GE: Good Ending
Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

GE: Good Ending

Alternative Titles

Japanese: GE ~グッドエンディング~

Information

Type: Manga
Volumes: 16
Chapters: 158
Status: Finished
Published: Aug 19, 2009 to Jan 9, 2013
Genres: Drama Drama, Romance Romance, Sports Sports, Ecchi Ecchi
Theme: School School
Demographic: Shounen Shounen
Authors: Sasuga, Kei (Story & Art)

Statistics

Score: 7.811 (scored by 2422324,223 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #11442
2 based on the top manga page. Please note that 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #240
Members: 46,676
Favorites: 1,794

External Links

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Nov 26, 2009
Bolt_ (All reviews)
Preliminary
Good Ending is a shounen with romance as the main thing, and a bit of tennis. It's difficult to compare it with another shounen romances, because is pretty unique.
It has a wonderful art, and a good pace.

Utsumi, the main character, although has problems with love, wants to change, and little by little he does so. He is not perverted (only a bit in his imagination), is kind, and doesnt give up easily.
There are two main girls: Yuki, a serious, calm and intelligent, she helps Utsumi to confess, and Shou, cheerful and hiperactive she is the captain of the tennis club, and the crush of read more
Jul 30, 2013
kurasaina (All reviews)
The first romance anime I ever watched was "Kimi ga Nozomu Eien" (Rumbling Hearts); and since then no other romance has just quite satisfied me. Whether the characters were too shallow, the plot was too cliche, or any other wide variety of faults, I was always disappointed- until now.

For me, being able to relate to the characters is one of the most important parts of a manga/anime. If I can't relate, I won't even try to finish the manga/anime. Some where down the road, someone decided that making the main character a helpless, worthless sack of shit was a good idea, and for some reason read more
Feb 18, 2015
MyLoveForManga (All reviews)
Ge-Good ending is an outstanding manga !

I have to say it's one of the best love mangas i have ever read and i have read many of them .One of the best parts about this manga is the story .Nowadays romance manga repeat everything we already know but to me Ge is like a fresh breeze of romance so passionate that i wish i was in the main characters role in real life .

I highly recommend you read this manga if you're into romance manga like me but warning if you like drama and romance get ready for some tears.

I GIVE IT A 9/10

May 7, 2011
singleturbo (All reviews)
Preliminary
Good Ending is a very unique shounen romance and it isn't for everyone. I would recommend this to shounen romance veterans, but tell newbies to read some of the "classics" before this one in order to get the most out of it. This may also be a good read for someone who doesn't like how typical shounen romances solve conflicts.

GE is a combination cliche shounen and realistic story. The characters and conflicts are pretty commonly seen in other manga, but the resolutions are actually realistic. Accidents and misunderstandings occur but the characters actually question those events instead of running away. They seek read more
Aug 7, 2015
Keatle (All reviews)
One of the biggest weaknesses of japanese romances set in high school is that most of them don't feel like a high school. The (supposed) teenagers simply don't act like... well, teenagers. They act more like five years old who think that kissing results in babies. This annoyed me greatly, but, thankfully, not every japanese romance is like that. This is proven by Ge: Good Ending.

Beginning serialization is 2009 and ending in 2013, Ge: Good Ending was created, written and drawn by Kei Sasuga.

Its story doesn't seem very original, but if you get through the unassuming beginning, it gets better. Insanely better. It takes advantage read more
May 28, 2015
Tiguri (All reviews)
This is really one of my favorite romance manga I have ever read!
I have found it hard to find a nice romance manga that would please me in terms of having a good and intresting story with plot twists and a little bit of sexy action. This had them all and didn't go overboard with the sexiness and panty shots ect.
It really pleased me as a femal reader because I don't really care about seeing tits or anything in neither anime nor manga, but I do love to get exited when things get hot between a couple.
This manga had a nice mature perspective about read more
Jan 20, 2011
AraragiKoyomi (All reviews)
Preliminary
GE-Good Ending is one of my favorite mangas ever. It's a story from normal people, no super powers, nor aliens, etc. (most of the things that you actually see in loooots of mangas nowadays)
The story is very good, I got addicted to it since the first chapter I read; the characters are pretty well build (design and emotions), everyone with their very own characteristics, and I think you can get involved with them very easily. This manga is heavily recommended for all the people that like Comedy, Drama, Ecchi, Romance, School Life and Shounen stories. I got pretty much involved with each character, and read more
May 18, 2013
Monteiro (All reviews)
I'm 29 years, its been a while since my high school days, and loves and tears from that time. But reading GE was almost like jumping into a time machine and wath those days again.

I cant say for the girls, but I cant imagine a more accurate image of a high school boy than Utsumi. His dilemmas, his fears, his desires, his uncertains, his mistakes... It was almost like watching at my past self or my friends'. It's amazing how a woman mangaka could understand us so damn well. And imo this is what makes GE so unique: despite being a work of fiction and read more
Nov 25, 2009
Xtrazi (All reviews)
Preliminary
The story is a little cliche, where it's a very normal boy who starts off knowing only guys, but as the story progresses, he somehow finds himself surrounded by girls.

