Edit Manga Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Kareshi Kanojo no Jijou

Kareshi Kanojo no Jijou

Alternative Titles

English: Kare Kano: His and Her Circumstances
Synonyms: His and Hers, The Tiger and the Chameleon: A Promise for One Week, Ashita Mata Mori de Aou ne, Meet Me Again Tomorrow in the Forest, KKNJ, Abareru Ousama, The Raging King
Japanese: 彼氏彼女の事情

Information

Type: Manga
Volumes: 21
Chapters: 108
Status: Finished
Published: Dec 22, 1995 to May 10, 2005
Authors: Tsuda, Masami (Story & Art)
Serialization: LaLa

Statistics

Score: 8.221 (scored by 11224 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet published' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #4822
2 based on the top manga page. Please note that 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #286
Members: 26,333
Favorites: 1,472

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
May 30, 2008
dazedqt23 (All reviews)
Kareshi Kanojo no Jijō (Kare Kano for short) is an amazing journey of a group of high schoolers with the main focus revolving around the power couple Soichiro Arima and Yukino Miyazawa. It is falsely advertised as a simple comedy/romance genre manga. There is so much more to the story, to be specific, there is a very dark side that makes the reader's heart wrench in pain as they watch the character struggle and grow. It has elements of psychological drama that are in line with stories such as "This Ugly Yet Beautiful World," "School Days," "Ef-A Tale of Memories," and "Elfen read more
Aug 2, 2008
Akaike (All reviews)
In typical fashion, I decided to read this manga months after watching the anime adaptation. And, while, the anime remains partly true to the manga, the manga itself offers so much more than what the anime ever could. Not only that, but it continues past the anime's ending point - the cultural festival, or more importantly the stage play that was taking place. As this is actually quite an important part of the story.

Now, I know what you're thinking - 'this is just another high school romantic comedy manga'. You know the ones, boy meets girl, boy likes girl, boy read more
Sep 14, 2014
ClownOnACloud (All reviews)
Now I wouldn’t really describe myself as being a big fan of the shoujo genre and to be perfectly honest I always normally hate series that centre around high school students (so perhaps I am not the best person to be writing a review for this series but oh well). The reason for this is that these stories have been done again and again thousands of times and have become stale but here we have Kare Kano (short version of the title) which is for all intents and purposes one of these old boring high school romance series that we have all seen far too read more
Apr 6, 2008
yakusoku (All reviews)
Story: Kare Kano is a longer shoujo series filled with romance, drama, and the life of teenagers. We get to see the life of a high school couple overcoming many obstacles. This being a long 102 chapter manga, a lot of things happen. It is not a typical school/romance, you will notice.

Art: really unusual art. definitely not a commonly seen style, but appealing nonetheless.

Character: What's interesting is that yukino + soichiro are both very intelligent, and both pretend to be someone theyre not. The other characters, their classmates, add variety to the series with a bunch of side stories. The characters portrayed in this read more
Dec 4, 2013
animangaline (All reviews)
I am absolutely entranced by Kareshi Kanoujo no Jijou.

Underneath what may seem a simple romance budding between our main characters, Arima Souchirou and Miyazawa Yukino, lies a multi-faceted story of love, childhood, family and friendship. I have to admit, in the beginning, I have underestimated this manga. The art did not particularly appeal to me and although the story did, I was sceptical about whether or not it could capture my attention.

I was wrong.

With 21 volumes, Kareshi Kanoujo no Jijou (Kare Kano in short) seemed like a huge read. Well it was, to a certain extent. But what comes from that huge read is read more
Feb 24, 2008
kara (All reviews)
this story takes a long time to get good.like in the second or third is were it is good.the first volume is really slow. you get kinda bored but wait until the second volume to deceide if you want to drop it or not.
the romance is not too extreme.like a chessy junoir high crush."like he was destined for me" kinda thing.basically it is about two teens tryin to find who they really are instead of who they try to be in every day life.
Jun 28, 2010
Magdalen (All reviews)
*slight spoilers ahead, though nothing you might not already guess*
Kare Kano is the best manga and anime I have had the pleasure of reading yet. Simply because of this - it tells a story so bittersweet, so captivating, so enthralling, you cannot bear to tear yourself away from the page in case you miss something.

Yukino Miyazawa is the top student of her class, of her year. She is beautiful, smart, sporty, kind and helpful to everyone. All the boys fancy her and the girls want to be her. The only thing is - it's all fake. She, in secret, works tirelessly to be the best, read more
Feb 7, 2009
yuki_no_kuroi (All reviews)
I recently picked Kare Kano up for a second read after i read it about 5 years ago. THe reread value was as good as the first time around. There are several components of a shounen manga that can make (or break) it, but in this case i found that there was a balance in all aspects.

The charm of this series is the manner that the characters interact with one another. As you read the manga, every character becomes memorable and likeable in his or her own way. pretty much everyone worht mentioning in the manga has a well developed storyline. I especially liked how read more
Jun 9, 2013
floryfede4ever (All reviews)
Kare Kano is such a beautiful manga I don't even now how to begin describing it. You guys, don't get fooled by the shojo- high school appearance of it, this is heavy gear romance and drama. It deals with real life problems and situations faced by our main couple, Miyazawa Yukino and Arima Souchihiro . Both of them are compelling on their own right and make on of the best couples I've ever seen. Arima, particularly, goes through incredible changes throughout the whole story. The manga deals with matters as simple as a sport festival to really deep ones like family and true read more
Aug 24, 2009
rinn4 (All reviews)
Wow. That was really intense. I have been reading this manga non-stop since I started it a month ago. There were times when I felt like crying and I have definitely sworn a couple of times during the course of reading it from over active emotions brought out when I was dragged into the story. I loved how all of the different characters had their own little side stories that gave you the satisfaction and turmoil that most shugo manga do. What makes this one special is that in the midst of all the side plots are those life changing questions that just get thrown read more
Jan 12, 2014
Kelly97 (All reviews)
Story
" In the eye's of others, what kind of person am I?"

