Edit Manga Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Umibe no Onnanoko

Umibe no Onnanoko

Alternative Titles

English: A Girl on the Shore
Synonyms: Umibe no Onna-no-Ko, The Girl of the Beach, A Girl by the Sea
Japanese: うみべの女の子

Information

Type: Manga
Volumes: 2
Chapters: 20
Status: Finished
Published: Jul 7, 2009 to Jan 8, 2013
Genres: DramaDrama, RomanceRomance, SchoolSchool, Slice of LifeSlice of Life, PsychologicalPsychological
Authors: Asano, Inio (Story & Art)
Serialization: Manga Erotics F

Statistics

Score: 7.481 (scored by 1736217,362 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet published' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #39602
2 based on the top manga page. Please note that 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #198
Members: 36,633
Favorites: 1,150

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jun 20, 2014
Veronin (All reviews)
Known for the acclaimed "Oyasumi Punpun" and "Solanin", Asano Inio has established his talent with both imagery and the written word. His stories are most noticeable for their oppressive and perpetual sense of melancholy, and "Umibe no Onnanoko" is certainly no exception.

Umibe no Onnanoko (lit. Girl of the Sea) is a brief tale of two teenagers' sexual frustration. Where most anime and manga draw the line at a simple kiss or confession, Umibe no Onnanoko starts its first chapter with a sexual encounter. There is no build-up, no confession: the two just decide to share their loneliness by having sex with one another. It is read more
Apr 18, 2016
chevybow (All reviews)
Umibe No Onnanoko is quite possibly the worst piece of literature that my hands have touched in the past decade.


Now to be fair, I knew absolutely nothing about this manga prior to buying it. Perhaps I should have done my research. When the first sex scene came by I was surprised because, again, I knew literally nothing about the manga. But it was fine. Sex scenes aren't that bad right? I'm sure they have meaning. Oh look another sex scene. And another one. Another one. Another one. Dj khaled can't save me here this book is literally sex and bad story telling.


The actual story read more
Dec 7, 2011
h2iro (All reviews)
Preliminary
After completing the first volume of A Gril by the Sea, (or Umibe no Onnanoko) I can say that Inio Asano has done it again. The main character of the story is a girl named Koume Sato, who experiences the ups and downs of relationships, mostly downs, with Inio brilliantly showing readers what emotions come with it. Just like every other manga by Inio Asano, reading A Girl by the Sea is an experience all its own; unique, heart tantalizing, comedic, and enjoyable. I gave this manga a 10/10 across the board because I believe that the story is excellent, the art read more
Dec 12, 2014
czxcjx (All reviews)
To a certain extent, all great artists are broken, in that finding something deficient in the material world, they seek to envelop themselves in the gaudy film of imagination. One of the traits of being broken is overwhelming sincerity. When loosened with the function of developing an exterior persona, comes the great gushing forth of black heinous bile, because much of life is raking through black heinous bile to find the glistening gems of Beauty and Meaning, and the Artist is the strange depraved entity who would rather seek to make Meaning and Beauty through sculpting the bile itself rather than dig like all others. read more
Oct 1, 2016
Iwasannon (All reviews)
I'm writing this review completely fresh, having finished A girl on the shore just a couple of minuets ago, and it left such an impact on me that I felt I had to come straight to MAL and write my first review in over 3 years. Not because this was such a thought provoking or inspiring work that I felt I simply needed to tell everyone to read it as fast as I could, no quite the opposite, I feel as if this is one of the most DISAPPOINTING Manga's/Anime's I've had the displeasure of watching/reading. I honestly can not believe this is written by read more
Sep 30, 2017
MAND4 (All reviews)
I feel as though Umibe no Onnanoko falls into the same pitfall of nearly every other story that tries to depict teenage romance/sexuality as something deeper than it actually is. Similarly to others, it lacks self-awareness required to properly tell these stories, and it aims straight to the 'punch in the gut' or 'shock value' to hold its narrative afloat. It's purposefully ambiguous, but, beneath that ambiguity lies absolutely nothing. It's a conservative layer atop that's trying to hide what lies beneath, but once you pull the curtain back, you realize that there's nothing there.

