Edit Manga Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Loose Senki: Old Boy

Loose Senki: Old Boy

Alternative Titles

English: Old Boy
Japanese: ルーズ戦記 オールドボーイ

Information

Type: Manga
Volumes: 8
Chapters: 79
Status: Finished
Published: 1996 to 1998
Authors: Caribu, Marley (Story), Minegishi, Shinmei (Art)
Serialization: Manga Action

Statistics

Score: 7.481 (scored by 3623 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet published' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #39762
2 based on the top manga page. Please note that 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1002
Members: 9,229
Favorites: 181

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jun 11, 2017
BlueKite (All reviews)
Old Boy had an interesting start. With the premise that it offers, it’s easy to get absorbed in its story. The mystery it presents early on is done well enough to be gripping. Violence is promised, with its very crisp action sequences. The execution is good with its captivating paneling of scenes. The art is well done, albeit character designs could’ve been done better. Yet, it started to fall apart halfway with its villain growing ever present by the chapter.

One main problem it has is pacing. When it comes to mysteries, it’s often natural for a slow yet steady buildup that is heightened by cliffhangers. read more
Jun 11, 2015
Maz-Maz (All reviews)
After being knocked-out cold, kidnapped and locked in a private prison for ten years in a small room with no heating, Goto, our 'old boy', is finally set free. He decides that he'll find whoever did this to him, whatever it takes. Truly, it is a revenge served cold.

It's astonishing that some writers can't muster up suspense to cover a chapter, while Tsuchiya, Garon (the author of Old Boy) can arguably be credited with creating 79 pure, frustrating yet awesome, chapters of suspense. Lost following the perspective of the paranoid Goto, the reader guesses at every ally and even random people, as you endlessly try read more
Apr 13, 2013
steven90925 (All reviews)
A man finds himself imprisoned for a reason unknown to him for ten years before he is released. He keeps himself sane by acknowledging one logic of the situation - that he is still alive. With his past behind him and nothing to lose, his only goal is to find a man who has kept him imprisoned all this time.

The world of manga, much unlike its brother in the western culture (i.e. comics), is undoubtedly plagued with fictions that do no better than to establish a rather conventional story, a rather predictable set of characters, and art that is well refined but nothing reflective read more
Nov 16, 2010
Rasco (All reviews)
Preliminary
A man that has not felt the warmth of a women for ten Years! ;)

Gotou Kidnapped imprisoned in a small room, for ten years He was stuck in this small space, For what reasons? Eating the same thing every day for a decade; only thing he has is a T.V.

Not interest you yet. Like letting a bird out of its cage.

Not knowing who to trust, coming back to a world that has changed a spectacular story where a man must step up his game and find the one who imprisoned him, Revenge is on his mind, curiosity is on his mind. Now read more
Oct 29, 2012
truisms (All reviews)
A psychological thriller, Old Boy deftly addresses concepts of isolation and vengeance while managing to, for the most part, carry suspense. It definitely has strengths, in particular the characterizations which are interesting and for the most part realized. It explores the psyche of both the protaganist and the villain, both outliers from most of society, in a way that is compelling, and makes both of them relatable and sympathetic. Where this manga suffers, though, is the pacing and the story. While the concept is certainly interesting, in the end it feels almost anticlimatic: the buildup is there to be unleashed, with diverse elements being unraveled read more
Apr 14, 2013
SirSoySauce (All reviews)
The Korean movie Old boy based on this manga is a millions times better. I mean this manga has a great premise; a man is locked away for 10 year for reasons that are unknown to him and then is suddenly released without being told why. The story follows his search to find out who was behind it so he can get his revenge. But it doesn’t really take it anywhere.

The start of the series is fantastic. It has atmosphere, it’s really pulpy and film noire. It’s interesting to see the mystery unravel and to see how Gotou deals with the situations he’s in. Some read more
May 5, 2018
prat_man (All reviews)
You lock up a man for 10 years, then release him all of a sudden, then play a psychological game with him to screw up his head as he tries to understand why this happened to him sums up Old Boy in a nutshell.

Boy, this manga was enjoyable. I had seen the critically acclaimed Korean live adaptation a year before reading this. What the manga excels at is character development, the dark and detailed artwork, the gradual build-up of suspense (which kinda felt similar to Naoki Urasawa's style).

What the manga lacked was a better ending. The main reasons for the antagonist's motivations seemed too read more
Jun 28, 2016
Piegoose (All reviews)
Oldboy is a very entertaining cat-and-mouse story with great art that features some grounded characters that I came to like. I'm sure many of these characters will remain memorable for me, but the events of the story I'm not as certain. The thing with Oldboy is that it's slow and a grand buildup. Without that satisfying conclusion, in a way it would be all for naught. Sadly, for me at least, the conclusion was sub-par to my expectations. From early on I had the likely basic idea of the causation of these events in mind, but the manga keep insisting itself that the secret is read more
Jun 23, 2017
A__J (All reviews)
So... what to tell about "Loose Senki: Oldboy"?
First of all wanna say that I started to read this manga after I watch two movies of the same name(Korean one and American one).

Manga itself is well graphed, the art itself is great, you just look at it and already fell the atmosphere of Tokyo during the nightime etc. Characters are well-written, even though not all backgrounds were shown and told about. Plot from the begining makes you question the situation our hero is in; creates one big intrigue that leads to the almost good end.

I stongly recommend to read this manga to those of you read more