Edit Manga Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Black Bird

Black Bird

Alternative Titles

English: Black Bird
Japanese: ブラックバード

Information

Type: Manga
Volumes: 18
Chapters: 84
Status: Finished
Published: Jul 13, 2006 to Dec 13, 2012
Authors: Sakurakouji, Kanoko (Story & Art)
Serialization: Betsucomi

Statistics

Score: 7.761 (scored by 18515 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet published' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #18832
2 based on the top manga page. Please note that 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #166
Members: 38,960
Favorites: 2,166

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Dec 19, 2010
Maz-Maz (All reviews)
Preliminary
Harada, Misao is a sixteen-year-old chick (16! Oh, what a surprise!), in highschool (two surprises already, I don't know how many more surprises I can take!) and can see freaky mumbo jumbo (spirits, demons, ghosts, you name it: she saw it) and then pops up Usui, Kyo who then becomes her teacher *SURPRISED gasp* (although this fact is forgotten later on in the story... Somehow) and tells her he's her childhood friend and that she has to marry him or risk getting eaten by fellow youkai.

"I thought I was having a nightmare" said main protagonist, you thought YOU were having a nightmare, I KNOW I read more
May 12, 2010
adayday24 (All reviews)
Preliminary
Black Bird is one of those manga that you love at one point but then hate when the chapters start going nowhere.

Story: 7
Black Bird is about teenage girl (Misao) who can see little spirits and things from the underworld. One day she comes across a demon man (Kyo). It turns out this man was the boy who once played with her when she was little. When they were children the man said he would marry her. Shortly after he disappeared. Now he's back and has come to claim what is his.

The story kicks off with your usual shoujo facotrs. Boy loves girl. Girl is read more
Nov 12, 2011
starflower (All reviews)
Preliminary
Black Bird is a manga that on first sight is exciting and holds a lot of potential. The mysterious girl who can see things that no one else can see and is awaiting the return of her childhood friend, the only person she ever met who could see these "things" as well. I have to admit that the premis grabbed my attention right away. However, the male lead Kyo was less than a gentleman and the entire way through seemed to only be after one thing, that being to seduce Misao. Although intially she backs away from him and tells him off, eventually she decides read more
Dec 17, 2010
rava (All reviews)
Preliminary
Sexist garbage. I hate everything this manga stands for.

How can you enjoy reading a story about a woman being jerked around so badly by a man?

I stopped reading this manga after he yelled at her to watch him kill someone because it was her fault that it had to happen. She's a 16 year old girl, you monster.

It's hard for me to express all the problems here without really spoiling anything. If you are one of those women who likes the idea of having someone hiding in your trashcan at night, or who would find it romantic to one day come home read more
Apr 6, 2010
monopura (All reviews)
Preliminary
I usually read only BL comics, so I was surprised at how much I've fallen for Black Bird.

The artwork is absolutely gorgeous. The characters are beautiful (Host Club lol).

The storyline is rather engaging. The concept is very original.

The heroine is very average and easy to relate to.

There's plenty of suggestive scenes to enjoy.

In short, this is a very sexy manga, and you definitely should give it a read.
Oct 2, 2011
beneath_the_sky (All reviews)
Preliminary
Personally, I didn't enjoy this manga too much... yet I continued to read it.
The storyline is as original it's going to get for a common shoujo/supernatural manga, though at times I think it lacked depth and I was often confused about what was going on (but that might just be me...)

The heroine of the story, Misao, is your average teenage girl - apart from the fact that she can see 'monsters', who whilst yearning for a boyfriend, finds love in a man that isn't human.
She learns that he was her dear friend from the past and that he came back for her so that they read more
Sep 14, 2013
xL4n1x (All reviews)
I wanted to like this manga, I really did. I had high expectations and because of it I had a hard time putting it down. Kyo had some very sweet moments but his abusive, controlling and down right creepy behavior completely ruined this manga for me.
Apr 23, 2012
PlaguedDarkness (All reviews)
Preliminary
Story (3): 16 year old girl can see spirits, some demon falls in love with her, who turns out to be her childhood friend...guy forces girl to fall in love with her to save his race or everyone blah blah blah.

Art (5-6):Its decent, not the worst I've seen..I've definitely seen better but not necessarily painful to look at.

Character (1):Oh god, don't even get me started with the characters...Misao is a very whiny pathetic crybaby, She had to be one of the weakest female chars I have ever seen/read...yeah..sure, I get that shes going through a lot, But seriously...she needs to get over it..and stop being read more
Feb 16, 2013
KunoYuna (All reviews)
Preliminary
I have reread the manga multiple times, hoping that my opinion would change. Since I read mangas online, I have not finished the series. But I have read through chapter 35 or so.
I really hate Misao. I'm not gonna summarize it b/c the summary is already available.
But I really hate Misao. "Kyo-kun! Kyo-kun! Oh! Kyo-kun!" I swear, she really pisses me off. She's weak. She doesn't do anything at all, but be the damsel in distress and the "Holy Fruit." Read it and you'll understand. I feel that most of the female heroines in Shoujo mangas [with a few exceptions] misrepresent females in general. Not read more
Feb 19, 2015
BritishAnimeGirl (All reviews)
So to start of, I have seen some pretty bad reviews for this manga and that's fair enough, everyone had there own opinions and not everyone like the same thing. That said, I did love this manga so very much so this review may not be very helpful but I'd just like to write what I thought about it.

I personally loved this manga. It may be because I love the whole fantasy genre but I think the mangaka created something really amazing with Black Bird.
I loved the characters, I loved Kyou and Misao. I loved Taro and I loved everyone, seriously even sho. The characters read more
May 9, 2011
-Forgotten- (All reviews)
Preliminary
Story - 6
Art - 8
Character - 6
Enjoyment - 8
Overall - 7

Before I continue, I'll say that I'm generous when it comes to ratings...

