Watashi ga Motenai no wa Dou Kangaetemo Omaera ga Warui!
No Matter How I Look at It, It's You Guys' Fault I'm Not Popular!
Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Watashi ga Motenai no wa Dou Kangaetemo Omaera ga Warui!

Alternative Titles

English: No Matter How I Look at It, It's You Guys' Fault I'm Not Popular!
Synonyms: WataMote, Watashi ga Motenai no wa Dou Kangaete mo Omaera ga Warui!, It's Not My Fault That I'm Not Popular!
Japanese: 私がモテないのはどう考えてもお前らが悪い!

Information

Type: Manga
Volumes: Unknown
Chapters: Unknown
Status: Publishing
Published: Aug 4, 2011 to ?
Genres: ComedyComedy, SchoolSchool
Authors: Tanigawa, Nico (Story & Art)
Serialization: Gangan Online

Statistics

Score: 7.741 (scored by 1600116,001 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #13772
2 based on the top manga page. Please note that 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #235
Members: 45,580
Favorites: 2,847

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Nov 24, 2011
iCameSwagYOLO420 (All reviews)
Watashi ga Motenai no wa Dou Kangaetemo Omaera ga Warui!, (Shortened to Watashi ga Motenai for the sake of reviewing), is a manga about an antisocial girl named Tomoko Kuroki whose only desire is to cut loose of her shut in ways and become popular so she can get a boyfriend,but that's easier said than done... Especially when you're too socially awkward to talk to a boy, let alone an actual human being.

Now on the surface this manga doesn't look remotely entertaining but it slowly,but surely, sucks you into it and days later you'll find yourself thinking "Gee, I wonder how she's going to embarrass read more
Mar 12, 2012
Cure_For_Obscure (All reviews)
When it comes to popularity and being the talk of the student body, I wouldn't know, but when it comes to anime, video games and manga, then hey, conversation topics can never end, Watashi ga Motenai no wa Dou Kangaetemo Omaerea ga Warui features a high school girl who's both of those characteristics, even though the former is a delusion of embarrassing proportions.
The series revolves around a shut in girl who's never actually had social interactions with anyone (Save for her friend in middle school and occasional reply when someone asks or need something from her), Kuroki Tomoko (Think of her as Konata from read more
Feb 1, 2017
gomennasai (All reviews)
Disclaimer: I only picked this manga back up recently after a long period of time. My memory may not be perfect.

WataMote is a manga not to be taken lightly; if you've already been through high school or currently going through it, you'll probably have a harrowing experience. All the embarrassing situations, self-deprecation, you'll going to be reminded of. It's a comedy at heart, so don't expect any kind of drama at all.

I'm not going to go through everything in this review, instead, I'm going to concentrate on one aspect the previous reviews have skipped (due to they were written in a different time period): this read more
Apr 9, 2015
3PSIL0N (All reviews)
Watashi ga Motenai no wa Dou Kangaete mo Omaera ga Warui! (or Watamote for short) is a slice of life anime about a high school girl named Tomoko Kuroki. If you think that you're socially awkward, wait until you read the story of Tomoko. She has such a hard time with even the most basic conversations that she almost brings herself to vomiting. She praises her skill with romance games as being equal to real-life experience yet she can't even say two words to people.

Tomoko spends the duration of the story trying different quirky things that are supposed to help her make friends but read more
May 19, 2019
Forluth (All reviews)
I will start off by saying that I originally hated Watamote, which is why it is so surprising that here I am completely advocating people to read it.

Way back when the anime first started airing I took an interest, but quickly lost it when the secondhand embarrassment became too much for me to handle. So instead I tried the manga, which while not as bad as the anime, still was painful to read through. Ultimately I shelves the couple of volumes I had and gave up on going any further than that.

