Edit Manga Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Satougashi no Dangan wa Uchinukenai: A Lollypop or A Bullet

Satougashi no Dangan wa Uchinukenai: A Lollypop or A Bullet

Alternative Titles

Synonyms: Satou Kashi no Dangan wa Uchinukenai, A Lollipop or a Bullet, Sugar Candy Bullets Can't Pierce Anything
Japanese: 砂糖菓子の弾丸は撃ちぬけない A Lollypop or A Bullet

Information

Type: Manga
Volumes: 2
Chapters: 13
Status: Finished
Published: Jan 9, 2007 to Jan 9, 2008
Authors: Sakuraba, Kazuki (Story), Sugimoto, Iqura (Art)
Serialization: Dragon Age

Statistics

Score: 8.071 (scored by 3475 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet published' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #8252
2 based on the top manga page. Please note that 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1045
Members: 8,867
Favorites: 304

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Oct 18, 2013
Valefor (All reviews)
“What are little girls made of?
What are little girls made of?
Sugar and spice
And all that's nice,
That's what little girls are made of.”

According to this popular rhymes, the famous genre referred to as “cute girls doing cute things” so deeply ingrained in the media of japanese animation doesn't sounds nearly as much preposterous as many want to believe. Yet there are certain occasions when the concept is simply turned upside-down and girls suddenly become interested in “snips and snails”, be it for the sake of including in the story a stereotypical tomboysh character or to justify the existence of said character in its apparently sugar coated read more
Apr 15, 2015
deadoptimist (All reviews)
Yeah, this is really a 8-10 material, no attack of fanboys/fangirls here. Unexpected, but true. And no shoujo-ai, seriously.

I think there’re two main topics among the more serious manga – the fear of loneliness vs. fear of opening up and the fight against the world. This falls more in the second category, but from my pov it stands out a lot, because of its total lack of self-indulgence and the down to the ground mood. You won’t tell from the description, but here the peter pan syndrome plays out as it usually does in life – very badly.

As you can see most of the other read more
Aug 1, 2014
CyndNinja (All reviews)
Ok, so let's start from that that the "Cynd" in my nickname is a shortcut from Cyndaquil and I am actually a pokemon. Just like Team Rocket's Meowth I managed to learn human speech and now I'm sitting beside my pc and writing this review.

What? You don't believe me? You think I'm joking? You say pokemon don't exist?

Of course they do. You think the Game Freak games were based on pure fiction? Even armies worldwide hire pokemon trainers to fight as mercenaries against foreign trainers.

You say it's not possible? That PETA wouldn't approve of having pokemon fight? That conventional weapons are way more effective read more
Jan 30, 2015
chubar (All reviews)
Despite the cutesy art and the fact the main characters are in middle school, this manga is a lot deeper than at first glance. It might even be too real at certain points. However, it’s the art that draws me in and it’s the story that kept me there.

Nagisa has a stay-at-home brother, whom she admires, while her mother is constantly working. Apparently, her father passed way ten years prior to the story while he was fishing. Since then, they’ve lived in poverty. The insurance for the father had long since dried up and Nagisa was starting to feel the effects of puberty.

However, when the read more
Oct 1, 2016
Chinomi-san (All reviews)
I’m sure a lot of readers could relate to Nagisa at the beginning of the story. She’s matured enough to see that she needs to start living in this world and thinking of her future despite what her classmates are doing around her. In other words, she’s the typical pre-teen who’s starting to get a grasp of reality. Then, in drops this freaky transfer student who’s captivated everyone because she’s the daughter of a famous singer and has a pretty face. That’s not as relatable, but it’s quite typical to manga of the school genre: a new kid comes and changes the protagonist’s life.

Despite that read more
Jul 15, 2017
MorningStorm666 (All reviews)
This review contains spoilers, but they are rather vague.

There's no shortage of dark, tragic manga and anime out there. Be it the kind that's gory and torturous from start to finish, tries to have tons of dark twists and turns, or tries to craft the evilest characters imaginable, there's something for everyone who wants something dark and graphic. But very few will ever put together a tragic tale as vividly and realistically as "A Lollypop or a Bullet." The story is poignant, brutal, and, in just 13 chapters, concise. There is no padding to this story and every event carries at least some significance. Yet, read more
Aug 7, 2016
kawaiiotbear (All reviews)
This is actually one of my favorite manga, hands down. I first came across it in 2012, in which I became enamored with the main protagonists. There was something about these girls that had me enraptured and really invested in their lives, the choices they face, and the struggles they will eventually have to overcome.

It sort of takes that "weird new girl" thing to a new level and I could not have possibly even fathomed the outcome of this little story. That was part of why it was so compelling. What comes next? What comes next? The beat of the manga is so subdued, read more