Edit Manga Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Hibi Chouchou

Hibi Chouchou

Alternative Titles

Synonyms: Daily Butterfly
Japanese: 日々蝶々

Information

Type: Manga
Volumes: 12
Chapters: 83
Status: Finished
Published: Feb 20, 2012 to Aug 5, 2015
Genres: RomanceRomance, SchoolSchool, ShoujoShoujo, Slice of LifeSlice of Life
Authors: Morishita, Suu (Story & Art)
Serialization: Margaret

Statistics

Score: 7.671 (scored by 2078720,787 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet published' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #24272
2 based on the top manga page. Please note that 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #130
Members: 50,901
Favorites: 1,178

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Apr 7, 2015
MAND4 (All reviews)
Preliminary
How far can cuteness take it? For how long can absolutely nothing extend the life? The answers lie in Hibi Chouchou: apparently not as far and not as much are the ones.

Hibi is like Kimi no Todoke. Only a tad bit faster. At first, it will give you that "warm and fuzzy" feeling about young and innocent love, but the further you progress in manga, you'll just keep skipping pages because literally nothing of interest and importance occurs. For an example, you can skip 39-44 chapters, and you'll be easily good to go.

Let's talk story briefly: it's cliche. It's a standard shoujo premise read more
Oct 19, 2012
therealmerocks (All reviews)
Preliminary
It's about a shy, quiet girl (doesn't talk to guys) who is beautiful and is the flower on the mountain that you can't reach. Until she meets a guy who is also quiet(doesn't know how to talk to girls). I love the art.
Its has it moment when you're smiling and you don't know it. Then you get all warm and fuzzy.
Its a cute shoujo manga.
Oct 11, 2015
Naminaee (All reviews)
Remember reading books and watching television shows (anime and manga included) and you find yourself saying 'C'mon, do something!' because the story moves at such an excruciatingly slow pace?

That is Hibi Chou Chou for you in a nutshell.

Synopsis

Upon entering high school, the very quiet but extremely cute Suiren becomes the immediate center of attention among the boys, nicknamed the'Takane no Hana' ... but one particular boy does not look her way. The story of a quiet girl and a quiet boy.

STORY 5/10

The first few chapters I was on board the train that was Hibi Chou Chou, until it hit a reoccurring them. It's read more
Jun 29, 2013
SabrinaElf (All reviews)
Preliminary
I think this manga is very good. The story line is about a girl named Suiren who is very shy and never talks to men due to all the attention males give her because of her beauty. Well, she develops an attraction to a male named Kawasumi who doesn't seem to look at her like all the other men do. Kawasumi is also shy a doesn't contact much with females. Well, I read this in less that 2 hours and I must say I love them. A typical romance plot is where a un-popular guy falls for a popular girl or a un-popular girl falls read more
Feb 18, 2016
Liliubel (All reviews)
Story: 5/10

The story is average. Even below average I could say. I started reading it because it is a 'slow build' but it is so slow that barely any progress is made. You will read 75 chapters where absolutely nothing happens. There are even some of them you could skip and you still wouldn't be missing anything.

Art: 8/10

If there is something good about this manga is the art.

Character: 3/10

If the story is bad the characters are even worse. I'm only gonna talk about the main character because I don't want this to be extremely long. The two main characteristics of the protagonist are that she read more
Sep 16, 2016
carrxtoon (All reviews)
If you are a quiet person who has a hard time talking to people (especially to someone you admire) but enjoys cute little moments with your crush, this manga is for you. For US. This manga was very enjoyable from beginning to end. The art, the transitioning from one event to another was perfection!

This manga is my all time; overall favorite! It has many cute moments,funny and a few heartbreaking moments but very worth reading. I 10/10 would highly recommend to anyone who loves a cutesy feel good high school love story with relationships (romantic and friendship wise) that beautifully develops! (////v ///)

****

The read more
Jul 16, 2016
Bluemelonz (All reviews)
The story seems pretty simple; two shy people meet and their love grows from there... but it's more than that. I don't know about other people, but this is the type of manga I want to read. The type where it's just a simple romance with its own little touch to it that makes it its own. I hate to see the love interests being demons, animal girls, etc. , I hate when the art makes the characters look like they're five, and I hate when there's a really annoying character that you just want to leave the manga... but there was really nobody/nothing like read more
Mar 6, 2018
Netbug (All reviews)
At first, I thought my dislike of Hibi Chouchou might be a personal problem - I was neither popular nor shy in high school, so immediately I had trouble relating to the concept that being liked by your peers too much could be a problem. As I continued onward though, I found the high school's shaky environment causing convoluted problems (she's too popular so her boyfriend gets bullied... except not really, as its exclusively played for laughs except as an excuse to keep the main couple apart?) to be the least of the series problems.

