JoJo no Kimyou na Bouken Part 7: Steel Ball Run
Edit Manga Information
What would you like to edit?
 

JoJo no Kimyou na Bouken Part 7: Steel Ball Run

Alternative Titles

Synonyms: JoJo's Bizarre Adventure Part 7: Steel Ball Run, SBR
Japanese: ジョジョの奇妙な冒険 Part7 STEEL BALL RUN

Information

Type: Manga
Volumes: 24
Chapters: 96
Status: Finished
Published: Jan 19, 2004 to Apr 19, 2011
Genres: ActionAction, AdventureAdventure, MysteryMystery, HistoricalHistorical, HorrorHorror, ShounenShounen, SupernaturalSupernatural
Authors: Araki, Hirohiko (Story & Art)
Serialization: Ultra Jump

Statistics

Score: 9.201 (scored by 4400944,009 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #22
2 based on the top manga page. Please note that 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #58
Members: 78,832
Favorites: 14,804

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Apr 25, 2015
Realhumanbean (All reviews)
Serving as a soft reset for Jojo's Bizarre Adventure, Steel Ball Run takes the story in original and daring directions. But does it work? Oh who am I kidding? I'm going to be straight up.
I consider Steel Ball Run to be one of the greatest written works I've ever read.

STORY: 9/10
I will admit Steel Ball Run has a very, very slow start. In fact, Stands aren't even introduced until like 20 chapters in. That's another thing: Steel Ball Run is seinen instead of shounen. That means each chapter ranges from 35 to 60 pages long in comparison to the 20 page long read more
Feb 22, 2014
ClownOnACloud (All reviews)
I am writing this review simply because there was only one review which means that no matter how bad this review is it will still end up being the second most helpful.

Set in an alternate universe from previous parts as a result of the events at the end of Stone Ocean, Steal Ball Run is probably the apex of the massive Jojo's Bizzare Adventure franchise, which is no small statement. Araki has once again recycled and improved upon his formula for making terrifically bizarre adventures.

The premise for Steel Ball Run like many of the other parts of the JJBA series is fairly simple and straightforward read more
Jun 18, 2017
BardJungle (All reviews)
On many forums I've seen recommendations of Steel Ball Run as an "Absolutely amazing manga", "easily the best Jojos and epitomising everything about that 'style' of comic", and "From the art to story 10/10. Best thing i've ever read". After finishing it, I honestly can't say I see its appeal. The characters were barely fleshed out and quite boring, the fighting frequently was decided on pure "luck", rather than fighting strength or strategy, and the story was painfully plain.

The story - Coming in, I wasn't expecting a narrative masterpiece, but I was expecting a compelling story. I was very disappointed. There really isn't any read more
Jan 1, 2013
Tomah (All reviews)
In Steel Ball Run, Araki once again delivers a story arc full of clever battles, creative abilities, crazy plots and lovely characters. No, this is even better than the previous arcs, as the author continues to recycle his own style and improve without limits. This is a very rare example in which the author actually gets better with time, and Steel Ball Run provides very good evidence for that.

The story starts out pretty simple: our crippled Joestar hero, Johny, gangs up with Gyro Zeppeli and aims for the top in the intense Steel Ball Run race. Each competitor has his own unique motivations, abilities and read more
Dec 6, 2018
gakinotsukai (All reviews)
Huh, this manga has me confused. All the high ratings and hype, I figured this was going to be a masterpiece along the lines of Berserk or FMA, with engrossing and emotional character development, mind blowing powers and abilities, a captivating story, yadda yadda yadda. Sadly I found myself incredibly bored by the halfway point, disappointed around the 3/4 mark, and I really only finished it because I had no other bathroom material to read at the time. There are no characters I'm really attached to, the characters I'm supposed to like I don't much care for, but on the flip side the characters I'm read more
Jul 30, 2016
Rikuson1 (All reviews)
JoJo no Kimyou na Bouken Part 7: Steel Ball Run Review


