Edit Manga Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Hirunaka no Ryuusei

Hirunaka no Ryuusei

Alternative Titles

English: The Daytime Shooting Star
Synonyms: Hirunaka no Ryusei, Cookie Girl Cream Boy, Tsuyu Kaoru, A Love Story in Moist Rainy Days, Heroine no Ryuusei, More than Words
Japanese: ひるなかの流星

Information

Type: Manga
Volumes: 12
Chapters: 86
Status: Finished
Published: May 20, 2011 to Nov 5, 2014
Authors: Yamamori, Mika (Story & Art)
Serialization: Margaret

Statistics

Score: 8.361 (scored by 29955 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet published' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #2912
2 based on the top manga page. Please note that 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #75
Members: 62,459
Favorites: 5,046

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Nov 22, 2014
PandorazChaos (All reviews)
For those of you not interested in reading a rant or all the nitty gritty details, skip to the very bottom. I make a complete summary and offer if this manga is recommended or not. This review is spoiler free until I discuss the final segment (enjoyment level). With that being said…

PLOT (5/10—average…and that’s being generous)

The story is relatively simple. Country girl Suzume moves to the city for the first time to live with her uncle, thus leaving everything she was comfortable with behind. She gets hopelessly lost in the city, only to be rescued by Shishio, her uncle’s friend read more
Nov 28, 2013
henyome (All reviews)
"You're my daytime shooting star."

Falling in love has been likened many times to being on a rollercoaster—it has its ups, its downs, its twists and turns. But an amusement park ride always comes to an end eventually, then you're left to wait in a long line before you get the opportunity to ride again. That metaphor is strangely appropriate, especially for this manga. It's not just about falling in love the first time—it's about picking up the pieces when the first time doesn't work, and eventually learning how to fall in love again.

The synopsis is deceptively simplistic in that it reads like any other school, read more
Mar 20, 2013
Shirayukishi (All reviews)
Preliminary
So, while I was searching for Shoujo manga I hadn't read yet, which is hard to find, I came across this manga. I wasn't really expecting much, by the time I read the manga there were only just 3 chapters released. But now, having 13 chapters I completely changed my opinion of this manga.
It's awesome!

-Story-8
Ok, so well, this is not like the most original story ever written, but for a shoujo manga it's not too cliche. The story follows a young girl who lives in the countryside of Japan. While she enjoys food that comes from Tokyo she never imagined she ends up living in read more
Nov 22, 2014
mirbells (All reviews)
Okay, for those of you out there who are still trying to make a decision whether to read this or not, let me tell you one thing; this shoujo is not what you think it is. At least for me, definitely not.

Right, now that that's said, let's proceed.

I have finished this manga, and there really is nothing very unique about it. Also, the title 'Daytime Shooting Star' has little to do with the actual story itself. The plot chosen is actually a bit too cliche in my opinion, the forbidden love between the student and teacher, only that the author, Yamamori Mika-sensei, successfully made it read more
Jan 30, 2015
chubar (All reviews)
How do I start talking about this particular manga? It starts out pretty typical – Suzume’s parents are transferring out of the country and she’s heading straight to her uncle’s place in the big city. When she arrives, she tries to get to her uncle’s place by herself and ends up getting lost because she has no sense of direction. There’s a kind man who helps her find her way and soon, Suzume finds out that the kind man is her homeroom teacher!

And of course, she falls in love with him. And of course, there’s a rival for the teacher. And of course there’s read more
Mar 3, 2013
teopei (All reviews)
Preliminary
Uhhh...where the hell do I start. This is a manga about a country hick girl, Suzume Yasano, who comes to the city, armed with her beautiful and expressionless face, after her parents make her go live with her uncle after they leave the country. (wow that sentence was long jesus christ) She meets some weirdo at the train station who turns out to be her uncle's friend and her homeroom teacher, Shishio Satsuki. and yeah, he's hot and young. so an obvious love interest. her other love interest is Mamura Daiki, who on first impressions looks like he just hates everything but after Suzume accidently read more
Jul 30, 2014
pospauro (All reviews)
Preliminary
In all honesty, I think HNR's getting a li'l bit overrated.

