Umibe no Onnanoko
A Girl on the Shore
Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Umibe no Onnanoko

Alternative Titles

English: A Girl on the Shore
Synonyms: Umibe no Onna-no-Ko, The Girl of the Beach, A Girl by the Sea
Japanese: うみべの女の子

Information

Type: Manga
Volumes: 2
Chapters: 20
Status: Finished
Published: Jul 7, 2009 to Jan 8, 2013
Genres: Drama Drama, Romance Romance, Slice of Life Slice of Life
Themes: Psychological Psychological, School School
Serialization: Manga Erotics F
Authors: Asano, Inio (Story & Art)

Statistics

Score: 7.341 (scored by 2649726,497 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #38402
2 based on the top manga page. Please note that 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #192
Members: 55,548
Favorites: 1,440

External Links

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jun 20, 2014
Veronin (All reviews)
Known for the acclaimed "Oyasumi Punpun" and "Solanin", Asano Inio has established his talent with both imagery and the written word. His stories are most noticeable for their oppressive and perpetual sense of melancholy, and "Umibe no Onnanoko" is certainly no exception.

Umibe no Onnanoko (lit. Girl of the Sea) is a brief tale of two teenagers' sexual frustration. Where most anime and manga draw the line at a simple kiss or confession, Umibe no Onnanoko starts its first chapter with a sexual encounter. There is no build-up, no confession: the two just decide to share their loneliness by having sex with one another. It is read more
Apr 18, 2016
chevybow (All reviews)
Umibe No Onnanoko is quite possibly the worst piece of literature that my hands have touched in the past decade.


Now to be fair, I knew absolutely nothing about this manga prior to buying it. Perhaps I should have done my research. When the first sex scene came by I was surprised because, again, I knew literally nothing about the manga. But it was fine. Sex scenes aren't that bad right? I'm sure they have meaning. Oh look another sex scene. And another one. Another one. Another one. Dj khaled can't save me here this book is literally sex and bad story telling.


The actual story read more
Oct 1, 2016
Iwasannon (All reviews)
I'm writing this review completely fresh, having finished A girl on the shore just a couple of minuets ago, and it left such an impact on me that I felt I had to come straight to MAL and write my first review in over 3 years. Not because this was such a thought provoking or inspiring work that I felt I simply needed to tell everyone to read it as fast as I could, no quite the opposite, I feel as if this is one of the most DISAPPOINTING Manga's/Anime's I've had the displeasure of watching/reading. I honestly can not believe this is written by read more
Dec 7, 2011
h2iro (All reviews)
Preliminary
After completing the first volume of A Gril by the Sea, (or Umibe no Onnanoko) I can say that Inio Asano has done it again. The main character of the story is a girl named Koume Sato, who experiences the ups and downs of relationships, mostly downs, with Inio brilliantly showing readers what emotions come with it. Just like every other manga by Inio Asano, reading A Girl by the Sea is an experience all its own; unique, heart tantalizing, comedic, and enjoyable. I gave this manga a 10/10 across the board because I believe that the story is excellent, the art read more
Apr 29, 2021
literaturenerd (All reviews)
Definitely not Asano's best work. It was originally published in an erotica magazine, so it's great by the low standards of porn. It's just not up to his normal, Eisner Award winning standards. I understand what he was trying to do. I get it! He wanted to break away from the unrealistic and idealized love of cheesy romance manga and show how shit REALLY works in the 8th grade! Lots of teenage angst, depression, drugs, and loveless sex. However, Asano's desire to showcase the dark and grotesque goes a bit far. Half the dialogue ends up sounding like some R9K shitpost. When the bullied geek read more
Sep 30, 2017
MAND4 (All reviews)
I feel as though Umibe no Onnanoko falls into the same pitfall of nearly every other story that tries to depict teenage romance/sexuality as something deeper than it actually is. Similarly to others, it lacks self-awareness required to properly tell these stories, and it aims straight to the 'punch in the gut' or 'shock value' to hold its narrative afloat. It's purposefully ambiguous, but, beneath that ambiguity lies absolutely nothing. It's a conservative layer atop that's trying to hide what lies beneath, but once you pull the curtain back, you realize that there's nothing there.