Story (9/10) Great
More Specifically (9.80/10) Great+

The story for the critically acclaimed Part 7 of JoJo's did indeed live up to the hype as the best JoJo's Part from a story standpoint. It's not perfect just like any other series and it's the best Araki has ever written. Now my personal issues with the story is the climax of this Part which also hindered my enjoyment so I'll put those in that section. But that's not the only thing that urked me as we know JoJo's has never made 100% sense and as a reader read more
Dec 8, 2019
Jaxontmoreno (All reviews)
I will never understand the jojo fandom's constant and obsessive wanking of this part. They pretend it's the greatest thing since the invention of the wheel like hxh and one piece fans do, except they actually have fair reason sometimes (one piece selling most manga worldwide and hxh's chimera ant arc).Where do i start? The pacing is like any other jojo part, but because it's seinen it's 1.5 to twice as longer, leading to slow and long-dragging arcs that suck the enjoyment, investment, or interest out of you every fight. D4C was 15+ whole seinen chapters, imagine being a monthly reader during that time. That's read more
Jan 30, 2020
SynthwaveCrusade (All reviews)
The 96 chapters and 24 volumes that chronicle the events of Johnny Joestar and Gyro Zeppeli make up for what I consider the greatest piece of literature ever made. JoJo's Bizarre Adventure part 7: Steel Ball Run is Hirohiko Araki's Magnum Opus, beloved by fans and highly critically acclaimed, garnering a score of 9.16 (as of this review) on Myanimelist making it the Second highest rated manga series ever. Araki's Magnum Opus lives up to all it's praise as it's one of the greatest pieces of media forged on This planet.

Q: Should I read JoJo no Kimyou na Bouken Part 7: Steel Ball Run?

A: read more
Oct 5, 2016
Animer_man (All reviews)
This is my first review, please forgive any mistakes.

STORY
The story was better from all the jojo parts.The story line was best and chapters was submitted to right way.This story was really different from other parts.The characters and design was outstanding.The story didn't bored me at all it was fun while watching and reading it.Some chapters were having long pages.Individual elements of this story was done well.From genre it was some comedy, there was so much mystery, there was some ecchi scenes of torture really dangerous one.The action was really outstanding i wish they animate in series well.there was a lot of suspence in it after read more
Nov 2, 2015
Dietrologia (All reviews)
Steel Ball Run is the (at the moment this review is being published) last completed arc of the long running Jojo's Bizarre Adventure saga, a franchise that has lasted more than 2 decades. While each part of the series has always had its own contributions and spin on the formula, Steel Ball Run in particular stands out from the crowd for one big reason.

Sometime after concluding part 6 (stone ocean), Hirohiko Araki decided that he was through with the limitations of the weekly serialization format and the shounen demographic, of which he had worked in for several years. He figured that with a series that read more
Nov 21, 2017
Ephemeral_Eso (All reviews)
Since the classic second installment of the JoJo's Bizarre Adventure series, Battle Tendency, JoJo has always been a great manga. Each individual part features a plethora of great characters, compelling plot points, amusing comedic scenes, and heartbreaking tragedy. As the final panel of Part 6 comes into full view, no one can deny that JoJo's Bizarre Adventure is one of the greatest manga of all time.

Yet I'm not writing this review to tell you why JoJo's Bizarre Adventure is great; I'm here to tell you why it's a masterpiece and my second favorite series of all time. And to understand why JoJo's Bizarre Adventure is read more
Feb 1, 2019
blessedass (All reviews)
LuckyYounes proudly presents this modern manga review:

- JoJo’s Bizarre Adventure is a long running manga written by the most popular influential manga artist (mangaka), Hirihiko Araki, the Japanese immortal man. He was born on June 7, 1960 in Sendai, Miyagi. He started publishing his magnum opus in Weekly Shonen Jump in 1987, and his deep love to the western culture made this franchise have a very unique and diverce plots and interface. Particularly, we will have the spot on its 7th part; Steel Ball Run. That was published from January 19, 2004 to April 19, 2011 in Ultra Jump.
- The story read more
Oct 2, 2017
larkinsmithx (All reviews)
By far the greatest Manga I have ever read. Steel Ball Run is an adventure through the eyes of two of the funniest, wittiest, and most eager protagonists I have seen. The story takes you through the race across America all the while an unknown threat is lurking behind the clear but much weaker stand users. This is Araki's greatest work and can be picked up by anyone as it is an alternate universe to the previous 6 parts. The art style is beautiful and the use of color reflects the emotions of characters perfectly. Each character is carefully planned out with a list of read more
Mar 18, 2017
Sefiroz (All reviews)
One of the best mangas I read in my life, thanks Araki

The stories are impressive, with a slow but necessary start, other manga artist make this a negative point in their stories because of their poor development of this, but not Araki.

