Edit Manga Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Yankee-kun to Megane-chan

Yankee-kun to Megane-chan

Alternative Titles

English: Yankee-kun to Megane-chan
Synonyms: Mr. Delinquent and Miss Glasses, Yankii-kun to Megane-chan, The Yankee Boy and Glasses Girl, Flunk Punk Rumble, Yanmega, Fairy Megane
Japanese: ヤンキー君とメガネちゃん

Information

Type: Manga
Volumes: 23
Chapters: 219
Status: Finished
Published: Oct 18, 2006 to May 18, 2011
Authors: Yoshikawa, Miki (Story & Art)

Statistics

Score: 7.921 (scored by 14264 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet published' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #12432
2 based on the top manga page. Please note that 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #198
Members: 35,509
Favorites: 1,076

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Nov 3, 2010
xBia (All reviews)
Preliminary
I've got to say that this manga is probably one of the best ones I've ever read. You know when you feel like trying the manga your friend suggested for weeks? You don't look very forward to do so, but you still think of giving it a chance, even tough you probably think that will be a waste of time. However, after a few pages you're starting to get addicted to it without knowing. Does this situation ring some bells? Well, this is exactly what happened to me with Yankee kun to Megane chan. Such a humorous and fantastic story, I just had to rate read more
Mar 18, 2009
abandonedaccount (All reviews)
Preliminary
From a summary, one would assume that this is a stereotypical high-school romance where opposites attract, but this reviewer assures you, it is far from that. Absolutely ridiculous, yet that's what makes it so enjoyable. We've no average character tropes here; Hana is the total antithesis to the banal class representatives previously seen. She's violent, completely lacks common sense, isn't all too clever. She usually scores lower than Shinagawa, leading to amusing score face offs. Whenever she decides to pull an all niter with regards to study, she ends up falling asleep during the study, and can't be woken the next day, for the read more
Jan 19, 2016
Daddario123 (All reviews)
Note: This is my first review. I have read quite a few mangas, but never before had I felt the need to write one.

The problem with most of the other reviews is: They are outdated - written before the end of the manga. And let me tell you, untill the ending, the manga is really good. However, I was mainly in it for the romance between the two main characters - although the development was really slow, I don't think it's necessarily a problem in a slice of life story like this.
So, let me tell you this very cleary: The ending is the read more
Jun 24, 2012
Yasmin212 (All reviews)
This manga's storyline/plot is very entertaining and amusing. I first started reading it, and I couldn't stop! The characters are created so nicely that you just can't help but laugh at even the most stupid jokes that are made. I think that is you enjoy stories where characters get together throughout the story, then yuo'll like this because Hana Adachi is someone who goes out and makes friends, and you enjoy seeing how she does things.
Apr 20, 2018
YoungVagabond (All reviews)
I can sympathize with author Miki Yoshikawa's dilemma. She was a lowly 23 year-old assistant on "Fairy Tail" when she got a chance to write a one-shot in 2005. Yoshikawa knocked it out of the park, coming up with a creative, funny scenario involving two oddball, likable characters in Shinigawa, the "Yankee-kun" of the title, and Adachi, the "Megane-chan". The bespectacled heroine tries to convince the school delinquent, camping out in the bathroom, to go on a class field trip.

After this initial success, Yoshikawa was offered her own series based on the one-shot in a popular magazine at only 24. read more
May 27, 2014
Nwstam (All reviews)
If you humor some aspects and forgo some minor inconsistencies, you'll most likely enjoy this manga.

The art is top notch. Great when serious, adorable and funny when not.

The idea is interesting, way more than the title suggests. This mangaka is more than competent when throwing twists or developing characters.

However, they've invested so much of the story into developing interest in the female protagonist. A lovable character, with a seemingly dark background. The writer had laid out several hooks and cliff hangers early on in the story and even more intense ones near the end. Not one was used. So what potentially could've been the read more
Dec 22, 2008
Mugiwara-Pyon (All reviews)
Preliminary
Story: A high school life of 2 retards haha...a guy and a girl, the guy is a yankee whos rough,skips classes and stuff like that..the girl is the class president with glasses .A common scene is when the yankee is in the toilet at school doing his business and the girl(megane-chan) will peek from the top of the stall and blurt out something that she wants or needs. Megane(the girl with glasses) turns out to be something i did not expect at all..expect the unexpected haha ..its a high school life of yankees and gangsters and more :D

Art: the art is pretty good i read more
Oct 13, 2010
Tsukin3Hoshi (All reviews)
Preliminary
I skipped it at first, thinking, yeah another one of those bad guy x class rep girl scenarios. BOY, WAS I WRONG TO JUDGE MANGA BY IT'S NAME :)
- Great, rough art style, the facial expressions can be murderously funny
- Lots of random, school inspired humor
- Very Dynamic, but still maintaining a balanced pace of action
+ Yankee-kun's damns, fucks and go to hell's are an enriching value :")
The Megane, Adachi is more than the megane suggest, she's like a Haruhi Suzumiya, without the supernatural factor, but still an unconventional DeusxMachina in itself. Warning: she can be unbelievably stupid (in a good way), read more
Nov 8, 2013
Dunkjoe (All reviews)
Preliminary
Before I start, I would like to mention that my opinion of this manga is not always a 8/10. It would be like "Wow interesting and fun manga!" to "Kinda a typical school life and school council manga" to "Finally some character history and reeeaaall development!!" then finally to chapter 199, looking at the whole package, I give a 8/10.