My reason for a relatively low score is that the story is pretty much lacking in depth. I don't really mind whether or not the plot is unique, the thing is, a lot of things were left hanging suspended. For instance, I can't see a profound reason for the sudden romantic attachment between the two main characters. The story has not even ventured to explain that in detail. I know Suzume's character meant to be plain and relatable so that the story could capture a wide array of audience, so I at least hoped read more
Aug 15, 2013
supersleuther (All reviews)
Preliminary
The short version: For me, comedy and romance set in high schools are meant to be consumed like comfort food. Reading Hirunaka no Ryuusei was like forcing myself to chow down a bowl of watery, overcooked porridge, even if it had tasty kabocha and flossed pork in it.

The longer version: think mangaka started off with a great premise. Country bumpkin moves to the great capital of Japan and has to get used to being surrounded by city slickers. There's this stereotype that people from the country are unfashionable and simple-minded but also honest and straightforward. Suzume definitely fits the bill (her hair is plaited read more
Dec 3, 2014
kyonJIE (All reviews)
Adolescence is a time where the people are filled with hormones that they don't know what to do with them. They make mistakes, fall in love, make irrational decisions blah blah blah. That's shoujo for you.

Hiranuka no Ryuusei is a pretty vanilla shoujo, it doesn't really try to become anything special, it doesn't have any emotional dramatic moments, hell it is not even exceptional in its genre itself, unlike the realistic nana or the theatrical feeling of ao haru ride. However a problem arises to why I for some reason like this manga, why I keep anticipating for the new chapter. The only reason I read more
Nov 24, 2014
Bluesander (All reviews)
I couldn't put this manga down. It was enjoyable, touching, and it pains me to read posts condemning its development and in particular, the character Mamura. The manga touched me at length to different depths - the difficulties of communicating to someone when your nerves are all jumbled up, the reality that love is oftentimes not easy nor mutual, the ability of friendship to make you feel understood, and of course Suzume's relatable love of food.

I just want to say one thing with this review and it's to set the record straight. Mamura is NOT a misogynist. I am sure Yamamori Mika had no intention read more
Nov 10, 2014
Tomoko-san (All reviews)
Since I read this manga on a whim, I decided to do a review about it as it already ended (even though MAL sets it up to 90 chapters wut).

Well, at first I had pretty low expectations on this one.
Hirunaka no Ryuusei (HnR) combines some well-known elements from stereotypical shoujo mangas: the love triangle, the teacher-student relationship,etc.

Yet HnR does it in a very original way, much closer to reality than any other ordinary shoujo.
Usually, characters do the most unspeakable, idiotic things no human being would ever thought of doing.
In HnR, the mangaka chooses to appreciate timing as the most important thing when making life-changing read more
Jun 30, 2015
kousaka_tsugumi (All reviews)
I have read many many many many many shoujo mangas but Hirunaka no Ryuusei is somehow...different from all of them. Now let's go with the story.

The Story over all was normal. Just a plain country girl,Suzume, who moves to japan to live with her uncle because of her Dad's work transfer. While making her way to her uncle's house, she stumbles upon a mysterious man who helps her find her way to her uncle's house (since he's a close friend of her uncle). Well it turns out that the mysterious man is actually her homeroom teacher.
Pretty normal nothing bad really.
What i really liked read more
Aug 9, 2015
KunoYuna (All reviews)
YO ITS BEEN A WHILE SINCE MY LAST REVIEW WOOOOOOOOO
I LOVE this series and Yamamori's art so much I use it as inspiration for any development of my own (which you can see on IG @kim_the_one_and_only ( ͡~ ͜ʖ ͡°))

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

= Story = 8
- Country girl Suzume moves to the city to live with her uncle and meets mysterious man! Who is he??? Will it be Him or the Other Guy??? Find out on the next episode of Dragon Ball Z! DERNUR DERNUR DER DERNUR DER YOU GET IT. -

