JoJo no Kimyou na Bouken Part 7: Steel Ball Run
Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

JoJo no Kimyou na Bouken Part 7: Steel Ball Run

Alternative Titles

Synonyms: JoJo's Bizarre Adventure Part 7: Steel Ball Run, SBR
Japanese: ジョジョの奇妙な冒険 Part7 STEEL BALL RUN

Information

Type: Manga
Volumes: 24
Chapters: 96
Status: Finished
Published: Jan 19, 2004 to Apr 19, 2011
Genres: ActionAction, AdventureAdventure, MysteryMystery, HistoricalHistorical, HorrorHorror, ShounenShounen, SupernaturalSupernatural, SeinenSeinen
Authors: Araki, Hirohiko (Story & Art)
Serialization: Ultra Jump

Statistics

Score: 9.231 (scored by 8911089,110 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #22
2 based on the top manga page. Please note that 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #30
Members: 152,158
Favorites: 26,040

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Apr 25, 2015
Realhumanbean (All reviews)
Serving as a soft reset for Jojo's Bizarre Adventure, Steel Ball Run takes the story in original and daring directions. But does it work? Oh who am I kidding? I'm going to be straight up.
I consider Steel Ball Run to be one of the greatest written works I've ever read.

STORY: 9/10
I will admit Steel Ball Run has a very, very slow start. In fact, Stands aren't even introduced until like 20 chapters in. That's another thing: Steel Ball Run is seinen instead of shounen. That means each chapter ranges from 35 to 60 pages long in comparison to the 20 page long read more
Feb 22, 2014
ClownOnACloud (All reviews)
I am writing this review simply because there was only one review which means that no matter how bad this review is it will still end up being the second most helpful.

Set in an alternate universe from previous parts as a result of the events at the end of Stone Ocean, Steal Ball Run is probably the apex of the massive Jojo's Bizzare Adventure franchise, which is no small statement. Araki has once again recycled and improved upon his formula for making terrifically bizarre adventures.

The premise for Steel Ball Run like many of the other parts of the JJBA series is fairly simple and straightforward read more
Jun 18, 2017
BardJungle (All reviews)
On many forums I've seen recommendations of Steel Ball Run as an "Absolutely amazing manga", "easily the best Jojos and epitomising everything about that 'style' of comic", and "From the art to story 10/10. Best thing i've ever read". After finishing it, I honestly can't say I see its appeal. The characters were barely fleshed out and quite boring, the fighting frequently was decided on pure "luck", rather than fighting strength or strategy, and the story was painfully plain.

The story - Coming in, I wasn't expecting a narrative masterpiece, but I was expecting a compelling story. I was very disappointed. There really isn't any read more
Jan 1, 2013
Tomah (All reviews)
In Steel Ball Run, Araki once again delivers a story arc full of clever battles, creative abilities, crazy plots and lovely characters. No, this is even better than the previous arcs, as the author continues to recycle his own style and improve without limits. This is a very rare example in which the author actually gets better with time, and Steel Ball Run provides very good evidence for that.

The story starts out pretty simple: our crippled Joestar hero, Johny, gangs up with Gyro Zeppeli and aims for the top in the intense Steel Ball Run race. Each competitor has his own unique motivations, abilities and read more
Dec 6, 2018
gakinotsukai (All reviews)
Huh, this manga has me confused. All the high ratings and hype, I figured this was going to be a masterpiece along the lines of Berserk or FMA, with engrossing and emotional character development, mind blowing powers and abilities, a captivating story, yadda yadda yadda. Sadly I found myself incredibly bored by the halfway point, disappointed around the 3/4 mark, and I really only finished it because I had no other bathroom material to read at the time. There are no characters I'm really attached to, the characters I'm supposed to like I don't much care for, but on the flip side the characters I'm read more
Jun 1, 2020
geovannyboss (All reviews)
Mild spoilers! it is difficult to talk about the story or characters without saying something...