Greatest fault with Umibe no Onnanoko lies with the fact read more
Jul 16, 2016
DoujinShinji (All reviews)
This manga was so great that I hated it by chapter 2, but I kept reading anyway, and you know, I got an even greater love for this manga the more I read. Things happen, then more things happen, then things that happened before are just kinda dropped or lead to anti-climax, then you wonder why they happened in the first place, then it's over. It's great.
With story-telling that falls flat, characters that are all uninteresting assholes, an unfulfilling ending, and foreshadowing that's on the level of the girl protagonist wearing a shirt that says, "You will love him", what's not to absolutely love?
Being more read more
Apr 12, 2020
Nik0la1 (All reviews)
I've read nearly all of Inio Asano's mangas since I discovered Oyasumi Punpun back in 2015. But Umibe no Onnanoko was, for me, like finding a hidden gem.

The plot is simple, as we're all accustomed to it: girl meets boy, they became friends and, during the process, it evolves onto something more complex; not quite a romance, not quite a friendship, either.

And just when the story reaches this point, it turns upside down.

Everything you thought you knew about the characters, changes. Their facades start to crumble, destroying our assumptions about them but, at the same time, helping us rediscover how they really think read more
Dec 12, 2017
Logic_Monkey (All reviews)
I find the strong dislike of this manga amusing. To be honest, it's not for idiots/idealists/prudes/escapism.

It's a very realistic manga dealing with chaos, love and pain, with a fair amount of ambiguity. It's not a fun or light read, it's a piece of art that doesn't try to make a point, instead it aspires to capture a segment of reality through a lens of beauty.

The pacing is quite unique, it's the embodiment of a sleepy town, where months can go by and nothing happens. In the same chapter, without it explicitly being stated, time will jump. I personally find it very beautiful and stimulating.

The read more
Jul 16, 2020
wwclrei (All reviews)
Symbolism or whatever you want to call it. These manga speak volumes behind their images of what is happening and what could have happened. The boy might have ignored her, but he didn't; The girl could have been more sincere, but she didn't; The boy could have committed suicide, but he made the decision to hit his attackers, etc. Now to understand it in a simple way, The boy in the 1st chapter caught a USB memory, the girl, even though she was close to the sea, never caught anything. Can you imagine these two protagonists in a different setting? They could have been kissing read more
Aug 9, 2021
helpmeplz6420 (All reviews)
this manga was practically just porn straight porn the ending was even more atrocious that what i was looking at do not recommend this book it is nothing like any of his other works which are 129 times better. most of the book was just sex scenes between middle school children its rweally not something nice as they are underage and sexualises them of course sex scenes have their meanings but these however i felt did not i could not work out how they meant anything and the story would have been better off without them.

the plot was not something that gets you hooked and read more
Jun 29, 2021
Sunnieg (All reviews)
God this was awful. I came out extremely disappointed. It just felt like such a useless piece of work. I was fine with one sex scene but for 16 chapters straight it was just sex over and over. And it drove my enjoyment away. However the art was amazing but overall. The story wasn't that great, neither were the characters. Asano, Inio has made many great works like Punpun, solanin and dead Dead Demon's Dededededestruction. But this is by far his worst work that i have read of him. It was complete trash. It felt like i was rather reading a hentai then an actaully read more
Mar 13, 2018
mayxnaise (All reviews)
Before I begin this review I just want to say that if this is the first manga by Asano Inio that you've read, please please do not be put off the rest of his work. This is the single worst piece of work that he's done. Not even one of the worst, the absolute worst. I don't update here all the time but I think I've read all of his work and I'm a huge fan, but this one is pretty terrible overall. Also this is my first review! Sorry if I ramble a little