-This is so much more than a typical love story this story is so complex and full of emotions. Yukino Miyazawa who is this perfect model student is full of pride and hypocrisy she is “perfect” in everyone’s eyes, then we have the other model student (Arima Soichiro) who is also a perfect model student, but he is full of a mysteriously dark side and it becomes apparent throughout the manga. Yukino is very jealous of Arima’s new found popularity over all the attention he is getting for representing the freshmen class, they ended read more
Jan 10, 2016
Demi_V (All reviews)
Miyazawa (the female protagonist) taught me something that I thought was foolish until I read Kare Kano (His and Her Circumstances): never give up on a person no matter how much they push you away. Tsuda Masami created a love rollercoaster -- a couple (Miyazawa and Arima) developed from a hate-love relationship. It is now one of my favorite shoujo manga, especially because the relationship was developed within the first two volumes. Therefore, the entire 21 volumes focuses on the main couple’s relationship throughout high school. It allows you to watch Miyazawa and Arima take their relationship one step at a time.

Kare Kano has read more
Jul 11, 2018
twinkletoes (All reviews)
One thing I always wish is that manga grew with their audience - if you think of someone starting to read your typical shoujo manga in middle school (say, 15 years old) and the serialisation takes 5-7 years to complete, if the plot and tone of the manga stay the same all the way through, it's very unlikely that the 20-22 year old who finishes that manga is going to enjoy the ending as much as the beginning, since they valued different things when they were 15. This is a manga that succeeds in growing with its audience, and is absolutely amazing for it. read more
Nov 6, 2017
MisterJRPG (All reviews)
God. Did that manga made me cry. Been a long, long while since a manga got me this emotional. From the get-to, it is an entertaining Shoujo series with a great cast of characters with loads of compelling, engrossing backstories from the back to supporting cast. The tone of the manga balances out very well between comedy, drama and romance.

What really sealed the deal for me was the Arima arc where I kept wanting to read chapter to chapter in one sitting, and man, it was certainly a heart wrenching, emotional roller coaster.

I kind of wish a few of the characters have more panel time read more
Feb 20, 2009
MissMurder (All reviews)
If you are looking for a good-girl high school manga, then this is basically the epitome of it! It starts off with this pretty, smart, athletic, all-around good student named Yukino. She has all of the student body looking up to her and basking in her conceited excellence. But, the real her was this attention-craving, self-confessed “Queen of Vanity”, dressing like a slob at home and studying until all hours of the night.
She starts to be jealous of her rival, read more
Dec 22, 2015
HidamariSeashore (All reviews)
Most, if not all, people go through a phase of self-discovery. They may try to act as if they are someone who they really aren't, but someone may break down those walls that hide who you really are. Is this person the one you love? Well, probably! Well, with that being said, this manga is one that I've been wanting to read for quite a while, and by alternating between reading online and checking out volumes of it from the local library, I managed to read it all of the way through. I have to say, I made the right choice.

Ladies and gentlemen, queens of read more
Nov 3, 2018
SlightWeeb (All reviews)
First impressions aren't everything. Kareshi Kanojo no Jijou may exemplify that more than anything else I've read. The manga starts off painfully uninteresting. The synopsis you read at the top of this page is basically all there is in for the first volume and a half. Character motivations are so seemingly one-dimensional the story isn't very interesting. Girl has secret. Boy finds out. Girl and boy fall in love. The beginning chapters of this manga have major issues. The art is sub-par, often devolving into some simple, comedic chibi style in the middle of a serious scenes. This mitigates a lot of emotional moments from read more
Apr 12, 2016
Otaku365 (All reviews)
Of course I read this a few years after i watched the anime. The anime was good, however the ending got confusing and i wasnt really sure what it meant. I thought they separated afterwards.
The manga is much more detailed than the anime and also much more enjoyable. This is really the manga for you if you love character development and tragic backstories.
I was drawn to the story because sometimes i feel as if I'm living a lie or I'm empty inside. Such is the case with the protagonists, Yukino and Soichiro. However, they really developed as characters especially Soichiro. The manga has read more
Jun 21, 2019
IsadoraMassa (All reviews)
"Classic" is a word that's vague by itself, whose meaning's continually changing with time. In the 90's, when KareKano was first published, the "classic" works of shoujo were titles such as Princess Knight and The Rose of Versailles; nowadays, these mangas are still classic, but KareKano, which used to be a prime example of a modern shoujo, has gained a very different aura.

The characters of KareKano are always dealing with their own identity. Their worrying about the face they present to the world and their real self — about the difference between who they are and who they want to be — is, for read more
Dec 30, 2017
SolarFox (All reviews)
What to say about this series now ? Just calling it one of the greatest romance/drama stories ever just doesn't do it justice.

Yukino is one of my favourites characters ever, and one of the more original concepts I've ever seen. This double-faced, incredibly sharp, amazingly strong-willed (yet sometimes insecure), partially evil but always funny girl is the character I'm gonna miss the most. It really is worth it reading the manga just to see her interact with the rest of the cast, with the world, and often just to follow her thought processes. Her reactions to developments are often surprising, yet endearing to the reader. read more