Greatest fault with Umibe no Onnanoko lies with the fact read more
Jul 16, 2016
DoujinShinji (All reviews)
This manga was so great that I hated it by chapter 2, but I kept reading anyway, and you know, I got an even greater love for this manga the more I read. Things happen, then more things happen, then things that happened before are just kinda dropped or lead to anti-climax, then you wonder why they happened in the first place, then it's over. It's great.
With story-telling that falls flat, characters that are all uninteresting assholes, an unfulfilling ending, and foreshadowing that's on the level of the girl protagonist wearing a shirt that says, "You will love him", what's not to absolutely love?
Being more read more
Mar 13, 2018
mayxnaise (All reviews)
Before I begin this review I just want to say that if this is the first manga by Asano Inio that you've read, please please do not be put off the rest of his work. This is the single worst piece of work that he's done. Not even one of the worst, the absolute worst. I don't update here all the time but I think I've read all of his work and I'm a huge fan, but this one is pretty terrible overall. Also this is my first review! Sorry if I ramble a little

Story:
Honestly, this is just another teen romance but with a heavily read more
Feb 22, 2019
internetontheguy (All reviews)
I decided to read this manga out of boredom so I have no knowledge of what it was about, now that I have finished it, here is my honest review. This manga was just really distasteful, let me tell you why:

Story

The story discusses about two characters, Keisuke and Koume, who are in a sexual relationship. Keisuke has feelings for Koume, Koume knows about his feelings so she decided to use him for her own satisfaction. Basically.

Art

The art is very good. I have no other comments about it.

Characters

The characters are dull, I know that the manga is supposed to be realistic, but that read more
Feb 6, 2018
Gandeloft (All reviews)
The art is outstanding.
The whole text below is SPOILER-ish.
I don't like the stuff that didn't happen because the stuff that did did. The point in that for me is that I did grow to care about it. One of the things I was not entirely in sync with was the certain 18+ scene. I love the significance that I had thought it represents though; Him loving her so much that her everything is perfect.
In another life.. I hope I'll get to have someone to have some perfect moments with, such those few for me perfect moments in the story.
I guess the word for this story read more
Feb 2, 2018
atomicpm (All reviews)
"Umibe no Onnanoko" relates the story of two people who crave of filling the emptyness within themselves.

Story : 8/10
Koume, our main protagonist, originally thought that sex was the only way of pleasing her first crush, Misaki. She accepted to do sexual things with him, thinking he would hang out with her but she was actually wrong. He was just using her as his toy. She then realized how heartbreaking having sex could be. In order to move on, she used her childhood friend, Isobe (who had loved her for many years), as a cure.
And here we go : they begin a « no-strings-attached » relation.
The fact is, some people read more
Jan 22, 2017
Megumins_Ass (All reviews)
A heads-up before reading: This story includes a lot of sexual content and can be quite dark and gloomy. If you do not enjoy these type of stories, I recommend that you stay away from this one.

WARNING! Subjectively Speaking, this review contains spoilers.

Review: Through a sleepy, small town,a story is told of two lovers( Koume and Keisuke), that love each other, but are not brave enough to admit it. However, that does not stop them from using each other, reflecting the term, "friends with benefits". However, as time passes by, they become more fond of each other, but as mentioned before, can not admit this read more
Oct 7, 2016
WetWorks (All reviews)
I'm not sure what I would have liked with Umibe no Onnanoko, but as of now I can say I'm disappointed. All I can say about the moral code in Umibe no Onnanoko is that I've seen it done, and better. I struggled through all 20 chapters waiting for something to pique my interest, but I was all but disappointed. Keisuke seems to find no value in the feelings of others, and no interest in living, and that's all the development of his character that I can comprehend. He's depressed, and probably depressed to cater to all those other misanthropic teens out there who might read more
Aug 13, 2019
Circl3s (All reviews)
"I just know that tonight again, my brother will be calling me from outside the window.


