Edit Manga Information
What would you like to edit?

Ouran Koukou Host Club

Ouran Koukou Host Club

Alternative Titles

English: Ouran High School Host Club
Synonyms: OHSHC, Romantic Egoist
Japanese: 桜蘭高校ホスト部


Type: Manga
Volumes: 18
Chapters: 87
Status: Finished
Published: Jul 24, 2002 to Sep 24, 2010
Authors: Hatori, Bisco (Story & Art)
Serialization: LaLa


Score: 8.631 (scored by 35477 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet published' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #702
2 based on the top manga page. Please note that 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #27
Members: 65,635
Favorites: 6,462


May 19, 2008
The only reason the Ouran anime is worth a watch is because it sets the stage for the manga. Yes, this series has to be the best I've EVER seen. The whole thing has a perfect layout, which gives us our fair share of both drama and comedy relief. It's fantastic.

The story is a 9. Because there are so many main characters, all introduced at around the same time, the beginning takes a bit of time to get into. It is full of filler chapters that set the stage for what's to come. You see, in these introductory chapters, you learn a little bit about read more
I found this review Helpful
Apr 19, 2008
I would really recommend this manga to anyone who loved the anime. The anime is a great adaption and tells the story almost exactly as it was in the manga, however it's not as progressive. Nothing much happens in the anime but once you get to around chapter 40 then it will really pick up the pace.

Also, guys, don't be afraid to pick up this manga and don't be deterred by the shojo tag. The story behind it is quite good too.

Why did I give the story a 9? Because it can be slow at times. Some pieces will drag a tiny bit while read more
I found this review Helpful
Jan 25, 2010
Even though Ouran is definitely in my top 10 favorite manga, I'm going to be as honest as I can here. When I'm reading it, I notice a few mistakes or at least some things that could be improved but I still find it an enjoyable manga nontheless. There is a slight spoiler alert. Hopefully, you'll forget before you start the manga. Anyway, let's begin!

Overall Grade: 9/10 (actual: 8.5/10)

Story: 7/10

In the...let's say at least first 9 volumes of the series there's basically no substantial plot other than "a commoner girl attends a school for rich people and breaks a very expensive vase that belonged to read more
I found this review Helpful
Jan 2, 2008
This manga is adorable =D It goes beyond my expectations and is still a joy to read.

I loved the anime more, but the manga is more in depth. The art for the anime seemed more furnished while the manga's seemed rough-draft. Even so, both anime and manga are enjoyable whether you like to read the manga or watch the anime.

This anime/manga really exceeds in the categories of Romance and Comedy. I love it even more because the characters are so well developed through the course of the manga. The storyline really lets their personalities shine. What makes it even better is the storyline is so read more
I found this review Helpful
Oct 20, 2009
Story: 6
As most people say, the story is slow. I personally like manga better than anime, but Ouran it applied in reverse. The anime is a little better than the manga, because it somehow gets to the point quickly unlike in the manga.

Art: 6
Not something I expected after watching the anime. The art is different, and at first glance, you wouldn't have thought it's Ouran.

Character: 7
Generally, people would give thumbs up for the characters. But I won't. Personally, the only person I liked is Haruhi, because I think she's the only one I'd call decent. Others are somewhat...abnormal.

Enjoyment: 4
Not much enjoyment for me at all. read more
I found this review Helpful
Dec 3, 2011
"To make a friend's wish come true, we would do nothing less...
And from the bottom of our hearts, we prayed for nothing more."
- from the most tear-jerking pages of Ouran

Anyways, onto the actual review.

Story (8/10)

Ouran High School Host Club is about a normal girl, Fujioka Haruhi, who is admitted to a school (primarily for children of the upper class) on a special scholarship for being an excellent student. While looking for a place to study, she accidentally stumbles upon the Host Club (which is composed of six hot guys of the highest pedigree who cater to girls that have too much time on their hands) read more
I found this review Helpful
Jan 20, 2014
If you loved the anime, you are probably going to fall in love with the manga. It has all the crazy antics of the host club with never a dull moment but then it adds onto it with a much deeper story line. Though it loses its comedic value to an extent, the serious nature gives the characters so much more depth. This is one manga that I can say; you need to read it all even if you watched the manga because there is so much more to the stories that were shown on TV.

There are a couple people who change very drastically in read more
I found this review Helpful
Jun 5, 2008
For everyone to note, I watched the Anime before I read the Manga, or attempted too, and the Manga in no way is as good as the Anime.

Story: 3
The story was extremely slow, expessully compared to the anime. It seems to be stretched out too much.

Art: 7
Here, I am comparing it to the Anime. The drawings were not as clear as the Anime was.

Character: 7
The characters were better developed in the Anime, but they were in no way flat. One could still get who they were, though not as well as the Anime.