Story: 8/10
The story is the main focus of every manga. And the story of this manga seemed to range in quality in huge ways. The focus was often blurred due to new concepts, events and characters thrown in and abandoned in a few chapters (The read more
Jul 23, 2011
dorothy167 (All reviews)
Preliminary
One thing I can DEFINITELY say about this awesome manga is Adachi and Shinagawa PWNS ALL!!!! If you're considering to read this manga, be ready 'cause you're in for a sweet surprise! The first few chapters seemed a little pointless to read because it was about getting Shinagawa to go on these school trips and vacations, but as it introduces fun and kwirky characters into the story, it gets better because of the supposed mystery girl Shinagawa likes, and Adachi's past. And if you're also one of the people who likes characters who change over time, keep a look-out on Adachi! This manga's character read more
Mar 14, 2012
taigataiga (All reviews)
Preliminary
To everyone who's hesitating whether should read this series or shouldn't, I highly recommend you guys to read this.

Yankee-kun to Megane-chan isn't any of those stereotypical mangas about romances being included in school life and such, it's different in an unique way. You'll see a really funky opening of the story-- believe me, it IS funky-- and the more you continue to read the series, the more you enjoy it. The characters are all well-made, even though Adachi Hana could get on your nerves sometimes, but she's one of the most hilarious character ever appeared on a series. Her idiocy is so entertaining in some read more
Oct 21, 2012
FuyuChan1111 (All reviews)
Preliminary
To be perfectly honest, I had no idea what to expect before reading this, but I figured it should be great seeing as it had my favorite manga of Fairy Tail. I was very disappointed when I read it. It was very confusing, and I struggled to find out what was going on. This short story was funny, but it did not seem very well done in my perspective. I did not like the fact that a school came over to the guild Fairy Tail to try out for a job there (I may be wrong, I was quite confused). I gave it a 7 read more
Sep 30, 2015
gesegnet (All reviews)
i wanna say thank for the mangaka of this great manga, it stabbed me right to my most painful wound...
well review :
story about the main girl , Hana Adachi : a real idiot, however, she has a huge guts to dare to do any things, she is the strongest being in her universe and she has a good heart.
the series is pretty enjoyable to a point , the point that hurt me deeply: when a good person abandoned by their friends.
i rated the story and character 10, an outstanding work of showing how real life friendship work :
moral of the story :people alway read more
Mar 23, 2013
Ciu (All reviews)
Preliminary
Okay... This is my first review. My deepest apologize if i have some mistakes in english. So, yankee-kun to megane-chan, first time i decided to read this manga just because i really interest in school life's story. When i saw the art (honestly, i'm the kind of person who see the cover first and then decided to read) i was sure that it would be comedy. And then i begun to read it. What a surprise. It isn't comedy at all. I mean it's true that japanese manga art never contains a single genre of story. But in this manga we can also learn about read more
Jan 17, 2019
nodytodes (All reviews)
Yankee-kun to Megane-chan is one the best stories I have ever seen. I am so genuinely in awe at how well the story made me care about the characters. I was just itching to know how these kids were going to grow, and what new adventure they were going to get in next, but the greatest thing about the story is how their adventures were grounded in reality, (mostly). Although there were cracks of things that just would not happen in real life, they served as storytelling elements to help push a greater message. The value of this story is that it does not read more
Aug 29, 2016
IpilotAnEVA (All reviews)
Yankee-kun to Megane-chan is an extremely cliche manga yet still very enjoyable with a lovable cast.
It starts out with a typical delinquent who's scared by everyone, then forced by class Rep to do stuff. There's every cliche in the book, delinquent fights, student council is involved, helping out others, college, etc. etc. Despite the somewhat lackluster story-line, Yankee-kun to Megane-chan has an enjoyable cast of characters with hilarious interactions and decent amount of character development.
the art style really shines for hilarious moments but is still mediocre.
Overall, characters are great, amazing humor, but the story-line is too cliche.
Props to the story for actually read more
May 20, 2019
DamnMuggle (All reviews)
This is my first review for anything. I'll make it short. Basically, if you want a good, satisfying ending, this isn't for you. Granted, it isn't that bad either.

I got into this series without knowing anything about it, author and plot, and overall it was a very enjoyable read with a very slow paced romance(if any). There were many loose ends that were completely ignored but it wasn't a big deal until that ending.

If you are going to read this manga, please note, you are going to read a series that throws away the suspension it built for 200 chapter on the last read more