"What is so hype about Steel Ball Run?" It is a question that people who do not read often wonder the answer.
The part basically gets rid of stands and focuses on stand abilities, so its more the user if fighting than the actual stand. Guns are actually a threat for the first time in the series in a while, and stands are so much weaker that Gyro doesn't even have a stand throughout the part. The fight against the main villain is also very well done, with both sides having interesting read more
Dec 8, 2019
Jaxontmoreno (All reviews)
THIS REVIEW CONTAINS SPOILERS

I will never understand the jojo fandom's constant and obsessive wanking of this part. They pretend it's the greatest thing since the invention of the wheel like hxh and one piece fans do, except they actually have fair reason sometimes (one piece selling most manga worldwide and hxh's chimera ant arc).Where do i start? The pacing is like any other jojo part, but because it's seinen it's 1.5 to twice as longer, leading to slow and long-dragging arcs that suck the enjoyment, investment, or interest out of you every fight. D4C was 15+ whole seinen chapters, imagine being a monthly reader during read more
Jul 30, 2016
Rikuson1 (All reviews)
JoJo no Kimyou na Bouken Part 7: Steel Ball Run Review


Story (9/10) Great
More Specifically (9.80/10) Great+

The story for the critically acclaimed Part 7 of JoJo's did indeed live up to the hype as the best JoJo's Part from a story standpoint. It's not perfect just like any other series and it's the best Araki has ever written. Now my personal issues with the story is the climax of this Part which also hindered my enjoyment so I'll put those in that section. But that's not the only thing that urked me as we know JoJo's has never made 100% sense and as a reader read more
Sep 22, 2020
Lools (All reviews)
Bible two Looking good. Very good original characters like Jesus. OutSTANDing artstyle
Amazing soundtrack my favorite is the Pizza mozzarella composed by Gyro Zeppeli.
I think this is one of if not the best romcoms that I have read. This might be a little spoiler but the show starts of with our protagonist Pocoloco getting the most OP STAND
which can beat even dio in a heartbeat and he beats everbody in the whole part. Our other main protagonst Sandman is so OP that he goes full barefoot and demolishes the whole lobby. By the way it's about a race in 'merica for money also Jesus read more
Oct 5, 2016
Animer_man (All reviews)
This is my first review, please forgive any mistakes.

STORY
The story was better from all the jojo parts.The story line was best and chapters was submitted to right way.This story was really different from other parts.The characters and design was outstanding.The story didn't bored me at all it was fun while watching and reading it.Some chapters were having long pages.Individual elements of this story was done well.From genre it was some comedy, there was so much mystery, there was some ecchi scenes of torture really dangerous one.The action was really outstanding i wish they animate in series well.there was a lot of suspence in it after read more
Aug 29, 2019
firecandys (All reviews)
It's JoJo. 10/10. First I tought this was weird. I tought: Who is this guy? Who are Johnny's parents? But then I realised this was an alternate dimension and was out of the best 6 parts we had, PB, BT, SC, DiU, VA, SO.
I like Johnny and the story, it has a good vibe to it that I don't know how to explain it. Our legendary creator Araki Hirohiko did another G R E A T job creating a new JoJo. Thoughts on Johnny: I think he's gay, but not so gay as Giorno, gayer than Josuke? Of course. I like Johnny's clothes. He is read more
Feb 1, 2019
luckyyounes (All reviews)
LuckyYounes proudly presents this modern manga review:

