Judge
Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Judge

Alternative Titles

Japanese: JUDGE
English: Judge
More titles

Information

Type: Manga
Volumes: 6
Chapters: 32
Status: Finished
Published: Jan 12, 2010 to Aug 11, 2012
Genres: Drama Drama, Horror Horror, Mystery Mystery
Theme: Psychological Psychological
Demographic: Shounen Shounen
Serialization: Shounen Gangan
Authors: Tonogai, Yoshiki (Story & Art)

Statistics

Score: 7.091 (scored by 1572515,725 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #70112
2 based on the top manga page. Please note that 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #383
Members: 39,160
Favorites: 564

Available At


Resources

Reviews

Sort
  • Suggested
  • Most voted
  • Newest
  • Oldest
Filter
    Click once to include and twice to exclude Clear All
    Your Feelings
  • Recommended
  • Mixed Feelings
  • Not Recommended
  • Categories
  • Funny
  • Informative
  • Well-written
  • Creative
Preliminary Spoiler
Feb 25, 2015
When I first started reading this manga I found that it was a lot like an anime I had recently watched (Dangan Ronpa) which put me of initially, however, I soon got gripped into this series! The characters develop smoothly and in a way that make you ask yourself, 'Who can I trust?' which is something I personally enjoy.

Would I recommend this series? Yes! The ending is extraordinary and the plot develops at a steady pace which leaves the reader wanting more.
Mar 6, 2012
Preliminary (11/32 chp)
If you could - would you choose to save everyone? Especially if there was no guarantee they would save you?

Moral questions I couldn't instantly find the answer to present themselves again and again in this manga. And each one is more disturbing than the one before it.
Starting from the creepy masks right down to the reason why they all find themselves in that room. It all seems like a twisted game, and to be honest - that is exactly what it is.
Added to that is the question of the 'crimes' these people have committed. Given the hero's crime, it isn't exactly sure what ...
Mar 16, 2015
Mixed Feelings
I'll try my best to write this review without spoilers. I'm on the fence as to whether or not I genuinely enjoyed this story. It definitely is a shorter manga, as it only has 6 volumes, and it leaves room for some necessary details that were left out, and a slightly rushed ending to get to a conclusion as to why people were paying for their sins, or crimes.

Story 6/10 : The back story to how the whole "Judge" game was really intriguing to me. All of the middle parts where characters are paying for their sins were kind of flat because we weren't ...
Jul 17, 2013
Preliminary (16/32 chp)
Well, this will be short for a very good reason that you will see at the "Overall" section.

Story: (9)
Although it's not the most original idea, the execution of basing it off the conception of the old game "Mafia" was credible. This is very similar too it's prequel, even though it takes place with completely different people, for completely different reasons, with a completely different setting with a change of the antagonist's cause and intent.

Art: (8)
I honestly think the art is anything spectacular, but I do like it still. It really has enough credibility to be good but I wouldn't say it's outstanding. I do like ...
Feb 19, 2019
To be fair, this manga is extremely average. It isn't the best and there are a lot of others mangas with the "you are locked up and playing a game that can kill you" setup.
The story is so so, It's very slow at the start and only deepens when talking about Hiro, the protagonist. In opposition, the last chapter tells almost the whole plot and the ending feels rushed. I felt a bit unconfortable about the author leaving all the explanations for the two ending chapters even though he had 32 issues.
The art is ok. It can be bland sometimes, but it has good panels.
There ...
Nov 1, 2015
Story: following up as almost a sequel of Doubt (from the same author) if you liked doubt this one won't disappoint you and will get you equally interested, the ending was dragged a bit but still delivers a sense to it

Art: found it quite good myself

Characters: most of them are quite appealing, except for a few but in general they all keep a good thrill to the plot

Enjoyment: same way as Doubt, Judge engages well in telling the story in a way that makes you enjoy it specially if you like the genre

Overall: again in the same example this one could have an anime adaptation, ...
Nov 4, 2013
Preliminary (17/32 chp)
This manga is a psychological survival, where the students are put into a "game" and are to vote to kill someone else who is involved in the group of strangers.

The psychological aspect of this game is that the players must deceive the other or work together to survive. The constant struggle of survival is a recurrent theme as everyone involved in this game has a reason to escape and complete what they must in the real world. Will the characters let go of their morality? or will they do what ever it takes to survive.

The STORY (9) has an excellent plot as it ...
Sep 11, 2020
I picked up this manga because i was bored and wanted some short series to read and i didn't regret it. At first it seems like any other "killing game" type of series but as series goes on you will just be mind blown (i am only telling what happend to me).
Story: It's just a classic "killing game" but i don't know why i really enjoyed it (8)
Art: I myself found this art really amusing (9)
Characters: We didn't really got some good character development, which is expected with only 32 chapters (7)
Enjoyment: I will just say i speed-runned this shit (10)
So in the end ...
Aug 11, 2021
maybe im being bias but i truely loved the story and the story telling it was a 10/10 for me bcuz of how it made me feel.
i personally didnt think it was rushed at the end maybe one more chapter of explaining but its a mystery genre its something that gonna make you drown into your own feeling and thinking.
i really really recommend this manga to anyone reading this review . its short and really entertaining.
i found this manga on anime man recommendation video on yutube and damn im lucky that i listened to it.
before reading this manga i finished doubt which is another work ...
Feb 11, 2021
This is how combine Saw and Circle (2015) and than flavour it with the theme of Se7en.

This manga is a perfect lovechild of these franchises, taking their elements and combining them into a great mix to pump you for a day or two with a little adrenaline.

The strongest aspect is the great story, that keeps up the tention perfectly.

The art is nothing special, but it has some cool moments, especialy the drawing of the symbolic, and quite iconic animal masks.

The characters are servicable, they are written well, they do their parts but don't expect anything groundbreaking.

My only big problem is with the ending. If you ...
Apr 30, 2022
Mixed Feelings
A short manga from the same creator as Doubt. If you really enjoyed Doubt, you'll enjoy this. Personally, I love the iconic creepy big rabbit heads this mangaka has made his signature. And I admit that's a big part of what sucks me in to his work.

~Story~ (7)
Very much like we see in Doubt, Judge has a very slow pace/reveal that then shoves pretty much the entirety of the full story in at the end. Since the manga is so short, the slow pacing isn't terrible (if it were any longer, and I mean, like one volume longer, this would have been a problem).

The ...