Taiyou no Ie
House of the Sun
Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Taiyou no Ie

Alternative Titles

Japanese: たいようのいえ
English: House of the Sun
More titles

Information

Type: Manga
Volumes: 13
Chapters: 53
Status: Finished
Published: Apr 24, 2010 to May 23, 2015
Genres: Romance Romance, Slice of Life Slice of Life
Demographic: Shoujo Shoujo
Serialization: Dessert
Authors: Taamo (Story & Art)

Statistics

Score: 8.271 (scored by 3472534,725 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #3062
2 based on the top manga page. Please note that 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #124
Members: 83,091
Favorites: 3,349

External Links

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jan 20, 2012
Parisbelle (All reviews)
Preliminary
Imagine your parents never truly being there for you and all of sudden you have no home to go to. Where will you go? Taiyou no Ie by Taamo is a story about a girl and a man who have known each other from when they were little. The girl, Motomiya Mao, is a high school student who finds herself turning to her twenty-three year old friend, Nakamura Hiro, once again for solace in the house they’ve spent their blissful childhood days in.

I’ve read some of Taamo’s other works before and to be honest, none of them particularly struck me. They are all either way read more
Dec 7, 2013
luxraysrock (All reviews)
Preliminary
I honestly can't believe that this has the shoujo tag, as it's like no other in the genre that I've read, and I've made my way around the shoujo area!

Anyway, I'll cut right to the chase.

STORY: 9
I actually don't think I've spotted any cliches yet. The story seems very refreshing and original, and although I guess it does use the tragedy cliche a little bit, the characters make up for it with their realistically-portrayed emotions. Our heroine, Mao, has problems with her family, and as such is often alone. Her childhood friend who is 7 years older than her usually finds her and invites her read more
Jun 12, 2015
fodderchara18 (All reviews)
Such a nice manga! Honestly, there`s very little i would change in this story. Very, very good shoujo manga (also worth noting that this was my first completed shoujo too!) from beginning to the end. Ain`t gonna lie, my first impression was quite bad, mainly because of the art and the fact that the heroine looked way too young and i didn`t like the age gap between the two main characters at all. That and the fact that i was kinda tired back then of annoying love triangles and shoujo/shounen romance tropes (still am), so i really didn`t feel like reading it based on my read more
Jul 29, 2015
Grapesandraisin (All reviews)
**Review contains spoilers**

Story (9/10):

This is one of the sweetest manga I've ever read. It's lighthearted, funny, and entertaining. I never felt bored while reading it. It was not the best that I've ever seen, but it was definitely worth reading.

While the story progresses slowly and steadily, Taiyou no Ie leaves nothing unsatisfactory. Even the ending was good (and this is rare! Most mangakas rush the ending and as a result ruin the story).

I fell in love with every one in Taiyou no Ie. I wonder how I am going to let them go.

Character (9/10):

First of all, each character in this manga is unique. read more
Mar 10, 2013
shynexxx (All reviews)
Preliminary
First of all, let me define what i mean when I say cliche shoujo manga. It is where there is an unpopular girl and popular boy who fell in love eventually.

This is the first time I've read a none cliche shoujo manga. Anyway, I'm very much into shounen manga. I read few shoujo mangas and I barely finish them or sometimes I just dropped it coz I know where this is going.

The story captured me like no other shoujo manga did because I was able to relate to it. I've always thought about how to live if you're parents passed away or have read more
May 15, 2014
ZeroHumor (All reviews)
Preliminary
“I no longer have a home. I no longer have a place to return to. Nobody is waiting for me anyway. There’s nobody who needs me.”

Mao is a teenage girl who doesn't know the warmth of family. Her mother ran away with another man, and her father actively distances himself from her. Her only happy memories were with Hiro, Daiki, and Hina Nakamura, but even those days were numbered, as the neighboring Nakamuras split apart after the parents died in an accident. Years later, after Mao runs away from her father’s new family, Hiro invites Mao to stay with him in the now-empty Nakamura read more
Sep 13, 2015
VerballyStunted (All reviews)
I thoroughly fell in love with the heroine of this manga. I think I'll be comparing other characters to Mao for a long time. Despite my love for shoujo manga, I often find myself frustrated with the main characters, mostly because I worry about the messages that younger girls might get from them. Mao doesn't fit into any of the typical shoujo archetypes, though. She has a difficult past, but she's neither perpetually gloomy nor defiantly (and obnoxiously) cheerful. She's emotionally clumsy, but not a complete spaz or oblivious to the feelings of others. She's inexperienced at life, but not helpless. read more
Aug 15, 2015
Fuzzywuz_zy (All reviews)
What would a little girl do if she feels she isn't welcomed and needed in her own home?

I'm sure that many of us (not all of course) don't pay attention/care when our parents or relatives welcome you home because it is normal. Taiyou no Ie makes its readers know how important it is for some people to be told a simple greeting 'Welcome Home'.

The story (which is already written in synopsis) is very unique and is, alongside the character development, the strongest point of this manga. It is realistic, lighthearted,one of the most enjoyable and it just warms someone's heart. Taamo, the author read more
Dec 11, 2020
lunarsparkle9 (All reviews)
The story is about seperated siblings that try to get together after their parents pass away but it’s not that easy because they’ve been living in different places for years. So it is not much in the romance part and centers mostly on the family concept, meaning this was more slice of life than romance. I’m going to be real and not influence myself from other reviews. The truth is, I didn’t enjoy this as much as other people did. Mostly because it was too slow and I felt that the story is stagnant at times. The character development was well done since they showed read more
Oct 13, 2013
CookieMonsternom (All reviews)
Preliminary
Ever watched a show that makes you feel warm inside?