- JoJo’s Bizarre Adventure is a long running manga written by the most popular influential manga artist (mangaka), Hirihiko Araki, the Japanese immortal man. He was born on June 7, 1960 in Sendai, Miyagi. He started publishing his magnum opus in Weekly Shonen Jump in 1987, and his deep love to the western culture made this franchise have a very unique and diverce plots and interface. Particularly, we will have the spot on its 7th part; Steel Ball Run. That was published from January 19, 2004 to April 19, 2011 in Ultra Jump.
- The story read more
Oct 22, 2019
RiadTheWeeb1 (All reviews)
So Jojo's Bizzare Adventure Part 7 : Steel Ball Run
tHIS mANGA this amazing Manga Is by far the best manga ever in my opinion its so well crafted Araki Is on a diffrent Level when he wrote this Manga
Story 10/10 : one of the greatest and most orginal jojo story
its set in 1800's In america a horse Race a cross america and the winner Gets 60 mILLion dollars pretty generic Right Wrong
Minor Spoilers Ahead :
STANDS arent intreduced untile after a whole volueme 3 wich means this manga takes its time, what i love about it so much its that it read more
Oct 2, 2017
larkinsmithx (All reviews)
By far the greatest Manga I have ever read. Steel Ball Run is an adventure through the eyes of two of the funniest, wittiest, and most eager protagonists I have seen. The story takes you through the race across America all the while an unknown threat is lurking behind the clear but much weaker stand users. This is Araki's greatest work and can be picked up by anyone as it is an alternate universe to the previous 6 parts. The art style is beautiful and the use of color reflects the emotions of characters perfectly. Each character is carefully planned out with a list of read more
Nov 2, 2015
Dietrologia (All reviews)
Steel Ball Run is the (at the moment this review is being published) last completed arc of the long running Jojo's Bizarre Adventure saga, a franchise that has lasted more than 2 decades. While each part of the series has always had its own contributions and spin on the formula, Steel Ball Run in particular stands out from the crowd for one big reason.

Sometime after concluding part 6 (stone ocean), Hirohiko Araki decided that he was through with the limitations of the weekly serialization format and the shounen demographic, of which he had worked in for several years. He figured that with a series that read more
Jun 1, 2017
Elfezen (All reviews)
"In the Beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the Word was God" John 1:1

JoJo's Bizarre Adventure: Steel Ball Run is truly a masterpiece and one of the greatest manga to have ever been written. Its quality far ouclasses the rest of the JoJo manga series. The combination of intense storyline, amazing characters, beautiful artstyle and Jesus Christ, the Son of God makes it from the pinnacle of masterpieces. In addition the relationship of the protagonist Johnny Joestar and Gyro Zeppeli together with the main antagonist Funny Valentine who is my personal favorite anime antagonist is the primary reason of why read more
Sep 9, 2020
ArdorSpork (All reviews)
Wow, it really is as good as everyone says.
Kinda hate to be a conformist but yes, it's simply amazing.

One for the ages. Even if JoJo parts 1-6 were utter trash (they arn't, they're really good as well) it would be worth reading all of them just to read this one.

You might be out here looking a the top rated manga of all time on MAL and wondering why part 7 of a series is #2 but I assure you, it deserves its placement.

Easily the most interesting story in JoJo with an incredible setting and art. The action very well drawn with the best panel read more
Nov 21, 2017
Ephemeral_Eso (All reviews)
Since the classic second installment of the JoJo's Bizarre Adventure series, Battle Tendency, JoJo has always been a great manga. Each individual part features a plethora of great characters, compelling plot points, amusing comedic scenes, and heartbreaking tragedy. As the final panel of Part 6 comes into full view, no one can deny that JoJo's Bizarre Adventure is one of the greatest manga of all time.

Yet I'm not writing this review to tell you why JoJo's Bizarre Adventure is great; I'm here to tell you why it's a masterpiece and my second favorite series of all time. And to understand why JoJo's Bizarre Adventure is read more
Mar 18, 2017
Sefiroz (All reviews)
One of the best mangas I read in my life, thanks Araki

The stories are impressive, with a slow but necessary start, other manga artist make this a negative point in their stories because of their poor development of this, but not Araki.

The art of JoJo’s Bizarre Adventure has always been evolving, from the standard bulky heroes of the 1980’s action manga to Araki’s own unique style present in this story and it’s follow up, JoJolion. The background and characters are very detailed, and the stylization of the characters are impressive. The characters are unique within the shonen/seinen genere at large and amongst each other. Being read more
Nov 9, 2020
MrWbolt (All reviews)
This manga is literally insane. araki did a very good job. I love how the drawings are done and the storyline is also really amazing. even the backstories are amazing. the story is about two people named: Johnny Joestar/Jonathan Joestar and Gyro Zeppeli/Julius Caesar Zeppeli that are traveling around America in a race called the Steel Ball Run race. if they win the race they will get 50.000.000 dollars but what they don't know is that the race is not just organized for entertainment but to obtain the world's greatest power. the president named: Funny Valentine wants it but he doesn't want to get it read more