Edit Manga Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Ranma ½

Ranma ½

Alternative Titles

English: Ranma 1/2
Japanese: らんま½

Information

Type: Manga
Volumes: 38
Chapters: 407
Status: Finished
Published: Aug 5, 1987 to Feb 21, 1996
Authors: Takahashi, Rumiko (Story & Art)
Serialization: Shounen Sunday

Statistics

Score: 8.031 (scored by 18099 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet published' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #9042
2 based on the top manga page. Please note that 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #207
Members: 32,938
Favorites: 2,529

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jun 25, 2008
Bluegojoe (All reviews)
Well Ranma 1/2 doesn't have a plot per say. It's more like a bunch of entertaining stories put together in the middle of a crazy scenario. However, that does not decrease the value of Ranma at all. It is a very good manga to pick up. Even considering the age and art style are quite different than most manga modern day. It is still very action packed and extremely hilarious. It happens to be one of my favorite manga of all time, just because the characters are all unique and funny. Just by reading Ranma you can discover the influence it has had on read more
Jun 18, 2010
Tasolth (All reviews)
Ranma 1/2 is something that is difficult to pin a single description on. At times there are lots of action scenes, explosions, and various attacks flying around. At other times it is side splitting humor due to an awkward time and place for Ranma to transform, or situations he gets roped into, and still other times where Akane's explosive temper or jealousy takes us by suprise.Scattered here and there are some genuinely sweet and tender moments as well.

(8) Ranma 1/2 is episodic. It has no overarching plot other than to perhaps reverse the curse placed on Ranma and several other we meet along the way. read more
Oct 23, 2013
Blacklightcore (All reviews)
"More than a story, an adventure." - This is the general feeling given off by Rumiko Takahashi's "Ranma 1/2". A manga which really communicates with you, making the reader part of the story.

Story (9)

Ranma 1/2 is more of a collection of different "episodes" than a single story. The arcs are distinct from each other, with little or no connection between each other. The main plot however, is easily recognized as a dominant theme in all arcs. This setup makes the story lighter, as there are no unnecessary details clogging the flow of events.

Takahashi keeps the story simple all throughout, making it more read more
Oct 17, 2008
ejala (All reviews)
Preliminary
You know, I did try. For a long time I just ignored this series, too long, peculiar premise, no time. I finally ran into the first few volumes at the library and gave in. Why not? I thought. The whole series is out in English, the library actually has them, I enjoy Inuyasha and this is Rumiko Takahashi's other famous work. It can't be that bad, now can it?
Well, that depends on your taste. Ranma 1/2 is a comedy. A rather plotless, inane comedy filled with slapstick and truly horrible puns. (Shampoo, granddaughter of Cologne? Yeesh.) And it read more
Dec 19, 2009
cutekittenlady (All reviews)
Here we go with my second overall review.

To start things off, I have a lot of love for Rumiko Talajashi and her many works, but so far I have loved Ranma 1/2 most of all, so if my review seems a little biased, please forgive me.

Story:
Let me give you a quick summary of what this story is all about. Ranma Saotome is a 16 year old martial artist who went on a training mission to China with his father. His father took him to one of Chinas roughest training areas, The Jusenkyo springs, a place covered with hundreds of small springs each with a curse. read more
Nov 3, 2017
xAzaelx (All reviews)
Story: (3)
We have a male protagonist, who is forced into a arranged marriage. Further the protagonist is cursed, when splashed with cold water, he will turn into a woman. So, the story is a romance, plus the search for a cure for the curse, somewhat.
The romance part was a huge let down, while there were some short romantic moment, those moments were never satisfying to read since all of those moments where destroyed by trying to hard to to be funny. (using characters go to jokes) The peak of the let down was the "on the brink of death, I love you, oh I survived read more
Aug 10, 2011
Bellatrix510 (All reviews)
Another famous hit by Rumiko Takahashi!
Her work never ceases to amazes me. Even though there wasn't really a main plot, it's still deserves appreciation. Work like this can never be forgotten in this world.
Ranma 1/2 is basically about a young teenage boy who was cursed by falling in cursed Chinese springs. By that he changes into a girl when splashed with cold water and back to a man with hot water. It's a hilarious process to watch him go back and forth between genders. He runs in to a lot of obsticals trying to become full male again, like being desired by females (and read more
Mar 6, 2013
Airbent (All reviews)
I'm not entirely sure what it was about Ranma 1/2 that had me hooked after one chapter, but whatever it was lead me to read all 401 chapters in less than two weeks. I'll just say right now that there is no overarching story in this manga. Generally, we have several shorter plots that are all set around a crazy situation.
Ranma Saotome and Akane Tendo are engaged to be married due to an agreement made by their fathers prior to their birth. However, while Ranma and his father were away in China, they became cursed. read more
May 21, 2019
jordan_432 (All reviews)
Preliminary
Quick Review on Ranma 1/2
Ranma 1/2 is a manga that is hard to put in words as to why I enjoy this series so much.The reason primarily being that overall the the manga doesn't have a strong plot,very intersting characters (kinda),and it is overall not very funny. But in my saying I believe that is what truly makes this series so good .That being that it isn't try to make a deep manga in my opinion it trying to make a entertain one .It's just fun ride the whole way through and seeing the charters being caught in different elaborate scenarios is just read more