Edit Manga Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Heroine Shikkaku

Heroine Shikkaku

Alternative Titles

English: No Longer Heroine
Synonyms: Thank You Last Samurai, Souri de Sorry
Japanese: ヒロイン失格

Information

Type: Manga
Volumes: 10
Chapters: 42
Status: Finished
Published: Mar 13, 2010 to Mar 13, 2013
Authors: Koda, Momoko (Story & Art)
Serialization: Bessatsu Margaret

Statistics

Score: 7.291 (scored by 5915 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet published' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #56722
2 based on the top manga page. Please note that 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #441
Members: 13,609
Favorites: 262

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jan 14, 2012
Parisbelle (All reviews)
Preliminary
If the boy you have been crushing on for five years has suddenly started to date a girl seriously for the first time in his life, how will you react? Will you be supportive and try your best to move on? Well, in the world of shoujo, that is what we presume the heroine of Heroine Shikkaku by Koda Momoko, the mangka, will turn out to be.

Instead, we have a heroine who is unafraid to show her meanest. She is no wimpy girl who will cry by the sideline while watching her prince get whisked away by the ‘Wicked Witch of the West’. No. This read more
Jun 7, 2014
Rei-chii (All reviews)
Preliminary
Forgive me but this will turn into a RANT.

I discovered this manga via the other manga that I am currently reading which I am not sure if it was Hirunaka no Ryuusei or Kinkyori Renai (any from those two) and since these two manga are really great, I thought of giving this a try.

Art 8/10
I was first attracted to the art. It's not that different to a lot of manga, it was also beautiful so I said to myself "this might be good as well" but, boy I was wrong.

Character 4/10
Okay, one of the elements I was looking for in a manga (or any stories read more
Jun 24, 2015
SofiaS (All reviews)
hmm so I started and completed this manga because I wanted to read Heroine no Ryuusei (Hirunaka no Ryuusei Crossover one-shot with Heroine Shikkaku).

Before i start i'd like to say the main reason i disliked this manga was because i found both the main characters annoying. So if annoying characters are bearable for you or if you find them funny, go ahead you'll most probably enjoy this manga :)
The main chara's idiotic moves were meant to be comical but leaned more toward irritating for me.

Art 8/10
The art was pretty good. Funny even. No problem with the art.

Character 2/10
I did not like Hatori, the heroine. read more
Feb 17, 2016
spuvnik (All reviews)
Heroine Shikkaku tells the story of Hatori ,who appears as smart girl, who has a crush on her childhood friend. Well,the appereances couldn't be more wrong.
Despite being rejected for over 10,000 thousand times,she never gives up! I had to overcome the urge to yell at the screen : "GET A FUCKING CLUE HATORI!!". Obviously she doesn't.
I thought that I couldn't find someone worse than this,then I saw Rita,the crush. Just leave the poor girl alone okay? You gave her trust issues man! He rejects her in one second and in the next second he's all over her.
The mangaka read more
Jul 5, 2014
ygfan (All reviews)
Preliminary
First and foremost, there is one thing you should know: my score is a 5 for this manga.

Who should read this: People that love unrequited love mangas .

Who should avoid this: People that hate unrequited love stories, especially ones that get nowhere.

Story: Honestly, I've been seeing this manga everywhere for sometime now, and I was deciding on whether to read it or not. It's a shoujo manga and comedic, which makes it all the more better. But after reading about a few chapters, the plot really start to drag out. Just how long can this girl like her childhood friend for? Then shabam, an read more
Nov 12, 2012
angelabsun (All reviews)
Preliminary
The typical shoujo manga: the heroine falls in love with the hero and he falls in love with her, right?

Hatori is a confident, clever girl who believes that she and her childhood friend, Rita, belong with each other. But what happens when Rita falls in love with the quiet, unpopular girl Adachi?

Heroine Shikkaku is a unique story shown in the point of view by the girl who would be the antagonist in a typical shoujo manga. Throughout the story, Adachi, who would normally be the heroine, seems like a mere supporting character with no personality. What is especially unique about this manga is that the read more
Sep 7, 2017
GlowingAura (All reviews)
MINOR SPOILERS INCLUDED.


This is probably the worst shoujo manga I've ever read. It's so bad that I'm not even bothered to write a good review on it.