Help."

First off - the elephant in the room: there's sex. Lots of it. But I don't get how poeple are surprised by this if the whole story is about a "no strings attached" (read: sexual) relationship, it's even in the synopsis. But it isn't an ecchi/hentai type of sex, in my opinion the sex scenes are there to show the sexual relationship the story is about, as - you know - showing a s e x u a l relationship without s e x would be read more
Dec 25, 2018
hexashadow13 (All reviews)
tl;dr: A short manga that shows character growth in a broken relationship very well.

This manga is pretty short, being only two volumes, but it uses them incredibly well. The two main characters were really interesting and also felt like they had good chemistry, even though they really shouldn't be that way. Now by that I don't mean the standard story of two archetypes that shouldn't be getting along, though that's also somewhat the case, but rather their personalities just don't seem very compatible and their relationship was incredibly unhealthy. However, despite that, while it is certainly turbulent, there is somewhat of a calm peaceful feeling that read more
Jan 19, 2017
selkie1905 (All reviews)
Its hard capturing how sex and desire conflict with a blossoming maturity both physically and emotionally as a teenager.The two lead characters in A Girl on the Shore are entangled in a sexual relationship that neither can quite make sense of. It is portrayed as a source of comfort and exploration and confusion especially when confronted with each outside the bedroom.
While the sex scene are very -very- explicit, Asano really lets the story develop in a series of artfully crafted moments, gestures, and even facial expressions. Sato's struggle with her modesty, shame and her sexual awakening (instigated by her crush read more
Jan 27, 2018
Lord_Lamington (All reviews)
I only bought Umibe no Onnanoko because of the author, while i didn't expect it to be as good as Goodnight Punpun i did expect some level of similarity between the two.

A Girl on the Shore feels like its replacing deep, thought provoking mature themes with sex. I did come into it expecting at least one sex scene but it was a bit ridiculous at the amount of them. If it focused more on the character's psychological state more i think it would've been more enjoyable. Don't get me wrong, it does show the character's psychological state, just not as much as i would have read more
Dec 26, 2017
archimagik (All reviews)
This manga is not the type of manga
you should read to enjoy.It's nothing
like a rollercoaster,not a rocket
nor a speedboat. It's a slow
and quick ride towards subtlety..
I wouldn't say it's boring either,
because it promises something in each
new chapter. It's like witnessing a story
or a happening
in real life, it's nothing too exciting
but hey it's 'something'.

The first thing I'd like to point out is
how the characters are built. They're
built upon pessimism,nothing new
and nothing good either. They have their
own
emotions and personalities that don't
shine at all but that's just how the author wants his characters to be. 'Realistic' enough that they become dull,common and predictable.
Next is read more
Dec 12, 2017
Logic_Monkey (All reviews)
I find the strong dislike of this manga amusing. To be honest, it's not for idiots/idealists/prudes/escapism.

It's a very realistic manga dealing with chaos, love and pain, with a fair amount of ambiguity. It's not a fun or light read, it's a piece of art that doesn't try to make a point, instead it aspires to capture a segment of reality through a lens of beauty.

The pacing is quite unique, it's the embodiment of a sleepy town, where months can go by and nothing happens. In the same chapter, without it explicitly being stated, time will jump. I personally find it very beautiful and stimulating.

The read more
Dec 30, 2019
softjinsons (All reviews)
Maybe instead of a review, this is more of like an afterthought. First of all, everything gets a 10. The art just fits perfectly with this type of story, something more realistic compared to the normal exaggerated type of style. (Nothing wrong w those styles btw but I feel as if a more realistic style for this matches the type of story more.)

As we grow, we're sure to experience several of these feelings. Relationships with people all happen eventually and what happens, happens. Life just goes on, with the many conflicts we experience and the solutions we come to. I think that's expressed very read more