Neither our hero nor heroine are particularly interesting characters - read more
Jan 9, 2020
Cherry_Pixie (All reviews)
I was intrigued by the cover of the manga, and felt like this would be some cute couple doing cute things. Well, it is, but they added a hint of uniqueness. This is my first manga ever read, and I can say that I don't regret it. If I were to recommend this to my friends, I'd probably recommend it to the girls. Not gonna lie, I am a boy and there were countless times I somehow felt a romantic excitement towards a few scenes. The cuteness overload really killed the shit out of me.

The story centers Suiren Shibazeki as she walks by, boys turn read more
May 6, 2017
QueenSapphire (All reviews)
This is definitely KAWAIIIIIIII! THE CUTEST MANGA I’VE READ!

I'm not a Shoujo person, but I could name a few archetypes that are present in it, I've seen tsundres and quiet couples, Naive and Smart, Rich and Poor, Hot playboy and Shy girl, Loud Perky and quiet, Childhood friends, Bestfriends, Rivals turn to lovers and so on... Most of them are opposite of their personalities or usually one person is dominant with the other, but have you ever wonder what happens when two extremely quiet person collides!?

Hibi chouchou, is a simple manga about two shy couple falling inlove with each other, and as they find read more
Oct 15, 2015
anarrowstrail (All reviews)
I have read up to chapter 75 and it seems like the ending but I could be wrong. Still I want to get this review out of the way.

The story starts slow and very simple, typical shoujo manga. The story really just goes in its own direction with not a lot besides relationships progressing throughout as well as rivalry. There are some comedy areas and some frustrating moments which I will get to but overall it was enjoyable yet could have been more in depth. Near the end it was really rushed and it added parts that were just unnecessary like love triangles that read more
Feb 3, 2017
jclncm (All reviews)
Preliminary
At first, i was all on board with this manga. The art was clean and the relationship between the two quiet characters was very cute.

Then it dragged on. And on. And on. As the manga progressed at a snail's pace, nothing happened. I mean NOTHING.

The frustatingly slow pace, bland charcters, lack of character development and story made it painful to read.

If you do end up reading this, know that you will probably feel fluffy for the first couple of chapters, then wind up losing interest halfway through.

I wish this manga had ended early. Then it would have been short and sweet.
Jul 7, 2019
curisuchan (All reviews)
This is my second time reading this manga and everything i will write is purely my own opinion and perspective. The first time i read this manga was few years ago, back when it is not yet completed. Anyway moving to the review, The story was unique. it's not something you'll see often on a shoujo/romance manga the main characters are lovable heck even the antagonist were also lovable. The art was amazing i don't even have any other words to describe it. Overall i enjoy this manga so much. i pretty much fall in love to this manga and to suiren <3 she's read more
May 1, 2019
Mishi20 (All reviews)
I remember reading Hibi Chouchou while it was ongoing but couldn’t continue for some reason. I decided to pick this manga again recently and not so surprisingly enough I completed it in one go. The art is really good too.
Hibi Chouchou is one of those refreshing romance shoujo manga’s and even if you aren’t a fan of cute things you’ll still be awed by the cuteness. All the characters are adorable, by all I mean ALL.
I also really liked the personalities of the so called rivals, they were mature enough to not cause any emotional dramas and such in the plot.

Also As someone read more
Sep 26, 2018
Mosset (All reviews)
This adorable slice of life drama is set in a small high school where our characters meet each other upon entering and build relationships until they graduate. It is of course character driven, with the overall theme being about falling in love and creating lasting relationships.

The characters represent all different personalities, from the painfully shy Suiren to the idol-like Atohira. The unique aspect of this story is that both the male and female lead are shy, making the way their relationship unfolds different from other love stories of their kind.



Let's jump right into our characters--

The Characters

Suiren
The main female read more
Aug 25, 2018
sketchhaven (All reviews)
The manga was really promising at the start , but as chapters pass by it just drags and drags and drags on without much story and character development that can be seen in the beginning. It really is sad to see a manga with much potential that the quality of the writing slowly decreases towards the end. The manga is heartwarming and fun, but then goes into a complete robot-disaster. I cant really feel any emotions, which is I guess the intended effect as most of the character are shy, but I don't know it just doesn't really kick.

All that said, the art is really read more
Jan 4, 2018
YummiYT (All reviews)
This manga was okay. At first I really loved it but it was quite boring.

Story 7/10
So the story started out quite nice. I liked how awkward they both were but as it went on, it got frustrating. It was even more annoying when they finally kissed since it just took so long. Also at first the relationship was cute but it seemed repetitive and like it wasn't going anywhere. They did add a bit of conflict but it was so dumb and unnecessary that it did nothing for the reader. Overall the story was pretty boring but I'm giving it a 7/10 because I still read more