First of all, the story. Pathetic. The first chapter pulled me in, it isn't like any other manga I've read, but it just got worse and worse. The thing with Kousuke was the worst part. Why did he get so mad about Hatori mentioning Rita if he told her to date him so she'd forget? He should've known what he was getting into. The story wouldn't of turned into a mess if he didn't exist. And Adachi? Why did read more
Jul 2, 2016
porkbelly (All reviews)
what captivated me most about heroine shikkaku was probably the way the story is introduced. hatori is what you'd call a flawed heroine---and i was digging this entire vibe. i thought that okay, this is going to be one of those mangas where the clueless, selfish, and idiotic main character will change for the better, and find love along the way.

LOL NO

before i get into the bad parts of the manga, i wanna give props to the good ones first. the art is pretty, and the side characters are very likeable. in fact, even more likeable than the main characters. besides the point, i read more
Jun 5, 2014
KatrinLouiseo24 (All reviews)
Like any other shoujo manga, the story is about the love story of the heroine, Hatori, and her unrequited love for her childhood friend, Rita. Hatori believes that Rita is the perfect hero.. so she has to be the perfect heroine for him!

Hatori is in love with Rita for almost five years. And since Rita treats her special because they are childhood friends, Hatori believes that she is the perfect match for him. But now, for the first time, Rita is having a serious relationship with his girlfriend. Should Hatori be supportive and try her best to move on? Or she would keep on loving read more
Feb 28, 2014
Charcanis (All reviews)
Heroine Shikkaku - a teenage romance story that dares to be different by being told from the point of view of a character archetype that we love to hate: the antagonist / love rival.

And what a story it is.

Fans of this genre may be all too familiar (and tired) of the tropes that pop up in shoujo manga. To begin, here it's the new character who just so happens to have known the love interest since childhood, who fights to gain his affections. This is the story we follow in Heroine Shikkaku, with our hilarious, over-the-top protagonist, Hatori. As you might expect, she is the read more
Feb 19, 2013
ehrence8191 (All reviews)
Preliminary
I kinda love this manga, cause unlike other shoujo mangas, you get to see the perspective of the villain. The manga really showed the realistic truth about unrequited love. I honestly cried for the heroine. She was really pitiful, she really did love sincerely, she accepted their relationship no matter how hurt she was and tried her best to at least appeal to her childhood friend. She stayed by his side as she promised. She really was a good girl even though there are parts were she is bitchy, spoiled, and cruel that's because people do crazy things when their in love. Although you'll get read more
Oct 20, 2013
gezz147 (All reviews)
Preliminary
Story -10
Art-8
Character-9
Enjoyment-10
Overall-10

I like the story very well, plus the characters were not bad.
The enjoyment i get from reading this manga is priceless.
the flow of the story can be predictable at times, but will still keep u from reading.
i dont particularly hate a character, and the heroine is quite unique and funny. the concept of the story is pretty realistic too since every girl has always been wanting to be the heroine of their own love story.

Recommended!!!
Sep 3, 2016
BookBird (All reviews)
I feel like I was so generous with my scores...

Having recently re-read Heroine Shikkaku, I can safely confirm that it is the most frustrating shoujo manga that I have ever read. The actual plot is not bad, in fact it is quite generic, but what ruins it for me are the characters. Since shoujo manga revolve so heavily around the hero and heroine, those two characters need to be somewhat likeable.

Hatori and Rita, the "hero" and "heroine" (note quotation marks for sarcasm) in this manga, do not fit that requirement. Hatori is selfish, obnoxious, dramatic, and most annoyingly, hypocritical. Rita is more bearable, but read more
Feb 15, 2016
thatgirlsagenius (All reviews)
Without spoiling anything (I hope), I think this was a great manga with a LOT of potential - but was wasted away on a typical ending.

Contrary to other reviewers, I think the heroine's personality is a breath of fresh air. She is extremely painfully embarrassing at times, giving severe second hand embarrassment to the readers that might make you cringe but also laugh at the same time (her meeting with Hiromitsu, for example, is one of my favourite events in the manga.) She's not your typical, meek "I'll be happy as long as the one I love is happy too!" type in shoujo manga read more
Aug 9, 2012
Dollars_xx (All reviews)
Preliminary
This manga was suggested by a friend of mine since she can't stop rattling about this manga. As I read it at first I thought how stupid the girl was for thinking of people as side characters and main characters but as i read the story more I kind of pitied the girl since the guy rita totally rejected her. There were good and bad parts of the story. But if there is one thing that ticked me off about this manga are the characters two of the four main characters are complete dumb asses especially that girl adachi -______________-.
Anyways i rate it's art 9 read more