Edit Manga Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Omoide Emanon

Omoide Emanon

Alternative Titles

Synonyms: Memories of Emanon
Japanese: おもいでエマノン

Information

Type: Manga
Volumes: 1
Chapters: 9
Status: Finished
Published: Sep 19, 2006 to Jan 19, 2008
Genres: Seinen
Authors: Tsuruta, Kenji (Art), Kajio, Shinji (Story)
Serialization: Comic Ryu

Statistics

Score: 8.101 (scored by 10125 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet published' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #7632
2 based on the top manga page. Please note that 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #341
Members: 23,662
Favorites: 929

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jan 22, 2010
ralphy0103 (All reviews)
Memories of Emanon (1 Volume/9 Chapters)

Its hard to find the words that accurately express just how wonderfully magnificent Memories of Emanon actually is. The story in its entirety was astoundingly articulate, ravishingly studious, and enigmatically captivating. Kenji Tsuruta conveys pure artistic endearment in brilliant fashion throughout this fabulous publication.

What would you do if you had a three billion year old memory? Would you melancholically reminiscence over past experiences, would you nostalgically ponder the meaning of life, or would you stand idle by and simply observe as time passes? I was fascinated with this wondrous tale that encompasses beauty in the truest sense of the word.

Emanon read more
Jun 3, 2010
Tenchio (All reviews)
After I had read Omoide Emanon's description, I was positive that it would be an experience out of the ordinary. Having finished it, it left me with a feeling hard to describe, the closest one being pure awe.

The story starts off on a cruiser en route to the southernmost of Japan. Sitting cuddled in a blanket against the cold outer wall of the ship, an ordinary male high school student soon finds himself in the company of the not-so-ordinary titular character Emanon: a beautiful young woman with long, lustrous hair, a wave of freckles sprinkled across her nose and a memory as massive as the read more
Oct 8, 2015
Nervin (All reviews)
Imagine having a three billion old memory that encompasses everything that has happened, even that of the origination of life itself. Is it possible to cope with it? How will your life and surroundings affect you and vice versa? Omoide Emanon is a heartwarming and fascinating tale of a 17 year-old girl who possesses an ancient memory that dates up to the creation of life.

The approach on the narrative is utterly fascinating and well done; it is narrated in a span of a couple of hours, then makes a jump to the future. The story is established in 1967, which starts off by slowly building read more
Jun 3, 2010
ZooWee (All reviews)
How would it feel to have 3 billion years of memory? My brain can’t even begin to comprehend something so vast. And yet, this is exactly what this manga is about.

Honestly, it's hard for me to find the right words to describe this manga. I don't want to simply recommend a manga because it's good. I want to share an experience. I won’t hesitate to say that this, at least for me, was a masterpiece. Of course, it’s not perfect, but after reading tons of mangas, Omoide Emanon was like a pearl in the sea of clichéd and boring stories.

First of all, let me read more
Nov 10, 2018
Franck_Nicolas (All reviews)
Omoide Emanon has a lot of poetry and a pure atmosphere. I felt very calm (but quite bored) when i read it. There is only love and beauty, with good art. The characters are well introduced and have depth.

However, the plot is a bit dull, there is a lot of nonsense like [spoiler]mother loosing part of their dna memory when they get a child (???)[/spoiler] Nothing will really happen in the manga, and the plot twists are spoiled in the beginning. the characters pretty much spend the manga talking.

It was boring to read but the overall atmosphere and the immortality depiction is pretty well managed read more
Jun 6, 2010
oneyed (All reviews)
Omoide Emanon is a short manga, adapted from a japanese speculative fiction. The story revolves around a young compulsive man, who meets a mysterious wandering girl, referring to herself as "Emanon". The man becomes aware of the fact that Emanon's memory begins 3 billion years ago, with the formation of life, and will continue to be passed down, in the fashion she received it, to her offspring. This short manga illustrates the affect the two have on each other, and the unique nature of their relationship beautifully, seeking to assert a claim about the tricky topic of purpose.

The highlight of this manga would definitely read more
Jul 12, 2014
Grail_Nikephoros (All reviews)
I really find it difficult to talk about Omoide Emanon. I think the word I'm looking for is alexithymia. It really is rare for me to read something like this, actually this is the first thing I've ever read of this kind. I picked this up from a list of one of my friend and I'm glad that I had the pleasure of stumbling upon this little gem, quite frankly I think this is one of the best one-shot manga ever written. This was originally published as a story by Shinji and later Kenji's editor asked him to start working on this. And later it read more
Jun 1, 2016
Slayahh (All reviews)
I randomly came across this manga when i was in the library with some friends. The cover caught my eye and i curiously lifted the book off the shelf. After inspecting both the front and back cover i had my hopes raised. I was hoping for a sad, slow-paced story about a lonesome girl and the ocean, and i got more than what i was expecting.

The art. Yes this was the main point that i loved about this manga. I simply love rugged, imperfect backgrounds with plenty of detail and shadows. You can probably tell by my profile, but this was more than i asked read more
Mar 29, 2016
bardanime (All reviews)
Hello, everyone.

Well, I’ve finished reading this anime and it’s for me to give my opinion.
I have to say the illustrations illustrations of this manga are really good, I think few artists take the time of think of every detail , this is something I really thank.

However, I didn’t like the story at all. Sorry. I think both characters spend a lot of time talking in the restaurant, even their theory of Emanon’s gift to remember everything, becomes a bit boring. I wish we could have seen Emanon telling a story of waht she lived and a bit more of love the main characters.

I’m surprised the read more
Dec 25, 2015
Stimorol (All reviews)
10/10, О БОЖЕ, 10/10!

Именно это должен был увидеть в первую очередь любой читающий данный обзор человек, ибо этот приговор исчерпывающий.

История, рисовка, персонажи - это сплошной клубок невообразимой охуенности, который с заглотом пытаешься разом впустить в свою жизнь. Но крутизна настолько велика, что это комом застревает в горле. Здесь рисовка монохромная, но если ты дойдешь до "Странствий Эманон", то просто охереешь (странствия Эмонон - это продолжение).

Вдаваться в подробности сюжета не буду, но скажу, что здесь персонажи естественно выглядящие, приятно выглядящие, реалистично выглядящие, история не из примитивных как минимум по меркам манг.

Порой задумываешься над всем происходящим в истории этой и начинаешь задумываться на read more