Papillon: Hana to Chou
Papillon
Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Papillon: Hana to Chou

Alternative Titles

English: Papillon
Synonyms: Chrysalis: Flower & Butterfly
Japanese: パピヨン -花と蝶-

Information

Type: Manga
Volumes: 8
Chapters: 40
Status: Finished
Published: Jul 13, 2007 to Nov 13, 2009
Genres: DramaDrama, RomanceRomance, SchoolSchool, ShoujoShoujo, PsychologicalPsychological
Authors: Ueda, Miwa (Story & Art)
Serialization: Bessatsu Friend

Statistics

Score: 7.531 (scored by 35503,550 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #23542
2 based on the top manga page. Please note that 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1749
Members: 7,094
Favorites: 120

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Dec 8, 2010
Moon_Light (All reviews)
Preliminary
"You are you, and I am I"

I said I wouldn't give it a higher rating until after I finished it and well here it goes..
This manga will make you want to, smile one second and want to throw it out the window the next (at the beginning anyway). But that is the unstable emotions that these characters evoke.

The story centers around two girls, sisters, twins. Ageha and Hana. Like everything in the universe, it needs balance, so we have sweet bookworm Ageha and mischievous (for lack of a better word) and popular Hana.

The way the manga starts you'll find yourself picking sides and choosing. read more
Apr 16, 2012
charlieseilrahc (All reviews)
AMAZING!

The beginning is kinda weird. And I definitely don't like that a 24 year old goes out with a high school student. But their relationship never goes into "dark territories" so to speak.
If you don't like the start either, stick with the story for a bit. The character development is really good, and the last few chapters are perfect. This is definitely not one of those manga's that start of really good and have a bad ending - leaving you with things to be desired. It leaves you feeling satisfied, happy (and if you are cheesy enough, tingly all over :) ).
Feb 28, 2010
SammiiCake (All reviews)
Preliminary
I really loved this Manga! You can really see how Ageha changes throughout the manga and you'll also develop a liking towards her. The love story was so very cute! And it was really fun to read! It had some tears, some joys and some hatred towards characters and I'm sure you can really enjoy it!
The storyline was quite good, it is a big 'messy' at times but overall, I thought it was good. The art was amazing, and the characters had such amazing personalities. I really enjoyed it as well.
Although, a big problem is.. There is literally no read more
Feb 27, 2016
unbalanc3dchem5t (All reviews)
this review will contain spoilers, so read at your own risk- ALSO THE CHARACTER IS NOT A TOMBOY SO IF IT'S WHAT YOU'RE LOOKING FOR, DON'T BOTHER READING THE MANGA FURTHER.


I started reading this manga based on the number of positive reviews and recommendations on certain forums for shoujo manga involving a tomboy protagonist. As I continued to read, i sympathized and related with the main character for the unwarranted sister rivalry and i was hooked in. The story starts with the main character (Ageha) having a crush on her childhood friend Ryuusei and fantasizing about being in a relationship with him, however due read more
Jun 28, 2014
ragesugar (All reviews)
I usually feel the student/teacher type of manga is overdone and usually boring. However, the depth of the main character's stories were impressive compared to the many other manga I've read. They are flawed and damaged character's, which is rare to find in a manga (especially shoujo).

The artwork is well done compared to some of the manga out there. There isn't anything spectacular, but the artwork is smooth and not distracting other than the very attractive rival male characters (Teacher and Mamura).

While I did cheer for my OTP I knew it would never be, but it was still enjoyable to cheer for read more
Nov 25, 2011
Slumber (All reviews)
First I’d just like to say the synopsis given of this manga does absolutely no justice. It’s literally a summary of chapter one which doesn’t even cover the basic plot.

I’ve only read up to chapter 37. I’ll continue to read it as more chapters are released and I will update my review when I’m finished.

The story circulates around Ageha and Hana, twin sisters who have just started high school. Hana is the popular girl. She does her best to stand out and be better than everyone else, especially her sister. Ageha on the other hand, does her best to go unnoticed. She feels inferior read more
Aug 15, 2019
Borealiz (All reviews)
Story

The story is about understanding each other's and their own struggles, but it's also about growing up to your best potential. Even with that said, I think a lot of ways things were resolved were really unsatisfying. The author brought in some huge issues and struggles, and kind of gave a wishy washy solution, which I think not only shows how old the series is but also how shallow it also is. Though it did have pretty strong beginning and conclusion.

Art

The art had a bit of the same face syndrome, which I'm not only saying about the twins, but for most characters. This is especially read more