Suzumiya Haruhi Series
Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Suzumiya Haruhi Series

Alternative Titles

Synonyms: Suzumiya Haruhi no Yuuutsu, The Melancholy of Haruhi Suzumiya
Japanese: 涼宮ハルヒシリーズ

Information

Type: Novel
Volumes: Unknown
Chapters: Unknown
Status: Publishing
Published: Jun 6, 2003 to ?
Genres: ComedyComedy, DramaDrama, SchoolSchool, Sci-FiSci-Fi, SupernaturalSupernatural
Authors: Tanigawa, Nagaru (Story), Itou, Noizi (Art)
Serialization: The Sneaker

Statistics

Score: 8.581 (scored by 93429,342 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #862
2 based on the top manga page. Please note that 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #338
Members: 28,875
Favorites: 1,635

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Jan 7, 2008
Master10K (All reviews)
Read Vol. 1 - 9

Haruhi Suzumiya is a collection of Sci-fi, Comedy themed Light Novels (10 in fact) that fans of the popular anime series would read to get more depth to the story. So there’s really no need to go into detail of the story and overall premise of the Novels. As you may already know the story revolves around an omnipotent high school girl Haruhi Suzumiya, with powers (unknown to her) but told from the point of view of high school boy Kyon (real name unknown).

The anime series only scratches the surface, as it only tells one of the 4 known main stories read more
Aug 7, 2008
ShanaSakai (All reviews)
This series of novels is very compelling. I must say I was very captivated by how the plot works. It's very confusing if you don't know anything about it though; I recommend watching the anime first before trying to decipher the light novel.

Plot: Not too many loopholes. If you're a fan of the "What's Going to Happen Next" genre then I suggest you read this. The cliffhangers, although leaving you unsatisfied, will feed your desire to read about the next.

Art: Hah, the art totally rocks. The cover and front flaps basically sums the story up. The in-book art are black-and-white manga-like drawings that are high read more
Jan 7, 2008
maxcherry715 (All reviews)
Here it is, the true story of what started it all. Haruhism has taken the anime world by storm and it is all because of this light novel series. But, how did such a marvelous movement branch from this you ask? To tell you the truth, that is what I would like to know.

Now I know my statement above would lead any person to believe that I am disappointed with the origins of Haruhi, and in a sense I am, but nowhere near as harsh as I first let on. What I merely mean is that, the anime took a morsel of the story and read more
Jun 12, 2011
Moudaijoubu (All reviews)
"I have no interest in ordinary humans. If there are any aliens, time travelers, sliders or espers here, come join me. That is all."

(Note: This review is based on the first book "The Melancholy of Haruhi Suzumiya", not considering the following novels such as "The Sigh of Haruhi Suzumiya" nor "The Boredom of Haruhi-" and so on and so forth.)

Most everyone knows the tale of Haruhi Suzumiya, Kyon, and the SOS Brigade: They search out the world for the extraordinary. Little does Kyon know that all the extraordinary is Haruhi herself.
The story of Haruhi Suzumiya is so completely wonderful. When read more
Aug 10, 2019
Rust_Cohle (All reviews)
The first volume seemed very interesting to me but the second one became very boring and I left it, the narrator becomes obnoxious and heavy after a while it would have been better than the author several points of view in the narration, I know that the narrator It is the reflection, and fantasy of the author: a boring and nondescript guy who is dragged by a pretty and cheerful girl to a fantastic world, but he becomes selfless pretending to prefer his boring daily life instead of the girl and the wonderful adventure world that she offers, and why? Well, because of cowardice
Mar 28, 2010
Selphie- (All reviews)
~I have read volume 1 and volume two at the point of writing this~
If you really want to experience The Haruhi Suzumiya Phenomenon then this [the light novels that started it all] Is a defiant must.

Kyon is a normal High School Student.He comes to his first day of high school to experience a normal high school experience.But when his turn to introduce himself is finished,and the teacher goes on to the next one,Kyon-and the rest of the class,are speechless.

"If there are any aliens,time travelers,or espers here,come join me.That is all"

wouldn't you be speechless too?

The anime adaption of these novels only takes some of the read more
Jul 1, 2018
Leegf (All reviews)
I might be a bit careless in relation to spoilers.
Before reading novel series I had watched anime, two times. Basically, first volumes brought me almost nothing new. By the way, if somehow you haven't yet watched anime, I'd recommend you to start off with it first. Kyoani made an excellent job on it.

The story opens with a main character's monologue. Thoughts of Kyon which will guide you through all the chaotic mess awaiting you. So, one perfect day Kyon happened to think about talking to a certain girl... From this and now on, his life would never be the same. All the supernatural stuff read more