Liar x Liar
Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Liar x Liar

Alternative Titles

Japanese: ライアー×ライアー

Information

Type: Manga
Volumes: 10
Chapters: 70
Status: Finished
Published: Feb 24, 2010 to Jun 24, 2017
Genres: Comedy Comedy, Romance Romance, Slice of Life Slice of Life
Demographic: Shoujo Shoujo
Serialization: Dessert
Authors: Kindaichi, Renjuurou (Story & Art)

Statistics

Score: 7.171 (scored by 14621,462 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #55482
2 based on the top manga page. Please note that 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #3338
Members: 4,402
Favorites: 17

External Links

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Feb 13, 2013
Luv67 (All reviews)
Preliminary
This Manga kinda Annoyed me. It's about a girl who has a step brother and she fools him into thinking she is a look alike of his sister and starts dating him. If you're thinking "how stupid would you have to be to believe that?" Well in this manga there is a lot of lack in common sense. The main character's are too hard to relate to. They are in their 20's but yet don't seem to have the experience and common knowledge of a 20 something.The main girl doesn't get into funny predicaments or thinks up crazy schemes. She just continues to lead on read more
Jul 14, 2013
Aimii0 (All reviews)
Preliminary
I personally started this manga because I was tired of drama, this manga made me literally fall on the floor.

Plot: A 20 years-old girl goes in town dressed with her best friend's high school uniform and accidentally bumps into her step-brother. He doesn't recognize her and the two of them started talking, the girl pretending to be someone else.

Characters: The main character is the best. She is hilarious, seriously, you'll love her.

The plot may not be too original, but the main character makes it very good. The manga may look stupid for some of you but I personally enjoyed it. You should totally read more
Jan 9, 2015
imagepixi (All reviews)
Preliminary
If you like deep psychology stories that take their time to show the characters' deeper layers, read this one. Kind of like Cheese in the Trap, at least one character is an intriguing mystery to you and you struggle to guess what that person will do next---All that on top of the standard step sibling forbidden love plus love triangles. Romance with deep characters and plot!!! yeah!

The downside is that the art is unique----not the standard pretty boy art that seem to be standard for shoujo's. The Mangaka is mostly a shounen artist, so the same characters who normally would be read more
May 17, 2018
Nimurai (All reviews)
This manga was great until it metamorphosed into your average shoujo midway... So, the first two volumes are a 9, for me... but then it started melting into nothing.

So, this is one of those stories I would recommend start to read, but the moment you get annoy with it, stop and pretend that it finished right there as an open ending, where you can choose what happens next.

The last chapter is one of the most cringe situations I have ever read... it wasted the whole story away. Read it at your own risk.

This manga I read it along it was being published, so read more
Feb 2, 2019
LadyAxeFace (All reviews)
Liar x Liar is about a girl who ends up sort of by accident dating her step brother while in disguise, so he had no idea its actually her.

I'm sure you can already tell from the premise that it's one of THOSE rom-coms, the type with utterly ridiculous comedic situations, that many will find off putting for secondhand embarrassment, or because they find the main couple unlikable because they're always lying to each other. The thing is, I usually dislike that type of rom-com also, but I actually really liked Liar x Liar.

I'm sure there are plenty of readers that will not be able read more
Feb 3, 2017
Unwissender (All reviews)
Preliminary
This manga somehow surprised me. During the beginning, I was annoyed that the stepbrother Tooru wasn't able to recognize his own sister. This is something you have to live with if you want to read it - there are additional encounters were Tooru or other characters fail to recognize the protagonist Minato. Therefore this secret identity plot lasts over most of the available chapters (58).

As other people have already written the main good point of this Manga is the protagonist Minato. She is completely aware of what she is doing and that she is walking on thin ice. She knows in which situations there is read more
Feb 12, 2017
aguecheek (All reviews)
Preliminary
Let me be clear with you: This is my favorite ongoing romance manga and possibly my favorite romance manga ever - I'd be giving it a ten (it definitely has that on my list) if I didn't have to acknowledge objective flaws - so I'm probably going to be biased as hell writing this, but let me at least try to explain to you why I love it so much.

Tooru and Minato are the sweetest couple ever. They made me believe in love. At first this is hard to tell; all the shenanigans in the beginning are kind of distracting, but honestly, that's worth it, read more
Oct 18, 2020
doubleone (All reviews)
Liar x Liar starts off with the hook that the main character Minato accidentally ends up dating her step-brother under the persona of Mina. The step-brother Tooru doesn't realise that Mina is actually Minato and the tangle of lies and double-lives begins from there.

The first third of Liar x Liar could best be described as waiting for a trainwreck to occur. Very little actually happens but there is an anticipation building that all the lies and cover-ups will eventually unravel. This is the only good reason that Liar x Liar gives you for reading it and the pacing of it is very slow, so if read more