Kono Oneesan wa Fiction desu!?
Is this Girl for Real!?
Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Kono Oneesan wa Fiction desu!?

Alternative Titles

English: Is this Girl for Real!?
Synonyms: This Older Woman Is a Fiction!?, Kono Onee-san wa Fiction desu!?
Japanese: このお姉さんはフィクションです!?

Information

Type: Manga
Volumes: 8
Chapters: 49
Status: Finished
Published: Aug 10, 2010 to Feb 21, 2015
Genres: ComedyComedy, EcchiEcchi, RomanceRomance, SchoolSchool, SeinenSeinen
Authors: Mutsuki, Tsutomu (Story & Art)
Serialization: Comic High!

Statistics

Score: 6.651 (scored by 61476,147 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #111082
2 based on the top manga page. Please note that 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #934
Members: 12,579
Favorites: 64

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jan 8, 2017
Yautja (All reviews)
Note, major spoilers ahead.

An average manga with an awful ending. That's pretty much all you need to know about this manga.

I'm hard pressed to call this manga a romance, as it felt like the entire series the author was to scared about offending anyone to actually have any romantic progress between Narumi and Jun.

It was pretty episodic so I can't really say the story was all that special or even present really.

Finally the ending. I find the soft core reverse-NTR ending absolutely murdered any fondness I had for this manga. It took Jun, the main male protagonist and instead of pairing him read more
Apr 17, 2015
Flexicute (All reviews)
The protagonist is a 28 year old, unemployed, alcoholic hottie named Narumi Kawase. For reasons unknown (no spoilers here, you'll have to find out yourself!), she's out of a job and is now scraping by as the assistant of an established manga artist. At first glance, this manga is seemingly another take on the harem genre, especially if you consider the amount of attention the deuteragonist Jun Yoshikawa gets. However, as the series progresses, you'll see a lot of the other characters being fleshed out and having their share in the spotlight, as well as see how their personal and romantic lives advance, which is read more
Mar 7, 2015
PlubicHousing (All reviews)
If you like a thrilling romance this story is not for you If you like super casual romance where the author seems to be making each chapter have almost nothing to do with the next this is the manga for you i don't know the people here read the manga saw it was getting kinda interested decided on a rating and never came back to change it when they read through the whole thing. When i saw that it was tagged as seinen i was expecting a lot more than what i ended up with it was more like a kiddy story that when you read more
Dec 22, 2015
michael90cr (All reviews)
This show is a 9/10 before the final Chapter (c49/48 depending on how you count the half chapter).
The characterisation and devlopment of the characters is really good until the final chapter or 2 (these where very well done through the slow paced story and would get a 10/10 without the final chapter)
It's a really intresting (if predictable) story that would get a 7/10- the chapters don't always follow on from another and there is sometimes little connecting them- the story is meerly a medium for the 2 MC an the SC development.

However, the ending is really bad, the writer clealy hadn't planned on that read more
Dec 3, 2014
Hime-In-A-Box (All reviews)
Preliminary
I'm actually kind of surprised there isn't a review for this manga yet.
I'm just going to make this nice and simple, seeing as the chapters come out pretty slowly and I don't remember too much about the beginning.

Story: 9
I remember I felt as though this manga had a pretty slow start. Not much romance was happening at all. It was more like, a long stream of steady character development, but it wasn't enough to hold all of my interest.
Eventually, the romance started to sprout.
And I love the way this story goes about it.
If I could find a way to read more
Aug 18, 2016
Mavronumon (All reviews)
Preliminary
Everything is great until the ending that is just horrible im sorry but if you like good romance i do not recommend reading this manga, it literally throws all character development out the window for a last minute substitution of a character that could have been written out of the series and it wouldn't have changed the story a bit. Why the author had the need to ruin a great story with such a failure of an ending is beyond me this is one of those stories that had the potential to be one of the most enjoyable love stories but ruins the entire thing read more
Oct 8, 2015
Krazyguy75 (All reviews)
Kono Oneesan wa Fiction desu... It's a manga with great characters that started out strong, stalled for a bit, then went for a rushed and underdeveloped conclusion.