Story:
Honestly, this is just another teen romance but with a heavily read more
Oct 7, 2016
WetWorks (All reviews)
I'm not sure what I would have liked with Umibe no Onnanoko, but as of now I can say I'm disappointed. All I can say about the moral code in Umibe no Onnanoko is that I've seen it done, and better. I struggled through all 20 chapters waiting for something to pique my interest, but I was all but disappointed. Keisuke seems to find no value in the feelings of others, and no interest in living, and that's all the development of his character that I can comprehend. He's depressed, and probably depressed to cater to all those other misanthropic teens out there who might read more
Feb 2, 2018
atomicpm (All reviews)
"Umibe no Onnanoko" relates the story of two people who crave of filling the emptyness within themselves.

Story : 8/10
Koume, our main protagonist, originally thought that sex was the only way of pleasing her first crush, Misaki. She accepted to do sexual things with him, thinking he would hang out with her but she was actually wrong. He was just using her as his toy. She then realized how heartbreaking having sex could be. In order to move on, she used her childhood friend, Isobe (who had loved her for many years), as a cure.
And here we go : they begin a « no-strings-attached » relation.
The fact is, some people read more
Jan 22, 2017
Megumins_Ass (All reviews)
A heads-up before reading: This story includes a lot of sexual content and can be quite dark and gloomy. If you do not enjoy these type of stories, I recommend that you stay away from this one.

WARNING! Subjectively Speaking, this review contains spoilers.

Review: Through a sleepy, small town,a story is told of two lovers( Koume and Keisuke), that love each other, but are not brave enough to admit it. However, that does not stop them from using each other, reflecting the term, "friends with benefits". However, as time passes by, they become more fond of each other, but as mentioned before, can not admit this read more
Jan 23, 2021
MeasuredTailor (All reviews)
To be completely honest I didn't hate this, I wasn't expecting some of the more uncomfortable sex scenes but I don't think that this story deserves some of the complaints that are brought up.

I understand the sex scenes are uncomfortable but I don't think they exists for no reason, this felt more like the author writing about the experience of getting lost within someone else's mental illness, its like an all devouring blackhole.

I do however think this manga is not as good as it otherwise could have been, I found myself waiting for that Inio Asano spark that makes all of his works read more
Sep 15, 2020
Curiouswanderer (All reviews)
I really thought this mangas art was literally out of this world and the way it portrayed teenage sex, made me feel pretty much uncomfortable if I'm being honest here. I wish the story expanded more by exploring the two main characters, that includes the side character's also. I know the boy is coping with the death of his brother and his folks aren't always at home. The girl in the other hand, she has a big family. Then we see the side characters trying to "out" their relationship and the boy was mostly bullied for it. That was basically it for the 20 read more
Feb 6, 2018
Gandeloft (All reviews)
The art is outstanding.
The whole text below is SPOILER-ish.
I don't like the stuff that didn't happen because the stuff that did did. The point in that for me is that I did grow to care about it. One of the things I was not entirely in sync with was the certain 18+ scene. I love the significance that I had thought it represents though; Him loving her so much that her everything is perfect.
In another life.. I hope I'll get to have someone to have some perfect moments with, such those few for me perfect moments in the story.
I guess the word for this story read more
Jan 19, 2017
selkie1905 (All reviews)
Its hard capturing how sex and desire conflict with a blossoming maturity both physically and emotionally as a teenager.The two lead characters in A Girl on the Shore are entangled in a sexual relationship that neither can quite make sense of. It is portrayed as a source of comfort and exploration and confusion especially when confronted with each outside the bedroom.
While the sex scene are very -very- explicit, Asano really lets the story develop in a series of artfully crafted moments, gestures, and even facial expressions. Sato's struggle with her modesty, shame and her sexual awakening (instigated by her crush read more