Enjoyment: 3
After having seen the Anime, I had hoped a lot more for read more
I found this review Helpful
Dec 28, 2008
I think the manga is pretty good! The art is nice, and the guys are drawn outstandingly! The character developement is also very nice! It's funny, and romantic, so I'm getting a whole lot of enjoyment out of it! To sum it up, this story is very good and I will be sad once it's over.
I found this review Helpful
Mar 10, 2008
In the U.S. so far there are 10 published, the 11th volume comes out in November of 2008. I have read 10.
The series is so random, basically. Most of the characters are kind of clueless. Tamaki thinks of himself as a "father" to Haruhi. Haruhi is in the Host Club's debt because she accidentally broke an 80 million yen vase that the Host Club was going to auction. The Host Club has 6 members, disincluding Haruhi and Renge, who, in the anime, is supposedly the manager. Tamaki, the leader, "King", "Lord", "pervert", is unaware of his love for Haruhi. No, he is aware, it's just read more
I found this review Helpful
Dec 8, 2015
Our heroine, Haruhi (henceforth referred to as “commoner”), was accepted in Ouran -a high school for the richest kid in Japan- on a scholarship. The poor commoner enters Ouran wearing her dad's old uniform and a short boyish haircut and quickly gets lost in the ridiculously huge Ouran campus. A chance encounter with 6 of the most rich and handsome boys of Ouran, leads her to join the Host club and work in entertaining the rich, bored girls of the school. Of course this was made possible because everyone passed commoner for a boy.

Commoner's adventures in the host club and the antics of the 6 read more
I found this review Helpful
May 7, 2014
Ouran Highschool Host Club...oh where to start.

Story: 7
I wish I could give this series a higher score in this area. The basis for the story is quite original (even if it does include the typical male harem), but the execution could have been better. There were too many parts that I just wanted the plot to move faster, and it felt like many of the chapters were fillers. However, the comedy presented during the entire series was consistently hilarious and was one of the best parts of the series.

Art: 9
Hatori's art is beautiful and wonderfully detailed. I was constantly enraptured by the quality of read more
I found this review Helpful
Feb 1, 2014
Its a 10/10 for this series from me.

Its one of the most wonderful series that I got to read. Yes its long but it doesn't matter really. Once you get hooked on reading you'll always be asking for more. And the best part of this series- the humour in the series doesn't rely on anything vulgar. Its purely from the characters and their interactions and reactions. From random internet surfing on the best shoujo anime I had come across this title many times, but was reluctant to pick it up due to the "Host Club" in the title. But I am so glad that I read more
I found this review Helpful
May 5, 2013
Haruhi, the female protagonist (who is a common girl from a poor family) enters the grand upper class Ouran High School on a scholarship. One day, lost in the school, she wanders into the high school’s male host club and accidentally knocks over an expensive vase. As a deal to repay her debt, she was recruited to join the host club under the pretence of a male. No one in the school knows her true gender identity except for the members of the host club and there, it all marks the start of this uproarious journey.

Great – or perhaps, close to perfect. The read more
I found this review Helpful
May 24, 2010
Ouran High School Host Club may seem like your typical love story. Numerous boys fall in love with single girl. It IS something like that, and at the same time, something much more.
Hatori Bisco is really creative with the making of each character-- each one has his own unique and special trait, like the idea of "brotherly love", or Kyouya being a person who takes benefit in every action, or Hunny-senpai being the lover of all things cute, but in truth a master martial artist, Mori-senpai, the man of few words, the narcissistic Tamaki cowering in a corner--- most of all, however, the fact that read more
I found this review Helpful
May 14, 2012
If it was not for the manga, I don't know how I could have survived when the anime ended. The manga was brilliant and it dived into more serious matters. Ouran Koukou Host Club is the one of the must-read mangas. Most of the times the genre of harem annoys me but not this one. The girl character, Haruhi is a very independent role model who is a challenge when it comes to love, which makes it even more interesting. And that because she is smart, mature and not one of those shy and fragile heroines, she is a character that you will never forget. read more
I found this review Helpful
Nov 22, 2011
So this is one of my favorite mangas of all time...

It was one of the first that I was motivated to keep reading steadily, and I got very excited every time I heard a saw that a new chapter had been translated.

The general story has a very typical shoujo reverse harem feel to it. The protagonist, Haruhi's mother passed away some years ago and she's having trouble fitting in to her new school which is made up of very elite rich kids. When she's looking for a quiet place to study she suddenly runs into the Ouran High School Host Club and finds herself joining. read more
I found this review Helpful
Jan 22, 2013
It's so hard to say what Ouran is, it might just be easier to say what it isn't. Ouran is not serious. Ouran is not supposed to make sense. Ouran is not supposed to be remotely realistic. It will not change your world view. It does not have a deep, philosophical meaning, and is not supposed to make the reader want to go out into the world and do great things.

And that's what makes it great.

It has an overused cast description (and makes fun of the stereotypicalness itself). You have the prince, the glasses character, the twincest, the lolita, and the stoic type - read more
I found this review Helpful
Apr 15, 2011
I thought Ouran High Host club was an Amazing and funny manga. I started watching this series because I just finish watching Card Captor Sakura and Fruit basket, and I was craving more of series like that one. Comedy and Romance (That was back in day with my first anime) and someone recommended this series. I finish watching the entire episode in 3 days. Then I stared reading the book. And they are both amazing. But I thought the Anime was a little better.

I always love a story that made me laugh out loud.
I laugh so much reading and Watching read more
I found this review Helpful
Feb 13, 2013
Bisco Hatori only proves herself as a great manga writer/drawer.
The way she makes the story goes on (at a point totally apart from the anime, which makes a way better story) wraps you in the drama and you just want to read more.
From the simple scenes to the most dramatic ones, Ouran makes you dive into a world that seems totally apart from all of us, but it can still makes you feel comfortable in it.

I know my review seems like a critic but I really loved this manga and recommend to every one :D
I found this review Helpful