Fast forward to a couple of months ago when one of my friends very read more
May 27, 2013
roflww (All reviews)
Its one great manga. It strays from the "put lovers everywhere" attitude most manga are appealing to and instead centers on the single goal of making the life of a single girl one major hell on earth. A refresh is that finally the fail is not on the boy, but on the girl depicted. Certainly not the most original take ever published on manga but well executed nonetheless.

One thing of note however is that this manga could benefit of a different format. Since the reader already knows that Tomoko is a major screw up it gets tiring to read only the small details. There are read more
Dec 10, 2020
Playmond (All reviews)
The anime brainwashed me and got stuck in my head for months, was too good, and ended in the best part, when was just the begining.
Afters months of constaly remembering the anime because i'm not someone who reads manga easily, i decided to read it, i just didn't expect that, this series could become my favorite of all time.
The way in the manga tells the story, their interactions, the themes treated, the tomoko development, the characters, etc.
I fell in love with this manga, even more than the anime, this isn't a normal SoL with yuri bait, this is a treasure forgotten and undervalued.
May 22, 2017
beckmn (All reviews)
I'll start this review with this phrase "Don't judge a book by its cover", or rather in Watamote's case "Don't judge a manga by its first 40 chapters". The reason for this is because the first 40 chapters are somewhat of an introductory storyline where you essentially learn about the MC Tomoko and her socially awkward, and somewhat petty personality. Although it does get monotonous throughout that, and I'd recommend you just skim through those parts if you don't want to be bothered.

But after that, the manga slowly starts to take a shift in tone. It all starts as Tomoko tries to reconnect with her read more
Sep 14, 2014
Jinx_Von_Miku (All reviews)
I personally love Watamote (It's not my fault I'm not popular!). The main character Tomoko Kuroki is very relate able. The story is much like Nichijou, not following a linear story path but keeping some aspects from older chapters intact. I love this manga, this can be a hit and miss from time to time ( like Space Dandy) but overall gives a better interpretation of high school than any other manga i've read thus far.
Jul 15, 2020
Ciaran_Zagami (All reviews)
Tomoko Kuroki strikes me as a very excellent character in the hands of a poor author.

She's a hopeless NEET and if you don't know what that term means then you wont be the kind of person who relates to Tomoko.

But she's not really hopeless, a lot of the manga starts with Tomoko declaring her intent to achieve some small often meaningless goal to try and improve her social life. Then the author shoves her back into her NEET box and punishes her for wanting to improve herself.

Tomoko is a character cursed with self awareness, she knows everything she's doing is wrong and how its read more
Mar 8, 2020
TJ_Of_Carolina (All reviews)
Good up until after the field trip arc, then it seriously declines in quality. I loved watamote before then, it was one of my favorite mangas, I loved the komi-san introduction arc, tomoko's inner monologues and how many of the characters played off each other (BEFORE the huge expansion of the cast post field trip) For a while it seemed like watamote was moving in a direction where tomoko would self improve and grow as a person, basically escaping her genre. Although tomoko does become more social while still remaining an introvert, that's not quite what happens. Basically she near spontaneously gains a clique that read more
Feb 26, 2019
ihavetomakeanacc (All reviews)
It's weird coming back to this series years after watching the cringe riddled anime series, only to be pleasantly surprised about the slice of life direction the manga has taken in the latter half of it.

I think it's a testament to how much character development was given to Tomoko, and how it completely contradicts the title of the series, as Tomoko manages to make a harem of female friends and thus a whole bunch of fluff and yuri undertones.

If you liked Watamote purely for the cringe value of it, then you probably won't wanna stick around after around chapter 50.

I enjoyed reading it, it has read more
May 22, 2018
Moomochi (All reviews)
Out of 100 Nobles watching...
80 were impressed!
10 found something to be desired in character designs and expressions.
5 got sick of Tomoko's perpetual terribleness.
5 are angry they can't describe what's happened in this dang manga without people looking at them weird.

Because I'm not popular, I'll write a review.
"Watashi ga Motenai no wa Dou Kangaetemo Omaera ga Warui!" or as everyone calls it for short "Watamote" is a story about an unpopular girls high school debut and the beginning of her own personal quest to combat her extreme social anxiety in an attempt to not be a loner.

