Edit Manga Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Nousatsu Junkie

Nousatsu Junkie

Alternative Titles

English: Nosatsu Junkie
Synonyms: Nozoite Mitakute Shikatanai, Kaeru ga Iku Taiwan na Hibi, Peeping, Charming Junkie
Japanese: 悩殺ジャンキー

Information

Type: Manga
Volumes: 16
Chapters: 96
Status: Finished
Published: Oct 4, 2003 to Nov 20, 2008
Authors: Fukuyama, Ryoco (Story & Art)
Serialization: Hana to Yume

Statistics

Score: 8.051 (scored by 4151 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet published' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #8642
2 based on the top manga page. Please note that 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #893
Members: 10,326
Favorites: 305

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
May 21, 2008
andra (All reviews)
Preliminary
I just recently finished reading the available chapters of this manga and I must admit it got me hooked up.I was searching for something fresh and entertaining after reading more serious stuff and "bumped" into this series.
The story is cute and although the gender bender detail is pretty weird,it's thins detail that actually makes this manga interesting!
What I most like about the manga is the relationship between the main characters,which gives the reader a confortable feeling.Naka is a girl full of complexes because people keep on telling her that she has a criminal-like face while Umi is a person read more
Oct 17, 2008
rinhail (All reviews)
Preliminary
I decided to edit my previous review and disregard my bias towards this manga. First of all, the story is original in small ways (such as the female lead unable to smile correctly) but is still enjoyable like other model based manga's. The characters, as the series goes on, are very much like teenagers trying to survive in the fierce entertainment light. And Fukuyama-sensei manages to combine both maturity and innocence in each of them. The artwork is very appealing, nothing skwed or makes you want to give up.

Overall, It's fun, sweet and generally a good read.
Dec 5, 2009
dinomyte (All reviews)
Preliminary
This manga is probably one of my favourites. I was surprised when I found out that it wasn't as popular as I thought, and this manga should really get more recognition for its coolness. ANYWAYS.

I love the story, this gender bender goes beyond the stereotypical sneak-into-a-school romance, instead it's about modelling.This story is humourous, captivating, and the romance is equally as enjoying with its characters. Even though the two main characters fall in love rather easily and earlier in the story, it's still entertaining.

The artist executes the art perfectly and personally, I am a fan of the clothing designs.

The characters are funny and unique, and read more
Feb 12, 2014
yHam (All reviews)
I recently finished reading this manga and it got me really hooked up.

- The story is funny and romantic with the right amount of drama and seriousness. Although it's not like one of those type that you can say as "superb"romance manga, it is still very enjoyable to read. I like how the mangaka does not focus on the main characters only but instead gives everyone their own moment and a chance for character development as the story progressed.

- The art is great. I like how everyone is drawn especially Naka, her "criminal face" is super funny; (there was even a time when read more
Nov 17, 2010
NightsofDawn (All reviews)
Preliminary
I recently finished reading all of the available chapters and I must say, I haven't read a manga this fantastic since Vampire Game.

The story starts out with Naka Kaburagi, a fourteen year old model who can't seem the get any jobs, mostly due to her inability to look "cute and less like a dangerous criminal". She decides to become like her role model, Umi. Upon running into Umi and picking up one of "her" belongings, she stumbles upon the secret that is mostly a base for the series.

Story 8/10: The story isn't horribly cliched like some things I've read, but has some cheesy parts that read more
Aug 16, 2017
iHyrule (All reviews)
***Don't forget to check out my official blog for a more in depth review of this manga. Check my BIO on my profile for my blog!

Story: 7/10
Please read the synopsis first. Let's be clear, this manga is a shoujo manga and this type of conflict with our protagonist is not a first in anime/manga history. However, the story is still good. It separates itself from all the shoujo cliches that usually make up this type of story. The story had me HOOKED up until about halfway. After that, my binge reading had stopped because I felt like many of the same issues were repeated, and read more
Jun 26, 2016
arrowofthenight (All reviews)
For a first serialization, this is impressive. I first read this a couple of years back, when the complete scanlation was not yet available. I enjoyed it, and when everything was translated read the rest feeling left satisfied. Charming Junkie is a shoujo manga first and foremost, and happens to be one with many shoujo tropes. That being said, the story handles them well, and the cliches are minimal. The story is basically Naka and Umi's journey and growth as models and eventual romance, with many more characters to help or harm them along the way. It's slightly like a coming of age manga in read more
Dec 12, 2015
haruhappiness (All reviews)
Preliminary
There are so many things I love about this manga. I am currently reading chapter 60 and all I can say is that it has been a beautiful ride.
As you can see in the synopsis this manga tell the story of the fateful encounter between a model with a scary face and a boy pretending to be a female model. But the truth is that there is so much more to this manga than what a short synopsis can tell you.
Honestly, I was starting to get tired of shoujo mangas. They were all the same: Love, love, love and more love. I wanted something deeper read more
Oct 6, 2015
Eisei-Asuka (All reviews)
i love how this story go. it's so simple yet exciting. i wondered how can this manga isnt populer. indeed, this is kind of cliche manga, but this manga is so lovely! once you start read it, no wonder if you dont want to stop. me too. when i read it i really really really dont want to stop. but, unfortunately, i need to go to school, so i stop read it for a few hours.

this manga is about a girl who cant smile, want to have a shining smile like the cute model umi, who is actually a boy! but the way author conveyed read more
Jul 16, 2013
phantomthief42 (All reviews)
I just finished this manga and thoroughly loved the characters and the story plot line it was a really cute story for those who want a nice,sweet enjoyable story. Even though the manga is pretty long you should complete the whole thing and see for yourself if you really liked it or not. The art was very good depending on which source you get it from mine was a little blurry because mine wasnt on a good site but i still liked it.For characters the profiles are really cute and very well described and you can tell how their personalities come across. I enjoyed read more