Akame ga Kill!
Edit Manga Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Akame ga Kill!

Alternative Titles

English: Akame ga Kill!
Synonyms: Akame ga Kiru!
Japanese: アカメが斬る!

Information

Type: Manga
Volumes: 15
Chapters: 80
Status: Finished
Published: Apr 22, 2010 to Dec 22, 2016
Genres: ActionAction, DramaDrama, FantasyFantasy, HorrorHorror, ShounenShounen
Authors: Tashiro, Tetsuya (Art), Takahiro (Story)
Serialization: Gangan Joker

Statistics

Score: 7.981 (scored by 5804758,047 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #7632
2 based on the top manga page. Please note that 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #25
Members: 119,159
Favorites: 8,203

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jul 9, 2013
Asfaria (All reviews)
Preliminary
One of the biggest problems people have with some stories is that it seems like main characters are invincible. That no matter how far back in a corner they are, they always manage to pull a win out of nowhere through the power of friendship or some new ability they just got.

This is not one of those stories.

Akame ga Kill is an action/fantasy manga that takes place a country with a very long history that has only recently been corrupted by the current Prime Minister. He has complete control over the young prince and has molded him into his ideal pawn. Now, this idea has read more
Jan 13, 2014
MarlyTT (All reviews)
Preliminary
Over the time, the term "edgy" has become something that people throw around for just about anything like Halloween candies. Therefore, when people label something as "edgy" these days, the chances are that it's not an appropriate term to describe that something. Fortunately, that term has found a perfect place just recently, and it's called Akame ga Kill. The more of this series I read, the more I'm convinced that the author is working on his 100% run of Shadow the Hedgehog and DMC as he's writing this masterpiece.

The biggest problem with this series already starts with the first chapter- The main character, Tatsumi, read more
Jun 11, 2012
Noitrus (All reviews)
Preliminary
First of all, when I picked this manga I though it'll be a typical adventure fantasy, but should still be a good way to kill time. However I'm glad I was wrong...

This piece doesn't look like it at all on the first glance, but be warned it contains a lot of bloody scenes. Men and women sliced to pieces, tortured to death or some other way falling victims to human cruelty in high detail, just like in medieval real life. It does display the world in more mature way, but it's not dark and depressing. Funny scenes and dialogues, interesting characters does lighten the mood read more
Jun 21, 2014
athetosis (All reviews)
Preliminary
In case you couldn't tell from the title of the manga, Akame ga Kiru (or Kill) is about killing and contains so called "dark" content.

"Dark" content has always been desired and as a result also quite prevalent in manga. People enjoy feeling "mature" and "grown-up" in whatever they do; reading manga is no exception.

"Only kids read sissy shounens; blood and gore is for the real mature people," is what I've seen probably hundreds of times on the internet. So when people experience "dark" manga, they usually feel like they've grown up. "No more of that silly kids stuff I used to read, read more
Jun 17, 2012
Snow-Drop (All reviews)
Preliminary
When I first read the summary of the plot, I thought it would be another fantasy and party in an adventure type of work. I was wrong. Many manga summary has the word "assassin", with most of them being either the historical type or shonen type where the protagonist is unwilling to kill. However, this is different. When they say "assassin", they meant it literally.

If I have to give a metaphor, it would be like a Robin Hood based story, but instead of stealing from the rich, he kill the rich and save the poor, as in this story, most of the wealthy one read more
Jun 16, 2017
DaddyDesu (All reviews)
I see that there is no review of the complete work, warning there will be spoilers.
I started this manga a while ago, the anime didn't do it justice sadly.
However the heart-wrenching story that has become one of my favorite is truly underrated.
The plot begins with a young man named Tatsumi who travels to the capital to earn riches in order to assure his village doesn't starve. He then learns how corrupted the world is when he ventures out into the capital. After a series of unfortunate events he joins a group called Night Raid. They are assassins working with the revolutionary army looking to read more
Jun 7, 2015
AmbiguousMonster (All reviews)
Preliminary
Akame ga kill is a manga series that tries to be too many things, while not firmly committing to being anything, seemingly intent on ignoring every positive aspect it has going for it in favour of edge, hollow character development and a directionless story.