The story is quite simple. A boy falls for the leader girl in the tennis club, but is too scared to do anything about it. As he was watching the girl from afar, he got caught! Instead of reporting him, the girl who caught him instead chose to help him "woo" the tennis girl. The male character is very easy to relate to if you're a guy, because of his inexperiences, and nervousness when talking read more
Feb 24, 2013
DesuChan (All reviews)
GE: Good Ending is basically just another ordinary shounen romance manga I thought. I was very prejudice on GE because the cover art was just not very convincing. For me, a typical romance manga must consist of "decent' looking characters for in which in GE's case does not.

Art- The art started off horribly, there were unnecessary shadings here and there on the character's face which made me totally mad, because it just ruined the face, especially on Yuki's lips, it made her look like she had thick lips although the description of her should be "fair and beautiful". However at the later half, the read more
Feb 17, 2014
azzza11 (All reviews)
Basically it starts off very good, then it gets a bit bad but then it picks up again and has a very satisfying ending. Some of the characters introduced are unnecessary and annoying, they serve no real purpose to the story and are just there for extra content...
That is seriously all you need to know, it is definitely worth the read if you are into romance manga.
Jun 1, 2014
sudokia (All reviews)
When you pick up this book
You will surely be hooked
A shounen, drama, romance about a guy
Who is scared to try.

But don’t judge a book by the beginning story
Otherwise you’ll be sorry
A tale of one’s determination and grit
You will keep your eyes lit

A beautiful girl with a troubled past
Now that’s something that will make it last
Characters are weird, but humorous and playful
There are developments along the way

While it may be a typical plot
You will like it a lot!
Enjoy the ending this manga offers

(you can tell how much I like this manga if I was this bothered to write a poem)
Aug 10, 2020
Proto57 (All reviews)


I'm really sorry for my english in advance I hope it won't be too much trouble to read.

I have some mixed feelings about this manga. While I really liked the art and the faces drawn by the author, while I found the plot interesting, I'm just fed up with the drama in this.

I mean it is too much... everytime for every little things it's just frustrating. In my opinion, drama is a genre that require a good balance, a balance with drama and happy times. The main problem with GE was the fact that you have just a new forced drama every 3 chapters that read more
Feb 26, 2015
zaraku (All reviews)
Summary: Good Ending is an amazing manga for those who love romance, like myself. It is my favorite manga of all time, and I have read it two times in one week.

Story: The story follows the high school years of the main character, Utsumi. I love these types of stories as the reader sees all the character's perspectives and the plot develop's throughout.
10/10

Art: The art in Good Ending was the most amazing thing I have ever witnessed. The way the conveys emotion through art is outstanding, especially with Shou-senpai. This makes the story very enjoyable to look at and you never get bored of read more
Oct 3, 2013
lolqwerty (All reviews)
I have a mixed bag of emotions for GE. Just like how there were candies that you liked in that container, there were also a few that you didn't. So in this case, GE comes with a few disappointing aspects, but it is also backed up with plenty of good points.

Story:
The beauty of GE, is that its story is simple and interesting at the same time. To keep you reading, there will always be some kind of elusive secret that you will be brushed against, or some kind of anticipated relationship development or the unfolding of drama, whatever it is, the author does a good read more
Jan 7, 2015
KappaKappaKappa (All reviews)
What I would imagine to be a prototypical shounen romance. Complete with over-the-top drama, wacky characters, and breakneck pacing, GE is a ride. Not sure if I would have kept following it if I had been reading while it was publishing though; these cliffhangers were Geass-level bullshit.

I'm a sucker for romances though, so if your tolerance for a choo-choo train full of all the shounen tropes combined with romance seems low, be forewarned.
Dec 26, 2013
Clairvoyancex (All reviews)
Good Ending (End) 8.5/10

After reading and watching so many animes and manga, i've come to realisethat im in a position to start writing review and this will be the first one im starting with.

Firstly,Good Ending is definitely worth reading if you're a fan of romance manga. The Mangaka (Sasuga Kei) have properly developed the characters, deeper into the characters past and the reason to how they felt and how they react. There was a purpose in each chapter and the story was progressing at a suitable pace (for a romance fanatic like me, it certainly was 'suitable' but might be abit slow for others, though read more
Aug 21, 2014
CosmicKobal (All reviews)
Quite frankly, This is the best Manga I have ever read... I wouldn't feel right giving this less than 10's across the board.

I'm not sure what else needs to be said. It's the first one to make me truly care about the characters and what happened to them. I'm actually rather depressed right now knowing that the experience of Good Ending is over. I half- seriously want to hold a memorial for the 'Me' before I started reading Good Ending.

Seriously, If a 23 year old wannabe MMA fighter can enjoy this manga, I hope that other people can look past the lack of super powers read more
Oct 7, 2014
alternangon (All reviews)
Good ending was one of the first romance series I read so perhaps that's why I have a soft spot for it. Personally, I think it's quite enjoyable, especially the first half in which the series felt quite unique. Afterwards... although, not awful, it was just okay. IMO the author began overdoing some of the elements that made the series stand out to the point where they became cringeworthy.

Regardless, I enjoyed the series as a whole way, even with its issues you'll still want to know what's going to happen next. Plus the art is pretty nice and I love the outfits the author designed read more
Apr 19, 2015
Saruwatari-san (All reviews)
GE: Good Ending is a manga where it tell us about a couple of people who is trying to overcome their hardship , their past and other things . A manga where it can make your heart feel touched by how the characters overcome their problems and trying to overcome their pain . From what i can see , this manga execute the romance plot perfectly . I just love the characters personalities . Some of them is a new and some is the usual one but what i was amaze is how well the story goes is . I could go on and on read more