The story itself is like a Shoujo manga, but in this case it's an 80+ chapter Shoujo read more
Jun 7, 2014
ikutocraz3d (All reviews)
Preliminary
Okay, I may be fairly biased, as I still am gushing over this manga, after finishing 67 chapters last night without putting down my phone more than twice. I have actually had my doubts about this manga, as it has been recommended to me for more than around five times, but I didn't check it out until just yesterday, as I HATE reading mangas which are completed. (I'm not a very patient person when it comes to updates!)

But anyways, I'm so so glad I did decide to check it out. Because, wow. Can we just take a moment to appreciate how beautiful the art is? read more
Oct 26, 2013
jaegermon (All reviews)
Preliminary
Hirunaka no Ryuusei is a really well written manga. I think anyone who likes a more mature shoujo manga where the characters are more realistic would like this. If you've read either Sakamichi no Apollon or Kyou Koi wo Hajimemasu, this has elements in common with both. It has a very nice slow build up of romance, and a lot of introspection that is pulled off really well, unlike other shoujo mangas where the characters come off as being creepily codependent.

I think what moves this manga forward and makes me want to read more is the the art and the character. Simply put, the read more
Dec 9, 2014
Chubbymajo (All reviews)
This is my first time writing a review and I will try my best to be objective here but really this manga has made me feel various feelings. *sigh

Oh my God. Hirunaka no Ryuusei. So much to say, words fail me. Just a heads up, this review will be emotional as the manga itself has so much feels, so to speak. This is the reason why I made MAL account after all, just to be able to express what I thought of it.

I am a yaoi fangirl. I am crazy over boys love because I think it's sweet and cute. So much love and sexiness. read more
Sep 6, 2015
skights (All reviews)
I remember the first time I saw this online, and it took me months to start reading it.

So when I finally did, I was completely hooked on it. Everything from the art to the story was EXCEPTIONAL.
I don't think there was one thing I was especially displeased with.

Today was the day I re-read it for the third time. WORTH IT.

The story was refreshing, with minimal cliches, like a involving a playboy or the typical onsen, or the boy opens up her world or something. I loved the characters here, the most. They were complex and realistic. It was impossible to fit read more
Sep 15, 2013
petitwolf (All reviews)
Preliminary
Hirunaka no Ryuusei is an interesting and so far addicting read. It's only been translated up to chapter twenty five, but it's quite good so far.

One of the pitfalls of reading shoujo manga is that the protagonist usually ends up being flighty, shallow and down right pathetic (case in point being Ao Haru Ride).

Suzume proves to be a lot more dynamic than many other heroines in her genre and is actually has an engaging, multi-faceted personality. So kudos for that.

I also like her growing relationship with Yuyuka, how they're half way in between bitchy love rivals and good friends.

Shishio is a really charismatic read more
Mar 3, 2015
soniaball03 (All reviews)
This story is really good. There's situations that are cliché but overall it's a really unique story. The development is not what you'd expect but it's so good. I really liked the ending! At the beginning, maybe that you'll think that it's your normal shoujo and that you already know what will happen but read it. It's worth your time.
The characters are really lovable. Sometimes you will surely want to slap them but then you will want to hug them.
The art is very good. I personally like this style of drawing.
Well, if you are wondering if you should read this or not, i'll read more
Dec 2, 2014
Jentlea (All reviews)
Hirunaka no Ryuusei is one of best shoujo mangas that I have ever read. After reading the last chapter(only 87 chapters) which was a few moments ago, I felt that the author was very clever in making the ending in a way which made me feel satisfied, although it may be not for others(I'm trying hard not to spoil) but this manga made me cringe in some parts due to the this strong love triangle. I greatly enjoyed this manga and do not regret reading it.

Firstly, I gave the story a 7.8/10, it's because I personally believe that a teacher-student relationship is kinda... :/ unrealistic? read more