The art of JoJo’s Bizarre Adventure has always been evolving, from the standard bulky heroes of the 1980’s action manga to Araki’s own unique style present in this story and it’s follow up, JoJolion. The background and characters are very detailed, and the stylization of the characters are impressive. The characters are unique within the shonen/seinen genere at large and amongst each other. Being read more
May 27, 2018
Spookify_ (All reviews)
JoJo's Bizarre Adventure Part 7: Steel Ball Run is definitely the best piece of literature that I have read so far. It is a sort-of reset to the series and takes the concept of its previous parts and juices it until it's dry. Fortunately, it worked out amazingly.

Story: 10/10
Steel Ball Run is a well-written story, though it may be a little hard to invest yourself into at first, however, Steel Ball Run's story only goes uphill after stands are introduced. The fights are always interesting (even though there are few which are a little bit confusing) and it has a good climactic ending. Stands are read more
Dec 11, 2017
MeesaWBush (All reviews)
If anyone is planning to read Steel Ball Run, I recommend that you lower your expectations as it may not be your cup of tea. I know of some people who were told about Steel Ball Run and they seemed very enthused and hyped about reading it. In the end, they ended up being disappointed because to them, Steel Ball Run seemed over-hyped and did not live up to their expectations. I advise to anyone who is planning to read the manga to just take it as it is and go with the flow and not let the hype overwhelm them.

Without further ado, here is read more
Jun 1, 2017
Elfezen (All reviews)
JoJo's Bizarre Adventure: Steel Ball Run is truly a masterpiece and one of the best manga to have ever been written. Its quality far ouclasses the rest of the JoJo manga series. The combination of very intense story, amazing characters and beautiful art makes it from the series that can provide you with the most entertainment. In addition the relationship of the protagonist Johnny Joestar and Gyro Zeppeli together with the main antagonist Funny Valentine who is my personal favorite anime villain is the primary reason of why this manga is such a success and took so many awards. Funny Valentine's design specific is created read more
Oct 7, 2018
jiroutachi (All reviews)
What makes Jojo's Bizarre Adventure so special?

That's a question I always had in my mind. One I had before reading it, one I really thought about while I was reading it, and one I'm still thinking about now. After binging all parts in about three weeks, I felt compelled to write a review about one of them; I picked Steel Ball Run because it's my favorite. I feel an urge to try and explain exactly what about Steel Ball Run, and maybe even Jojo in general, is so compelling. What about it that made me whip out a score of nine out of ten in read more
Mar 15, 2019
heartattacks (All reviews)
DISCLAIMER: JoJo's Bizarre Adventure is a currently ongoing series with (at the moment of writing), 7 complete parts and one ongoing one. It's important to first make the distinction that this is NOT one ongoing story split into parts, but rather 8 stories in the same universe following the Joestar bloodline, that share similar elements, plot points, and even motivations in some cases.
Due to that, this and my other JoJo reviews will follow an unique JoJo rating system, since in my opinion it cannot be easily compared to other manga, done in a beginner-friendly way so as to illustrate whether or not it is worth read more
Oct 29, 2018
Sinuquera (All reviews)
JoJo no Kimyou na Bouken part 7: Steel Ball Run, as the name suggests, is the 7° installment in the jojo's bizarre adventure series. The story is set in the U.S at the 1890's and it follows our protagonist Johnny Joestar, a 19 year old former horse-racing prodigy turned paraplegic, who now seeks to understand the mysterious power of the "spin", which made Johnny's legs move enough to allow him to stand for a little while. Now Johnny must gain the trust of the man who used that power, Gyro Zeppeli, and for that he must enter the Steel Ball Run Race, a mad-dash read more