Noragami
Noragami: Stray God
Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Noragami

Alternative Titles

English: Noragami: Stray God
Synonyms: Stray Gods
Japanese: ノラガミ

Information

Type: Manga
Volumes: Unknown
Chapters: Unknown
Status: Publishing
Published: Dec 23, 2010 to ?
Genres: ActionAction, FantasyFantasy, RomanceRomance, ShounenShounen, SupernaturalSupernatural
Authors: Adachitoka (Story & Art)

Statistics

Score: 8.451 (scored by 4918949,189 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #1382
2 based on the top manga page. Please note that 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #36
Members: 140,959
Favorites: 10,513

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Dec 23, 2013
Wintear (All reviews)
I really, really do hope that the anime adaptation isn't messed up for this manga... so far, I have a bad feeling about it... anyway. A big and enthusiastic yes to Noragami. Believe me, I sure am glad that I stumbled across such a gem. It's not an overused or typical story, and it's very interesting. How so?

Story: 8
As said, this manga isn't a typical one. It's the type that keeps you wanting more and more. It presents some small feelings of mystery, and a bit of dread. Kind of like hidden dark parts to the plot. The first chapter was a disappointment to me. read more
Apr 16, 2014
NatsuofFairyTail (All reviews)
After watching the anime version of Noragami, i couldn't sit still. I absolutely needed to know more of the story! And as a result, it has led me to read the manga, and i can tell you right now, it has become one of my favorite mangas.

Out of all the Supernatural/God/Phantom genres i have read, Noragami has surprised me. Not because it had a original storyline, but the depth of the plot, and the overall lesson it teaches you at the end of each arc.The plot balances the amount of action, comedy and romance (yes there's romance) well and most importantly, flashbacks don't last an read more
May 9, 2014
Norstor (All reviews)
If I had to say anything about Noragami it's that by far the best manga I've ever read.

Story (10)
Noragami's plot is fantastic. Personally I picked up this manga because of its unique plotline and it did not disappoint. Yato a minor god seeks to build a shrine and to become a famous god with a lot of followers. I do not want to go too into detail but I guarantee that the pacing of this manga will not disappoint; VERY GOOD pacing.

Art (9)
I enjoy the art style that the mangakan has. Very well drawned and very neat definitely something that won't hurt your eyes.

Character (10)
Each read more
Nov 2, 2015
deac__gone (All reviews)
I'll say it straight - a good manga is very hard to come by these days, especially one which will keep you turning the pages without stopping. Good quality manga is now rare (with a few exceptions of course, I won't deny that) and those with good solid plots, balanced comedy and angst and good art are even rarer.

Noragami is one that pulls off all of these brilliantly, in my opinion. It's truly a gem.

Here are my thoughts on it.

I won't lie, I didn't start off with the manga. In fact I didn't even KNOW about the manga. I watched the anime first, because well... read more
Feb 25, 2020
ventus_ebooks (All reviews)
I'm an anime to manga reader and have been following Noragami after it's first season aired in 2014.

After picking up where the first season left off, I was completely immersed in the story and they way Adachitoka were able to create an intricate world filled with rich, Japanese Shinto history and motifs. Noragami does a great job pacing its action and development, thus playing effectively into the storybeats when it moments need to be emotional or tense. I genuinely enjoyed the first few arcs for characters like Bishamon, Yukine, and Ebisu as the manga paces out their conflicts well, resulting in great payoff for read more
May 18, 2020
ItsLightss (All reviews)
It would be hard for me to describe how Noragami was good, i haven't read the whole series yet but out of my 18 read books, i think it's probably one of the greatest manga i had to read.

Noragami is some paranormal and godly series, but it's not paranormal as a lot of seinen which only want to draw the most disgusting things ever (Straving Anonymous for example) without a really interesting plot and it's not godly as 90% of the manhwas with Sun-Wu-Kong helping them. Noragami wants to explore how being a god or a godess can be hard.

In terms of comedy, Noragami is read more
Feb 1, 2020
egesagin135 (All reviews)
When first looked at, nothing really stands out with Noragami. It does really seem like your average, run of the mill popular battle Shonen manga. And that is somewhat true. But when examined further, it can be seen that Noragami is exceptional and a very nicely crafted manga that will suck you right in.

Story - 8/10

The story is somewhat average, with elements that can be found in many Shonen manga like a power-up that is executed when on the brink of death, the "main character is very very gifted and exceptional" cliche, and so on. But these elements take a back seat for Noragami's actual read more
Oct 7, 2013
Corbit (All reviews)
STORY: 8
Yato is a minor god who hopes to one day have thousands of followers and a shrine dedicated to him. As of now, he pass by doing odd jobs like searching for lost cats and fixing leaking pipes. Aiding these gods of that universe are “Shinki”; spirits that were once living humans that now become weapon/tools for the gods. Yato’s shinki has recently quit. Now, he must work with his newest shinki; Yukine, who isn’t quite happy with severing a low-end god.
As you can tell from this summary, the story is quite original. The first time I read its synonym, it instantly pipe read more
Aug 20, 2018
hamliet (All reviews)
Noragami has a melancholy, lonely feel to it, but that’s because the beauty of Noragami (aka “Stray God”) is in its theme of human connection. It points out the importance of connection for life, and is gorgeous in how it unfolds and gives deep readings into each of its characters. Nora is the best written female antagonist I've ever read, Hiyori is a complex character who does more than just introduce us to the world, and the main villain is excellently written in that he's not the sort you sympathize with, and even if his ideas are perhaps actually correct, his methods are inexcusable. read more
Jun 22, 2014
Meshi_chan (All reviews)
Noragami is not your usual supernatural manga. You search for a mystery? intense fight? Gods? Family? Comedy? Goofy Characters? Betrayal? Itsy-Bitsy Romance? This manga has it all.

