Edit Manga Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Boku wa Mari no Naka

Boku wa Mari no Naka

Alternative Titles

English: Inside Mari
Synonyms: I'm in Mari
Japanese: ぼくは麻理のなか

Information

Type: Manga
Volumes: 9
Chapters: 80
Status: Finished
Published: Mar 6, 2012 to Sep 6, 2016
Authors: Oshimi, Shuuzou (Story & Art)
Serialization: Manga Action

Statistics

Score: 7.471 (scored by 12150 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet published' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #41202
2 based on the top manga page. Please note that 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #278
Members: 27,142
Favorites: 653

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Aug 27, 2017
SovietWeeb (All reviews)
Anyone else ever saw something that interested them with the story alone? The idea that sounds so interesting and you're genuinely excited to go and experience that unique idea? And as you're about halfway through you finally fully realize something that has been bugging you since the start of that experience? That you just wasted your time on something with a
. Meh Story
. Meh Writing
. Meh Characters
. Meh Character Development
. And a whole ton of wasted potential

From having an MC with an Awful Personality, Development, and Lack of common sense. To have the only character you like to be the one read more
Oct 3, 2015
czxcjx (All reviews)
Preliminary
This is a manga by the Aku no Hana guy. Since it started in 2012, he was writing it concurrently with late-stage Aku no Hana. Because its Shuuzou I can't commentate on the aesthetic front, who is sort of a poor man's Inio Asano, but that does him too much injustice. His drawings are kind of stiff and mostly functional. His faces and characters are more or less same-looking with just slight variation. His plots all deal primary with weird psychosexual Evangelion-esque angst, but with more realism than symbolism or whatever. He probably thoroughly hates society, and hates himself.

The plot, like Aku no Hana, involves read more
Oct 2, 2017
campvoyageur (All reviews)
For those of you who aren't looking to read an essay, I have decided to post a quick summary of the series first. This review is spoiler free (as all reviews should be). :)

Summary: Inside Mari is a captivating psycho-analytical manga, with dazzling art and a fleshed out protagonist. The premise is based off a body switching scenario in which a social outcast finds himself in the body of a popular female girl by the name of Mari. The story is thouroughly engaging and is only hindered by a few plot inconsistencies as well as the fact that it could have been condensed into fewer read more
Aug 21, 2014
musicGUYGUY (All reviews)
Preliminary
This series starts out weird and suggests all sorts of strange perversions. The premise is indeed kind of strange:

Komori Isao wakes up one day to find himself in somebody else's room, but it turns out he's actually somehow in the body of Yoshizaki Mari a girl he has been hopelessly following at night. S/he and a classmate try to figure out what happened as Isao tries to maintain Mari's friendships at school.

However, don't let that stop you from reading on. In the beginning Isao is weak-willed and his behavior is cringeworthy at best, but as he sees the troubles surrounding Mari's life, he can't leave read more
Nov 21, 2017
jmsxjrdn (All reviews)
Here's my take after reading 80 schizophrenic chapters of Boku wa Mari no Naka (I'm inside Mari) Shuuzou Oshimi.

How would I put this... Mari no Naka is not your typical body swapping manga since it is not a body swapping manga. It is is a story that dives into the psyche of the characters and their actions on given the circumstances similar to other of Oshimi-san's works.

In this mind bending story, we are looking the eyes of Mari Yoshizaki a seemingly perfect high school girl that everyone adores, and Isao Komori one particular college hikikomori (reclusive adolescents or adults who withdraw from social life) read more
Jan 11, 2014
tom321 (All reviews)
Preliminary
The common's person's reaction to the main character of this Manga is why storytelling is so slow to evolve. There is as much of a expectancy for male characters to be manly as there are female characters to be seductive or lady-like. Now I'm not saying that I want feminine male leads, but does every male lead need to be decisive and masculine? Can we have a weak male lead, such as Komori, without backlash and hate?

This character is so deep, and so real. A nobody in Highschool he moved to Tokyo in the hopes of starting anew. When he finds that he's been read more
Sep 6, 2014
AdvancedSoul (All reviews)
Preliminary
I'm going to be honest: I didn't have that high of an expectation for this manga, the moment I first picked it up, but since I had nothing better to do at the time, I decided to give it a shot, and boy, am I glad I did so! This manga is one of those shiny gems that you find in the middle of others that don't shine, taking a concept that has already been used a couple of times, and cleverly giving it a whole new meaning. Also, don't avoid to notice how this manga is classified as "Psychological". It certainly won't disapoint you read more
May 20, 2018
JoeGar96 (All reviews)
'Hrmmmm' is what I initially felt about pondering the question 'is this manga good?' The more I thought about it, the more I've realised, no it really isn't. It certainly has its merits,I enjoyed the mystery aspect, psychology and in general found it a weird and interesting read. But for the most part though the story was only so-so, and despite being a pretty character focused manga, I didn't like a single one, nor thought they were handled well, in terms of both their character and the respective issues related to their flaws.

Story
The story isn't too bad it mostly deals with a central mystery read more
Dec 13, 2017
LadySama (All reviews)
Preliminary
I'd initially given this a low rating, but didn't want to give this a review because I often prefer to write reviews based on really giving them a chance. But after stumbling upon it on MAL again, I realized why I didn't find this worth a thorough read.

I'll admit to doing something I usually never do when reading anything -- I skipped ahead in parts. What you won't know about me is that I'm a book worm who feels a sense of pride in sticking something out. But this manga made me want to skip ahead. Too much of it felt unrealistic, even if I read more
Mar 22, 2018
hugo9523 (All reviews)

yes it was kinda nice. the art is excelent although i excpexted something bigger in the climax the story is pretty good.
the art is pretty cool (i really liked the hairy pubes lol) it remainds me of "homunculus" that manga from hideo, ohh and koromi also remainds me of hideo from im a hero btw.
also, mari is super cute too.
anyway the ending is kinda short and theres no afterlife (maybe cuz its a darker version of school genre) but its acceptable.
i really liked koromi and how his character devlopment was the other girl is kinda irritant but i guess thats how she supossed to read more
Apr 17, 2016
nheiyan (All reviews)
Preliminary
What if you swapped bodies? What if you found yourself in the body of the person you most admired, the “angel-like” school idol who you pass every night (and possibly stalk)? Well that’s what life has install for Komori Isao, a hikikomori who lives for no one else but himself, playing games and masturbating endlessly on repeat. Until he becomes Mari of course. Oh by the way, I forgot to mention that "Mari" is nowhere to be found, and Mari-Isao has a stalker, a shy, unpopular girl who is totally devoted to Mari.

If anyone has heard of Oshimi Shuuzou, it’s undoubtedly for his notorious manga-turned-anime read more