy with exceptional talent stops enjoying the piano. I really don't wanna say anything more than that because I feel like it would spoil a good story. I wouldn't say read more
Oct 18, 2016
Beobachter (All reviews)
Reading this feels like listening to a talented singer with great voice, who unfortunately keep making the same mistakes and hitting the wrong notes over and over again until the whole performance is kind of ruined.

Er, random musical analogy aside, there's actually a lot that I like from this manga's set-up. For starter, the fact that the the main characters are middle-schoolers/pre-teens, which I don't see very often in manga. It's a great period when kids are mature enough to start exploring complicated feelings and emotion, while still retaining the sense of childhood innocence lacked by high-schoolers. Naoshi Arakawa's art hits similar kind of sweet read more
Mar 10, 2015
RunawayPanda (All reviews)
"Color."
Yes that's the word I use. Do you know why? This manga is black and white on the surface, but the feelings and the story are just so much more. I wanted to find a specific quote to start out my review, but this word in the story just stuck out so much more than any single quote.

On that note, lets get into the story. Sure the basis of the story is pretty basic and common (protagonist meets tragedy and meets girl who changes his life), but the way it is portrayed is truly remarkable. This manga will really make you think and besides really read more
Aug 18, 2020
Caninse (All reviews)
I've watched this in English, Japanese, and now read it.
This story still rides on top of almost every single other story I know. It could hit harder because I'm a musician and thus constantly am relating to Kosei and Kaori, but as a musician, the ups and downs they go through, along with Takashi, Emi, Miike, and Nagi are some of the most honest writing of musicians I've read. I was always a little anxious to read it after watching it because, as is obvious, music is an auditory experience. Trying to express the thoughts, emotions, etc. on paper is not an easy thing to read more
Feb 25, 2015
eimon_ (All reviews)
So you see, I'm into Anime's and Manga's that have some "music and art" in it. Then my brother recommended this Anime and I watched it whole day without even getting sleep and as we all know the Anime is still on going as well as the Manga.

In some sense, Shigatsu wa Kimi no Uso has really has a genre of Drama but what I dont like about this when I accidentally read the last part (Chapter 44) Some dude posted it and I wondered if that's really the last part...and I actually read it. Idk if that's fake or not but all I know read more
Dec 22, 2020
NejiHasSharingan (All reviews)
Don't waste your time on this. I started this and at first, I enjoyed it but at around episode 14 it took a nosedive. They don't explain how Kaori ended up in the hospital besides saying she fell. How though, how did she fall did she fall because she had some sort of disease, or did she just trip. And the ending, oh the fucking ending. The ending was so fucking depressing but it was horrible. What should've happened is kousei was at the hospital while Kaori is having the surgery and she wakes up and starts dying but in their final moments together they read more
Sep 14, 2020
DARKNASS_ (All reviews)
This was a terrible manga. I only read the second volume because I couldn't find the first one and it was pathetic. The girl and all the kids were annoying. The girl should've gone out of the story faster. The whole concept was bad. Guy is ugly. Also why a piano? Couldn't you've played Minecraft instead because it's a musical instrument, obviously. Also fanservice terrible. Boku no Pico was better. Like, seriously, the anime where the guy r*pes a smol child is better. Also, there was no stands. This is not a troll, this is my honest unfiltered opinion. And I'm not being sarcastic. DIO read more
Mar 29, 2015
SinisterSushi (All reviews)
Story: 10/10
I would just like to say that Shigatsu wa Kimi no Uso is worth a read. There are lots of symbolism in the story that makes you want to look at the story in another perspective. At first, I was a bit confused but it left me in a whirlwind of emotions. #ICriedALot

Art: 7/10
The art is so-so. I've seen better. I've seen worse.

Character: 9/10
I love the character development. It's not too fast and not too slow. Just perfect, but again, it could have been better.

Enjoyment: 10/10
I didn't want to put down my ipad. I just wanted to finish it right away.

Overall: 9/10
It's a read more
Feb 6, 2015
Perfdreamxr (All reviews)
Shigatsu wa Kimi No Uso is amazing,but the feels man the feels in this manga is just wow. I alrready finished the manga series ill try to not include spoilers though that will be hard.

Story 10/10
The story is way too amazing,we started the story with a troubled pianist who have a dark past with his deceased mother making him unable to hear the piano keys as he plays,his name is Arima Kousei. One day he met a girl in spring,who changed his whole world. The girl is a violinist named,Miyazono Kaori who is infact likes Kousei's friend Watari.. Kaori invited Kousei to read more
May 2, 2018
Dionkeykong (All reviews)
Oh dear Lord,why have you forsaken me you sick @%$^$%^*%*@$$!#........Welcome everyone to what is another drunk review,brought to you by Jack Daniels and Sons with a twist of Cola.Oh if you're not old enough to drink you probably shouldn't be here cause the internet,the admins of MAL and indeed the whole world has gone soft in the head and cannot handle honest,brutal,punch to the stomach opinions cause someone might be offended..Well that's your fault for being fruitcakes so bugger off.

And where do i start with this anime?Story?Yeah i can do that.So it's a touching story of a young lad who is a pianist.And a genius read more
Dec 3, 2015
Nerogranz (All reviews)
Shigatsu wa Kimi no Uso, or Your Lie in April as it is called in the English translation is an incredibly unique series. While there are certain other content with a very similar feel, Your Lie in April brings a twist unlike a majority of other series I have seen, that twist being Music. The music in this series is both beautiful and sorrowful, fitting the overall theme incredibly well and further enhancing the series to be something unlike what I've read before.

Story
The story of Your Lie in April is rather simple and somewhat cliche, not to say that the story is bad to read more
Aug 8, 2017
ptc_yt (All reviews)
I discovered Your Lie in April after I read AnoHana and I told myself that I would never read this since it was a sad drama. Fast forward 8-9 months and I've started to read a lot of romance and Shigatsu wa Kimi no Uso popped up. I thought it was interesting and then I realized that Shigatsu wa Kimi no Uso is the japanese title for Your Lie in April. I already got to chapter 10 so I said "Whatever, I'll keep reading". As the story progresses, you don't notice it immediately, but you can tell. You can tell something is going to happen read more
Mar 20, 2017
TAtticStudio_55 (All reviews)
This is gonna be a short review because I've never written one before and because my english suck.

BEWARE : MAY CONTAIN SPOILERS:

The first thought who popped into my mind when I finished this manga was, oddly, his similarities to Hachimitsu to Clover (Honey and Clover). The stories aren't the same, nor is one a copycat of another, but they do share an interesting trope of the "tragic prodigy" (for lack of a better term) shared between Hagumi Hanamoto and Kaori Miyazono. And Kousei too, I guess : if their abilities as genius won't fail them, their bodies will.
And it's funny. Take Tsubaki and Yamada, read more