Edit Manga Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Nana

Nana

Alternative Titles

English: Nana
Japanese: NANA

Information

Type: Manga
Volumes: 21
Chapters: 84
Status: Publishing
Published: May 26, 2000 to May 26, 2009
Authors: Yazawa, Ai (Story & Art)
Serialization: Cookie

Statistics

Score: 8.701 (scored by 22719 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet published' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #522
2 based on the top manga page. Please note that 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #99
Members: 55,789
Favorites: 6,647

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Aug 8, 2012
RainSpirit (All reviews)
NANA is definitely one of the best mangas that I've ever read. There's something about it that makes it very different from other ones, so I personally think it's a must-read. Anyways, my review may contain some spoilers, but I'll try my best not to reveal too much.

Story- 10
The first thing that comes to mind when I think of NANA is how incredibly realistic it is compared to many other mangas. It starts out very normal like any other shoujo/josei manga; introducing the two main characters who both happen to have the name Nana. It pretty much follows the life of these two girls as read more
Jul 7, 2008
zethras (All reviews)
NANA is a great romantic/dramatic manga. NANA also have some funny moments. The manga is about two girls with the same name, Nana, and they meet by fate and eventually become best friends. Even though they are best friends, their life take a twist and they are separated by fame, husband, boyfriend, and work. This manga shows the world of the entertainment industry and it focus it on bands and music and a bit of adult movie but that its later on the manga.
NANA starts out as people trying to pursue their dreams. What's more important for an singer/band/model: Follow their dreams or their loved read more
Jul 29, 2007
subdee (All reviews)
Overall I think NANA’s main selling point is “realism” and that it’s a pretty realistic look at the Japanese music industry, though dramatized, of course. The characters feel like real people and the relationships, which are really an extension of the characters, almost never go in foreseeable directions. Some intriguing backstory has come to light and I\'m in suspense on several fronts -- I really want to know whether things will turn out okay for these characters.

But at the end of the day, I think Ai Yazawa\'s Paradise Kiss is better, because it is tighter. Nana is full of drama and read more
Jun 10, 2013
lady_ribbon (All reviews)
The longer we live, the more weight we carry in our hearts.

A sentence that truly summarizes and embodies the manga of Nana. The tale follows the lives of two very different girls who share the same name of Nana, and not much else. After a fateful meeting on a train bound to Tokyo, they manage to become friends and their lives weave closely together from that moment forwards. Written most nostalgically by one of the Nana’s from sometime years in the future, the story is a remembrance of the friendship between two girls and all the people who surrounded them who all rushed into life read more
Jul 31, 2010
Maz-Maz (All reviews)
Nana was, I must admit, relatively realistic for a Manga.

Firstly:

We meet Nana#1, later nicknamed Hachikō, as the story begins, a dumb-ass of a chick, more like a hopeless case of the human race.
That's either: WAY too horny or must have been high on SOMETHING for most of her life.
Falling in 'love at first sight' seems to be her strongest skill, as well as 'judging a book by its cover' and inevitably, is a pro at being the victim of breakups. Though sometimes she is cute, she can be a major headache for readers and characters alike.

Then we meet Nana#2, nicknamed the Dark Priestess read more
Nov 29, 2009
missmatsura93 (All reviews)
This is one of the most beautiful mangas that I have ever read. Just the storyline amused me a lot.

At first, I saw the anime until episode 47 and then I continued with the manga. The anime is loyal to the manga; there are rarely any differences at all.

All of the characters of the manga are really when done; they all have rally profound characteristics and they continue throughout the story.

Something that I found annoying was how in the manga of the pages it was all so crumpled up, there were so many texts in one page it was difficult to concentrate.

It is read more
Nov 14, 2009
lilsik12 (All reviews)
I think NANA is one of the best manga's around right now. You know how the characters feel and it's not predictable at all. It doesn't take a long time before you know the characters and know how they are. Nana is a manga with a lot of drama, laughter and romance and it has a mysterious side. Overall this is my favorite manga and I think Ai Yazawa did a great job on this one.
Jul 5, 2012
merifromhere (All reviews)
I am fairly new to shoujo Mangas, but I think that Nana is one of the best ones ever. It’s just that kind of manga that keeps you on your toes, trying to guess what’s next (even though you will be shocked at how different what Ai Yazawa comes up with is from what you expected).
Nana is about how life is extremely unpredictable; two girls with the same name “Nana” meet on a train to Tokyo. The girls are totally different but meet again in an apartment that they end up renting together, so they become roommates and friends. Then the Mangaka takes us on read more
Apr 17, 2017
citycat (All reviews)
Warning: NANA has been on hiatus since 2009. Although faithful fans continue to hope for the end of this series, there's no real indication that our dreams will become realized.

However, even with such an unnerving warning, I still strongly recommend this manga to anyone who enjoys a multilayered story with human characters and beautiful art.

There was news last year that Ai Yazawa was going to return from her leave to continue the series, or at least, she had the intentions/desires to. So, I decided to reread the entire manga series from Volume 1 all over again. Even though I'm frustrated that there still remains read more
Dec 25, 2013
jeiwasabi (All reviews)
I'm not just giving this story good ratings just because. I'm giving it great ratings because it's a wonderful story and it's so real, it touches the heart. The characters are beautiful and each thought out on their own and their troubles, which makes the story great. What I find great about the story is the friendship that was formed between Nana and Hachi within six months and how it impacts them from then on. I think the friendship of the two main characters is the best part about this manga.

The story picks up in an interesting light, which drew me in (I won't spoil read more
Sep 23, 2018
pirukorui (All reviews)
I've read and watched NaNa several times since its release way back when and that's a testimony to why I am reviewing even almost 10 years after the tragic hiatus.

The story is unlike any other you will find in shoujo/josei manga. Sure, there are some of the usual tropes but they are told with such sensibility that you will look past those and enjoy every single part of it.

I personally adore the art. Being someone who has followed Ai Yazawa's work over time, NaNa is at the height of her talents. It is however an acquired taste, I admit, but those single shot panels of read more
Aug 14, 2018
my_wander_woman (All reviews)
Much more than a manga, a lesson in life!

Nana, Nana, Nana how to describe in a few paragraphs all my feelings on this manga which, I think, will remain my favorite all kinds included.

Shōjo or Josei?
Many define Nana as a shōjo however I would say that Nana is a josei because a shōjo is intended for a rather young female public whereas a josei is intended for a more mature female public. I started reading Nana at the age of 18 and have been reading it regularly ever since (currently over 80 times). 80 times would you tell me? Yes I did and yet each read more
Sep 2, 2016
TheAnimeGirl26 (All reviews)
I found Nana a very truly amazing anime. The art may not be very detailed at some points but when it is, it looks beautiful. The character development is probably the best I have ever seen. The characters are very unique, funny and good looking at the same time. The story line is a mix of cliche and life, mostly life, and I really like that because i spent a lot of time looking for a good slice of life story. Fun fact: Nana is the is the only anime I have ever cried on, which is a big deal since I have watched and read more
Jul 28, 2017
cottenstuff (All reviews)
I fell in love with NANA the second I looked at the cover of the first volume. It is so beautiful and atmospheric, just like the opening phrase Hachi says each episode. There are little parts of the story that I will always carry with me, like a new found affinity for things like strawberry printed glass cups, woodworking, and bathtubs. In my opinion, NANA is a very good thing to remember, and at times angering to watch. I say watch in a manga review because I haven't been able to read past a certain point in the manga (my library doesn't hold the series read more