Story:
This set-up seemingly possesses potential for portraying morally ambiguous themes about power, utilitarianism and real-world parallels, but instead settles for being a shallow good versus evil narrative set in a medieval world with magical weapons and blood. These themes are abandoned due to nature of this series’ tone and minimalistic world building, with every character sorted into one of three categories: the read more
May 18, 2014
Flawfinder (All reviews)
Preliminary
To say I’ve grown a hatred for anything White Fox produces is like saying that more than half the English-speaking aniblogging community are Asian. Despite the fact that I usually try to give anything a chance regardless of studio or whatever as long as the premise appeals to me, White Fox has a bad record – four years long – of taking premises I like and fucking them up to the point that I get more enjoyment from watching a one-eyed man do pole dancing. I probably wouldn’t have minded so much if it wasn’t for the fact that I seem to be alone in read more
Apr 19, 2015
phs_togusa (All reviews)
Preliminary
What happens when you try to create something not unlike Berserk whilst adding levity to make it more palatable to a mainstream shonen audience? Well, one of the possible results is Akame ga Kill! - a fantasy shonen manga whose adaptation produced by White Fox was quite popular throughout the summer and autumn seasons of 2014... that is until it apparently deviated from the source material and ended on quite the pitiful note. Whilst I wasn't able to complete the anime due to the fact that I found the comedic relief to be nothing short of appallingly mistimed, I decided to give the manga a read more
May 26, 2014
jiwoo1024 (All reviews)
Preliminary
Only my second review so I would love some thoughts on my review and what I could do to improve ^^ thanks!

So Akame ga Kill! huh? One word which sums up this series? BRUTAL. There are some scenes which are very uhh hard to take in. Gore is everywhere and even extremes like r*pe. Youn knw what it is. You have been warned this series isn't just hero fights villain and hero wins. No no far from it my friend.

OK so at first I was extremely reluctant to pick this manga up (or search up on manga sites) and read it, I mean looking at read more
Jan 20, 2013
GirlsPenetration (All reviews)
Preliminary
Have you ever read a shounen, fighting manga and all the good guys seem to never die and always have it good? I'm sure many of you have. When I read the earlier chapters of shounen manga such as Naruto, Bleach etc I knew for a fact that there was no chance that the main characters would die during a fight scene. Well, that's not the case for Akame ga Kiru. In this manga, main characters, side characters, good guy or bad guy anyone dies and it could happen at any time. This also builds suspense because you have no idea what to expect in read more
Jul 26, 2017
IMainYasu0 (All reviews)
"Akame ga Kill" is perhaps one of the more gory and dark mangas I have read up to date. With basically GoT styled killing of characters, this shounen turns into a bloody manga in the end.

Mild Spoilers Beware~~~~~~~

Story:
The story itself starts out pretty promising, with Tatsumi joining the Night Raid, determined to exterminate all evil from the Empire. Then you get introduced to Teigus, 48 powerful weapons. The plot isn't too dull or cliche for the most part as with "death flags" basically every fucking chapter and everywhere, characters seemed to be dying once per few chapters. Towards the end tho, more weird ass evil read more
Jan 3, 2015
Zeroskye (All reviews)
Preliminary
Morality isn't black and white. Akame ga Kill is an action tragedy manga that does this concept justice.

Plot: 9

Akame ga kills follows a boy named Tatsumi who is suddenly recruited into a group of assassins known as Night Raid. Night Raid is a rebel group that will take down the corrupt Empire at any cost.