Like, you just had warm cocoa and cookies and it's snowing outside? Or you were so sad a moment ago, but someone gave you a hug?

Well, Taiyo No Ie is one of THOSE series.
The story is easy to understand and, as I'd like to add, very realistic at portraying today's societies.
Mao is a young girl, whose parents divorced when she was still a kid. As a result, she has experienced being neglected and ignored by her parents, lonliness and bitterness.Her only escape was her neighbor's house, The Nakamuras' Household, where she'd go and read more
Apr 8, 2015
Duhuhu (All reviews)
Preliminary
--Slight spoilers ahead--

Taiyou no Ie leaves you with a fuzzy feeling of something that may be shunned in society; relationships with a large age difference. Sure, this is common, but Taamo approaches it in a different way. It starts with a small girl, Mao, who seems independent and strong, but really isn't on the inside. This also goes for Hiro, her childhood friend, who eventually accepts her into his house later on in the years because of Mao's family issues. You may be wondering, wouldn't this be your typical shoujo? I'm not sure myself, but this has left a strong impression on me.

No one read more
May 5, 2015
Dietrologia (All reviews)
Preliminary
I do not usually read shoujo manga; I tend to assume that they're probably not my cup of tea. I do read josei on occasion, but i just can't really imagine most manga meant for young girls would appeal to me. Taiyou no Ie has taught me that these kinds of stories can still be reasonably compelling in their own right.

Taiyou no Ie is a story fundamentally about people moving forward and finding where they belong. It is especially noticeable since this is what Mao's entire personal journey is about, but it is also quite prominent in pretty much every character in the story, read more
Jan 11, 2021
giraffenanime (All reviews)
House of the Sun... man, this brings me back to High School. I remember reading this online on my crappy PC at home when I should've been doing homework. I'm happy this series ended on the good note.

Story; You follow Mao Motomiya in her every day life. She's takes everything head first, whether it's her family, school or her few friends. When everything begins to look grim at home, her childhood friend and long standing crush Hiro Nakamura saves her by letting her stay at his house. A completely empty house, family issues left right and center and love coming from every direction. Just the read more
Sep 7, 2020
kant (All reviews)
House of the Sun is a manga that seems unassuming at first--it initially feels as though it is a typical shoujo-romance work, only to hit you in the gut with some of the most powerful messages of love, friendship, and family.

Though the romance between Hiro and Mao is the main driver of the story, House of the Sun's many side characters and subplots really makes it stand out. As the relationship between the two deepen, Mao will gradually discover what is ultimately important to her; although Hiro is the principle interest of the manga, he is far from Mao's only focus. This manga never read more
Jan 19, 2016
ThatGirl_ (All reviews)
Definitely eye-catching!

The story is something else. Cliché in a new light. It definitely will make you fall in love all over again with the "Typical Storyline". I guess, everyone just has a different interpretation of every cliché story.

Out of all the love triangles that I have come across... this one doesn't make me hate both guys. The author makes you love the three main characters all equally. They're beautiful, innocent and becoming. It almost makes my heart bust.

The art is simple but it draws attention to the beauty of the facial expressions. Add to that, the mangaka has a certain style to her characters!

Worth giving read more
Jun 7, 2014
empressrinrin (All reviews)
Preliminary
This manga is very cute and a good read for anyone who likes just sitting down and enjoying the shoujo genre. It's not the most mind blowing series out there, but the characters are very lovable and the series has a lot that makes it great. There's a lot of focus on home and family and that plays a huge role with how the characters interact, since the idea and issues of family and belonging somewhere are pretty well explored. It's an 8 because while it's got good character development and interaction and a stable storyline, there isn't too much that makes it stand out.
Sep 21, 2016
LackingSanity (All reviews)
I'm not sure if anyone will read this but for the last few years, i've always silently enjoyed reading romance stories. There was never really a reason like being lonely or bored, i was simply in love with the concept of love. For even longer than that though i have not been able to cry. I think a lot of people have never noticed what a massive stress reliever crying can be and once i lost the ability, there where a lot of things i realised about my life. When my aunt died, i was extremely upset about losing her. I was mortified however that read more
Apr 5, 2020
M_Namialus (All reviews)
A lot of people must've already reviewed this, and I'm probably late on this, but heck I really love this manga and this is the first time I'm reviewing a manga.

most people might like how this is a shoujo manga with an age gap, I personally don't like that, but why did I give it a 10 score? because other than the romance, the overall story is a masterpiece, at first I thought this was just gonna be a rom-com of this 2 age gapped protagonist, but then as I read it more, I realized it's more than that.

the story of how Hiro wants to read more
Dec 18, 2019
longtruong (All reviews)
The story is a masterpiece. I like how ordinary, funny, and meaningful this story is, and it truly makes me feel comfortable when reading it. With some people who might like reading action or shounen manga, this story might does not make any sense, but I highly recommend this when you want to find a manga that is not too heavy, brain-aching, or bloody. Of course, I do not hope that anyone would think that what happens in this manga is real, but It is not so bad to dream about a happy end like this one for your self.
Once again, I highly recommend reading read more
Dec 5, 2019
NapoJefferson (All reviews)
There is a common characteristic in the best Shoujo Manga, treat the aspects of a relationship like falling in love or confess, from a unique perspective. Taiyou no Ie belongs to this recognized group, for his story don’t use a complicated or innovative narration, just something simple, which allows be really compact. A retroalimentation between two thematics, love and family.

Once we read a few chapters go understanding how both aspects are treated at the same time, without one overlap the other one, that’s their charm, the evolution gives coherence to the all it´s happening. Of course, such advances only can be possible with the characters read more