Hideout
Edit Manga Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Hideout

Alternative Titles

Japanese: HIDEOUT

Information

Type: Manga
Volumes: 1
Chapters: 9
Status: Finished
Published: Jun 14, 2010 to Aug 23, 2010
Genres: ActionAction, HorrorHorror, PsychologicalPsychological, SeinenSeinen
Authors: Kakizaki, Masasumi (Story & Art)
Serialization: Big Comic Spirits

Statistics

Score: 7.121 (scored by 1088810,888 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #69302
2 based on the top manga page. Please note that 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #455
Members: 18,927
Favorites: 180

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jun 29, 2013
Dokubachi (All reviews)
Overall it could be classed as cliche-ridden, as it borrows asinine plot frequently seen in Hollywood trash horrors, albeit that Japanese peculiarity to add dose of aberrancy really supplements the status of this piece to class it as a bit above mediocre or even unique for some aspects at least.

Affixed to above mentioned is the abundantly embellished art style which is a meritorious element, and perhaps will serve as a stimulus to continue till the end, that is, if you will consider plot to be atrocious, or predictable.
Jan 31, 2012
Dietrologia (All reviews)
First of all, I'd like to say I'm not familiar with any of Kakizaki's other works (mostly referring to Rainbow since that's his most famous one), so I'm not going to be making any comparisons to anything else he's worked on. With that out of the way....

Hideout is a very short series. I don't imagine that it would take more than an hour or two to read it all, and that might be a very generous estimate depending on how fast you read. Since it's only 9 chapters you might not be expecting a whole lot as far as depth of the plot goes, but read more
Jul 5, 2012
_Rika (All reviews)
“How long was I locked up in that room? A day? A week? I could no longer tell. On top of driving you crazy, the darkness and isolation also robbed you of all your sense of time.”

Kirishima Seiichi’s life has so far been full of ups and downs— recurring letdowns in his career as a writer, the tragic death of his son and to top it all, the cold and distant attitude of his wife. With the alleged intention of overcoming the loss of their son and starting over a new life, Kirishima takes his wife on a peaceful island vacation. However, behind read more
Apr 28, 2016
Paraturtle (All reviews)
Story:
Predictable, yet sufficient. It's also a little infuriating, and while it follows the basics of popular horror cliche's, it still comes across rather naive. The real issue comes with the fact that the characters are unlikable, which makes progression through the narrative arduous, even with a short chapter count.


Art:
Absolutely fantastic. The real strength of this narrative. It's turned me on to Masasumi Kakizaki, and now I can't wait to read some more works he's assisted with. I did find it difficult to discern what was what with a few panels, as the balance of blacks wasn't very understandable. However, this is so unbelievably minor as, read more
Dec 25, 2017
gikere (All reviews)
A good old method of horror with amazing art, especially in the big pictures. I can even feel myself in those emotional, realistic piece of little art. This kind of fine art in manga is one of reasons why I am so obsess in checking and finding more and more mangas to ensure nothing can be skipped and untreasured. Although characters and story is a bit shallow and predictable and do not bring enough terror, also i notice some small illogical trivia, however it do not give much influence. I think i do not enjoy this manga so much because its style do not suit read more
Nov 23, 2017
jmscjrdn (All reviews)
Here's my take after reading 9 tense chapters of Hideout by Masasumi Kakizaki.

I am a long time fan of the 80's american horror and how they have used practical effects to show the blood and gore that are depicted in their story which adds that "realism" factor in their movies and TV.

Hideout takes a lot of influence to american horror as the mangaka Kakizaki-san is a huge fan of it and fascinated by authors like Stephen King and it shows how strong the influence in this work.

The premise of the story is that, married couple Seiichii, a striving novelist, and his wife Miki Kirishima read more
Jan 7, 2020
G0NZ4ZZ_ (All reviews)
* CONTAINS SPOILERS *

One word: "magnificent." This story is absolutely scary ... just thinking about being the protagonist makes me nervous. Excellent drawing, a plot full of misery, discord, blood, regrets and above all: the fucking human being. I think the worst of this story is the man himself. It shows us how evil and monstrous we can be and in just 9 chapters he left me thinking. Another thing that the author does very well is to fully penetrate the hardships of the poor protagonist, causing us to feel compassion and even wishing he could achieve his goal. The ending is great and read more
Feb 5, 2019
doctorminsuks (All reviews)
It's been a long time since I've properly sat and read, well, anything. I fell into a bad rut last year halfway through and was barely able to get back into reading comics. Hunting through google images for some horror aesthetic pictures, I stumbled across some lists of the top rated horror mangas. Hideout was on many of these lists and so, I decided to kick 2019 off with a bang and return to one of my favourite genres and formats.

And I am so glad I did.

This story is more than just a murderous man on a rampage, desperate to end his wife's life. This read more
Feb 13, 2020
Renee96 (All reviews)
Reading this...I feel like I've seen well over a few horror movies with a similar plots elements in this manga.

This manga did creep me out, the art does a great job as the imagery is disturbing. The story though....I don't think it's fair to call it cliched...it just feels familiar...like I've seen a couple horror movies that shared things.

Things I can't list due to spoilers reason, if you frequently watch horror movies you'll understand what I mean.

I understand I didn't like it due to the overwhelming sense of familiarity that makes this manga a disappointment to me. I never read it before and ended read more