One of the most prevalent things in action shounens today is the power of friendship and willpower. Akame ga Kill is a manga that just completely brushes that aside. The main characters are always doing whatever they can to help the other during a battle, but friendship is not enough. read more
Jul 26, 2017
Crack-san (All reviews)
Blood and sadistic. Those two words could explain this anime. The anime is highly overrated but hype in mid-late 2014. Tetsuya Tashiro who became a social media talk because of the animation featuring sadism, some of the characters who are always killed, and moe but soulless killer. If associated with the anime “Attack on Titan” may be practically the same degree of sadism. But, story level might be better “Akame ga Kill!” than “Attack on Titan.” But, I will not review the anime. I will review the manga.

So, why am I not reviewing the anime? Why must the manga? Because the anime and manga are read more
Nov 30, 2014
Darkryhr (All reviews)
Preliminary
a short intro - this is my first review, i didn’t choose akame ga kill because it's what i wanted to review most, but because it was something i felt i could review. In general I’m going to be more critical of the manga in this review because i feel that are plenty of reviews that can point out the positive aspects, but let me preface this by saying that everyone is entitled to their own opinion and if you already read the manga and disagree that’s fine, but if you haven’t and are still on the fence about reading then i suggest you take read more
Sep 4, 2017
Gaboule (All reviews)
The beginning of the manga is litteraly the same as the anime, but I really liked the ending.
I don't want to spoil the story so I'm not going to talk about it.
The ending of the manga is really another thing compared to the anime.
That was one of the main reasons I liked the manga.
I'm not an expert in ''arts'' of mangas, but I can say that it looked relatively good.
Especially the eyes of ''the bad guys'' when they're pissed off.
My favourite character was, of course, the main character: Tatsumi.
I really liked how the ending finished for him unlike the one in the anime.
He made me read more
Jul 9, 2014
drunkage (All reviews)
Preliminary
This is my first review ever on this site. I don't usually do reviews, but I felt compelled to write about this manga series, Akame ga Kill. I read this after hearing about how dark it was. But Akame ga Kill only proves that dark and edgy does not necessarily mean mature in tone.

STORY 6/10
The first chapter starts off with a generic beginning that showcases the talents of young hero Tatsumi, a boy from a small village who seeks to earn money to save his hometown with his friends. He's innocent to urban life and is quickly elucidated on the nature of the Imperial read more
Dec 29, 2013
Thevirginhairy (All reviews)
Preliminary
* Warning: No direct spoilers but may cause the series to lose impact*
The starting plot is as one would expect. Whilst it's not very generic it does follow the guidelines for adventure/fantasy stories - protagonist makes allies to share an adventure by winning their trust in a fight.
Plot development:
9
The story is very good. It's unlike all the shounen manga where the characters will get out of the situation no matter how perilous it is. We are reminded that people are still people; they can die by assassination, poison or other means. We know the main character will survive (it wouldn't be much of a read more
Oct 22, 2013
Keeby (All reviews)
Preliminary
Upon seeing Akame ga Kill's picture, you may believe it to be another generic shounen adventure story... and you're right. However, there are many other factors contributing to a great manga.

One big factor in contributing whether or not the reader likes a story is influenced greatly on how predictable it is. A typical shounen manga would be so predictable that it's easy to predict exactly what happens: the bad guys get close to "taking over the world," but they're going to lose to the heroes anyway. It's possible they may even join the good guy's side. Akame ga Kill! challenges this concept, and surprises the read more
Dec 5, 2013
OP-Naruto-Bleach (All reviews)
Preliminary
Ok, so yesterday, I discovered the most amazing manga of all time. Do you know what it's called? It's called Akame ga Kill. Everything about this manga was so amazing that I could not stop reading until I caught up. That took 6 hours and I had to procrastinate so much homework. For some reason, I wanted to compare this with Attack on Titan and I have to say this far out competes AOT. So this is why:

Story (10/10): This story is about a guy named Tatsumi who wanted to join the army to save his village, however, after he gets robbed, he ends up read more