Story : I read the manga as soon as I reached the 3rd episode of the anime and boy have I made a great decision. This story starts out with a god, namely Yato who was saved by a human girl, Hiyori, when she saw him almost got run by a truck. But, by saving him, it leads her to communicate with the "other side". It sounds plain, at first. As the story goes on, you'll see the read more
Sep 14, 2020
Vishen7 (All reviews)
The first time I watched Noragami was in 2016, and I was so glad that I found this gem. Animes normally take few episodes to get hooked or to at least it's worth watching, this one took half an episode, and it's not just "worth watching", it's a masterpiece. I rewatched both seasons again around 2018 but didn't continue the manga thinking the 3rd season might come soon. But sadly it didn't.
So a week back, I started reading the manga from the start. And let me tell you this is one of the best stories I've ever read. Action, Storyline, Characters everything are topnotch. read more
Nov 6, 2016
EmmyNoether (All reviews)
As of writing this review 70 chapters of Noragami have come out.
Although a month between new chapters is a long time which
allows intense feelings to cool down, I find myself falling in love
with this manga all over again with each new chapter.
I cannot stress enough how highly I recommend it.

First of all, to get it out of the way, the art is beautiful and clean, and the
panel composition is quite fluent.
The characters are distinct, charming and really likable.
The manga really knows how to be funny when it wants to be, and how to
pull at your heart strings when it aims to play with your read more
Mar 19, 2014
BabySenpai (All reviews)
I am really enjoying this manga at the moment along with the anime adaption. However the anime is not following the path of the manga. I really like the relationship between Hiyori and Yato. In the manga their relationship is getting more serious unlike the anime. I am always recommending this manga to my friends.
Nov 20, 2015
Pdev0797 (All reviews)
Story - 7/10

Gods and spirits.Minor and major gods.Noragami has an interesting theme(personal preference.I love mythology).However, the story-telling is inconsistent and weak.There's humor here and there, but the weakness of the plot irritates me a lot.

Art - 7/10

Decent.but nothing too spectacular.

Character - 5/10

This is where it bugs me.Noragami does no effort on character.Everyone's character is changed to suit the situation, especially the supporting characters.There is some charcater development, but nothing note-worthy.

Enjoyment - 7/10

Despite it's flaws, Noragami is a fun read.It sometimes irritates me, but it also makes me laugh and feel.

Overall - 6/10

I wouldn't call Noragami a worthwhile read, but it's not bad.The humor and setting read more
May 8, 2015
NoxGame (All reviews)
I watched the anime and couldn't get the story out of my head, so I decided to check out the manga, and I have to say that I wasn't disappointed.

Noragami has a very well-thought out plot. It's shrouded in mystery, it keeps on your toes and at the same time gives you enough to get by. I really like the comedy parts, and I love how they actually are a big part of the manga.

But if there's anything I liked a lot, it's the characters. The thing that decides whether a manga is good or not for me is its characters. If I get attached read more
Apr 17, 2014
Sayuri_Z (All reviews)
Even though i gave up reading/watching mangas/animes about 4 years ago, it seems that my interest was sparked again accidentally: i started with watching Code Geass which i really liked, with a few exceptions, and then i tried searching something i would enjoy reading, able to show something a little bit different than the Mary Sue prototype, the overpowered main character and a predictable plot or common subject.

I am not sure if my style of writing is allright, as this would be my first review in terms of mangas, but i will also talk, in turn, about the matters that caught my attention and read more
Nov 27, 2016
YesCampaign (All reviews)
As of now seventy chapters have come out with the next one days away. Noragami is a wild ride and it's riddled with life lessons for many a person, no matter your age.

Story- 9/10
So, Noragami's premise isn't something you'd think too impressive. A god, his shinki (a human spirit that died unnaturally and has been granted new life. Can turn into an object to the god who holds their name), and a human.
Delivery is everything though!
The first arc deals with very human problems and it's in a way that I must warn could be triggering to many with a few mentions of read more
Jul 19, 2017
Ketamigo (All reviews)
Noragami is probably the most well rounded, most inspired manga that I've ever read.

Story/Overall Enjoyment:

Without being overbearing, over dramatic, pretentious, or pseudo-intellectual (like so, so many manga/anime) it masterfully weaves a tragic story through comedy and well-fought optimism.

Even at its most grim, Noragami is a tale of resilience, perseverance and friendship in the face of death, afterlife, and the "somewhere in between." It's a story of the endless struggle for serenity and happiness, even against all odds, even when suicide seems like the only viable course of action.

For those of you who tend to stick to comedy- read Noragami.
For those of read more
Mar 27, 2016
Cyarin (All reviews)
WARNING THIS CONTAINS MAJOR SPOILERS

If you first took a look at Noragami, you'd just think it's just your typical shounen manga, but it's not. Noragami is a hidden gem and I can tell you this, this manga deserves much more praise for the directions it takes with the story,characters, art and just pretty much everything.

Story:
Noragami takes place in an alternate universe where gods grant human's wishes and protects humans corrupted spirits called Ayakashi. Our story revolves around a homeless, delivery god Yato, who grants wishes for 5 yen, what Japanese people usually give at a shrine. He gets in an accident with a human girl read more
Jul 7, 2017
iMysteriousAura (All reviews)
This is my review for Noragami. I'll be referring to the characters by what they are most commonly called in the manga. Please note that this review is structured around how I personally felt about the manga: objectively, it deserves an overall rating of 10, and subjectively, I give it a 10 as well.

Story: 9/10

The premise of Noragami sounds interesting enough, and is completely original. You wouldn't find many other manga out there that is related to Gods and Japanese mythology with some twists, now would you? The basic plot is that the minor God, Yato, is constantly trying to gain recognition in order to read more