The story itself is extremely unique in it's absurdity read more
May 17, 2019
Soulwarfare (All reviews)
Coming out of the anime, I didn't really think much of the series as the anime was quite a painful experience. It had some laugh but it felt like the situation Tomoko appears in are just so embarrassing and you feel bad for her. The anime covers roughly the first 20-30 chapters in the manga. However, once the field trip arc happens and we get introduced to more supporting characters, this series just becomes really enjoyable.

Story: There isn't really much to the story. It's about an antisocial girl who has no friends at her high school and each chapter is usually about her doing dumb read more
May 10, 2021
Decunt (All reviews)
The first 12 volumes were great and I would say its one of my favorite mangas.
A very funny and a worthwhile read.
The main character and the first characters that got introduced and appeared often were very good and played off each other. While intresting and funny situations that happened made it a very enjoyable and funny read.
I could relate to the main character and I found my self laughing at a lot of the jokes and enjoyed nearly every page.
In later volumes some new characters had gotten introduced and even tho I didn't like most of the new characters it didn't matter too much since read more
Apr 14, 2019
mentosrush (All reviews)
Watamote is a breath of fresh air. It's not a typical high school manga that showcases the "moe" life.

Tomoko is by far one of the best protagonists. She is the very antithesis of a high school girl. She's a loner, a pervert, and overall just a mess of a human being. All these flaws though make me quite fond of her. Tomoko's cringe inducing moments are probably relatable for everyone in this site (hint:all anime fans are socially retarded).

Now let's talk about the art. Mediocre at the best but it gets the job done. The proportions are correct. The facial expressions are amusing. Although read more
Aug 3, 2018
Hanselhoff27 (All reviews)
If you're like me, then most of the reason you read manga, is because you like to see the development of relationships and characters. This series does that really well in my opinion. I think the development of Kuroki (the main character) is done very well. It doesn't feel rushed like I've seen in other stories. She and the other characters are also much more human feeling. She's kind of a terrible, petty person but it makes her more relatable, interesting and in a strange way very likeable. Her sort of delusional views of people and situations make for some extremely funny moments that had read more
Jul 12, 2020
6Monday9 (All reviews)

WATAMOTE Manga deals with one of the best down to earth story and character with the story revolving around our main unpopular protagonist / girl 'Kuroki Tomoko' who is also a NEET / Otaku. The manga's story is laid perfectly to make you laugh your ass off 'coz most of the simple daily problems and challenges for our girl is very problematic WHICH CAN BE VERY RELATABLE TO YOU.
And if you're looking for something fun and hard to hit you THIS IS THE ONE.

As it goes for character development and for sake of the manga it introduces new characters frequently.

And as for ART it's 7 read more
Sep 21, 2012
KingArthur13th (All reviews)
"It's not my fault I'm not popular" is a manga by Tanigawa Nico who is also the author of "Choku!". The manga centers around a socially awkward, socially inept, shy shut in named Kuroki Tomoko who has just entered high school and is searching for someone to call a friend or a boyfriend. Tomoko has absolutely no social skills, can barely hold a conversation longer than a minute and considers hellos and goodbyes as some of her most successful attempts at conversing with people. Deep down she wants to have friends and be able to talk with boys normally, but doesn't have the nerves or read more
Jun 7, 2019
Spiderland (All reviews)
A bit of a quickie, wanted to get my thoughts out there.

I have a different attitude towards this manga compared to others. I found it quite hard to read the early chapters, mainly because a lot of the situations that Tomoko finds herself in I thought were cringe-inducing (not that they felt dumb, moreso they were just very humiliating) more than amusing. Speaking of Tomoko, she's a really good character and the main driving force between much of the manga. She's perverted, socially inept, occasionally suicidal, pathetic, and a total outcast. At the same time she's surprisingly self-aware which helps her avoid being a read more