Let's start off with the one I feel most divided on - Story (beginning-middle 9/10, ending 4/10):

The story is pretty simple, it is just a slice of life with elements of harem and romance. The main character finds a passed out girl on the side of the road, gets in a ecchi situation, and learns later that she is his mother's (a mangaka) assistant. He teaches her about her job, she gets a crush on him, characters from his read more
Feb 26, 2017
LadySama (All reviews)
The general premise of this manga is what I'd almost consider a satire, but with a few serious elements. You have the serious high schooler trope, the sexy older woman trope slash awkward drunk trope, along with a slight love triangle. You also have the cute, almost lolita-ish innocent girl trope. There is quite a bit of fan service, but it's all in good humor. I honestly wouldn't call this something within the harem genre just because most of the females that show up are either good friends, or the mom.

Story wise, Jun is your serious, smart teen who's wise beyond his years. Narumi is read more
Jul 13, 2018
fuka-eri (All reviews)
One word: Disappointing.

I'm a casual reader who happened to be in a phase of shota plot craving so when this one popped out on similar manga on 'Puppy Lovers' (somebody please take it down), I decided to check it out. Cover has a shota in it so I proceeded to binge-read and waste my good sleep schedule on this.

The first parts were pretty decent. It was actually good until the last chapters hit me hard with conclusions out of nowhere. It was really unexpected you'll be asking yourself why? how? and you want your wasted time back.

Art was good though, chapters are pretty read more
Oct 23, 2018
DatGuyPi (All reviews)
What started out as something I thought I could eventually read a couple of times to stave off the boredom and loneliness ended with me nearly destroying my whole house. Rather, I only destroyed some bones and muscles in a couple of idiots who thought they could try and mug me without getting trouble. Normally I don't write reviews and this probably shows through now but I just have to say it. This story had a great premise, but honestly was one of the worst endings I have ever had the pleasure of seeing.

As I have already said, the story was pretty good with only read more
May 15, 2018
CriticalSmash (All reviews)
Preliminary
It started off well but as the series hits about chapter 38 it goes downhill.

The lead, Jun-Kun, is a young boy who often has to help his mom out with her mangas. Jun-Kun is a highly responsible kid who is mature for his age and demonstrates this when Narumi is introduced. Narumi is a 28 year old unemployed woman who enters Jun's life as she becomes his mothers' assistant.

It's filled with a lot of ecchi moments and older women who seem to peek Jun's interest. That's why I despite the ending as it appears to happen out of nowhere as Jun starts to "develop" read more
Feb 23, 2018
tenjodan (All reviews)
ENDING SPOILERS
The premise to this story was very basic and had the setup of every H-anime I have seen, though that isn't necessarily a bad thing and the story was very nice throughout the manga. Albeit being incredibly predictable until the end it had a way of making you enjoy things you already knew would happen. The ending was the one thing I couldn't predict but that doesn't mean it was good, the ending was horrible. They made Jun get with his childhood friend but it doesn't really feel that way because they sort of just brush over it, on top of that Narumi remains read more
Aug 5, 2017
lordpuza (All reviews)
TL;DR; The only way I can desribe this is if someone gave you a blowjob, and just you are nearly busting a nut she stops , well this manga is like that. It's that fucking baaaad.

The character designs and are awesome though. The story keeps you going flipping pages hoping something might happen , but none until the end , and suprise - you got blue balls.

Stay away from this for your own sake.

Holy fucking shit the prompt still says please write a longer review , I don't know what else to add I'm efficient and I've conveyed the message enough without spoiling shit MAL read more
Feb 6, 2019
Karaksonen1 (All reviews)
"Is this bait and switch for real?" should be the actual title.

Spoilers ahead-

I'll not go into much detail about the manga, aside from one very large annoyance:

The ending.

Imagine reading your typical fantasy story, you got your hero, your princess that he saves from the demon lord, and his funny sidekick thief or whatever.

Now imagine him fighting the demon lord, just as he is about to strike the last blow...

the sidekick jumps in, critical hits the boss to oblivion, turns on his heel, dashes past the dumbfounded hero and ploughes the princess in front of him.

Well, not thaaat extreme, but it's what i felt at the read more