Let me talk about the "genre" firstly. From what I've seen so far, it seems like a reverse-harem and reverse-ecchi(Does this exist? Let's just assume it does) which is pretty much an ecchi harem aimed at females. Though I personally enjoy it(Hello? Female here?), why else would I rate enjoyment an "8" anyway, there is a little sensible voice at the back of my head which is nagging at me about the areas this manga does not do so well in.

*sensible mindset tuned*
There read more
Nov 16, 2014
xxXKittyXxx (All reviews)
Story: 7
I really thought this manga was just a silly romance manga with little to no story that I would just read in order to pass time. Well honestly the story is actually pretty cool and unique. The supernatural aspect mixed with romance was well structured and captivating. Yes, it tends to be very sexual and kinda throws the topic of rape in their a lot, but they mix it in the story where it doesn't seem forced (plus if there's a guy and a girl in love, their most likely going to have sex and make out a lot and not just a few read more
Jun 24, 2015
TheQueenYoora (All reviews)
I came across Black Bird after I finished reading Hana to Akuma. Being a fan of youkai(s) and stuff (because they are somewhat gorgeous lol), this manga caught my interest. Initially, I really love the plot of the story. The manga was good, it is entertaining. However, there are downsides to it as well. I somewhat find Misao kinda annoying the way she wails and stuff and that she always cries. I love how Kyo acts sometimes, though. The way he gives off that mysterious aura is a plus points for me. However, I did not like the ending of this manga because basically, how read more
Dec 13, 2010
pucoan (All reviews)
Preliminary
What can I say about Black Bird except that it was an unbelievable read. In the beginning, I was a little worried about reading it - simply because I haven't read manga in a VERY long time and I wasn't sure in my choice. I mean, the plot synopsis' I read sounded interesting enough, and I loved the cover art (which was my main reason for buying it in the first place - I know, I know; what a horrible way to pick a manga, right?). But it turned out to be surprisingly good and...addicting. The characters are lovable and fun. The story line was read more
Apr 17, 2012
nostaglia (All reviews)
Preliminary
This Manga's audience is for a more MATURE crowd. (With that being said- if you're expecting a lovey-dovey sweet innocent story please REFRAIN from reading this manga).

It is quite explicit & dark.

Black Bird is becoming a very interesting manga even though it started slow.

Black Bird’s beginning revolves around the sexual tension between Kyo and Misao (which leads to them eventually doing it). This is where the manga is denounced by reviewers because they say it’s too ‘explicit’ for shojo, etc. and that Kyo is a rapist (considering Misao’s only 16).

But I have to stand up for the Manga in the regard that read more
Feb 27, 2012
tiffyrose (All reviews)
Preliminary
One of my (many) guilty pleasures is shojo manga, particularly those with cheeky demons. I know it's meant to be 14 year old school girls developing crushes on the lead characters in shojo manga but I hope there are some fellow British twentysomethings who have a soft spot for cocky raven-man hybrids. If this doesn't describe you, cringe and turn away now. If it does, read on.

The main thing this manga gets right is indulging its readers in the forbidden love aspect. Kyo is portrayed as a perverted, occasionally romantic, demon but with a very human protective side. He is shown through Misao's eyes who read more
Mar 29, 2015
Desk05 (All reviews)
The unique thing about Black Bird for me is that, I ADORED all of the side characters. In contrast, I rarely felt anything for Misao and Kyo unless I was acknowledging a cute moment between them. I want Sagami and Ayame to have their own manga. The daitengu all had awesome backstories, which could have easily spinned off into their own stories. I am glad they didn't spin off though because they made the Black Bird experience tolerable and so much better. :D

The tengu orphanage babies are lovely in every way. Misao's parents are the best as well!

I liked how the story cast a realistic read more
Jan 5, 2015
cBuny (All reviews)
Preliminary
Black Bird, to me, was a huge disappointment.

Story (6):
The only likable part of this manga is the supernatural aspect. Other than that, there's nothing much to say. A girl who possesses special power and is in danger and a guy who protects her, with some rape scenes here and there. I would like to point out that the thing I dislike about Black Bird is how weirdly pace it is. New chapter. Boom. Out of nowhere new character(s). Some parts feel random and unconnected to the actual main plot. Other parts feel either rushed or totally pointless.

Art (8):
The art is pretty nice and unique, not read more
Feb 4, 2012
p5ych0vampire (All reviews)
Preliminary
Story: 3
Art: 7
Character: 3
Enjoyment: 3
Overall: 4

It's basically the manga version of the Twilight series. The only difference is that instead of vampires, it's demons and spirits. The story line is thin and there's little character development. I prefer my heroine to be strong and in control. Yet, in Black Bird, the heroine, Misao, is weak, whiny, over-dramatic, cries way too much, and doesn't take charge in any situation. She just sits back and waits for Kyo to come running to her rescue. Also, Kyo is an over-sexualized jerk (even for a manga). At first it was funny, but after the third volume it became annoying read more
Oct 20, 2010
DayLeLight (All reviews)
Preliminary
Well, I don't normally like fluffy, pretty romantic shojo mangas, so I didn't have high expectations for this when I first read it. In fact, I only did so because someone bought it for me. But I have to say, I was pleasantly surprised as I continued reading.
The beginning was a little slow, and I didn't think the first volume was the strongest, but it gets much better as you continue. The main character Misao improves a little from her weepy start, and Kyo is rather funny with his naughty mind: I found it preferable to him being unrealistically sweet. Also, the second volume read more